Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Asylum seeker" defrauded state of €280 thousand

• 07-02-2017 6:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0207/850843-adrian-vaduva-court/

A failed asylum seeker got his hands on false documents and went for asylum again. Has asylum granted under his false identity and claims social welfare. Later his country of origin becomes an EU member and using original identity gets a second claim.

The new social welfare ID system caught him out, it's great to see the investment pay back. I'm sure he is not the only person doing this scam , plenty other non Irish doing so , along with Irish fraudsters too.

Very worrying about how easy it was to go from rejected asylum seeker to being granted asylum. Given the current situation it doesn't fill me with confidence. I wonder if the person who fell for his second sob story and granted him asylum will be held to account ?

Sending him to jail just seems like more money wasted. Surely a parachute and a flight over Romania is a better option for the tax payer.

What does AH think ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It's a disgrace Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

What does AH think ?
    Excellent display of entrepreneurial spirit and innovative thinking that is sorely lacking in educated Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

Arghus wrote: »
    It's a disgrace Joe.

Thanks but I'm not Joe

It's a disgrace Mr McBoatface.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Like my school teachers used to telly mammy Lexie at the parent teacher meetings.

"She'd be capable of great results if she only applied herself"

That lad would take over the world if he focused himself

Seems pretty focused to me!

3 years is a bloody farce. A young lad from Crumlin got a similar sentence for spending 20 off grand that wasn't his. Cant see why this this trickster got off so light

barrier86 wrote: »
    3 years is a bloody farce. A young lad from Crumlin got a similar sentence for spending 20 off grand that wasn't his. Cant see why this this trickster got off so light

Ah but this lad cried alot... has a sick mammy and child in romania. I'm sure that was verified

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Very worrying about how easy it was to go from rejected asylum seeker to being granted asylum. Given the current situation it doesn't fill me with confidence.
    Given that you say the new ID caught this guy out it seems like the solution is already in place.

I wonder if the person who fell for his second sob story and granted him asylum will be held to account ?
    It may not have been his fault. As long as these people know the weaknesses in the system it can be hard for what is probably a paper pusher to be able to spot them. There could be all sorts of policies that focus on the paperwork over any other facts and if the persons job is to process paperwork they probably don't have time to investigate possible false claims, that's likely someone else job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭JaffaP

Lowlife thief should have got 30 years.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Given that you say the new ID caught this guy out it seems like the solution is already in place.

Only applies to Irish social welfare system, not shared with other EU welfare systems. There is no facial recognition system in place for asylum seekers in the EU so failed seekers in one country can move to another and make another false claim. So the solution isn't in place only a part of it.

It's still possible to be working or claiming in NI with one identity and claiming in the Republic with another just an example of the scam in another form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

Build A Wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

barrier86 wrote: »
    3 years is a bloody farce....

And don't forget the obligatory 9 months suspended by the judge, so it's a bit over 2 years.
    So for the €280,000 he stole from the Irish people who go out to work every day to pay him his "benefits", he gets a little over 2 years prison time (also not forgetting the obligatory good behavior reduction in actual time served).

Great little country this.

Meanwhile, did anyone see RTE Investigates last night? That €280,000 could possibly have paid for the surgeries on all the individuals highlighted on the program; including the sclerosis children who were going through unbearable and constant pain while waiting inordinate times for operations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Waste of time jailing him. He's not a danger to society. There really needs to be a way for these types of criminals to work off their debt to the state, be it community service for a decade if needs be. All jailing him achieves is to waste even more of taxpayer's money, as if he hasn't had enough of it already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Kivaro wrote: »
    And don't forget the obligatory 9 months suspended by the judge, so it's a bit over 2 years.
    So for the €280,000 he stole from the Irish people who go out to work every day to pay him his "benefits", he gets a little over 2 years prison time (also not forgetting the obligatory good behavior reduction in actual time served).

Meanwhile, did anyone see RTE Investigates last night? That €280,000 could possibly have paid for the surgeries on all the individuals highlighted on the program; including the sclerosis children who were going through unbearable and constant pain while waiting inordinate times for operations.

Totally agree. I hope he's deported when his clink time is up:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

lucky he admitted guilt to guards stretching back to 1999. can't see how they'd prove it if he didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

Many Irish people have scammed and continue to scam our social welfare system. For that one asylum seekers scam there are probably a couple of thousand Irish people doing the same except using Single Parent Allowance, Job Seekers etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

222233 wrote: »
    Many Irish people have scammed and continue to scam our social welfare system. For that one asylum seekers scam there are probably a couple of thousand Irish people doing the same except using Single Parent Allowance, Job Seekers etc..

what's your point?

