Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Banana Republic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Court awards are Fyffes times higher in Ireland than our EU counterparts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

You are comparing apples and oranges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Jesus.

There's a pear of you in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

hairyslug wrote: »
    You are comparing apples and oranges

Well the only difference between apples and oranges are bananas because a biscuit has no windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

every 4th topic on AH is about this banana republic, housing issues, bubble never happened, motor issues, tax issues, corruption all the way to the government, large corporations and whoever trips over a can wants a piece of pie, joke of a country its becoming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

scamalert wrote: »
    every 4th topic on AH is about this banana republic, housing issues, bubble never happened, motor issues, tax issues, corruption all the way to the government, large corporations and whoever trips over a can wants a piece of pie, joke of a country its becoming.

It would make you wonder why AH is in the Social & Fun category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Yes, every country is better than here even those in Sub Saharan Africa.

Very annoying as people don't realise how good it is here and just find random stuff on the net that has no impact on their lives to complain about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

murpho999 wrote: »

Very annoying as people don't realise how good it is here and just find random stuff on the net that has no impact on their lives to complain about.

Like the Angelus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Ireland is a good country in many respects , but real issues or injustices that occur should be highlighted not ignored , rather than pretend it is only a grand old place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

well the issues are very real and because country is on a chart as 3third most expensive, isn't really excuse for all the wrongs in the system that seems throttling behind by decades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

gramar wrote: »
    Like the Angelus.

Ah, that magical time of the day where people stop what they are doing and wonder did they leave the immersion on.

Like the Angelus.

The Angelus is something that I find stupid in Ireland, but I criticised RTE for it not the country.
    thebaz wrote: »
    Ireland is a good country in many respects , but real issues or injustices that occur should be highlighted not ignored , rather than pretend it is only a grand old place

An injustice deserves to highlighted but no need to denigrate the whole country because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

AH is full of people who are only happy when they are lamenting how f**ked the country, and the world, is.

osarusan wrote: »
    AH is full of people who are only happy when they are lamenting how f**ked the country, and the world, is.

And it's women's fault that the world is gone to shít too. That's very important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

And then you have Kenny giving away the LE Ashling for 1/6 of its value. Should be tried for treason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I often think people who start these threads must never read, or see, news or current affairs from any other country. Spurious or exaggerated claims are rife in the UK, USA, and elsewhere too. It's not, by any means, an Irish phenomenon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭BlinkingLights

Damn, I thought the clothing store was opening more branches here.

I often think people who start these threads must never read, or see, news or current affairs from any other country. Spurious or exaggerated claims are rife in the UK, USA, and elsewhere too. It's not, by any means, an Irish phenomenon.

The fact that spurious claims occur elsewhere make it right so ???

the above case was pretty spurious (in the extreme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

Especially with the Judge from Del Monte on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

And then you have Kenny giving away the LE Ashling for 1/6 of its value. Should be tried for treason

Is Kenny an auctioneer now? I'd be the last FG apologist you'd meet but I can't see how that's his fault this time

And treason? Laughable. You'd be more likely to get a conviction for blasphemy. Both as random and irrelevant to anything as each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Those claims are driving up the cost of insurance for everyone so they do have an impact in a lot of peoples lives and maybe yours too when you're old enough to drive and own a car yourself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭thomas 123

True , however if we lie down and take the "****e" just see how long it takes to turn into not a great place to live.
    If we all took the bend over attitude as i call it, the place would not be long falling in around us
    sorry in advance for the potential off topic reply!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Is Kenny an auctioneer now? I'd be the last FG apologist you'd meet but I can't see how that's his fault this time

And treason? Laughable. You'd be more likely to get a conviction for blasphemy. Both as random and irrelevant to anything as each other

No he's not an auctioneer,he is however the minister for defence so he had to sign off on this deal. Ya wouldn't buy the paint for the ship for 110k !. The PAC should be looking into this deal because it looks like he gave it away...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

Thought this kind of nonsense was getting under control - 18k payout and this entertainer blatantly lied about an accident with unidentified driver - 4th visit to the well of compensation - shame on Judge Groarke for falling for such lies and his make-believe sob story sprinkled with Elvis and Bowie - Walter Mitty more like it. It just seams so wrong to me.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/singer-who-gave-false-and-misleading-evidence-awarded-18k-over-traffic-incident-35716504.html
    That is the Law of the land the Man had Mental Health Problems and he was in a car crash and he got 18k .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Absolutely ridiculous but not at all surprised at all ,
    We got to see several cases shut down over last 2 weeks with spurious claims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭pangbang

Gorilla's Choice. That's all Ive got.

This Poor Man has Mental Health Problems and he was in a car crash and he got 18 k . I do not see where this Man did any Wrong in Law?. More Luck to the Man .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Game Face MCGee

do people even know what a banana republic is??? its a catch phrase but it needs to stop being used out of context!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Game Face MCGee

This Poor Man has Mental Health Problems and he was in a car crash and he got 18 k   .                                                                                          I do not see where this Man did any Wrong in Law?.                                                                                                                                               More Luck to the Man .
    he faked injuries, he hobbled into a doc surgery like  a man on deaths door on crutches. Was followed out of the surgery by a PI  and was observed not using crutches and walking normally and performing every day tasks with no issues.  the judge has set a precedent now, you can be caught faking and still get your pay out. it was his 4th pay out.   
    I wish no luck to this scammer

If people read the article properly they will realise that he was award for actually being in an accident and having his car written off.

