Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has someone finally got the balls to deal with the HSE?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

pjohnson wrote: »
    As with the BE debacle combined with most other issues most of this can be tracked to the cancerous unions.

Well the problems in the HSE are evident. Unlike the NHS most of us pay for the service at point of use. We should be getting value for money.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

I don't really have an issue with the payment of medical staff, the issue I do have however is the payments regarding administration.

Certain jobs can be completed with little prior experience/education, the salary of workers should be based on their qualifications.

I just feel that there could be A LOT of money saved in this department that could be put into hiring medical professionals, buying equipment, paying for life saving drugs etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

222233 wrote: »
    I don't really have an issue with the payment of medical staff, the issue I do have however is the payments regarding administration.

Certain jobs can be completed with little prior experience/education, the salary of workers should be based on their qualifications.

I just feel that there could be A LOT of money saved in this department that could be put into hiring medical professionals, buying equipment, paying for life saving drugs etc.
    No it shouldn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'm not praising Ulster Bank but now that they're closing branches they are making all staff apply for their own jobs again, the HSE should do similar. Make everyone apply for an interview (by an outside independent agency) for their position. The vast majority would fail miserably as they're not qualified, don't actually do anything and therefore would not be capable of sitting and passing an interview. They'd have no recourse and no excuse to complain as they'd be shown up as the wasteful glut of uselessness that they really are.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I have in-laws and friends who work in the front line of the HSE and they are sick and tired of filling out paperwork for every little thing to justify the existence of some middle manager.This is taking away from their actual work.They are fed up seeing these folk swan around constantly drinking cups of tea or coffee as if that is their purpose for turning up in the morning.If you asked these people to write out an evaluation of their role and what they do it would barely make a paragraph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

I suggest a series of regional health boards. Probably still some old stationary knocking around somewhere.

And there it is. Politicians still yearn for the good old days of bureaucracy duplicated, quadlicated whatever.

To sort out the HSE is actually simple. Remove any political control. Repeal or remove regulation that demands excessive secretarial backup. Improve conditions of work for nurses. Open more wards. Drastically reduce medical card entitlement. The manager manages and the politician ****s off.

I said it before here. It is simple except for one thing: the party that does it will never see power again in Ireland. We don't do solutions; we do Joe Duffy.

No it shouldn't.

I think it should, someone who spends 12 years in college and hundreds of thousands of euros on their education to specialise in something is clearly going to be earning a higher salary than someone who has never studied and has no specialist skill, that's common sense. Some of the administration wages are insane.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭Here we go

Won't happen as long as it's political as no party or minister will stand behind the redundancies cost reductions needed while there's growth. The crash was the time to do it but we got sweeping cuts when we needed targeted cuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭Here we go

I think it should, someone who spends 12 years in college and hundreds of thousands of euros on their education to specialise in something is clearly going to be earning a higher salary than someone who has never studied and has no specialist skill, that's common sense. Some of the administration wages are insane.
    Have to agree if everyone was paid regardless of education why would people bother to improve or try harder to better them self when they know no matter the effort the payoff was the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

The HSE is like Africa. Money pours in and feck all changes, because it goes to the wrong people. For the wrong things. That Department wasn't referred to as "Angola" for nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭mikeoneilly

Here we go wrote: »
    Won't happen as long as it's political as no party or minister will stand behind the redundancies cost reductions needed while there's growth. The crash was the time to do it but we got sweeping cuts when we needed targeted cuts.

We could do with the HSE being independently managed and overhauled if that were possible.

Hard to see any change with the stranglehold the union's have.The HSE is being run for the benefit of its members

• Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Are the public really ready to support a Minister reforming the health services and accept a serious amount of industrial unrest as a result?
    I think the answer is no, and while it is nothing is ever going to change.
    We need more people like the woman who's daughter was crying from the pain of scoliosis, to tell their story, to force changes through.

Look at the Bus Eireann strike, the unions don't have a leg to stand on and yet I've seen polls where they are supported by 33% to 39% of the public.

Here we go wrote: »
    Have to agree if everyone was paid regardless of education why would people bother to improve or try harder to better them self when they know no matter the effort the payoff was the same

It's really a no-brainer.

Hence why I take such issue with the payments from the HSE, private companies for instance would be paying receptionists etc. a fraction of what the public sector get paid, it makes zero sense, students and young people starting out will do these jobs no problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

HSE Are great for new names like the Flagship Tusla? any one got any new for a New name for New HSE?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Huge waiting lists, nepotism and seemingly unfireable incompetents; these are just some of the problems and symptoms of Ireland's health service in recent years. I briefly worked as a lab tech in a hospital and in my short time I was exposed to incompetent civil servants, sons and daughters of civil servants working in easily obtained cushy jobs (cushy relative to frontline staff) and massive massive waste. I work in an academic/us GOV lab now and if we spent the amount that some HSE labs spent on equipment and consumables we'd be out.

To long to read? The bottom line is the problems in the HSE are obvious at this stage. There needs to be a reduction in management and the firing and dumping of people and practices that are wasteful. I was doubtful but it seems Simon Harris has the right idea.

