Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Healy-Raes embarrassing the country yet again

• 22-02-2017 1:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭

Do these lads not get tired of embarrassing the country?

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-39050369
    The Irish army should be called in to do battle with rhododendrons because the plants are "taking over" a national park, the government has been told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

The rhododendrums or the Healy-Raes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

He was obviously exaggerating.You weren't supposed to take what he said literally.

To be honest you're reaction is far more embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

If the Healey Raes simply agreed to keep their mouths shut surely that'd cut off the plants main source of manure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The rhododendrums or the Healy-Raes?

both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Have you ever seen what a .44 magnum can do to a rhododendron OP?

He was obviously exaggerating.You weren't supposed to take what he said literally.

you're not from Kerry by any chance?

He is, as he often does, highlighting a real issue in terms that actually mean it gets noticed. It is true, rhodos are a curse in the National Park, and it needs a lot of hands to take them out individually...you can't just spray an area or napalm them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

This is why we need a proper Air Force....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

God damn you rhododendrons
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=roKCZfE9JJ4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Read that as Rhodesians at first. Thought that Bob had shuffled off his mortal coil everything new is old again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Probably a fair fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

No fan of Healy-Rae, but he was exaggerating for effect, it didn't stop BBC doing a sneering Paddywhackery 'article' though and you duly tugged your forelock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

He is, as he often does, highlighting a real issue in terms that actually mean it gets noticed. It is true, rhodos are a curse in the National Park, and it needs a lot of hands to take them out individually...you can't just spray an area or napalm them.

I have it on the highest authority that as you say, there is no such thing as bad publicity... Even from the Healy Raes....Bus as they used to say long ago, whatever next!

And they are actually a great draw in May. Many come, sorry GO ( still disorienteded just to see the "rosie dendrums."

Will miss them greatly; that strethc of road along the RIng where they are like hanging gardens.. breathtaking sight ..

Wonder if HR has only just realised! What an epiphany.. but then he has been quiet for a long while?

parasite wrote: »
    No fan of Healy-Rae, but he was exaggerating for effect, it didn't stop BBC doing a sneering Paddywhackery 'article' though and you duly tugged your forelock

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

More a fight for the Army Bomb Disposal Teams.

They usually get rid of stuff that was planted...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Imagine Michael D Higgins and the Healy Raes in conversation.

Would be classic if Graham Norton had them on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

"In 2014, a couple in their 50s had to be rescued after they became trapped in a "treacherous" rhododendron forest."

That was the best bit of the report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

The poster is a reaction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Yeah, I can't actually see the problem with what Healy Rae said at all? Seems like a practical solution. There is another source of large numbers of people to clear the rhodos but I can't see the wishy washy After Hours types favouring people having to do a decent days work if they don't want to.

diomed wrote: »
    "In 2014, a couple in their 50s had to be rescued after they became trapped in a "treacherous" rhododendron forest."

Can see how it happened and know that area too, it's one where you descend quickly going up and over rhodos but if you have to back climb, impossible, and no way of hacking through. It does sound improbable but guess it's like getting caught in quick sand or as a tide comes in, you kinda think how does it happen...yet it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Christ sakes, you'd swear they were fcuking Triffids..

Rackstar wrote: »
    The poster is a reaction?

I have been called many things in my time but this one really hurts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Didn't Michael Ring tell him how much the Dept had already spent on the issue and has asked the people of Killarney to mobilise.
    So time to get your shears and briar hook out.

PS if you don't have a briar hook or slasher I know a few lads who have some.
    Now they may want them back if a family occasion arises. ;)

Glenveagh National Park also have issues with the plant but their public local representatives couldn't give a feck it appears.

BTW it is a bit rich the BBC reporting on this because this plant is a legacy of British rule much like those fecking squirrels some Anglo Irish numpty imported from the states.
    Then the fecking immigrants outbred our native population and the natives have been on the backfoot ever since.
    Even the deer in Wicklow aren't pure Irish due to another Anglo Irish eejit introducing Japanese Sitka deer.

Every fooking place the Brits went they screwed up the native fauna and flora.
    Look at what the importation of deer and possums have done to New Zealand.
    Look what foxes, rabbits and cats did to Australia.
    I blame the cane toads on the Aussies themselves.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Graces7 wrote: »
    I have it on the highest authority that as you say, there is no such thing as bad publicity... Even from the Healy Raes....Bus as they used to say long ago, whatever next!

