Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheelchair user and Ryanair...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Candie wrote: »
    Whatever about her failing to notify them in advance - which is a valid request, asking a wheelchair bound person if they can walk up a flight of stairs is cosmically insensitive.

Not Really these questions are asked when you book your wheelchair assistance on line.
    My friend uses a wheelchair 90% of the time and when flying she always walks up the steps to the plane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Yaretzi Ashy Treble

Read her Facebook post - "don't comment on my post" on every post who dares say she's in the wrong/has a differing opinion to her..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

RYANAIR

Don't come running to us
    if you haven't booked a
    wheelchair in advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,179 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Whatever about her failing to notify them in advance - which is a valid request, asking a wheelchair bound person if they can walk up a flight of stairs is cosmically insensitive.

It's actually not , plenty of people who use wheelchairs are able to walk for short durations. While I'm sure your comment will get plenty if thanks, it displays a lack of knowledge about wheelchair users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

“I plan on suing them. I haven’t been feeling myself since it happened and I’m going to have to pursue some sort of counselling, which is quite expensive.”

....well she seems to have conveniently made her mind up that she needs counselling. Sounds like attention seeking.

I have no sympathy on this girl what so ever. If she was a wheelchair user she would have been aware of how things work and to get herself to airport and gates in plenty of time.

If she was only new to flying with a wheelchair she should have made herself aware of the way things work.

As for being insulted by staff asking if she could walk up the steps, the staff were only doing their job trying to help her make the flight.

Myself and friend fly often with a wheelchair always book sa never no problems

lulu1 wrote: »
    I have no sympathy on this girl what so ever. If she was a wheelchair user she would have been aware of how things work and to get herself to airport and gates in plenty of time.

If she was only new to flying with a wheelchair she should have made herself aware of the way things work.

As for being insulted by staff asking if she could walk up the steps, the staff were only doing their job trying to help her make the flight.

Myself and friend fly often with a wheelchair always book sa never no problems

So is she, I believe, well aware of how things work.
    She changed her flight so her assistance wasn't changed with it.
    She knows wheelchair users go on last, which is why she waited till last.
    Crossed wires it appears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Red Kev wrote: »
    “I plan on suing them. I haven’t been feeling myself since it happened and I’m going to have to pursue some sort of counselling, which is quite expensive.”

....well she seems to have conveniently made her mind up that she needs counselling. Sounds like attention seeking.

Not just counselling, "some sort of" counselling. She doesn't even know what she wants.

Well money obviously, and attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,568 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

My mate is in a wheelchair. As we were waiting to board a Turkish Airlines flight a member of the OCS (the company that helps people with disabilities in Dublin airport) came up to us, and turned to mate and asked him "Are you able to go down the stairs yourself, or are your legs totally fúcked?"

Every single one of us looked at him absolutely gobsmacked. As we were literally about to board the plane on our holiday we didn't make a complaint.

bubblypop wrote: »
    So is she, I believe, well aware of how things work.
    She changed her flight so her assistance wasn't changed with it.
    She knows wheelchair users go on last, which is why she waited till last.
    Crossed wires it appears

Sometimes wheelchair users go on first we often boarded first but always get off last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Well if she ever intends to work as an employee in future, every half diligent employer will google her and decide to hire the other candidate.

But sge is getting five minutes of fame now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

Quazzie wrote: »
    My mate is in a wheelchair. As we were waiting to board a Turkish Airlines flight a member of the OCS (the company that helps people with disabilities in Dublin airport) came up to us, and turned to mate and asked him "Are you able to go down the stairs yourself, or are your legs totally fúcked?"

Every single one of us looked at him absolutely gobsmacked. As we were literally about to board the plane on our holiday we didn't make a complaint.
    well at least some sense of humor on a bad situation :o

as for the one:“I don’t really view myself as having a disability, but there are now these roadblocks that stop me from doing things.
    ****ing irony,hopefully judge takes it to her to pay for whatever bull shes suing .

meeeeh wrote: »
    Well if she ever intends to work as an employee in future, every half diligent employer will google her and decide to hire the other candidate.

But sge is getting five minutes of fame now...

She has her charity to fall back on so I say she might be ok on the job front, but looking at her twitter/facebook, getting hysterical at those who are sceptical/questioning her story (some are saying that her story is changing) might impact her charity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

On her Fb page she comes across as extremely self entitled, obnoxious and rude in her responses to posts that disagree with her. It's all feelings and emotions and no real facts. Also they put her on the next available flight to Stansted for FREE! I think that's pretty good for Ryanair, if that happened to me I'd have to pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

The day it happened she was flat out on Twitter and said she was going to sue before they boarded her on the next flight. Her student union was trying to seek legal advice for her before she left the airport

groovyg wrote: »
    On her Fb page she comes across as extremely self entitled, obnoxious and rude in her responses to posts that disagree with her. It's all feelings and emotions and no real facts. Also they put her on the next available flight to Stansted for FREE! I think that's pretty good for Ryanair, if that happened to me I'd have to pay.