By the way I'll add that I have nothing bad to say about the extremely hard working and thankless frontline staff.

Irish naivety.

The HSE was originally setup to do this; "streamline the health service, remove duplicity of roles, create an efficient service".

It didn't work.

It won't work now.

The "system" is broken.

Politicians are the biggest part of the problem.

Health is too important to be in the hands of teachers, we need professional people from outside the rotten state to point us in the right direction.

Edna is the worst taoiseach Ireland has ever had and I don't say that lightly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Mary Harney has a lot to answer for, lets hope Harris isn't just full of placating soundbites, lets hope he has the courage to follow through and not do a Kenny on it and push it out of sight down the road.

Most of the setup work was done on Micheal Martin's watch but he seems to escape any criticism while Mary Harney became a lightning rod for all blame.

And there were plans for redundancies from the old health boards but that was overruled by our glorious leader Bertie who solved all industrial relations problems by spending money

• Registered Users Posts: 14,545 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Most of the setup work was done on Micheal Martin's watch but he seems to escape any criticism while Mary Harney became a lightning rod for all blame.

And there were plans for redundancies from the old health boards but that was overruled by our glorious leader Bertie who solved all industrial relations problems by spending money

That doesn't wash Mike, she had the power to make the HSE a far more answerable or functioning set up, or pull the plug completely.

So what did she do?

Not only did she bring it on-line in the unfinished state it was in, she guaranteed jobs with unsustainable long contracts which would cost the taxpayer tens of millions to buy out if the system was proven not to function, which it was in the very short term.

Even her own mother was left on a trolly, ffs (but not for a fraction the length of time anyone stays on one today} all because of this woman's complete ineptitude.

http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/harney-did-great-harm-to-health-service-1.1278928#jsid-1295694898-692

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Qualifications are often what get you the job, or at least to interview, but salary should be based on the job specification and ability to perform the job. People should not be paid extra simply because they have added qualifications if they are only as productive as someone without those same qualifications in the same role.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Qualifications are often what get you the job, or at least to interview, but salary should be based on the job specification and ability to perform the job. People should not be paid extra simply because they have added qualifications if they are only as productive as someone without those same qualifications in the same role.

In the HSE there's another problem. People get pay rises just for time served. Incompetence is rewarded by moving a manager to another department instead of firing them.

I agree, but the point I am making is there are people in certain roles for instance administration for the HSE that get paid a lot more than private sector workers who do the same job, the payment should be based on the skills needed for the job, as I said previously administration is the type of job many students could pick up or a job that could be done be people willing to work for a relevant scale to that position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Fleawuss wrote: »
    And there it is. Politicians still yearn for the good old days of bureaucracy duplicated, quadlicated whatever.

To sort out the HSE is actually simple. Remove any political control. Repeal or remove regulation that demands excessive secretarial backup. Improve conditions of work for nurses. Open more wards. Drastically reduce medical card entitlement. The manager manages and the politician ****s off.

I said it before here. It is simple except for one thing: the party that does it will never see power again in Ireland. We don't do solutions; we do Joe Duffy.

So we hand managerial control to the HSE managers without over sight?

That's gotta be a ironic post right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

I say this with exception of front-line staff who also suffer at their hands - shower of lazy cnuting b@stards who give zero fcuks about the health and wellbeing of anyone who passes through the system.

A close family relative who suffers with a severe mental illness has had his life destroyed by a bunch of pricks in middle management who are more concerned about protecting each other and saving their own asses than correctly treating and caring for him. From endless misdiagnoses to bullying my parents for not taking their word and shutting up shop the second alternative treatment was sought because my relative was getting worse and clearly the prescribed course was causing more harm than good...

I could write a book on this stuff. Disgusting treatment of people who were at their lowest point in life and in need of support and compassion rather than complet hostility and more stress and pain. A bunch of sociopaths running a psychiatric ward and endangering the lives of some very vulnerable people. Absolute joke and I hope they all rot in hell for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭blackbox

In my view the main problem with HSE is the amount of waste, both of time and money. It's not in the interest of anyone working there to reduce waste.

It needs a private system set up to compete.

Health costs should be separated from general taxation and people allowed to choose to pay 100% for HSE or 100% for private. Private would get no state subvention.

Where state pays for 100% for healthcare - e.g. welfare recipients, average cost should be quantified and recipient can choose where it goes.

If HSE can provide good value, people will opt for that. I reckon if the waste was reduced there would be room for a decent profit and still be cheaper to the consumer.

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭kuntboy

The front line staff arent much better. The nurses take plenty of tea and chatty breaks themselves. Ever since the abandoned the matron system its gone to pot. And what about the stranglehold the consultants have on the system? Running and prioritizing their private patients using public facilities? To the extent that some people can be waiting years for appointments, especially since some consultants only come in once a week. The audacity. I mean how fukcing dare they.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭KilOit

Well for me personally I work very hard in a major hospital lab dept and many staff around me do the same