Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving test and "print your own" insurance disc

• 02-10-2014 6:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭

Hi Guys, I need your opinion about this.
    Today tester did not conduct driving test saying my insurance disc is not valid. I bought insurance online( AXA website) and here is the email I got from AXA saying I can print disc using color printer

"Please note that your disc is only valid if you print this on a colour printer ensuring the green band along the left hand side is shown. This is in accordance with Road Traffic (Insurance Disc) Regulations of 1984. If you do not have access to a colour printer, please call us on 1890 24 7 365 or drop into your local brand to request one"

So, My disc is printed in colour with green band along the left hand side. I have showed this email in my phone to tester but he did not listen. So I have to re apply and pay the fee again.

I know RSA wants to display original disc but if this is not valid why AXA telling to print them in colour? Garda also checked this disc in their routine checking but they did not say any thing. I rang the AXA and they are saying they never heard this thing and it's valid once it's colour print.

I rang the RSA also but they want only original. So what should I do now ? Is this happened to any one, as many people buy them online.

It's very disappointing.

Please share your opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Sounds like you met a tosser of an instructor.

They live in Bizarro World.

I doubt there's much you can do now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Craftylee

I certainly wouldn't pay for the test again - I would take this further. Either the RSA or Axa is at fault here, not you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 kip2014

Hi powerstar,

I agree with Craftylee, I would advise logging a complaint with both parties and referring it on to the ombudsman if you do not get a satisfactory resolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭powerstar

I just emailed to RSA and I rang the AXA, the girl told me they will call me back tomorrow. I will wait and see what happens. Thanks for your input guys.

I think if this disc valid for Garda and not for RSA, that does not make sense.
    AXA girl told me there is miscommunication between RSA and AXA , she is gonna check with her team lead and will call me back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

How did he know it was printed? I have been printing my own discs for years, its the way XS direct insurance used to do it, they email you the Disc so when you pay your insurance you get the Disc straight away, it was dead handy.

Hi Chris_Heilong, He compared with last year disc which is just behind this year disc. Last year I bought insurance from Chill so they send me in the post but this year was online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

The original disc is printed by colour printer. . . .What did the RSA guy think it was printed by?

I am not sure what he was thinking, But my disc is printed in colour green band along the left side. Even I showed to my driving instructor she couldn't believe it. She took a photo of it and said she would share this info with other instructors.
    She always checked my insurance disc, nct and motor tax before my class. Never had a problem.

Glad to see you're taking this further - this could be a big issue and at least it's on there radar now. Worst comes to the worst I would bring this to the attention of the Ombudsmen

Just to update on this, I got reply from RSA. They are going with tester and saying my disc is invalid because it's printed. I have asked them all sorts of questions like why it's valid with gards and not with RSa ? But there is only one standard line of answer like " your test was not conducted because of invalid disc( printed)". Is there any place I can take this further? I am still waiting to hear from AXA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

From working in insurance, we used to print certificates on a colour printer but it was on special certificate paper which had various security features (numbered and recorded, watermark etc).
    This paper was delivered securely and kept in a safe.

I didn't know that a garda would accept a regular paper certificate.

ash23 wrote: »
    From working in insurance, we used to print certificates on a colour printer but it was on special certificate paper which had various security features (numbered and recorded, watermark etc).
    This paper was delivered securely and kept in a safe.

I didn't know that a garda would accept a regular paper certificate.

Yes, you are correct their paper is different. I have used regular A4 sheet to print my disc. . Now I got the new disc in post and I have compared both of them. It's only they use different paper.

But AXA only asking customers to print them. One of the other poster also said he is printing them from XS insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

powerstar wrote: »
    Yes, you are correct their paper is different. I have used regular A4 sheet to print my disc. . Now I got the new disc in post and I have compared both of them. It's only they use different paper.

But AXA only asking customers to print them. One of the other poster also said he is printing them from XS insurance.

I'd place a complaint with Axa then. They really should be advising people that the printed disc won't be accepted for driving tests. They can't just fob you off in that manner.
    I wouldn't waste my time complaining to the RSA as they state on their website "The vehicle must display a current valid original Insurance Disc (white background with a green band extending along left hand side)"

Axa are advising you to print it off and that it is acceptable to do this over getting a certificate and disc from them on certificate paper.

Look up their website to see how you can make a complaint. Emailing a query is not the same as stating you wish to make a complaint. Emailed queries will just be a generic response. An official complaint will be handled differently through the appropriate channels.

If Axa still maintain they are in the right they will issue a final response advising you that you can then take the complaint to the Financial Service Ombudsman.

