Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't tell Paul Williams and Nicola Tallant, but.....

• 06-05-2017 8:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭

I just realised that for all it dominates our news coverage weekly, we are nearly half way into 2017 and there has, as of yet, not been a single known gangland murder. A run in its fifth month, a stretch that I doubt we have seen since the very early 90's. For all the one sidedness of last year's events, there were still at least six murders unrelated to the feud (in itself a very low figure). The media are still going on about the upcoming Hutch "spectacular" in the same way that the US media spent the whole decade after 9/11 warning about the next "big one" that also never happened (within the US at least).

So what has happened? Has the Garda crackdown really made violence an awkward price of doing business?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

There'll probably be one tonight now op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Well if it stops those two from writing articles, I'm all for this cessation of violence.
    Who knew gangsters would take pity on the press reading public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭C Montgomery Gurns II

Well if it stops those two from writing articles, I'm all for this cessation of violence.
    Who knew gangsters would take pity on the press reading public.

To be honest I don't mind the crime writing. For all that people moan about it it clearly sells papers. But the SW has become unreadable lately, writing stories about the unreportable- if there are no actual murders to report their rubbish gets increasingly repetitive.

It's a uniquely Irish one I feel- in Britain, for example, the media doesn't cover these things as much from the personal angle. Unlike here, where certain figures, particularly from the Crumlin area, are equally as well known as our actors and athletes, I doubt anyone in London outside the criminal fraternity knows the names and faces of the figures who supply the region's drugs and guns for hire.

Stheno wrote: »
    There'll probably be one tonight now op

Williams might be forced to do one himself things are getting so thin for stories.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭HenryHill

Give it some time 'Gangland' has been getting more blatant and viscious over the last 30 years,there is no reason to think its on the decline long term.

If anything, it will get worse.

Williams is such a cultureless knacker it never fails to astound. A complete, utterly benighted dreg.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Williams is such a cultureless knacker it never fails to astound. A complete, utterly benighted dreg.

You're some keyboard warrior alright.

Anyone see Donal McIntyre's 'Assasins' the other night. I thought it wasnt bad in fairness. Doyler was a lunatic.

HenryHill wrote: »
    Give it some time 'Gangland' has been getting more blatant and viscious over the last 30 years,there is no reason to think its on the decline long term.

If anything, it will get worse.

It's your fault the New York mafia is in decline Henry Hill you rat :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Anyone see Donal McIntyre's 'Assasins' the other night. I thought it wasnt bad in fairness. Doyler was a lunatic.

I was vaguely looking forward to it. I turned over half-way through when they started screenshotting Donie texting The Well Spoken man In A Suit.

And you spelled scummer wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They've killed most of the Hutch gang/family

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

I will not be a Whistle blower for Paul Williams any time soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

They've killed most of the Hutch gang/family

apart from the first fella in spain that started this, they haven't killed anybody from the actual gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

There was a bag of weed taken off some kid in
    Irishtown last week. Its believed to have come from the kinahan CARTEL. Gardai believe the CARTEL have been left reeling and are on the brink of implosion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    There was a bag of weed taken off some kid in
    Irishtown last week. Its believed to have come from the kinahan CARTEL. Gardai believe the CARTEL have been left reeling and are on the brink of implosion.

They captured some foreign lads bringing in some drink and tobacco today too - the haul amounted to almost €2000..and made the news. Jesus wept.

Mars bar and can coke stolen in Ennis co Clare. Dublin and limerick Gangs have links to Robbery says Paul Williams.

arayess wrote: »
    apart from the first fella in spain that started this, they haven't killed anybody from the actual gang.

If there is one.

From what I can see there never was a Hutch gang since the Monk retired. By and large the criminal elements of the extended family seem to be largely a crowd of junkies and/ or petty crooks as opposed to actual gangsters. Even the Regency attack seems to have been carried out by a mix of family members and Republican guns for hire (incidentally, the guns themselves were, seemingly, hired from the dissidents)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

The Gardai are too busy investigating Stephen Frye.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    The Gardai are too busy investigating Stephen Frye.
    Well Said. now I know where my Tax Money goes.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Tallant by name only...

Her pieces are terrible. Seems like all the gangsters in Ireland are all in on it together and splitting the spoils.
    She could have at least thrown in one different estimate.

http://www.sundayworld.com/news/investigations/dirty-money-the-underworld-rich-list-part-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Probably the only reason a dickhead like Williams is still alive is because in this media age, the crims actually enjoy - and utilise - the crime porn write ups that are heavy on aggrandisement details but bereft of evidence.

Nora Wall sued Sunday World and Paul Williams for 175,000 euros over miscarriage of justice story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Can't listen to Newstalk in the mornings any more with that absolute gobsh*te on now

The Well Spoken man In A Suit.

