Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OnePlus 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,769 ✭✭✭✭blade1

digitaldr wrote: »
    You'd think so wouldn't you? My wifey originally ordered me a 5 for my birthday back in June. I found out and asked her to cancel it as I wanted a bezeless phone and so didn't consider it to be big enough upgrade from my 3. She wasn't best pleased but tried to cancel it anyway at the pending shipment stage. The big cancel button didn't do anything so live chat advised me to refuse delivery which a did and got a refund after about a week.

Maybe they've fixed the cancel button but I won't be trying it until I receive the fist order!

Pity they don't let Amazon handle their sales like they do in India.

I'm surprised with that.
    I cancelled one before but it was on the UK site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭digitaldr

They may well have fixed it but I'd prefer to wait until I have my 5 before trying as shipping estimated shipping on the second order isn't until 27.11.17

I see O2 in the UK were giving out some freebies today with the 5t although had to buy a £15 sim first. Wonder if it's unlocked? I think previous models were.

From oneplus forums:
    Just wanted to give heads up that I just bought the 128GB model in O2's Oxford Street store for £499 and got the screen protector, case, a notepad, a laptop bag and a t-shirt for free! Just had to bundle an O2 sim for £15 (at least comes with 5GB of data if you don't need anything else, like me), which you can obviously pop in alongside your personal sim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,769 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Coming from Poland again by Ups.
    I'll be delighted if I get it on Friday.
    2ef2wph.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭duefrine

https://oneplus.net/ie/invite#ECNWSNSKTJ0LJWX

Referral link above for an extra 20 off a bundle

OnePlus 5T Midnight Black 8GB RAM + 128GB Storage
    €559.00

OnePlus 5T Early Bird Bundle
    €43.90 ( got this bundle for 2.10 )

Subtotal €602.90 Discount €41.80 Tax €0.00 Shipping €0.00
    Grand total €561.10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Ordered the 128gb at 14:05. Already marked as dispatched. Coming from opo so looking forward to the upgrade.

I didn't have any referrals and didn't have time to look for one. This is my first USB type c device, has anyone got any recommendation for cables?

Are the dash chargers on Ali express any good? They appear to be 17-18 euro with 1.5m cables.

Unfortunately you need the original cable for dash charging. Someone on here had good success with an Aliexpress cable so maybe you should try the same seller or just check feedback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

digitaldr wrote: »
    Unfortunately you need the original cable for dash charging. Someone on here had good success with an Aliexpress cable so maybe you should try the same seller or just check feedback.

Yup I understand but I'm thinking just a normal type c cable for my opo charger? Its still 2.1a so wouldn't be bad to use in work etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭god's toy

My order is stuck on 'Estimated dispatch', after getting it in at 2 mins past the hour... I take it they still have the same glitch where some peoples status doesn't get updated for whatever reason but the stuff still comes anyway?

Have a phone, case and hard back coming.

Update: it's finally moved over to be dispatched. It's on the way baby! It's been delivered to work on Friday, I just hope he makes the delivery on time and I don't have to wait till Monday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

PaulKK wrote: »
    Ordered the 128gb at 14:05. Already marked as dispatched. Coming from opo so looking forward to the upgrade.

I didn't have any referrals and didn't have time to look for one. This is my first USB type c device, has anyone got any recommendation for cables?

Are the dash chargers on Ali express any good? They appear to be 17-18 euro with 1.5m cables.

I ordered from this seller and it's working fine. Dash charge compatible. It'll only work with dash charge adapter tho

https://m.aliexpress.com/s/item/32723976585.html?trace=wwwdetail2mobilesitedetail&productId=32723976585&productSubject=Original-Oneplus-3-USB-3-1-Type-C-Charger-Cable-Type-C-Fast-Charging-Data-Sync&spm=2114.13010608.0.0.BimhgF#autostay

I've got an aukey usb C cable - if I get a chance I'll do a direct comparison on my opo 3 with my dash cable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭burkey2k0

Ordered last night about 12.30am. Marked for dispatch Monday 27th November, Delivered 29th. Looking forward to getting my hands on it.
    Also, referral code if anyone fancies the $20 off! https://oneplus.net/ie/invite#QA46NAICUG1EP7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

Referral link if anyone wants €20 off accessories when you buy
    https://oneplus.net/ie/invite#EY5INN6GV0EDS90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭mp31

I purchased the phone last night for my son and I have another referral link for anyone interested in saving 20 Euro off any accessories that you order at the same time.

https://oneplus.net/ie/invite#VLMSYVBTT57RJFQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,413 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Lads I hate to be one to say it but the referral links are a pain. Same happened last time with the 5 and it was page after page of referral links.

Maybe set up a separate thread for them and leave the actual phone discussion in here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,569 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

There is also a dedicated thread to the 5T here also...
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057810381

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Lads I hate to be one to say it but the referral links are a pain. Same happened last time with the 5 and it was page after page of referral links.

Maybe set up a separate thread for them and leave the actual phone discussion in here?

Done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

I'm 50/50 on upgrading as I only bought the 5 when it launched.

Trying to figure out a resale value for it anybody seen figures floating about for the 128gb version in excellent condition?

5 looks like it's going for €420 - €450 on Adverts.

I'm happy with the 5 even though I was tempted by the 5T. I think I'll hold out until at least this time next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

I'm happy with the 5 even though I was tempted by the 5T. I think I'll hold out until at least this time next year.

Purchased.

Purchased.

You sold that quick :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,854 ✭✭✭54and56

I'm in the same boat. Was tempted to upgrade to the 5T for the bigger screen but given the rest of the phone (processor, battery etc) is more or less the same and I'm not sure how much I'd miss not having the front facing fingerprint reader I think I'll stick with the 5 and wait not for the 6 bit the 6T in about 12-18 months by which time my thing lad will probably need an upgrade on his current phone and my 5 will have a good home to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Have a OP3, had the 5t in the basket but held off..now I see the S8 is for sale for 430euro here tomorrow...ideally I need a dual sim but....:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Topbike77

Have a OP3, had the 5t in the basket but held off..now I see the S8 is for sale for 430euro here tomorrow...ideally I need a dual sim but....:o
    Where is the S8 for sale for 430?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭south

€430? Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Look at my location guys :o Mediamarkt.ch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭south

Look at my location guys :o Mediamarkt.ch

Don't think they deliver to Ireland!

Sorry for the off topic chat. Very decent alternative for that price though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭god's toy

Lads, some of us could be getting the 5T's today! Mines already in Dublin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Gunther_Gloop

"Your order is in transit
    Delivered by: 23 Nov"

! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 aidantracey

god's toy wrote: »
    Lads, some of us could be getting the 5T's today! Mines already in Dublin :)

I ordered @ 14:05 on Tuesday and was dispatched the 21st at 11pm, still didnt get anything on tracking details though, have priority shipping too. estimated 27th