Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attack on Syrian refugee convoy bus

• 15-04-2017 6:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭

By rwbug

More horrific images from Syria today after rebels targeted buses carrying Assad supporting civilians from besieged villages near Idlib to Assad held areas. They had been promised safe passage as part of an agreement which also allowed besieged rebel supporting civilians safe passage to rebel held areas.

I thought I'd create a new thread about this because it is a huge breaking news story at the moment...

At least 41 people have now died after a car bombing attack on a convoy of buses carrying refugees from Aleppo and other besieged Syrian towns in the area.

People have been stuck there for about 35 hours with no food, water or place to go to the toilet.

Apparently, a large vehicle rammed the side of one of the buses and a suicide bomber blew himself up inside, causing a huge explosion. Photographs from the scene show a number of buses burning and quite a lot of injured evacuees, stranded by the blast.

There are unconfirmed reports that IS has claimed responsibility for the bombing, but the finger of blame is being pointed at rebels instead.

It is believed the buses involved were carrying residents evacuated from two pro-government villages in northern Syria when they were hit in Rashidin.

Terrible news all the same, who do you think they did it and why?

Will there ever be a resolution to this long and bloody war?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

If the US assisted Russia and Assad in actually crushing these cnuts instead of supporting them, it would end very rapidly. That doesn't fit the US/Israeli agenda though, so it will drag on bloodier than ever.

It needs to be mentioned the "Rebels" agreed to a cease-fire in order for the civilians to be evacuated, then broke that cease-fire by attacking the busses. The pictures on line are grim. Very grim.

Anyone who still doubts that "The Rebels" wouldn't stoop so low as to use stolen chlorine gas barrels as weapons against civilians ought to have a bit of a think on.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,316 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

This is the one of those stories where all sides will blame each other and the truth will be another victim. If it was IS I'd imagine they'll "take credit" for it for want of a better phrase.

Syria: An absolute cluster****

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Wow, its just so strange when you think about how much humanity is developing in other ways but then theres so much stuff like this happening around the world too, may as well be 1900

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Another syria thread ,

It's hardly​ a huge story but it seems at least 20 rebels were killed who were escorting the buses which would likely mean isis who carried out another horrendous attack.

*Mods can this thread be merged with the other Syria thread *

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 263 ✭✭CoolHandBandit

Dubh Linn wrote: »
    I thought I'd create a new thread about this because it is a huge breaking news story at the moment...

At least 41 people have now died after a car bombing attack on a convoy of buses carrying refugees from Aleppo and other besieged Syrian towns in the area.

People have been stuck there for about 35 hours with no food, water or place to go to the toilet.

Apparently, a large vehicle rammed the side of one of the buses and a suicide bomber blew himself up inside, causing a huge explosion. Photographs from the scene show a number of buses burning and quite a lot of injured evacuees, stranded by the blast.

There are unconfirmed reports that IS has claimed responsibility for the bombing, but the finger of blame is being pointed at rebels instead.

It is believed the buses involved were carrying residents evacuated from two pro-government villages in northern Syria when they were hit in Rashidin.

Terrible news all the same, who do you think they did it and why?

Will there ever be a resolution to this long and bloody war?

The region is a feckin mess. IS/Rebels/Al Nusra nobody seems to be able to control these savages. Imo every country in that region seems to be more stable with a dictator type figure in charge and the Americans keeping their big size 12's out of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Dubh Linn

They are now saying that over 100 people are now dead, with the death toll expected to rise "substantially". Jesus, just when you thought things just couldn't get any worse...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

The more this mess goes on the more I think Al-Assad is the only hope remaining to bring any kind of stability back to that region.

Dubh Linn wrote: »
    They are now saying that over 100 people are now dead, with the death toll expected to rise "substantially". Jesus, just when you thought things just couldn't get any worse...

It's syria hundreds die on a daily basis unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Gatling wrote: »
    It's syria hundreds die on a daily basis unfortunately

Yeh. Just unfortunate (like an accident) when the rebels kill civilians. Horrendous and evil when assad supposedly does.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

The more this mess goes on the more I think Al-Assad is the only hope remaining to bring any kind of stability back to that region.

Agree with this...al-nusra are islamist scum and if theyre let take over the region it can only mean bad news...for syrians more than anyone else

Yeh. Just unfortunate (like an accident) when the rebels kill civilians. Horrendous and evil when assad supposedly does.

save your faux outrage and dramatics snowflake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Why do you think my outrage is faux? And why are you so upset when rebels are criticised?

Rebel's were killed in the attack do keep up ,

It's not like assad using chemical weapons against civilians

What an odd outburst. Do you and that poster have some sort of personal animosity? :confused:

Beyondgone wrote: »
    What an odd outburst. Do you and that poster have some sort of personal animosity? :confused:

Lol.

