Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you compare yourself to other women?

• 22-04-2017 8:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭

Well....do you? If you do, in what context?

I find myself doing it (and beating myself up about it) in relation to looks mostly.

I know its silly and totally pointless but i still do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 cristali

I do it all the time, in relation to looks too but then I try to remind myself that we're all unique ...but I'm a tough cookie, I always beat myself up that I should've done this or I should've been like this, that I have no willpower, although everyone keeps telling me I achieved a good bit being in a foreign country as a single mother... I still want more from myself. I think we all do that .. the grass always seems better on the other side of the fence

I used to do this with friends of mine. I remember being envious of their bodies, then I wished for a "lovely boyfriend just like hers", then it was how their relationships were progressing. It was awful and ate away at my self-esteem. I'm not sure when I stopped. They are no longer a part of my life but I don't look at my friends now and feel "I wish I had".

Sometimes I'll see a woman and think wow she has a lovely figure or I like her hair but it's more in admiration than longing. What does still get time me however is life stages. Now and then I get an ache if I see a pregnant woman or a couple with their baby. It's hard to rationalise because I'm not in the right place to be a mother but yet those feelings appear now and then.

Comparing ourselves to others can be harmless depending on the depth and extent but it's something to keep an eye on. We are all lovely just as well are :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Yep, mostly in relation to their figures. It's ridiculous because I'm generally a size 8-10 so I've absolutely nothing to be worrying about, but in the past year or so my body confidence is gone to ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

I do and I don't. I notice if they have lovely hair or makeup or clothes or figure, and think that I'd love that and then move on.

The bit I have difficulty with is when I see friends younger than me having their dream job and finding someone and settling down with them, while I'm single and looking for work and living at home. It gets to me for a while every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I used to. When I was a child (maybe 6 or 7) I used to wish upon a star that I'd wake up "pretty". I used to compare myself to my sister who was smarter than me and more outgoing (I was very shy). Then as a teenager and in college, I'd compare myself to other girls with better figures (I was too skinny), bigger boobs or whatever.

Then in my mid 20's, I started working on my self confidence and also realised that all women have stuff they don't like. No-one is looking at me thinking about my flaws because they are too busy stressing about their own. So I stopped comparing myself to anybody else and appreciating what I have.

Until I started trying to get pregnant and started seeing pregnant women and babies everywhere. That was a whole different type of head wreak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Like most posters have said so far looks, figures and make up etc.....Biggest one for me is others social life and their families.

Not being big head but im happy enough with my figure and am on average good looking, but my social life has been a slow sinking ship for a while. Friends have come and gone, cant put my finger on why that's a shambles. Right I would LOVE to be getting ready to go out and have the craic but I guess u night aswell call me billy no mates.

I'd often admire another womans appearance but I don't really get envious. I'm okay with my looks, imperfect as I am :)

I went to an all girls school and I saw enough of competition and envy, it's a treadmill some women never seem to get off and it's never a positive thing, it always seems to come from a place of insecurity or dissatisfaction, but I imagine it's a very difficult habit to break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

Yes, I do.

Not so much lookswise, though I won't pretend that I have never felt envy towards a good-looking woman. :)

It's more like if a woman has an admirable talent or facet of her personality, that's the kind of think I'd tend feel a bit envious of sometimes. Like, funny women sometimes, or maybe someone who is better than me at sometime I consider myself decent at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I probably compare myself almost as much to men as women. There is always someone better looking, more successful and so on but when you are happy with yourself it doesn't overly matter. When you are not every perceived negative is amplified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭milli milli

No, not any more.
    I stopped around my early-to-mid thirties. It was then that I stopped battling with myself and made friends with myself.

There's a quote:

'Comparison is the thief of all joy'

A younger relative compares herself to everyone, including celebrities and I think what's the point? She has herself in a twist about it. It's like saying these people are better than us, when nobody is better than anybody else.

We are all so unique, and have so much going for us, completely irreplaceable and brilliant.
    I apologise if this sounds self-righteous but falling in love with yourself gives you so much power.