Is David Wilson renowned crimnologist, he had a show on channel 4 called interview with a killer. It was very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Can't listen to Newstalk in the mornings any more with that absolute gobsh*te on now

Yup clueless muppet has ruined any entertainment there used to be in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I have literally no respect for Williams-the guy would do all sorts of sexual things to himself if he was flexible enough. I remember he popped on the Late Late show one night, when Pat was still presenting-and he sat in the audience whilst Pat interviewed a lawyer who claimed he could 'get Saddam Hussein out of trouble based on a technicality'. Like, yes-the lawyer guy was the literal cliche of every lawyer you could imagine.
    But that said, Williams was totally out of his depth.
    Essentially this guy said that he could have gotten some gang member out of jail (it's been a few years, so I don't remember the guy in question) Williams did his usual speechifying-at which pint the lawyer interjected with 'Well, Paul Williams has made quite a living based on books relating to 'gang guy', so he's not the most reliable source.
    Williams sat there, with a smirk on his face-but he knew he was beaten. Said absolutely nothing afterwards.

Also, Williams said some horrendously nasty things about then Mayor Toireasa Ferris shortly after a rather disastrous LLS appearance. (Referred to her as a 'tart', for one) I'm no fan of hers, mind, but the way she responded to his comments- to ask for an apology rather than sue, showed far more class than Williams ever will.

Tallant bores me to tears-her and Williams are the reason I don't read the Sunday World-as was Amanda Brunker. The SW has always been a joke of a paper, but it was never helped much by them. It's always been a borderline porn mag with a segment about crime. It must be ten years or so since I quit the paper.

http://www.thejournal.ie/dublin-3-shooting-3382235-May2017/

Here we go again, another hutch associate. My moneys on Gately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

http://www.thejournal.ie/dublin-3-shooting-3382235-May2017/

Here we go again, another hutch associate. My moneys on Gately.

could be ross?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭Treepole

could be ross?

It's not. Name is above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

JG it was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Paul Williams will be pissing his pants now.

Topaz N32 sounds like the location, hopefully no one innocent was killed in the crossfire, very wreckless as it is an extremely busy petrol station.

On his way from or back up north id imagine. Grassed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

The SW has always been a joke of a paper, but it was never helped much by them. It's always been a borderline porn mag with a segment about crime. It must be ten years or so since I quit the paper.

The basic outlook of real journalists:
    "I have six faithful serving men on whom I do rely
    Their names are who and what and where, how and when and why."

The basic outlook of the SW:
    "If on this paper you want to go far
    Confine your reporting to Goo, Gee and GAA!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭septictank

Here we go again.

Michael O'Toole‏Verified account @mickthehack 17m17 minutes ago
    More
    Victim of the shooting is James "Maggo" Gately, a close associate of the Hutch family. Now critically ill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

So what has happened? Has the Garda crackdown really made violence an awkward price of doing business?

Yes and no.Im not a big fan of the police and the feeling is mutual but credit where credits due,they're keeping a lid on things to a certain extent. At street level,business as you call it hasn't changed all that much.
    The area around sherrifer has had a more or less fixed police presence for the past 15 years,long before this 'feud' began, but all through that time,it was one of few parts of the city centre where the art of street dealing still flourished.The police seem to be better briefed now,I'm originally from summerhill and growing up the police would basically harass teenagers,left the main heads alone and generally didn't do themselves any favours.Since the current 'feud' blew up,they seem to be getting their priorities right insofar as targeting the right people instead of treating everyone in the area between the ages of 12 to 50 with contempt. They kinda shot themselves in the foot in that regard. And it will take a generation or two at least before they manage to get people in the area back on their side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

Id say thats the feud/slaughter over now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

benny79 wrote: »

Hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The Sunday World rejoice

They have a news story

Doubt it, they still want murtagh and of course gerry hutch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Doubt it, they still want murtagh and of course gerry hutch.

Thats the main man gone today, assuming he doesn't pull a miracle and make a recovery.

One of their other targets could of made a deal and tipped off as where to find mago... A few weeks ago he begged in court that his drivers licence not be taking away, maybe that could have something to do with how they got him so easy this time round...

tomofson wrote: »
    Thats the main man gone today, assuming he doesn't pull a miracle and make a recovery.

One of their other targets could of made a deal and tipped off as where to find mago... A few weeks ago he begged in court that his drivers licence not be taking away, maybe that could have something to do with how they got him so easy this time round...

Looks like hes going to survive, due to wearing a bullet proof vest. Although the journal reported he was shot twice in the head.

Early media reports are always sketchy I wouldn't necessarily believe any of them at this stage,

What amazes me is, he was a no1 target why the fcuk is he still in the country! There's a reason the main players on the Kinahan's aren't in the country so they are not easy targets..

He wouldn't have access to the type of money the other crowd would.

Im sure he's not stuck for a few pound! sure the Monk is worth millions has he just turned his back on everyone! highly doubt it..

If the monk was even to try and give a few quid to all of his extended family he would go broke in a flash, I can guarantee there not all living off him.

No he's not stuck for a few quid certainly not, but he wouldn't be raking in billions

tomofson wrote: »
    If the monk was even to try and give a few quid to all of his extended family he would go broke in a flash, I can guarantee there not all living off him.

No he's not stuck for a few quid certainly not, but he wouldn't be raking in billions

Id imagine gerrys funds will be running low soon enough with all the travelling around the media are saying hes doing.

His funds are limited, the other crowd make millions everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

Jaysus, Maggo has already had more lives than a cat. If he pulls through this one it'll be nothing short of a miracle.

I'd say Daniel Kinahan will rest a little easier tonight either way though - Maggo has quite the string of murders to his name and I sure as hell wouldn't want him out to get me...