I'd say if anyone's at fault it's Axa - they were the ones saying if it's printed with the green strip then it's valid. Which turned out to be not true. I use Axa myself and mine is printed at home - wonder if I'm legally covered? :)

Thanks guys for your inputs. I got reply from AXA. They are taking this matter further with RSA and said they are going to refund driving test money ( 85 Euros) to me. I have asked them how long does take refund process? Hopefully It won't happen to any one in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Its hassle and stress you could do without having to resit test but it is good of axa to refund without hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Thanks guys for your inputs. I got reply from AXA. They are taking this matter further with RSA and said they are going to refund driving test money ( 85 Euros) to me. I have asked them how long does take refund process? Hopefully It won't happen to any one in the future.

Well that's something at least. Hope your preparations are going well for your test :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭Deenie123

I have my insurance from Axa and I printed mine when I paid for the policy. Then a few days later I got a proper one in the post automatically. Like the OP, I was told it would be accepted as long as I printed it in colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Triangle

the RSA are in the wrong. I've looked into this in detail and the law just states the look of the disc ie size, paper, green band, etc.
    the central bank have confirmed and they regulate the insurance market.
    Your disc is legal and the rsa have no right to refuse you, imo.
    if it was me , I'd ask them under what article is the disc invalid then take it further.

Triangle wrote: »
    the RSA are in the wrong. I've looked into this in detail and the law just states the look of the disc ie size, paper, green band, etc.
    the central bank have confirmed and they regulate the insurance market.
    Your disc is legal and the rsa have no right to refuse you, imo.
    if it was me , I'd ask them under what article is the disc invalid then take it further.

Hi Triangle, Yes, You are correct. RSA also wrong, because in the guidelines they mentioned only about colour print with greenband. My disc was exactly like that. I have asked them several times, but they did not answer all those questions, just saying my disc is inavlid. They are going by what tester told them. I don't have much say. AXA took all details like testing time, test center and said would follow up with RSA. Hopefully It will change after this. I am sure there are many people who prints discs, but I am the unlucky one who went to the driving test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭the butcher

Hi Triangle, Yes, You are correct. RSA also wrong, because in the guidelines they mentioned only about colour print with greenband. My disc was exactly like that. I have asked them several times, but they did not answer all those questions, just saying my disc is inavlid. They are going by what tester told them. I don't have much say. AXA took all details like testing time, test center and said would follow up with RSA. Hopefully It will change after this. I am sure there are many people who prints discs, but I am the unlucky one who went to the driving test.

Just to let you know it's still happening - I have an AXA Insurance disc and I was refused on Friday gone. So frustrating...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Just to let you know it's still happening - I have an AXA Insurance disc and I was refused on Friday gone. So frustrating...

I think you should get a solicitor to wrote to them and ask them on what grounds they state it is invalid. Include documentation from AXA about printing the disc and references to the RTA regarding disc requirements.

My own insurance is AXA also but through AA. I have a preprinted cert and disc but I did my insurance via AA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I imagine the RSA's get-out clause here is the word "original". Basically meaning the hardcopy disc must have been supplied by the insurance company.

Banks do this all the time when asking for utility bills - asking for "original" bills, meaning they won't accept statements printed from PDF, even if you don't receive paper bills.

seamus wrote:
    I imagine the RSA's get-out clause here is the word "original". Basically meaning the hardcopy disc must have been supplied by the insurance company.

But in this case AXA are saying by sending an email that there is no such thing as an original. It can be argued that the print from the email is the original.

Did you lose your €85 for the test? Or did you reschedule?

If you lost the money I would honestly push this further - perhaps even legally.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,170 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Just a heads up for anyone who is in this situation

My daughter just went for her driving test today and the tester refused to do it because he said the AXA "print your own" insurance disc is not legally acceptable.

He said AXA know this yet are doing nothing about it.

still happening....

my daughters test refused today because of this..

such bullsh!te becuase either
    a) the RSA should be clear that the do not accept "printed out" discs
    b) AXA shouldnt be offering them as a legal document

sydthebeat wrote:
    such bullsh!te becuase either a) the RSA should be clear that the do not accept "printed out" discs b) AXA shouldnt be offering them as a legal document

The authenticity of the disc is from the insurer. Someone needs to take the RSA to task on this legally as the legal requirements are specified in

S.I. No. 355/1984 - Road Traffic (Insurance Disc) Regulations, 1984.

There is nothing about special paper or any other requirement than that detailed. All discs are printed documents.