But Irish people don't like to think too highly of themselves or have other people think that either. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭B00!

It's been hard not to, when you've been considered the street urchen most of your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Until my late 20s or so I'd say I did it almost religiously, it was borne out of insecurity and never feeling "enough." It was mostly projection about how much I felt I lacked where others didn't, be it appearance, style, weight, relationship status, career etc.

These days I've got a more live-and-let-live approach. I know I'm never going to be that glamorous stand-out woman with the impeccable makeup and expensive on-trend clothing, but when I see it I'd think "jeez she looks gorgeous, fair play".

I do still struggle a little with the career and life stages comparisons, perhaps because I'm surrounded by an ever-increasing circle of engagements and house-buying, baby-making peers. I can jump into the old habit of feeling inadequate, until I think about the reality of me-with-child and laugh at how wrong it would be for me at the moment.

I really believe that comparison is a cultural evil though and I know so many wonderfully smart and accomplished women including my own sister who destroy themselves with it without accounting for who THEY are and what's right for THEM. I have to remind myself every day of how lucky I am and how I'm not defined by what I have or where I am in life.

ETA it's also funny when it comes back at you in life too. Sometimes if I'm dressed a certain way I'll see more women "checking me out" subtly than men! In that "who is she and what does she do and is that a Chanel bag and I wonder where she got her hair blowdried" kinda way that's so familiar to me as I've done it myself for so long. Or having friends or relatives make comments about my career, "but sure you just walk into jobs" or "you've always had a good job" etc when the reality is it's taken me a decade to find any kind of balance with it and I still second-guess what I do, should I have gotten my Masters earlier, should I have studied Law instead, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

Not so much really, although I do notice other women, for example if someone has a great body or lovely hair or really good skin, but I wouldnt think of it as envy, more admiration/curiosity.... like I think to myself "I wonder what shampoo she uses, or where did she get that top". Basically me wondering if I could improve myself rather than beating myself up for not being as good.

A friend of mine (who I would consider absolutely gorgeous - size 6/8, long blonde hair, really pretty face - shes the friend who all my guy friends always ask about) recently commented that she deleted her Instagram account because it was making her feel insecure, and I was really taken aback by that because I couldn't understand how someone so goodlooking could be made insecure. Turned out she was mostly following bloggers projecting a flawless lifestlye/appearance and she thought it was depressing, where as I was mostly following accounts of funny people, food and cats falling off tables etc so as such it wasn't affecting me.

Just goes to show that even the most georgeous people can feel insecure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Bambi985 wrote: »

These days I've got a more live-and-let-live approach. I know I'm never going to be that glamorous stand-out woman with the impeccable makeup and expensive on-trend clothing, but when I see it I'd think "jeez she looks gorgeous, fair play".

I don't think the above attitude, and comparing yourself to other women are at all mutually exclusive.

I do the very same as you bambi, I love seeing people do well, look well, BE well, and would never ever think bad thoughts about anyone else just because I would like what they have.

However, I still do think "god I'd love to have her figure" and "wow she's beautiful, I would kill to look like that."

I don't think I'll ever not compare myself in some way to other women.

I had just typed "I'd love to be like Candie who is entirely happy with her looks" the realised the irony.

Ah jaysus I'm crap at this :D

A friend of mine (who I would consider absolutely gorgeous - size 6/8, long blonde hair, really pretty face - shes the friend who all my guy friends always ask about) recently commented that she deleted her Instagram account because it was making her feel insecure, and I was really taken aback by that because I couldn't understand how someone so goodlooking could be made insecure. Turned out she was mostly following bloggers projecting a flawless lifestlye/appearance and she thought it was depressing, where as I was mostly following accounts of funny people, food and cats falling off tables etc so as such it wasn't affecting me.