On her fb post - I had gone through the comments extensively on those who questioned/disagreed with her and she has come off as rude....she had no problem taking the next flight...im guessing she cancelled her booking, started from the start and expected the request for assistance to be carried over and it wasn't ...honestly her attitude could affect her charity she just set up

The day it happened she was flat out on Twitter and said she was going to sue before they boarded her on the next flight. Her student union was trying to seek legal advice for her before she left the airport

Why do people who go to trinners have such a sense of entitlement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Wheelchair or no wheelchair, she's a bloody drama queen. This all happened through no fault but her own. I read her Facebook post, and she got annoyed when the captain announced he would not wait- what! There could have been people on that plane waiting to see a dying relative, an important meeting, a wedding, a funeral, oncology appointment oh and you know other minor issues like, air traffic!... but no! Niamh needs go to to fashion week so the plane must wait!
    My mother needed priority boarding last summer and I could not have been more impressed with the service. They will ALWAYS ask you if you are able to walk the steps, they do if for your sake as it's actually less hassle for yourself if you can, which I have no doubt this girl could.

She wanted to be insulted and offended.

Just reading the comments on her Facebook, what an absolute dose
    I hope she's saddledcwitg all the legal costs if she takes this nonsense to court

Also is it just me or is she standing in a lot of her Facebook pics

Ah jaysis, lads seriously?
    She was upset!
    Put yourselves in a wheelchair for god's sake.

I have traveled with Ryanair & used the special needs assistance in the airport, it was brilliant. No complaints whatsoever. Not for me, someone travelling with me.
    But this girl was just upset, give her a break!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Is she friends with Ryanair on Facebook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Just reading her comments on Facebook and her responses to people. What a disgrace of a girl. Telling people to shut up and calling them "disgusting ableists" if they don't agree with her. I hope she tries to sue and is made a complete fool of.
    People are actually praising Ryan Air on her Facebook, that is how wrong the girl is.

She was upset!

I have traveled with Ryanair & used the special needs assistance in the airport, it was brilliant. No complaints whatsoever. Not for me, someone travelling with me.

We're all guilty of being upset with companies but we don't all take it to national news demanding to be compensated because we were late to the boarding gate and they didn't read our minds in regards to whether we'd need as assistance or not. She wants equality but expects the plane to be held because she's in a chair?

Equality or not? She needs to make up her mind

She was upset!

so she can go around sh"tting on a company online and media....once this dies down, her and her supporters will recognise she's in the wrong and forget her and claim she was young, naïve/immature.....Or she's trying to go down a career route of being perpetually offended like Louise o Neill/Una Mullaley and others

Is she friends with Ryanair on Facebook?

She was but ryanair have just unfriended her.

I wonder why:D

anna080 wrote: »
    Just reading her comments on Facebook and her responses to people. What a disgrace of a girl. Telling people to shut up and calling them "disgusting ableists" if they don't agree with her. I hope she tries to sue and is made a complete fool of.
    People are actually praising Ryan Air on her Facebook, that is how wrong the girl is.

Imagine her in the court room, The defence questioning her story and she comes out with Ablest/ill block you/get out of my story, how dare you question me as i'm in a wheelchair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Shows how much of an entitled cúnt she is when you see so many people defending Ryanair on facebook of all places.
    I'm supposing that if she comes on here now I'm ableist.
    Well I'm not but I am cûntist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

If this was Aer Lingus, it would be a non-story. But since it is Ryanair, who everyone loves to **** on. This is all over the media

I love that Ryanair gave a honest statement rather than the usual 'we can't discuss private info, but we can confirm x passenger was with us'. It is refreshing to see a company call out a user on their BS.

She seems like a right wagon giving out that Ryanair didn't hold the plane for her “I definitely feel like they valued their schedule more than my custom". I doubt the few thousand other passengers who will use that plane later than day would be happy to that their flight was delayed as you don't bother to book wheelchair assistance. Why does she needs trump the several hundred passengers on that plane?

Eh... I hope you have good legal team if you think the most successful airline in the World is going to give you a handy cheque as you "haven't been feeling [yourself]"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,954 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I'm sure it won't be the last we hear from her. She'll have got plenty of ammo from the backlash and she'll knock a few "online bullying", "ablest underbelly of Irish society" articles out of it.