At the very least I think publication of the details of a cheap small claims court case to reclaim the fees against the RSA might get them to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭georgefalls

Same with 123.ie

I wasn't aware its illegal though

Same with 123.ie

I wasn't aware its illegal though

After doing some reading since it seems its not actually illegal but something the RSA have an issue with.

Typical Irish issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

my mother is with axa and she too got the email to print of the insurance form on a color printer. The other copy arrived in the post a week or two later.

The printed out copy is identical and the only difference would be the perforations to tear off the slip section.

Just saw the replies on this thread. Actually AXA refunded me the test fee money when they refused driving test but you will have to apply again for retest. I am surprised this is still happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 aby_lincoln

I was refused a driving test because the insurance disc did not have perforated sides. I did not print the disc myself - it was sent to me by 123.ie - how am I supposed to know that the disc does not satisfy the following condition:
    "The vehicle must display a current valid original Insurance Disc (white background with a green band extending along left hand side)".

It had the green line and everything and was sent to me by post by 123.ie - I DID NOT PRINT THE DISC MYSELF - sorry for screaming :) - my driving instructor also checked everything to be OK before the test.

123.ie is saying that that's how they make and send the discs now - some test centers are creating problems. That is more annoying as it is not consistent (some centers!!!)

The tester himself told me that the disc is ok by Garda and law - but not okay to take a driving test.

How can an authority refuse to accept a document which is OK by the law of the country?

123.ie is paying me the 85 Euro fee for the test and will send me a disc with perforated sides.

But I think RSA is at fault here - they can't refuse to accept something which is accepted by the law.

This is not a question of 85 Euro - this is more about waste of time, energy - stress - and most importantly the feeling of being punished/humiliated without any fault of mine whatsoever.

Furthermore I will again have to book a test and wait for weeks (if not months) to take the test.

Who will compensate me for all these?

This is beyond outrageous - this is absolute nonsense - we should collectively do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

"Talk to Joe".
    Only joking :)

Seriously though, anybody who experiences this issue (and their family, friends, etc.) should bombard every single TD in the country with letters and emails.
    Most of these new 'semi-state agencies' are basically told they have to be self-funding (in other words, use every trick you can to generate as much revenue as possible).
    The RSA are taking the p1ss with this, and they know it.
    The only way to change this is to make as much noise as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Well if the law is saying the disc is legal, then it's legal.

Bring them to the small claims court for loss of earnings for the day if you had to take it off work.

Utter madness.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    After doing some reading since it seems its not actually illegal but something the RSA have an issue with.

Typical Irish issue.

Well if the RSA have an issue with the law then go via the relevant channels, as it stands the discs are perfectly legal. Just because you don't agree with a law doesn't mean you can start making your own interpretation of it.

As for the testers, what powers of law do these guys have to examine and inspect a tax disc or insurance disc, that the job of a Garda or Revenue inspector. They should be checking if they are vaild.

As for my own personal stand point, in this day and age we shouldn't be wasting so much fúcking paper on discs, when we have ANPR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Insurance discs are from a bygone era when colour printers we not easily accessible. Today, they are useless. Even the genuine ones only state that the car is insured, not the driver. Should be scrapped and replaced by a full rollout of ANPR as said above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Insurance discs are from a bygone era when colour printers we not easily accessible. Today, they are useless. Even the genuine ones only state that the car is insured, not the driver. Should be scrapped and replaced by a full rollout of ANPR as said above

Yes, but what's the point in having even the best ANPR when it's not linked to relevant database containing correct and up to date insurance data.

CiniO wrote: »
    Yes, but what's the point in having even the best ANPR when it's not linked to relevant database containing correct and up to date insurance data.

Well that lead the next question, where are the Gardaí getting there information from, if the ANPR systems ain't linked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Why are the RSA so hung up about the disc when it doesn't prove that the test candidate is insured to drive the car?
    Surely they should look for the insurance certificate.

elperello wrote: »
    Why are the RSA so hung up about the disc when it doesn't prove that the test candidate is insured to drive the car?
    Surely they should look for the insurance certificate.

They shouldn't, they have no legal power to be inspecting discs or anything like it. They should be looking at the window and if it's saying it's in date then that's the end of it. They have no legal power to inspect a disc, NCT/TAX/Insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭elperello

TallGlass wrote: »
    They shouldn't, they have no legal power to be inspecting discs or anything like it. They should be looking at the window and if it's saying it's in date then that's the end of it. They have no legal power to inspect a disc, NCT/TAX/Insurance.

You are right.

According to this they just get you to read and sign a document confirming that you have proper insurance cover in place.

So why are some testers stressing over the provenance of the disc?

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Learner%20Drivers/Preparing_driving_test_DL_v2.pdf