He was not compensated for his exaggerated claims and the court took account of his psychiatrist condition when dealing with the case.

I really don't see what the issue is.

If people read the article properly they will realise that he was award for actually being in an accident and having his car written off.

He was not compensated for his exaggerated claims and the court took account of his psychiatrist condition when dealing with the case.

I really don't see what the issue is.

The award isn't for the car that was written off.

He was awarded damages for injuries he suffered in the accident - even though Judge Groarke said Mr McCormack had given false and misleading evidence and had sought to mislead the medical profession almost at every turn and a consultant of emergency medicine said Mr McCormack had been “grossly inventive” of his symptomology and condition - because the judge felt sorry for him because of his psychiatric history.

So is everyone that has a history of depression allowed to try and screw the system and get away with it now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Thought this kind of nonsense was getting under control - 18k payout and this entertainer blatantly lied about an accident with unidentified driver - 4th visit to the well of compensation - shame on Judge Groarke for falling for such lies and his make-believe sob story sprinkled with Elvis and Bowie - Walter Mitty more like it. It just seams so wrong to me.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/singer-who-gave-false-and-misleading-evidence-awarded-18k-over-traffic-incident-35716504.html

Sew it does now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 157 ✭✭biscuithead

thomas 123 wrote: »
    True , however if we lie down and take the "****e" just see how long it takes to turn into not a great place to live.
    If we all took the bend over attitude as i call it, the place would not be long falling in around us
    sorry in advance for the potential off topic reply!

If you recall when the (deliberately manufactured) crash of 2007 and 2008 hit and then international fincancial vultures like the IMF moved in to force countries to slash public spending and social programs in order to shift the public money into the private hands of their friends they also forced countries to sell off public assets to private interests at firesale prices. One of those assets was the very water you drink. 100's of 1000's of Irish people flatly refused to be fleeced, while many others just sat their like a rabbit being tracked by a stoat and derided the ones who refused this latest scam as freeloaders.

Which side of the equation were you on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It was an open auctions wasn't it? Not a lot could be done there.

he faked injuries, he hobbled into a doc surgery like a man on deaths door on crutches. Was followed out of the surgery by a PI and was observed not using crutches and walking normally and performing every day tasks with no issues. the judge has set a precedent now, you can be caught faking and still get your pay out. it was his 4th pay out.
    I wish no luck to this scammer

He wasn't compensated for faked injuries. Why don't you take the time to ascertain the facts before exploding in blind rage?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    It was an open auctions wasn't it? Not a lot could be done there.

Do a bit of basic research, put a minimum value on it and don't sell it if it fails to reach that minimum. Not really that hard to do.

big b wrote: »
    Sew it does now

Darn it! It was a stitch up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

AH needs more stories about sex sticks and hairy vageens and stop this banana republic nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

This, I think, is the most idiotic post I've ever read on boards.
    Do you actually think that the Taoiseach should be personally involved in the sale of every piece of equipment that the state disposes of?

And 'treason'? What in the name of jaysus were you thinking when you typed that!!

This poor Man has a background of Psychiatric depressive history in his life . So in law he is covered if he gives misleading evidence as the poor man is not well . that is the law of the land.

Just read the newspaper story again . Something concerns me about this case. Robert McQuillan consultant blackrock clinic. Mr McQuillan said he move a lot of grimacing and groaning. He said later he had viewed footage? of of a video taken 45 minutes after mr McCormack had left his clinic by private detective on behalf of the MIBI . Is later the same day he viewed the footage ? A video footage does not prove this man was not injured our pain he was in a car crash that is fact.

The video footage - of Mr McCormack walking unaided and bending over to get into his car without any problem - proved that he was lying to the consultant about the pain he was in - he said he was permanently crippled by the accident and came into the examination room leaning on a walking stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Like the Angelus.

yerra that doesn't quite fit into the 'random' category at all

The award isn't for the car that was written off.

He was awarded damages for injuries he suffered in the accident - even though Judge Groarke said Mr McCormack had given false and misleading evidence and had sought to mislead the medical profession almost at every turn and a consultant of emergency medicine said Mr McCormack had been “grossly inventive” of his symptomology and condition - because the judge felt sorry for him because of his psychiatric history.

So is everyone that has a history of depression allowed to try and screw the system and get away with it now?

So a mentally ill man gets injured in a car crash - goes a bit Walter Mitty on the details then the state should wash their hands of him?

This Poor Man has Mental Health Problems and he was in a car crash and he got 18 k . I do not see where this Man did any Wrong in Law?. More Luck to the Man .

The majority of people with mental health problems , don't make spurious claims - most people with mental health issues are honest. This case just seams so wrong to me , the guy was on hist 4th trip to the compensation well.

another one

lawred2 wrote: »
    So a mentally ill man gets injured in a car crash - goes a bit Walter Mitty on the details then the state should wash their hands of him?

If he's been found to be lying about the extent of his injuries and is knowingly engaging in fraudulent behaviour then yeah.

yeah well you see - that's the thing with mentally ill people - can you be sure that everything they do is done so 'knowingly' as you and I would do things 'knowingly'?

lawred2 wrote: »
    another one

the grammar police of boards are on duty - well spotted