If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Not The Annoyingly Trivial Things-Bitches be cray cray week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    This TA's me so much. With my parents it's a constant f*cking barrage of queries about internet, USB cables, laptops, kindles, checking flight times and prices, checking in, printing boarding passes, taxing the car, insurance quotes, downloading concerts, printing photos, ordering sh*te on Amazon.

Ah I enjoy it really. Don't live at home, so any time I'm there it's non-stop questions about how to "make the wifi faster", how to check in online, how to fix some formatting thing that mum accidentally set up on the iPad and now it won't go away, how to view an email from a week ago, how to reply to an email from a week ago...bless her cotton socks. Tis a different world for her.

She's even befriended a bunch of lads in the local vodafone shop and is into them about twice a week with the most unrelated questions about her phone..."my whatsapp isn't working so I'll pop into the lads in vodafone and get them to sort me out"..."my gmail app has disappeared so I'll ask the lads to put it back on my phone next time I'm passing"..."the internet's gotten very slow and the vodafone boys couldn't help me..." Poor fcukers are obviously too polite to tell her to feck off, I'd say they groan when they see her coming! :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,409 ✭✭✭Poochie05

TA'd by doing tech support over the phone for family. what a pain in the arse.

Especially when you're in an open plan office and everyone can hear you (and your father is a bit deaf):

Me (trying to whisper): Go to the 'File' menu and select save as...
    Me ( a bit louder): No, ’File'
    Do you see the first tab at the top left of the screen? Yes, the left.
    See there's File, Home, ...
    Yes select that...
    With the mouse...
    Look at the options and do you see Save as? No not save, Save as...
    Listen as they call out all the menu options, until the penny drops...
    Me: Good, now just choose a new name and where you want to save it so you can find it again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

Ah parents and technology. My dad was telling me about this amazing ability that my mother has to check the weather hour by hour. He seems truly amazed that this is possible and worships this information like a new god and cuts the grass/goes for a walk only when this bible tells him it won't rain. He has an iPhone so I tell him he can check himself with his weather app. Will he ever do it? The fcuk he will, he can't even text, and he's in his fifties ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Will I get a deal if I buy two of them?

Off X you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

We need to update the "Never work with children or animals"

to include parents.

RTE One won't repeat reeling in the years on the +1 at 7:30 when I get home in the evenings. Bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    So how much is it?
    Apples and oranges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

People with big scary dogs off leash. I love dogs but was faced head on with a horse-sized (slight exaggeration) doberman while out for a run earlier. I was scared sh**less!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

Poochie05 wrote: »
    Especially when you're in an open plan office and everyone can hear you (and your father is a bit deaf):

Me (trying to whisper): Go to the 'File' menu and select save as...
    Me ( a bit louder): No, ’File'
    Do you see the first tab at the top left of the screen? Yes, the left.
    See there's File, Home, ...
    Yes select that...
    With the mouse...
    Look at the options and do you see Save as? No not save, Save as...
    Listen as they call out all the menu options, until the penny drops...
    Me: Good, now just choose a new name and where you want to save it so you can find it again...

https://youtu.be/zFX3Ju6cl-k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭vampyre

northgirl wrote: »
    People with big scary dogs off leash. I love dogs but was faced head on with a horse-sized (slight exaggeration) doberman while out for a run earlier. I was scared sh**less!

All the goofy Dobermans in my life (loads of them) would just love you to bits, no chance of bites. Now if you said a Dachshund I'd beware, but I loved them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,714 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

That "it's so expensive" is an annoyance of mine too.

Hi how much is X?
    It's X euro (well advertised tbf)
    Oh gosh that's very expensive, just so you know X and Y are charging X amount.

X and Y are "unemployed" and working from home. You're asking to come into a business. Go to X and Y. Leave me alone

unfotunitly thisis the story of most self employed people. nobody cares that you have to run a business. and that that costs a lot every year.

they all seem to think the paddy on the dole in an old estate car is the same as someone with all the gear ,insurances, tax and vat compliance, etc

I see this at least twice a week .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,409 ✭✭✭Poochie05

As if Robert Hardy dying isn't sad enough but TA he is being described as Harry Potter star, Robert Hardy.

I feel old that for me he will always be All Creatures Great and Small star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Poochie05 wrote: »
    As if Robert Hardy dying isn't sad enough but TA he is being described as Harry Potter star, Robert Hardy.

I feel old that for me he will always be All Creatures Great and Small star

He will be that for me too & I am mid 30's.

I will be an expert "back in my day" crankie by retirement age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Aglomerado wrote:
    ....... if Dr Eva Orsmond says it.

