Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

What is the purpose of that? It's publicly available information and there's no disputing the fact that the car is upside down.

PC stuff to protect against claims of data infringement. It's not personal data if it's in the public domain and a PSV is in that space by definition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LpPepper

Such a nice day so went on a spin to Phoenix Park. Have to say most drivers gave me ample room most of the time but had one van man pass way too close on Cypress Grove Road in Templeogue between the secondary school and Templeogue bridge, not far from where that poor woman was killed on her bike recently.

Obviously got a bit annoyed and made a hand gesture as to ask what the hell the close pass was for and that was that...Met him at the next set of lights and decided to just ignore.

He had his window down and hazards on ready to shout to me - "Get on the cycle lane!!" I just ignored him.

Put me in a bad mood, seriously sick of that attitude. If anyone has ever attempted to use the section of off-road cycle lane on Cypress Grove then they know why I used the road there. I have no problem using cycle lane facilities where they're adequate, safe and make sense for where I'm going at whatever speed I intend to do but that particular stretch isnt suitable for anyone on any bicycle.

Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,090 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

That reminds me - very close pass today between Rathdrum and Laragh by, of all vehicles, a hearse!

That was nice of them, you would think a hearse driver would have more sense considering...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,090 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Touting for business? :D

At least the funeral process would be swift !

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,331 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

he must have been dead late for his next appointm...

never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭shootermacg

LpPepper wrote: »
    Such a nice day so went on a spin to Phoenix Park. Have to say most drivers gave me ample room most of the time but had one van man pass way too close on Cypress Grove Road in Templeogue between the secondary school and Templeogue bridge, not far from where that poor woman was killed on her bike recently.

Obviously got a bit annoyed and made a hand gesture as to ask what the hell the close pass was for and that was that...Met him at the next set of lights and decided to just ignore.

He had his window down and hazards on ready to shout to me - "Get on the cycle lane!!" I just ignored him.

Put me in a bad mood, seriously sick of that attitude. If anyone has ever attempted to use the section of off-road cycle lane on Cypress Grove then they know why I used the road there. I have no problem using cycle lane facilities where they're adequate, safe and make sense for where I'm going at whatever speed I intend to do but that particular stretch isnt suitable for anyone on any bicycle.

Rant over.

Get yourself a camera mount it on your helmet. Whenever you see someone jumping a light, cutting you up, just top your camera and give a nod and a smile. It shuts them up like nothing else! You then ride off safe in the knowledge that that scumbag will have a little nagging seed of doubt in his head for the next few days.

I actually do have a GoPro that i mount to my bars on all my bikes, i find the camera a bit heavy on the head mount. Unfortunately yesterday the battery was dead on the camera so didn't have it even though i generally don't like going out on the bike without it. Typical that something like what happened would happen when i don't have the camera...

LpPepper wrote: »
    I actually do have a GoPro that i mount to my bars on all my bikes, i find the camera a bit heavy on the head mount. Unfortunately yesterday the battery was dead on the camera so didn't have it even though i generally don't like going out on the bike without it. Typical that something like what happened would happen when i don't have the camera...

Bought a mobius, really small and light, perfect for a helmet camera, you don't notice it at all. The gopro is a bit of a tank tbh.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,331 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

coming past booterstown marsh (southbound) this morning, i heard a few beeps behind me, and an ominous rumble, and a 50 ton dump truck came roaring past, slipping in and out of the bike lane. the poor soul must have been late for work or something (was after 7 so had no excuse to be in the bus lane anyway).
    i would have taken his reg, only that was invisible behind a crust of mud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,711 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Bought a mobius, really small and light, perfect for a helmet camera, you don't notice it at all. The gopro is a bit of a tank tbh.
    Got a link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,380 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Weepsie wrote: »
    This is a phenomena I've been noticing a lot lately, people just not having their plates visible.
    A dump truck I could understand, but I've seen a lot of normal everyday cars covered in mud or dust recently. They must be doing WRC stages in between school runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

A dump truck I could understand, but I've seen a lot of normal everyday cars covered in mud or dust recently. They must be doing WRC stages in between school runs.

well at least that would explain why so many people are buying SUVs :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,333 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

This is what the D4 tractors are using! :pac:

2cqzjv4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

Which version do you have and what did you use as a bracket (did a suitable one come with it that could be used to mount on handlebars)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