And they are actually a great draw in May. Many come, sorry GO ( still disorienteded just to see the "rosie dendrums."

Will miss them greatly; that strethc of road along the RIng where they are like hanging gardens.. breathtaking sight ..

Wonder if HR has only just realised! What an epiphany.. but then he has been quiet for a long while?

I'm no fan of the Healy-Rays and I know you have a huge dislike of them but he was right that something drastic has to be done about rhododendrons growing wild in our natural parks. They are choking our native species and destroying large areas, leaving them useless for wildlife. Pretty. Yes, so are many invasive species. That's what brought them here in the first place, but they are a blight. He has a habit of exaggeration for effect but, in this case, his core argument that immediate decisive action is required, was spot on. The Ring of Kerry and Glenveigh are national parks for their natural beauty, not for their rhododendrons. If American tourists only go there for the rhododendrons then they are missing the point of the parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I know that area quite well, and if the guys from SEMRA, some of whom I know personally, say it was horrendous and dangerous terrain then I'm inclined to believe them.
    It was horrendous - I have been a member of mountain rescue for 15 years and it was probably one of the most dangerous exercises or rescues I've been on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

When the're nuking the Rododendrons, they drop some on the filthy pub they own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

"Take him seriously, don't take him literally"

How Trumpian of you!

Personally I think there should be a ban on people wearing hats in the Dail. But that's just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Michael Healy Rae hasn't had a populist Kerry orientated rant for a couple of months now.

There's the possibility of an election this year, possibly even a snap election in June if there's a new FG leader. So the Healy Ray's have to get their names in the papers, not dealing with national issues, but with issues that interest their core vote.

Last year they asked over 200 questions regarding waiting times for procedures for his constituents. A waste of time as he already knew as the Minister can't divulge personal information like that in the Dail. But that wasn't the point. Point was that his voters reckon he's standing up for them and that translates into votes at the next election.

The two Healy Rae's got over €370,000 in wages and expenses last year. That's all they care about. They don't care about their voters or the country, just about keeping the gravy train running.

And this Rhododendron and Army statement is just another gallon or two of fuel for that train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Just to be clear, the rhododendron issue is real.

The BBC can joke about the healy bros (i understand that), but they have their own problems with the plant in the UK, they arent so far away that it isnt killing off the local woodlands there too. The UK gov gives grants for their eradication:

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/woodland-capital-grants-2015-rhododendron-control-sb6

46m pounds spent in Northern Ireland on their removal:

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-27946780

I think people would be surprised at how much money the Irish tax payers are spending already to eradicate rhododendrons.

Rhododendrons are a scourge and they're killing off the local woodlands and animal habitats fast all over Ireland. The national park out west just happens to be a really bad example.

Why not use the army?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

Build a pub in the middle of the park and let the Kerry folk drive drunk home from it, won't be a plant left for miles.
    Two Healy Rae issues solved in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I heard the interview on the radio. Rhododendron is almost impossible to handle for a small number of park keepers, hence the need to get many hands on at once - the army.

It seems to be a pretty serious issue. According to the article - In 2014, a couple in their 50s had to be rescued after they became trapped in a "treacherous" rhododendron forest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Red Kev wrote: »
    Michael Healy Rae hasn't had a populist Kerry orientated rant for a couple of months now.

There's the possibility of an election this year, possibly even a snap election in June if there's a new FG leader. So the Healy Ray's have to get their names in the papers, not dealing with national issues, but with issues that interest their core vote.

Last year they asked over 200 questions regarding waiting times for procedures for his constituents. A waste of time as he already knew as the Minister can't divulge personal information like that in the Dail. But that wasn't the point. Point was that his voters reckon he's standing up for them and that translates into votes at the next election.

The two Healy Rae's got over €370,000 in wages and expenses last year. That's all they care about. They don't care about their voters or the country, just about keeping the gravy train running.

And this Rhododendron and Army statement is just another gallon or two of fuel for that train.

Actually can one of our Kerry posters tell us if the Danny Healy-Rae Plant Hire business have invested in any rhododendron clearing equipment ?

BTW cordless drills, knapsack sprayers, forestry spot guns, watering cans and machine mounted flails are some of the items that can be used in that. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

InTheTrees wrote: »
    The UK gov gives grants for their eradication:

46m pounds spent in Northern Ireland on their removal:

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-27946780

They probably didn't have to spent have that much planting them,
    on a winner again a la the wood chip debaclae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

I don't agree with everything the healy rae's come out with,
    But why should the army not be mobilized to protect our national parks,Rhododendron is a big threat and should be tackled as such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

The irony in starting a "those Healy Raes are awful clowns, aren't they, just listen to this...?" thread and it turns out they're not the clowns at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Relax just get Rodger Cook from This old house to come in and marrk it.