I think social media is like a devil's playground for people prone to insecurities and comparisons (i.e most of us). I'm sure I'm not the only one who's been dragged down the rabbit hole of flicking through ex's profiles that lead to their new girlfriend's profiles that lead to "that girl you kind of knew when you were younger that's now model-gorgeous and engaged to the local rugby captain" etc etc. Even time spent ambling through your standard beauty blogger / fitness blogger's profile will leave you feeling inadequate/fat/lazy/ugly/under-accomplished if you do it for long enough.

I recently deleted the facebook and instagram apps from my phone and have felt a lot less stressed and a lot more content as a result. Despite being relatively at ease and accepting of who I am and what I look like, I've still felt that inadequacy of not being as aRsed about makeup and contouring or not being in the gym four times a week or not having an enviable social life in line with all of these people's insta-lives.
    I do the very same as you bambi, I love seeing people do well, look well, BE well, and would never ever think bad thoughts about anyone else just because I would like what they have.

However, I still do think "god I'd love to have her figure" and "wow she's beautiful, I would kill to look like that."

I don't think I'll ever not compare myself in some way to other women.

I hear ya. I guess for me the intensity of the panging of "Oh I wish I looked like that / was that skinny..." etc has worn off for me in recent times. Because the reality is I'm never going to be someone who looks like Adriana Lima or who's willing to pour a lot of my spare time and money into beauty treatments and products and fitness classes and preening myself so I've become a bit more pragmatic about it.

What's the point in comparing when I'm not willing to go to the same lengths and I can't change my genetics anyway?! :) I think the major difference is that I've accepted who I am that bit more - whereas I sort of fought it more in my 20s. I'm Irish, I've got Irish features and my mum's (lack of) height and my Dad's green eyes and I love training but I also love going out for dinner and eating dessert and I love looking polished but I've got my own "system" for that (never more than 30 minutes) and I'm not going to mess with the system because I'm happy with it! If that makes sense? Not that I'm not prone to the bouts of insecurity but I see those characteristics as my own selling points these days, rather than things I need to fight or change.

I've found since I hit my 30s I tend to compare myself to both men and women in terms of career and educational accomplishments more than appearance. I work with almost exclusively men in a very corporate environment and often catch myself thinking "why did he get that bonus" or "why did he get promoted.." or "I wish I had an MBA like John.." on a pretty regular basis.:rolleyes:

I had just typed "I'd love to be like Candie who is entirely happy with her looks" the realised the irony.

Ah jaysus I'm crap at this :D

It's not that I'm entirely happy with my looks, it's more that I'm okay with the imperfections. I'm alright with myself, and it's something I've cultivated after seeing too many truly beautiful girls beat themselves up because they aren't a few lbs lighter or inches taller or a million other things they found fault with. These things aren't faults, they're just differences and we should try be okay with that. Insecurity or envy are killers of happiness.

I'm no stunner, but I'm attractive enough even if I'm short and lack curves or any of the other things that aren't considered optimum. It's okay not to be perfect, and I know when I see some stunning woman walking around looking perfect that she's got her own insecurities too and they're probably irrational and minimal, but to her they're far too important when they shouldn't be.

My insecurity would be intelligence, I work with some very clever people and I'd love to be as confident and as assured as they appear to be in that department.

We're all just works in progress.

Candie wrote: »
    It's not that I'm entirely happy with my looks, it's more that I'm okay with the imperfections. I'm alright with myself, and it's something I've cultivated after seeing too many truly beautiful girls beat themselves up because they aren't a few lbs lighter or inches taller or a million other things they found fault with. These things aren't faults, they're just differences and we should try be okay with that. Insecurity or envy are killers of happiness.

I'm no stunner, but I'm attractive enough even if I'm short and lack curves or any of the other things that aren't considered optimum. It's okay not to be perfect, and I know when I see some stunning woman walking around looking perfect that she's got her own insecurities too and they're probably irrational and minimal, but to her they're far too important when they shouldn't be.

My insecurity would be intelligence, I work with some very clever people and I'd love to be as confident and as assured as they appear to be in that department.

We're all just works in progress.

Sorry candie, I knew that's how you meant it, and it's what I meant in my response too though perhaps worded badly.