...and, if it's not taking the thread off topic too far :o, how does the battery stand up over time? My Dashcam's in the cars now only last for about 2-seconds when they're not plugged into the 12v sockets. I have them for nearly 2-years now
    (oh, and waterproofness... have ye a wrap of some kind on it? Was thinking of it being a handy little yoke to even hide under the saddle looking back)
    thanks ;)

andy69 wrote: »
    ...and, if it's not taking the thread off topic too far :o, how does the battery stand up over time? My Dashcam's in the cars now only last for about 2-seconds when they're not plugged into the 12v sockets. I have them for nearly 2-years now
    (oh, and waterproofness... have ye a wrap of some kind on it? Was thinking of it being a handy little yoke to even hide under the saddle looking back)
    thanks ;)

It's not waterproof, so you can either wrap it or buy the waterproof case.
    Battery life is about an hour and a half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭josip

2 years ago I used the Mobius for a few weeks on the bike before I stuck it in the car. I think about an hour and half sounds about right.
    I think hardwiring it to the battery frazzled the internal battery because it won't run without external power any more.
    It's robust though, I've dropped it a lot of times on hard surfaces and it still works and captures a reasonable picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

axer wrote: »
    Which version do you have and what did you use as a bracket (did a suitable one come with it that could be used to mount on handlebars)?

Velcro'd to your helmet is the way to go.

The new version have a 2 hour batter too.

2ldtz14.jpg

2njlpbo.jpg

Great camera

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Is that a waterproof wrap around on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Velcro'd to your helmet is the way to go.

Great camera

Pretty impressive footage for the size/price. Nice.

Weepsie wrote: »
    This is a phenomena I've been noticing a lot lately, people just not having their plates visible.

Agreed. Definately on the up. Clean car but dirty reg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Sarz91

Anyone else notice the state of the cycle track from donnybrook to foxrock today? It's always a mess but it seemed some road sweeper just pushed all the grit and loose gravel into the middle of the cycle track. Saw some glass in there too.

Back on topic, had some young one cut across two lanes of oncoming moving traffic for a car parking spot. This was heading southbound just before donnybrook. I didn't see her and only slowed down due to the sound of screeching car tires and a blast of a few horns. Nearly took myself and some other cyclist out with her daft antics. I'm all for giving learner drivers space and the benefit of the doubt and I understand they're likely to make mistakes, I just hope one of those "mistakes" doesn't end up costing me or some other poor cyclist.

I had a few close passes today as usual - most on the way up Kilgobbin Road to Stepaside. However, the most memorable one and most dangerous was in Donnybrook.
    Coming from Merrion Road - and taking the right at the main road (church/ bus garrage/Donnybrook. Lights go green to turn right and I proceed out. Then a taxi undertakes me on the left (he was in the lane to go straight to Beaver Row). He had no indicator lit and squeezed in front of me. He then stopped at the lights and I just told him he was driving dangerously and without care and attention to other road users , particularly cyclist. I got the usual verbals. I then tried a different approach. I said I don't need to be able to cycle to earn a living and asked could he work with no driving licence?
    His reply was a classic. He said he had just got a call for a fare and was entitled/permitted to make the manoeuvre he did to go there and therefore I was wrong. I said his or any PSV licence did not give the authority to break the rules of the road or endanger other road users for commercial gain/reward. He then said he could do what he wanted and to fcuk with the rules of the road.
    I left him saying it was all recorded and I would be giving him the opportunity to test his interpretation of the rules of the road with a Garda!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭tampopo

I was marshalling for the cycle from the Phoenix Park to the Point Depot last week and stopped at Church Street junction, watching cyclists pass by, when an impatient elderly driver drove into me while I wasn't looking. Right at the knees causing me to fall onto his bonnet. ffs, he was stuck at the next lights anyway. You'd have to wonder...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

tampopo wrote: »
    I was marshalling for the cycle from the Phoenix Park to the Point Depot last week and stopped at Church Street junction, watching cyclists pass by, when an impatient elderly driver drove into me while I wasn't looking. Right at the knees causing me to fall onto his bonnet. ffs, he was stuck at the next lights anyway. You'd have to wonder...

And his age is relevant how?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,276 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Chuchote wrote: »
    It adds colour to the story, since the stereotypical old duffer would be in no hurry at all, calm and polite. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,400 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Chuchote wrote: »

I wonder what religion he was? :p