Listened to debate, and don't see what is funny about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,040 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

jmayo wrote: »
    Glenveagh National Park also have issues with the plant but their public local representatives couldn't give a feck it appears.

When I first went to Glenveagh about 15 years ago (or more) there was a major job being done on the rhodos - it didn't look far off the place having been napalmed! There were signs everywhere explaining what was happening and why, and reassuring that such drastic action WAS actually necessary or the place would be destroyed.

Now there's still plenty of rhodos around, so I'm not sure if they gave up the ghost (or more probably ran out of money during the recession) but hopefully they still have some sort of a handle on it.

I heard the Healy-Rae piece, and the Army suggestion was definitely tongue-in-cheek, designed to grab attention (and wasn't he successful!). But well done him for highlighting the issue before it's too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

seachto7 wrote: »
    Imagine Michael D Higgins and the Healy Raes in conversation.

Would be classic if Graham Norton had them on.

It would be funny if the big one punched Michael D in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

In fairness the plants are better trained, better equipped and more motivated for this fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

We'll just have to ensure that none of the soldiers have hay fever or similar as we don't want to face a new "deafness" or "green fingers" claim in 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

It would be funny if the big one punched Michael D in the face.

I wouldn't advocate violence but Michael D Higgins does annoy me.

The Healy Raes have come out with some outlandish stuff right enough so I do understand some of the social media grumbling (I happen to back their efforts to highlight a neglected issue in this case).

However, an ivory tower academic champagne socialist pops off at taxpayer expense now and then to see ideological comrades in far- flung lands that Ireland hardly ever trades with. This is met with an earnest "isn't he great!" by the same commentators.

From this thread I can see a lot of public ignorance about invasive species. Maybe a few TV ads would be no harm to raise awareness. That Japanese knotweed is a curse too.

The laughing city slickers don't have to worry about this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Far from the most ridiculous thing they`ve ever said.
    The rhododendron is an invasive species brought in originally as a flower in peoples gardens but has been wreaking havoc in our forests, blocking out light to plants on the forest floor, killing young trees and choking mature ones.
    It is a legitimate issue.
    The thought process was clearly there's an issue which requires a lot of man power - where is there a lot of man power? - the army.
    Hardly a bizarre train of thought.

Of course their turn of phrase plus the BBC looking for a bit of clickbait has led it to be blown out of all proportion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

We need a root and branch examination of this problem Danny, me auld flower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Yeah, it's laughable how Ireland's oldest native woodland is under serious threat from rhodo's (which can poison the soil to prevent other plants from germinating, thereby eliminating competition) and the Govt. don't seem to give a shiíte beyond half-a$$ed measures like throwing a few hundred grand at a problem that requires a far more serious approach.
    I know an arborist who has a contract to clear a certain section of KNP and he reckons it isn't worth it. The effort required and the near-impossible-to-know-where-your -boundary-begins-and-ends nature of the work coupled with a few other factors doesn't pay off.
    The Govt. scrapped the volunteer programme, whereby people would spend two weeks cutting rhodo during the day (and riding at night by all accounts) which was one of the cheapest and most effective solutions.
    KNP would be a UNESCO site except the Govt. have never opened it up for inspection because they know the report would be damning against them for letting an area of such significance be totally devastated and infested by a weed and failing to address the problem for a few generations.
    MHR is correct in saying that the Army should be brought in. It requires a concentrated effort by many people to rid an area to the degree that it can't easily colonise again. Hiring a few outfits to tackle a hectare here and there, once or twice a year is pi$$ing money away and the same area will need treatment in 5 years. But shur, what do the boggers know? 'Tis more important to not look silly in the eyes of the English, isn't it?
    Nah, let's spend 1-2 billion on LUAS so Dubs can say they won't use it because of the scum that travel on it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭Stars and Stripes

Wait until one of them is elected to the European Parliament, God help us :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,040 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Wait until one of them is elected to the European Parliament, God help us :rolleyes:

The simultaneous translators will have their work cut out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I only briefly saw the headline and thought a Rhododendron was a shape and wondered what could he have against a shape.

If they could find a way of making money off these plants the farmers would have the country stripped bare in a few weeks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Aren't you very precious