If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

I've SWITCHed! - General discussion - WARNING IN POST 1

What's interesting is that I have yet to see an add on TV for the switch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,452 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

M!Ck^ wrote: »

Me too, I was thinking about that earlier. It's out over 2 months and honestly I have yet to see a single ad on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,734 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I read a completely different spin on that report last week. Something along the lines of:

More people aware of Switch than PS4 Pro or Scorpio

It's all about perspective.

fixxxer wrote: »
    I am now emotionally invested in your plight and eager to hear the outcome :D

Worth the wait..... :)

They kept my data, yay!!!!

The begging letter was sent back with it, ha ha

Same Joycon, new Switch by the looks of things

It was sent off with dodgy Joycon and a crack that randomly appeared near one of the screws at the back

I am down a screen protector, I can live with that though...

Edit : found the screen protector stuck to a bag😀

100% would Ninty again

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Mr E wrote: »
    I read a completely different spin on that report last week. Something along the lines of:

More people aware of Switch than PS4 Pro or Scorpio

It's all about perspective.

I immediately pitied the poor b@stards at MS who are promoting the Scorpio, jaysus lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

I've seen quite a few ads on Comedy Central, Dave and Channel 4 for the Switch. Varied too, the Mario Kart one before it was released and a mixed one with Arms, 1,2, Switch and Splatoon. So many channels, just comes down to what ones people happen to be watching.

I think MTV showed some as well.

Saw lots on kids TV over the weekend too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

M!Ck^ wrote: »

I've seen several. Specially concerning Mario Kart 8 Deluxe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭druss

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I immediately pitied the poor b@stards at MS who are promoting the Scorpio, jaysus lads

To be fair, the other products have all launched. The PS4 Pro quite some time ago.

I don't know what is the point of saying Xbox One, Xbox One S are the same thing, but the PS4 Pro is different to the PS4 standard yoke and the Scorpio is also a new machine. Confused poll is confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Fieldog wrote:
    They kept my data, yay!!!!

Faith​ in humanity RESTORED :D

Don't forget the begging letter if you are sending yours off... :)

Update 2.3.0 is out. No obvious changes.
    General system stability improvements to enhance the user’s experience

http://nintendoeverything.com/new-switch-update-out-now-version-2-3-0/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

They didn't slip a remaster of Super Mario Sunshine in on the QT?
    Colour me disappointed Nintendo....

There could be news on the Sonic game tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,413 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

So saw a suggestion of dreamcast virtual console on the Switch. Would anyone be on board with that?

Not a rumour. More just wishful thinking I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Paladonia

Any availability for the console in the Dublin area at the minute?

Would prefer the red/blue but would take the black.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,236 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Did they enable connecting headphones via Bluetooth yet or is it still only possible wired?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

CastorTroy wrote: »
    So saw a suggestion of dreamcast virtual console on the Switch. Would anyone be on board with that?

Not a rumour. More just wishful thinking I suppose

Definitely would be interested in that.

I think there is a huge opportunity with the VC on Switch in general as the idea of having the console loaded up with classics and being able to take it anywhere is very appealing.

I feel they do really need to including Gamecube (and doing more with N64) in this iteration of VC though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Did they enable connecting headphones via Bluetooth yet or is it still only possible wired?

Doesn't look like there are any changes on that front, though NintendoLife did post about using a dongle to do it...
    http://www.nintendolife.com/news/2017/05/you_can_use_bluetooth_headphones_on_your_switch_but_theres_a_catch

sligeach wrote: »
    There could be news on the Sonic game tomorrow.

LALALALA
    I CAN'T HEAR YOU!!!!

LALALALA!!!!

Dreamcast is criminally overrated, so no. Gimme that gamecube goodness.

Ah now....
    The Dreamcast has the original of Rez, Ikaruga, Under Defeat, Powerstone, F355, Crazy Taxi, Virtua Fighter 3tb, Soul Calibur, House of the Dead 2...

Not forgetting 2 Shenmue games. I think the logic behind the theorizing was that other SEGA systems appeared on VC before. But I do hope they have a better VC plan in place than they had for Wii U.

Edit: And of course Dead or Alive 2. :) I see Jet Set Radio in the list on wiki as well, but is that a Xbox exclusive now?

Shenmue will also certainly get its HD remaser on the PS4 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

What is this blasphemy??

I played through both shenmue games and they are both just awful. No idea where the hype for those games came through. Rose tinted nostalgia I imagine. All those sonic games are also terrible, as is Phantasy Star. I'm not keen on fighting games either.

There's room for both. Like was it SEGA or Nintendo that did previous SEGA VC ports?

And I'm not a Shenmue fan either after playing on Dreamcast, getting called away during an important conversation and not being able to find out what they talked about afterwards so didn't know where to go. Still have the Dreamcast somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Wish more games followed Shemue's template when it comes to open world games. Most stuff just goes down the Ubisoft and Rockstar route and it's so boring and gamey feeling.

The good old Yakuza games play like modern Shenmue games though and they're always very enjoyable.

CastorTroy wrote: »
    There's room for both. Like was it SEGA or Nintendo that did previous SEGA VC ports?

And I'm not a Shenmue fan either after playing on Dreamcast, getting called away during an important conversation and not being able to find out what they talked about afterwards so didn't know where to go. Still have the Dreamcast somewhere

There's a few Dreamcast games on 360/PS3 so probably that. Not sure what's taken them so long with Shenmue remasters though. Maybe licensing/Sega being Sega.