Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Most Useless Piece Of Modern Technology

• Registered Users Posts: 17,856 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Vegetable spiraliser.

how very dare you :pac: , I am late to the fad but I got one of the "pencil sharpener" ones and its pretty good.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

What are deez yokes?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,445 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Nabber wrote: »
    The Irish e-voting machines.

iPods- just buy an iPhone instead?

They weren't actually Irish.

Dutch as far as I know and it was Ireland that raised the query on them and we deserve credit for that.

Many countries including The Netherlands gone back to manual voting because of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Those QR codes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭Decuc500

3D tv’s are on the way out but I have to say I get good use out of mine.

I love ‘immersing’ myself in a 3D blu-ray film. The Hobbit films looked great in that format.

THE WEST WING
    5x13 - "THE WARFARE OF GENGHIS KHAN"
    WRITTEN BY PETER NOAH
    DIRECTED BY BILL D'ELIA

TRANSCRIBED BY SOUNDMAN FOR TWIZ TV.COM.

JOSH
    So, I had this meeting with NASA this morning.

LEO
    What a waste, since the moon. My generation never got the future it was
    promised.

JOSH
    What do you mean?

LEO
    35 years later, cars, air travel's the same. We don't even have the Concorde
    anymore. Technology stopped.

JOSH
    The personal computer.

LEO
    A more efficient delivery system for gossip and pornography. Where's my jet
    pack, my colonies on the Moon? Just a waste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Crazyteacher

Dyson animal. The most awkward machine ever. Had to buy a cheap light Hoover and it's 100 times better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Selfie sticks.

They bother me greatly......

• Registered Users Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

o1s1n wrote: »
    The super Nintendo was one of the greatest inventions of the 20th century :pac:

Indeed it was...

However a great many nintendo products missed the mark

Nintendo Scope (Giant Bazooka that needed C or D size batteries)
    Nintendo Wii (Hailed a huge success when it came out due to the controller, but by the end of Stephens Day most people had enough of it)
    Nintendo 64DD
    R.O.B
    Famicom 3D System
    Power Pad
    Etc
    etc

They made a great console, but also made a hell of a lot a crap to sell with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭floatwinner

koumi wrote: »
    I have on of those two in one things, got it as a christmas gift and didn't think I'd use it that much but it turns out its fairly handy, I do have a decent smartfone which is my go to but I actually like having keys and when I need to do a bit quickly pull out the tablet/thing

My head hurts after reading that.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,462 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Parchment wrote: »
    Those QR codes.

Sure they're pretty much extinct already in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Not modern in the techie sense, but whenever I see a guy outside with a leaf-blower I just think "WHY?"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,927 ✭✭✭paulbok

Decuc500 wrote: »
    3D tv’s are on the way out but I have to say I get good use out of mine.

I love ‘immersing’ myself in a 3D blu-ray film. The Hobbit films looked great in that format.

I'm glad something was able to improve them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,927 ✭✭✭paulbok

Duckjob wrote: »
    Not modern in the techie sense, but whenever I see a guy outside with a leaf-blower I just think "WHY?"

Have you ever tried sweeping grass or leaves off gravel drives?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Parchment wrote: »
    Those QR codes.

This......

useless

• Registered Users Posts: 5,654 ✭✭✭storker

iTunes for the way it puts ridiculous barriers in place to do the same thing I can achieve with a simple copy and paste on Android. And it has one of the worst-designed user interfaces I've ever seen.

Smartwatches which look like nothing more than a solution in search of a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,940 ✭✭✭circadian

The Eye

Got an iPhone? Here's a case that adds an Android phone to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Think 3d TV was a complete joke so I agree there.

But I love the HTC Vice, great fun, disagree with other posters on that .

But the most useless is the 1200 pound 'Umbrella drone' to hopefully follow you around in the rain.

Have to agree, the 3D TVs were definitely a joke but for a long time any good TV came with it anyway. Its funny how 3D has done multiple iterations of the years, wonder if there will be another in 10, 20 years time.

