Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Athlone thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,256 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I just wish Irish politics was more based on voting councillors for local issues, voting parties in the Dáil for national issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭rn

Well in our system, we kinda have that. The government is the cabinet, which is the leaders "best" team from the elected TDs. But there's always a few lemons in the setup, no matter what system of selection of politician. Hard to know if Troy would have to run independent. He's done nothing illegal that warrants kicking out if FF. Like he's a land lord by trade. I remember the three South roscommon former FF councillors used to be a builder, a solicitor (who specialises in conveyancing) and an auctioneer. And the people elected them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,604 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Blindboy fairly roasted his website this week where Troy calls himself "A young person, who is working and living in the area, have first-hand knowledge of many of the difficulties that the people of Westmeath-Longford are having"

Your 40 with almost 10 properties. GTFO

What saddens me is that the others in the Dail have as many if not more, just not their turn to get exposed

There was a time about 5 years ago you could buy decent property for under 150k in the Midlands. An investor with 50k deposit (something easy enough for a prudent lad with cash flow) and a 100k loan. Suddenly you'd a house. Surprisingly easy enough to pick up another quickly with cash flow again. I know a few lads who did it and by 2018, had and have 5-10 properties. It was good business. Those people tend to be asset rich and cash poor. And they work hard, cos they usually do a good bit of DIY on the properties.

Troy is not a smart lad, but he is a cute lad. And there's nothing wrong with that as long as they are tax compliant and follow regulations. People dislike them, but society needs those guys.

Blindboy is all talk and ultimately a "me feiner" and an entertainer, but no solutions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,470 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Yeah I've no issue with successful people involved in the Dail running the country.

I'd hate to see the country if self entitled chaps like blind boy had a say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Nobody is getting exposed for owning property. Its not illegal. If they own 100 houses good for them. What sneaky hole tried to do is pull the wool over people's eyes and play the cute hoor. Blindboy is a bollocks

Why does he need solutions? Hardly his job as you have said. He simply quotes Troy's website and states the obvious that very few 40 year olds have 10 properties.

I've no solutions either but I still think cute hoors should be called out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Amysnigg

I am so disappointed with Mr Troy, he is gaining from the people who cannot buy a house and also bidding against a family or single person trying to put their foot on the property ladder, what hope do we have when these people with wads of taxpayers money, trying hard to hide

Sports Direct coming to Athlone.

Looking to take 5 units over 2 floors in the Town Center shopping centre

Are we talking about the "Texas" centre because I can't see there being enough room in any adjacent units in Town Centre for the type of store Sports Direct have in the likes of Roscommon, Tullamore or Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,474 ✭✭✭Ryath

It's certainly bigger than the one in Mullingar. They are taking over a good few units and upstairs sections I don't think were used by anyone but Elverys. Think only Art and Hobby and Quiz are open now but there is other units they can move too. Don't know if it's that much of a draw for the shopping centre. There's a lot of other retailers that I'd sooner see coming.

Incidentally, who are this Jysk operation out beside B&Q? Some sort of Ikea knock off?

Scandinavian style and similar to IKEA alright. More homestore and more type shop than IKEA I would think.

Moate show day for those in the Athlone area... Declan nerney at 15:00. "Well stop the world and..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭cena

Athlone does not need sports direct. They don't cater to much sport other than GAA and soccer. I would prefer to see more of a USA sport type shop

We have a national baseball team an American football league and an ice hockey League

We also have both male and female national ice hockey teams

Is our town too small to just say "f Mike Ashley and all his businesses"

Shades of Doonbeg people welcoming Eric Trump when he got them all a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭jimmyendless

Ah where would you draw the line.

Did you see poppy fields electricity bill today, f-ing hell.

5k pcm - €400 in vat. Cruel. But it's a busy restaurant.

What was it this time last year?

Have seen a dairy farm electric bill before being well into the 4 digit pcm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

That's an unbelievable bill for a small cafe. From reading the article on the Westmeath Indo she was with some Spanish provider before and bills were around €3k a time, had to move provider as the Spanish crowd left the Irish market. I wonder was she being underestimated on those bills. Just seems like a huge leap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭pawrick

Ms Dolan said her annual electricity bill for the café was €12,700 in 2021, excluding Vat.

But based on the latest bill she faces having to fork out €45,000, excluding Vat, for a year.