It's not like assad using chemical weapons against civilians

still on this I see...been nearly two weeks surely some evidence would have come out no?

Depp wrote: »
    still on this I see...been nearly two weeks surely some evidence would have come out no?

Autopsies have proven sarin , russia has blocked a UN investigation that they called for themselves ,oddly russia didn't even condemn it ,

Which would suggest Assad and Putin don't want the truth to come out ,

Lol.

Still none the wiser.

I did lol too at your "Assad using chemical weapons" assertion thought. He's "a bad man" right? Like Hussein was "a bad man" when it suited and like Quaddafi was "a bad man" when it suited. Latest in a long line of "bad men" in the eyes of the US..when it suits.

Still none the wiser.

I did lol too at your "Assad using chemical weapons" assertion thought. He's "a bad man" right? Like Hussein was "a bad man" when it suited and like Quaddafi was "a bad man" when it suited. Latest in a long line of "bad men" in the eyes of the US..when it suits.

Do you have a point other than America did this and America did that .

Noriaga (drugs trafficking​)
    Saddam (used chemical weapons against Kurds , massacred more Kurds ,invaded Kuwait,) hung after trial by Iraqis
    Gadaffi ( attacked his own population got killed by a Libyan )

Quite a short list really

Autopsies have proven sarin , russia has blocked a UN investigation that they called for themselves ,oddly russia didn't even condemn it ,

Which would suggest Assad and Putin don't want the truth to come out ,

autopsies by who? also didnt realise assad was the worlds only producer of sarin :D

Turkish and British doctors.

So who else would drop sarin gas in that area and from a fighter jet , russia ?

Turkish and British doctors.

So who else would drop sarin gas in that area and from a fighter jet , russia ?

any links to them? wouldnt mind reading, also, how does that prove assads involvement?

Are you saying it was russian flying the same Aircraft as the Syrian Assad regeime.

Apologies mods for the off topic post just seen the thread split.

Are you saying it was russian flying the same Aircraft as the Syrian Assad regeime

obviously not...theres as much if not more convincing evidence that it was a false flag by the rebels as there is it was assad, why are you so convinced it was assad?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

The chemical attack had been well and truly discussed and the thread started going off topic until the bus attack happened. Let's keep this thread to discussion on the bus attack and take discussion on which regime is responsible for the chemical attack and its aftereffects to the politics forums. Alright?

Mod

I think Netherlands may have quoted the wrong poster there.. His reply appeared aimed at Gatling as opposed to the Mod? New user and all that?

Anyway. In the light of this attack, presumably by forces allied to IS, would a concerted effort by the US and Russia to attempt to bring this conflict to a speedy end to restore peace in Syria not be advisable? I know hundreds die daily, aside from this one attack, but is that endless loss of life not a reason to end this? Sit down, talk out a solution and then impose it?

I think Netherlands may have quoted the wrong poster there.. His reply appeared aimed at Gatling as opposed to the Mod? New user and all that?

Anyway. In the light of this attack, presumably by forces allied to IS, would a concerted effort by the US and Russia to attempt to bring this conflict to a speedy end to restore peace in Syria not be advisable? I know hundreds die daily, aside from this one attack, but is that endless loss of life not a reason to end this? Sit down, talk out a solution and then impose it?

I agree this needs sorting but theres no chance of talking things out with IS. Only solution is wiping them out

Do you have a point other than America did this and America did that .

Noriaga (drugs trafficking​)
    Saddam (used chemical weapons against Kurds , massacred more Kurds ,invaded Kuwait,) hung after trial by Iraqis
    Gadaffi ( attacked his own population got killed by a Libyan )

Quite a short list really

Well I dunno Gatling. Let's look back. Quaddafi became "a bad man" when he mooted a pan African currency. Before that, he was a member of the good lads club. Hussein was backed to the hilt by the US until he fell out of favour. They somehow managed to ignore his prior transgressions until he wasn't a good lad on whatever they expected, suddenly, he was "a bad person". Hmm.

Now Assad, he seemed palatable enough to the US until the winds turned and they decided he was a despot. Odd that. Syria went from being stable, peaceful and prosperous to a bombed-out wasteland roamed by rebels and warlords in jig time. As did Iraq. As did Libya. Notice any pattern emerging?

Which brings us neatly to several busses getting blown to pieces..by roaming rebels and warlords. Because the US/Israel decided that the current (previously palatable) ruler was no longer palatable. For reasons known only to themselves.

Perhaps this pattern needs to be recognised, acknowledged and possibly called a halt to? Before more busses get bombed. And stuff.

I agree this needs sorting but theres no chance of talking things out with IS. Only solution is wiping them out

That works for me too, but the US appear disinterested in that solution. And who is anyone to argue with their logic?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

The rebels are Al Qaeda and should be stopped.