I kinda, agree with the VR headsets, atleast the current generation. I have a vive as well and while it is impressive and great technology. Most of the best applications are glorified tech demos, Google Earth VR for example. With the exception of any "cockpit" based games, I dunno if it will ever take off [pardon the pun]. Perhaps Fallout VR might change my opinion on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

grahambo wrote: »

Self Driving cars... Pointless, will never be cost effective to put 10 Radars and a super computer in every car.

You're right, everyone knows driverless cars will become 10000 times larger, and so expensive that only the five richest kings of Europe will own them.

circadian wrote: »
    The Eye

Got an iPhone? Here's a case that adds an Android phone to it.

Actually while that is total bollocks Kickstarter in general has been a bit of a gathering area for the stupid and poorly thought out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Ted Plain

Duckjob wrote: »

Profoundly useless. Surely they should be a sort of vacuum cleaner and suck instead of blow, no?

Off on a tangent; I remember seeing one of those shows about people with OCD a few years back and one of the participants said that they hoover their lawn daily. :eek:

Forward a couple of years and I now have artificial grass in my postage stamp-sized back garden.

I absolutely love my artificial grass. Could not recommend it highly enough.

And now I vacuum clean my lawn from time to time! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

The curved tv's . Sales have been so poor that none were manufactured in 2017

• Registered Users Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Touchless germ pumps for hand soap. Entirely pointless. "oh, but you'll get germs off the pump handle" they try and sell you.

But, when the liquid comes out of that pump, it's meant to kill germs anyways. FFS

• Registered Users Posts: 37,297 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I believe the underwater hairdryer is fairly useless.
    Sometimes you gotta use it, as the underwater towel isn't dry yet....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

grahambo wrote: »
    I bought me misses an apple watch for Xmas and she turned her nose up at it.

I also bought a 3d TV and 6 sets of active 3d glasses that I've used once

Camera on the TV so that you can use you hand a remote control.... RUBBISH!

Google/Snapchat goggles... More rubbish

Virtual Reality things like the Occulus Rift, novelty will be worn off in about 2 weeks (Same as the Nintendo Scope for the SNES all them years ago)

Self Driving cars... Pointless, will never be cost effective to put 10 Radars and a super computer in every car.

Bluetooth head phones..

Any of them hoovers that claim to have 500% more suction than other hoovers that use cyclone tech. More Crap

List goes on and on.

Most of that list I agree with, but self driving cars will be ubiquitous in a few years to the point that only the rich will be able to drive a normal car.

And Bluetooth headphones are already taking over from wired ones. They're brilliant and much better than the old tech.

Jayop wrote: »
    Most of that list I agree with, but self driving cars will be ubiquitous in a few years to the point that only the rich will be able to drive a normal car.

And Bluetooth headphones are already taking over from wired ones. They're brilliant and much better than the old tech.

I knew this was coming along at some point. Why are the proponents of self driving cars so sure they're just around the corner and will be the second coming of our Lord and Saviour?

We won't see self driving cars for decades for the simple reason people don't like change. FFS Most people won't drive an automatic. What we will see is more and more of the technology built in as safety features but fully self driving cars, not much before 2040 if even then.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

razorblunt wrote: »
    You're right, everyone knows driverless cars will become 10000 times larger, and so expensive that only the five richest kings of Europe will own them.

Do you work for IBM ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    Do you work for IBM ? :rolleyes:

Probably not, but I do. He was quoting one Professor John Nerdelbaum Frink, Jr. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

In terms of making eejits of us all and doing human society disservice generally, I'd say it's hard to beat Ye Booke of Faeces.

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭crossmolinalad

murpho999 wrote: »
    They weren't actually Irish.

Dutch as far as I know and it was Ireland that raised the query on them and we deserve credit for that.

Many countries including The Netherlands gone back to manual voting because of it.

And now the last news from the dutch they gonna use them again
    they have changed the program and should work fine now and willing to test some next year when the local polls goes on