I wish I could have your outlook on how you look.

I get much much better with it as I get older and am far more comfortable in my own skin now than I was even 5 years ago. My god it really used to get me so so sick with upset how ugly I was (I know now that I'm definitely not ugly), but I'm still always hoping one day I'll wake up beautiful. I should have learned by now that it's highly unlikely to happen now if it hasn't happened yet!

I don't think you've anything to worry too much about, W. :)

You do get more secure as you get older though, I've noticed that with friends. It's such a shame when you see young girls down on themselves over what they perceive to be major issues but anyone else can see is just some minor characteristic - not flaw- when you know that this is the moment in their lives when they should be enjoying their youthful looks as much as they can.

Ultimately most of our lives are not going to be spent in the full bloom of perfect youth, and accepting ourselves complete with our little individualities and quirks is the key to being comfortable with aging. There's so much more to us than what we look like.

And while I'm here I'm going to have a proper rant.

It bugs the absolute sh*t out of me that I am super logical and rational on almost all matters. I KNOW that the women I'd like to look like, often want to look like someone else. I KNOW that I am beautiful to people that I want to be beautiful to. I KNOW I am not a complete whale because LOGICALLY my clothes wouldn't fit me if I was.

If someone said me "you're so fat and ugly" I would instantly think "no I'm not :confused: " but when I say it to myself I believe it.

I know all this when I think about it rationally but when I look in the mirror or go out in summer, rationality disappears straight out the window.

Jesus I really bloody annoy myself at times.

Sorry. I needed that out. Ugh.

Sorry candie, I knew that's how you meant it, and it's what I meant in my response too though perhaps worded badly.

I wish I could have your outlook on how you look.

I get much much better with it as I get older and am far more comfortable in my own skin now than I was even 5 years ago. My god it really used to get me so so sick with upset how ugly I was (I know now that I'm definitely not ugly), but I'm still always hoping one day I'll wake up beautiful. I should have learned by now that it's highly unlikely to happen now if it hasn't happened yet!

Correct me if I'm wrong but aren't you a bit of a ride? :D

Honestly, being "beautiful" isn't a priority of mine at all. It was five years ago, it was for a lot of my life maybe, but it's such an incredible waste of time to wish you were something else other than what you are. And as Candie said, so many "Beautiful" people are riddled with their own insecurities and miserable in different ways. And some are utterly confident and lovely and that makes them more beautiful.

I dunno. My mum never gave a shyte about being beautiful. I take a lot of my guidance from her. She's the most successful woman I know, both career and family-wise, she's a bloody cracker of a woman. Her looks were always way down on the list. And she played with the best of them and managed teams of the most brilliant people and they all worshipped the ground she walked on because she managed to be the most empathetic and kind person above it all.

If I make the effort I can look like a proper ride:pac::pac:, and if I don't I'm still petite and cutesy looking and female enough to get a bit of attention, but what use is that to me really. It's flattering, but it's not indicative of anything other than being a woman of a certain age with a certain face and a body that isn't repulsive. Grand, like. Won't last forever. I'm 30 now - I'm sure in 10 to 15 years far fewer people will be noticing me. And I want that to not be the end of my self-esteem as I know it, you know? I need a more solid foundation than being invested in my looks, not that there's anything remotely wrong with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

I would be guilty of it yes. Women can be frikken mean.

It all stems from confidence I think. As a teen I would have been severely overweight. I lost around 11 stone toward my late teens.
    Even though I was at my target weight and looked great,even then I still compared myself to my friends.

These days yes probably would still be a envious of a great figure or someone's make up skills or lifestyle. But it's more a passing thought.

La.de.da wrote: »
    I would be guilty of it yes. Women can be frikken mean.

It all stems from confidence I think. As a teen I would have been severely overweight. I lost around 11 stone toward my late teens.
    Even though I was at my target weight and looked great,even then I still compared myself to my friends.

These days yes probably would still be a envious of a great figure or someone's make up skills or lifestyle. But it's more a passing thought.