My point is one asylum seeker scamming the system is hardly breaking news or a reason for caution, when our nationals have been and continue to do so in much greater quantities.

I'm just much more interested in hearing how the lady down the road got caught for claiming single parent allowance when the partner was living with her all along, that's betrayal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

My point is one asylum seeker scamming the system is hardly breaking news or a reason for caution, when our nationals have been and continue to do so in much greater quantities.

I'm just much more interested in hearing how the lady down the road got caught for claiming single parent allowance when the partner was living with her all along, that's betrayal.

Assumptions are the mother of all Fcuk ups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

The good news is that the facial recognition software is unbiased towards nationality,and is detecting Native and Immigrant Crooks alike.

Foreign crooks such as this lad,upon conviction should be offered Immediate passage back to their home 20,with the Prison Sentence Immediately activated (Without Remission) should they ever return to Ireland,this of itself,will free up a cell for a native to occupy....which is surely a win-win situation ?

Is this what you are suggesting ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Assumptions are the mother of all Fcuk ups

What part of that was an assumption? Just an example.
    Most of the claims (3,078) were linked to the jobseeker’s allowance while 2,012 reports were linked to the one-parent family payment. A further 1,317 were linked to people wrongly claiming social welfare assistance, while 1,438 reports were linked to illness benefit. A dedicated phone line and website facility is provided by the department for individuals to submit anonymous reports of suspected abuses by social welfare claimants.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/anonymous-welfare-fraud-tip-offs-up-by-over-60-1.2805129

AlekSmart wrote: »
    The good news is that the facial recognition software is unbiased towards nationality,and is detecting Native and Immigrant Crooks alike.

Foreign crooks such as this lad,upon conviction should be offered Immediate passage back to their home 20,with the Prison Sentence Immediately activated (Without Remission) should they ever return to Ireland,this of itself,will free up a cell for a native to occupy....which is surely a win-win situation ?

Is this what you are suggesting ?

Never suggested anything of the such, I think it would be more efficient for our economy if the efforts and costs of implementing "facial recognition" software were used to go around investigating the abuse of payments like job seekers and single parents, particularly of the 36 or so thousand unemployed people who have never contributed a cent of tax to this country.

With regards to the jail cell, anyone who abuses the welfare system should be penalised.

Mary Cullen was another shrewd operator....

http://www.thejournal.ie/mary-cullen-social-welfare-fraud-2802655-Jun2016/
    Cullen’s defence was making a plea in mitigation and citing case law when Judge Martin Nolan interrupted and said: “How can I send an 82-year-old woman to jail? It’s as simple as that. Isn’t that the only point in the case?”

Judge Nolan said it was a reprehensible offence and Cullen should be ashamed of herself but that he couldn’t “in good conscience” jail an 82-year-old. Cullen had a hard life and was a hard worker, the judge said, noting that she had worked as an office cleaner until last year.

It's just as well our President is un Trump like,or we'd perhaps have to deal with Martin Nolan being described as a "So Called" Judge :D:D

Continuing in the "keep it in-Country" vein.....

http://www.thejournal.ie/michael-cawley-jail-sentence-3075062-Nov2016/
    A MAN WHO monitored a man cashing a bank cheque before following him and breaking into his car has been jailed for two years.

Michael Cawley (44) has 153 previous convictions including 120 theft charges relating to social welfare fraud.

Yesterday Judge Pauline Codd imposed a four-year sentence with two years suspended for a period of two years.

You know you're on shaky ground when your own Brief...(Most likely appearing courtesy of the Free Legal Aid Board ) begins his appeals for clemency thus....
    Pieter Le Vert BL, defending, said his client had a serious alcohol problem and 120 of his previous convictions related to a six-year ongoing social welfare fraud totalling around €52,000.

Bit of Cod really though....2 years suspended,in deference to a Court Of Appeal,which might just overturn a robust Judges sentence...we're not going to have any of that now...are we ?

18 Months stir,appears the maximum you're looking at in these cases....

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/welfare-fraudster-caught-using-facial-recognition-software-1.2277707
    The charges were representative of Flynn going to the post office 123 times for job seekers allowance and an additional 13 occasions for both job seekers and rent allowance under the name of Brendan Flynn.

He has 10 previous convictions, including breach of the peace, larceny, careless driving, public order and illegal possession of Garda equipment.