😳

There's going to be an avalanche of small businesses closing soon if something isn't done, but even then I can't see what can be done that doesn't bankrupt the state as the energy prices are a global issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭pawrick

saw a snippet of a story the other day where a politician from Belgium (i think) spoke about decoupling gas prices from the EU energy market as it and oil are artificially inflating the cost for other energy sources since the market prices is determined by the highest costing fuel in the energy mix. If thats the case it could be a temporary solution to bring down costs for the end user as at the moment the higher costs charged seem to be just inflating profits for renewable energy companies far beyond what they would have expected.

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭batman75

Definitely the Town Centre. It will start in the former Ben Adams Unit, goes over the post office and on inwards to the former Elvery Sports unit.

Interesting, because if you ever saw the way they took over the Roches Stores (Debenhams, Corrib Shopping centre) unit in Galway city, you could easily see how they could do the same in the Texas/ Old Athlone Shopping Centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

The old shopping centre is already taken over.

https://elevateathlone.ie/activities/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,470 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

In fairness referencing the 2021 electricity costs is a bit irrelevant. The country spent most of the year locked up or social distanced.

I've found Poppy Fields is incredibly busy this year, so much so that I avoid it if I'm working in town as its often full during lunch, even with all the additional seating outside. Probably in part due to Murphys closing.

I don't doubt the difficulties businesses are facing, and while the electricity bill is enormous, some of it can be attributed to the fact that the footfall of the business has increased dramatically

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Prominent_Dawg

Does anyone know what’s located in the building at the end of the car park of the train station

Edit, wrong station, wrong town

Athlone

The main station near the Crescent or the one next to the barracks?, if it's the main station then I think it's used by track signalling staff and at the other station track maintenance.

I read this elsewhere so cannot confirm.

Yes at the main station

Yes. It's as dolanbaker said, its the signals offices

When is shannon barrier work due to complete?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭FlicFlak

Does anyone know what the story is with the traffic light outside of Nuts corner? I only go past it in the evening, not during the day but it doesnt seem to be doing anything useful there. One way street, only turn left or go straight, whats the point of it? Cars from out of town still stop at it, cause they dont know any better and the traffic on the road it atrocious at the best of times anyway!!

How have the county council not taken it away? Is it on battery? Are they replacing the battery on it but just leavin it there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,558 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Was thinking the same thing,most people seem to ignore it.

As far as I can work out, the lights are there for people who live along the waterfront to get out back up the main road, up the (down) one way street as their usual way out is closed for flood barrier work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭dePeatrick

Anyone know when the pedestrian bridge is due to open? Interesting project and am keen to walk across it to see what it feels like.

Are Ganlys still doing briquettes

I know they're doing the wood ones, which are excellent in a stove. Not sure re peat briquettes. Homeland did have stock of peat briquettes a month back a s they were cheapest in athlone at that time at 6.50 a bale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,720 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I'll sell ya a load of turf, but don't tell Eamon Ryan I said that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭dePeatrick

Oh that long, ok I really don’t know how long these things take but I do look forward to it opening, the second bridge I will have witnessed opening in my lifetime, do you happen to know what year the railway bridge was opened and the original Athlone bridge, used to be wooden I know but when was the first one? If you know, no problem if you don’t…😊

1850 for the railway bridge and late 1600s the wooden bridge was build. Replaced in the1840s with the current one.

The motorway bridge was 1990 I think.. I too am old enough to remember when it wasn't there. The motorway goes through a portion of our field west of the bridge

Remember it as a child playing ip and down the road In the evenings

Does anyone know if the high streets in Athlone were originally built as a response to the risk of the Shannon flooding or simply a natural feature of the land around the banks of the river?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,720 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I'd imagine they used natural features to position the town and allieviate the flooding risk while also being a relatively high poiint in an otherwise flat, lowlying area. Back in the day the settlers and town builders wouldn't be too bothered with horsing in loads of earth from other areas to raise a spot to derisk flooding. They'd use what was there.

Or they were way ahead of their time and did exactly what I think they wouldn't. Ya wouldn't know. In many ways our ancesters were well ahead of us in terms of survivability and general cop on.

I remember back in 2010 ish commenting that the architects for Golden Island knew what they were doing. Shannon burst its banks badly and the Diskin Centre had been hit badly, but there was high banking put in around the back of GI and they carried on as normal.