11 stone is an incredible achievement and I hope you're proud of it. :) Congratulations.

Remember, for every girl you envy there are other girls who envy you and you'd probably wonder why, as would the person you envy. That's how fruitless it all is, even if it's incredibly hard to escape the habit.

Candie wrote: »
    11 stone is an incredible achievement and I hope you're proud of it. :) Congratulations.

Remember, for every girl you envy there are other girls who envy you and you'd probably wonder why, as would the person you envy. That's how fruitless it all is, even if it's incredibly hard to escape the habit.

Oh I have about 3/4 stone of that back up but thanks. Easy enough to loose, a total bollix to keep off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I definitely would have compared my looks to other women for all of my teens and twenties. It was ridiculous because there is always going to be someone better looking and really beauty is so subjective. For me it definitely stemmed from a relationship I had in my late teens were a boyfriend constantly compared me to other women and I always fell short.
    Thankfully, age has brought a bit more security and I don't find myself comparing myself to other women looks wise at all anymore.

The only other time I compare myself to women is at running, swimming and cycling! It's a healthy competitive comparison though and I am in awe of some of the amazing triathletes I compete against :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Regarding speaking negativity to yourself - i was once asked how i felt about myself, i said all these horrible things about how i looked, how worthless i was, how stupid i was.

I was then asked would i tell 3 year old me that she was all these things - i said "of course not". Then the therapist said "well why is it different now?".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

That's happened to me a couple of times on nights out in Limerick over the last few years. Got told I looked like a bloke (I'm very tall) about a month ago while I was out. This sort of stuff really would have upset me when I was younger but I don't take it personally anymore. What sort of ignorant idiot would tell someone they look ugly on a night out? It says more about their insecurities imo than your looks.

This is obviously something idiots do - a few years ago i was standing outside a pub and a guy just walked out of the pub with a few of his friends. He looked right into my face and said "you're so ugly".

It actually really hurt me. Like why would he choose to say that to me? I know he is an idiot but its still hurtful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Yes- all the time. It's impossible not to. I'm not as bad as I used to be though. I was very bad years ago to the point where when new girls started in my boyfriend's work, I'd obsessively quiz him about them and look them up and "eliminate" them as a threat to me. Totally unhealthy.

My outlook on everything totally changed when my mother got sick. I just thought wtf am I at wasting the best years of my life worrying about things that don't matter. I have people around me who adore me, and that's all that matters. Can't believe I'm admitting this but I used to be the girl who, on a night out, if I saw someone prettier than me, it would ruin my night and I'd want to go home. My self confidence was in the gutter. I placed my whole worth and value as a person on how I looked.

When my mam got sick I took some time out. I left my job and assisted her on her (long) road to recovery. I learned so much about myself in that time. I'm a good person, I'm patient, I'm kind and I'd do anything for the people I love. I still see girls out and about and I think "omg why can't I look like her", but the difference is now I stop and check myself. I tell myself she has insecurities too, and I remember how bad I used to be and how far I've come. Social media doesnt help- definitely- but I think we need to take all of that with a pinch of salt. I think every woman is guilty of comparison- but just because someone is gorgeous it doesn't devalue your gorgeousness or make you any less attractive. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Lads can be absolute dicks and just say things to show off in front of their friends. On a hen one night I got asked was I a man in drag :pac:

anna080 wrote: »
    Lads can be absolute dicks and just say things to show off in front of their friends. On a hen one night I got asked was I a man in drag :pac:

It's amazing the impact these pathetic "bravado" comments can make. I still remember walking down the street alone on the way to meet friends and some lad in a gang of lads barked at me and all his mates laughed. I was maybe 18, 19, at the peak of that adolescent insecurity and nearly froze on the spot with how hard it hit me. Wish I could go back in time and return the compliment retrospectively as I've no problem calling out nasty behaviour these days but at the time I almost wanted to cry.

Still annoys me how much comments be they negative or positive from gangs of young immature lads can really play on your self esteem when you're a young woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Yep all the time.