I'm 99.9% sure I saw her buying a very large supermacs in Galway a year or two back the hypocrite :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Waiting for a free self service scanner in SuperValu and a guy was occupying one and taking his sweet time by texting

Pack your stuff and text afterwards :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,853 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Parking up to go into a shop specifically to use their atm... trapse all the way down to the back of the shop only to find it's out of order. It's worse again with Dunnes when it's ages away :(

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

People who think it's ok to exuberantly approach my dog when we're out, or even worse, don't stop their little kids running headlong at him with their arms outstretched.

He's well trained, under control, but he's an animal, and I don't 100% trust that he wont snap if he perceives his space to be invaded or his family (including a small baby) to be threatened.

I know its up to me to control him but ffs dont maul him or allow your kids to manhandle him :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Can you on demand/catch up the BBC channels on Sky?I'm after trying everything and think I'm going to have to give in and watch episode 2 of something my friend recommended.

BTW..if someone was texting while I was waiting on the self service check out I'd have to say it to them..I challenged someone who stood there while their dog pooped (not the word I used at the time) on the street recently..filter well and truly gone here at the moment .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Very TA now. Earlier I called to see an elderly neighbour, whom I have known all my life, and to whom I have tried to be kind and helpful. He let me know in no uncertain terms his low opinion of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

madmaggie wrote: »
    Very TA now. Earlier I called to see an elderly neighbour, whom I have known all my life, and to whom I have tried to be kind and helpful. He let me know in no uncertain terms his low opinion of me.

He was having his breakfast Kate.....sorry couldnt resist :o

It reminds me of going to SHARE as teenagers and your man used to come to the door saying "nooooo take them away!"......except myself and the buddy used to be doubled over laughing.

My TA.....a midgie in a full glass of wine :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Very TA'd today. Black bin day, the non recyclable stuff. Happened to look out the window as the bin truck was pulling up outside. Two lads put my bin & the one from next door on the back of the truck, and it tipped them into the crusher yoke.

So far, so good. Thanks lads.

TA is that a couple of bits of rubbish somehow missed the truck and ended up on the road. Four or five bits manky food wrappers and stuff.

Instead of picking them up, the two lads literally walked over them as they went on their way. I had to go out and pick them up and put them back in the same bin to be collected in two week's time.

Silver lining: I've often wondered why I see the odd empty bottle of Flash or bag of Donegal Catch around the neighbourhood when I'm walking the dog. Who the f*ck would litter a frozen food package? Now I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,419 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

^^^^^
    Ring the firm and tell em that sh*t ain't on.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,727 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

On that note, very TA that the recycling is very much below par, especially when compared to other countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

New Home wrote: »
    On that note, very TA that the recycling is very much below par, especially when compared to other countries.

My neighbour put his fag butts and ****e in the recycling tonight. So fecking manky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

s4uv3 wrote: »
    People who think it's ok to exuberantly approach my dog when we're out, or even worse, don't stop their little kids running headlong at him with their arms outstretched.

He's well trained, under control, but he's an animal, and I don't 100% trust that he wont snap if he perceives his space to be invaded or his family (including a small baby) to be threatened.

I know its up to me to control him but ffs dont maul him or allow your kids to manhandle him :rolleyes:

This is a real bug bear of mine. People seem to think that my dog is only there for their kids amusement. If I hear one more idiot screeching, "look at the bow-wow!" I'll set her on the kid. Imagine being seven kilos and having some random toddler who is all legs and arms come stomping over to you to pummel you and shriek while idiotic mam or dad stands on the sideline screeching about "bow-wows". Happened us one day in the park and I actually picked my dog up, held her up in the air and shouted, "can you call your child off please?!". I have perfected the skill of knowing when a parent will instigate a scenario like this and I generally just scoop my dog up and keep walking - the hurt looks on their faces that I wont let their precious kid play with the fluffy toy :rolleyes: They'd be the very ones screaming to the police and initiating PI claims if the dog did snap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Txt speak. Anywhere. Boards, facebook, in actuals texts, I absolutely detest it and, rightly or wrongly, I will judge you because of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

My missus woke me up from a very hot sex dream to tell me to get my arse out of bed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,680 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Waiting for a free self service scanner in SuperValu and a guy was occupying one and taking his sweet time by texting

Pack your stuff and text afterwards :mad:

Oh anything like this drives me daft. People standing at the magazine rack in Easons actually reading an article all the way through is another one. But it you cheapskate!:mad:

Anyway, I specifically sought out this thread to post about...

THE WAY AMERICANS PRONOUNCE NICHE!

Heard a scientist say 'nitch' on a podcast just now and I just mentally blocked my ears to everything he said afterwards...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Having cuticles nearly the entire length of my nails and lacking time to have a manicure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,853 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

My missus woke me up from a very hot sex dream to tell me to get my arse out of bed :(

I never and I mean NEVER have enjoyable dreams like that (I don't mean of you and your missus........... or do I?)

Seriously though - my dreams are always either non sensical crap or downright disturbing. That's my TA

Elect a clown... Expect a circus