Not only in relation to looks but moreso with the life stages- oh she's my age and has a house bought and has her PhD, I must catch up. I feel like the recession has changed the life plans and expectations of many people. Their parents may have had a family and a house at whatever age and they are now in their 30s and unable to buy or whatever, and it's very difficult not to compare. But then I need to remind myself we're all in the same boat with that. Some are hit worse than others and it's no reflection on those people.

On the looks thing, I used to spend ages doing my make up and planning what to wear for a night out and I'd be feeling great until I met with my friends and then I'd feel my heart sink because they look so good and it would, like Anna said, impact on my whole night. And then I thought to myself, I was happy with how I looked until I compared myself to them. There is always gonna be people that are hotter than me and there are gonna be people even hotter than them. Once I am happy with myself why does it matter if they look "better".

Something I try to remember when it comes to looks is that once people get to know you, they don't look at your make up of physical features or your flabby arms or your frizzy hair- you're just you, the person.The culmination of everything. Think about the woman you sit near in work, you don't automatically envisage her pores, or her crooked nose or her bad teeth, you just think of her. The full picture- maybe you might imagine her blonde hair or her dark skin but these are not negatives, they are just the features that make her the person she is. We focus so much on our own imperfections but really, once somebody gives you the initial once over, they never really see anything other than the whole picture after that. They see you as a person and not your physical features. Hope that makes sense.

Its sad to see what we, as women, have been subjected to for no reason other than the fact that we are women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Parchment wrote: »
    Its sad to see what we, as women, have been subjected to for no reason other than the fact that we are women.

Men have very similar insecurities, if anything young men are even more affected by them. I think it's​ more an age thing. I think many of us who are over thirty were a lot more insecure or target of nasty comments in teens and twenties. I remember very little of that in my thirties and I remember quite a bit before.

I think more realistic question for this thread would be: do you still compare yourself to others? I suspect very few people go through their teens or early twenties without insecurities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Cassie.B

OMG, Yes!
    As a teenager and into my early 20's i must have compared myself to every other girl/womam i met. Not because of what they owned/did/wore but purely because they had a figure!
    Jeepers, i even saw boys/men with better figures than mine!
    I was an upside down pear... I was flatter than Mr Tar Macadam!
    Sheer determination inspired by an uncontrollable comparison drove me to take steps to rectify my situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Not physically but I would compare myself to anyone around the same age (or younger) who are further ahead in their career than me or have a nice house or what have you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

Re the comments from idiots, I used be seriously overweight. I was at an All-Ireland final one year, wearing my county jersey, and as I was walking down towards Croke Park a group of lads started jeering and one said "here's our BIGGEST supporter". I've no doubt the lads forgot about it within minutes, but it stayed with me for years. On the plus side, I'm now slim whereas they are undoubtedly still idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Re the comments from idiots, I used be seriously overweight. I was at an All-Ireland final one year, wearing my county jersey, and as I was walking down towards Croke Park a group of lads started jeering and one said "here's our BIGGEST supporter". I've no doubt the lads forgot about it within minutes, but it stayed with me for years. On the plus side, I'm now slim whereas they are undoubtedly still idiots.

That is horrid. I get comments like that the odd time but Ive never had a group of people jeer me. People can be nasty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

Parchment wrote: »
    Well....do you? If you do, in what context?

I find myself doing it (and beating myself up about it) in relation to looks mostly.

I know its silly and totally pointless but i still do it.
    I actually feel really intimidated by other women. I am shy and not outgoing. I have struggled to make friends of both genders. I have struggled to make friends who appreciate me.

I am very supportive and kind. I put up with a lot. I have never managed to have as many friends etc. I was generally used for crisis or baby sitting or when they had no one else to hang with ...or no one would stand by them.

I am the first to help you find a job..a home ....i will visit you in hospital. I will stand by you ...

I never bring my drama to your door. Not even when I am in hospital or down ..or a family member is ill. I don't expect help.

But I often compare myself to women who have more friends. Or their friends stand up for them.

I am not sure if it's me ..or my friends. Don't get me wrong. I do have some good friends.

I wish I had better people skills.

I wish I had all the boys after me and was the most popular girl at school. But that is life....

I probably sound like I am selfish or moaning. I don't want people to think that. It's just something I wish was different in my life.

I would say ..the people I have as friends now are true friends. They are real. And kind and they accept me ...

I wish ...in my love life..i had men who accepted me. In the past I didn't.

I would look at friends who had boyfriends who were never nasty to them and were kind..i would think I am just as kind as they are so.. why ?

I have had guys tell me i don't deserve to be treated as well as other women. That deserve to bullied even. I have to accept compromising sexual situations or sex that makes me hate myself because if I dont want to be single ..that is what i have to accept.

I have compared myself to girls who are treated kindly with gentleness as if they have value. Because i never knew that feeling. To feel worth ...i never had it.

I just want to say. I NEVER want to intimidate any woman. I want you to love yourselves. I want the world or your friends or partner to love you from the highest possible way.

I have had guys tell me i don't deserve to be treated as well as other women. That deserve to bullied even. I have to accept compromising sexual situations or sex that makes me hate myself because if I dont want to be single ..that is what i have to accept.

You absolutely do not have to accept being treated badly.

Those comments do stay with you. When ever I'm in a bad patch they resurface. The slimmest I got (I ended up going too far the other direction for a while and was bordering anorexia) I still didn't feel good enough.

It's small minded people, judging belittling and making other people's lives hell for their size.
    Like you say weight can change, being an idiot usually doesn't.

You absolutely do not have to accept being treated badly.
    Anyway chin up darling, as you get older it definitely gets easier with confidence but I know how hard it is to life with shyness at times :)

Thanks guys you are very kind :) Glad you are feeling happier Romantic Rose :)

Thank you Persepoly. :)

No one male or female should accept that we are all human :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭MiliMe

Yes. Especially to my partner's ex wife which I think might be normal considering but I do it to extreme and it's not normal.

I think the trick is to say ...no one is better or worse...i am not prettier or uglier ..I am different. They are different.

So if a lady tells you she feels insecure around you just say ..you are unique and different you look like you ...instead of you are just as pretty as anyone..in your unique way.

Who wants to look like everyone else anyway. I stick out like a giraffe in society ..i may as well embrace it ...even if i am insecure about it ...and that is kind of unique too as most people embracing weirdness are cool about it ...

Thanks for being you guys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I thought as I grew older I would compare myself less to other women, but that's not the case, in fact I think as I've gotten older there are now more aspects to my life in my early 30's I find myself comparing myself even more.

When I was in my teen's it was mainly in relation to looks, figures (I had no boobs, still don't really), how (un)popular I was and how I wasn't really fancies by the opposite gender.

In my 20's I don't think I compared myself as much to people, and when I did, I think I was more favourable: I had a good education, a good job/career, a child, a partner, married mid 20's, bought house late 20's. We were lucky with the Celtic Tiger era.

But now in my 30's I'm finding myself back comparing myself to other women again. Even though many women my age have had kids so the pressure of the perfect figure should no longer be there, I'm conscious that I'm carrying more weight than I used to (and I used to never have to worry about weight gain until my late 20's). I don't feel sure what a person in their early 30's should wear. I'm conscious of my middle area and people do look at your tummy to figure out if it's fat or a baby bump.

I feel like I don't know what I'm doing. Most people in their 30's appear to be clued in. If I'm chatting/networking through work I feel like I'm lacking in knowledge and that I'll be "found out" to be a fraud or spoofer - I don't know much about Brexit, politics, still trying to get to grips with the Companies Acts, FRS changes etc. If I'm trying to chat with other mums from school, they are at least 10 years older than me so I don't know what to say to them. My circle of friends has grown very small and we are all busy with our own lives so I compare myself to other women who appear to be more social then me, they always seem to have people to have lunch, shopping, cinema, walks etc with.

I think in your 30's people are at many more different life stages so it's hard to figure out what you should be at.