Sergeant Kevin Mention told Caroline Cummings BL, prosecuting, the fraud was discovered using facial imaging as Flynn had been legitimately collecting the dole at his local post office but using a different PPS number and date of birth to claim under the name Brendan Flynn in Swords.

Wonder what the "Garda Equipment" was.....?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Surely not the full 280k was fraudulent if he was getting it as entitled on his genuine ID from 2008 on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

For what reason would a Romanian be seeking asylum in 1999?

Jayop wrote: »
    Surely not the full 280k was fraudulent if he was getting it as entitled on his genuine ID from 2008 on.

Fee's,Charges and Interest due should close off that avenue of appeal I suggest ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Totally agree. I hope he's deported when his clink time is up:mad:

Romania is in the EU now do he can't be deported

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

osarusan wrote: »

Romania wasn't in the EU at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Wow 1 example. You showed me:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,026 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

A failed asylum seeker got his hands on false documents and went for asylum again. Has asylum granted under his false identity and claims social welfare. Later his country of origin becomes an EU member and using original identity gets a second claim.

Very worrying about how easy it was to go from rejected asylum seeker to being granted asylum. Given the current situation it doesn't fill me with confidence. I wonder if the person who fell for his second sob story and granted him asylum will be held to account ?

90% of asylum-seekers are bogus, this is well known, and has been stated by the Minister for Justice.

Recently, 1000s of male Asians illegally entered the country, claimed asylum, and entered into sham marriages with EU women.

The Gardai were shocked by the scale of it.

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=16224

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/gangs-reap-15m-over-two-years-from-bogus-marriages-34235525.html

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/how-irish-sham-marriage-scam-was-dismantled-1.2949970

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

For 280k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Maybe Romani and claiming he was being persecuted as a minority?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Waste of time jailing him. He's not a danger to society. There really needs to be a way for these types of criminals to work off their debt to the state, be it community service for a decade if needs be. All jailing him achieves is to waste even more of taxpayer's money, as if he hasn't had enough of it already.

I agree that jailing him will cost money now, but it may act as a deferent to others and therefore it may save money in the long run.

Wow 1 example. You showed me:pac:

http://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/Department-of-Social-Protection---Fraud-_-Error-Surveys.aspx You will find a couple of statistics here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

I wonder if the person who fell for his second sob story and granted him asylum will be held to account ?

LOL! Public service unions. Not a fcuking hope!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Do you think the judge should have just told this guy, "ah sure don't worry about it" Irish nationals do this all the time?

I'm confused as to what point you are making?

This case was national because of the new technology used, not the fact he was a foreign national.

Do you think the judge should have just told this guy, "ah sure don't worry about it" Irish nationals do this all the time?

I'm confused as to what point you are making?

This case was national because of the new technology used, not the fact he was a foreign national.

Perhaps, I just don't find the story particularly shocking. I'm much more concerned about how my tax is being spent in Ibiza, would be great if they could be as brilliant at spotting that, what we regain in tax might fund our collapsed health service, you never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Perhaps, I just don't find the story particularly shocking. I'm much more concerned about how my tax is being spent in Ibiza, would be great if they could be as brilliant at spotting that, what we regain in tax might fund our collapsed health service, you never know.

Whats Ibiza got to do with anything?

Our health service hasn't collapsed. It gets over 14 billion a year. Its problem is too much admin and management and no Government ballsy enough to deal with the reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Many Roma's emigrated into Europe from the Balkans throughout the 90's many arrived in Italy similar to now Arabs and Blacks coming from Libya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Boatlake

Trump's wall won't keep Romanians out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I agree that jailing him will cost money now, but it may act as a deferent to others and therefore it may save money in the long run.

So would giving him ten years community service. Or taking away his tax credits. There's better possible alternatives.

Fear you not,your tax € is being spent far more effectively in France....

https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0110/843806-calais-unaccompanied-minors/
    Officials from the minister's office, and also the Child and Family Agency, Tusla, last week travelled to France to meet their counterparts to discuss several legal issues and the validation processes for the unaccompanied children to come to Ireland.

Speaking on RTÉ's Drivetime, Minister Zappone said,that the children will join one or two of the residential centres established for unaccompanied minors in different parts of the country.

She said that Tusla will be given the resources required to receive the young people, with the money coming from her department.

They'd be better advised visiting Disneyland Paris.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Disgrace of a sentence. Sent most of his money back to his poor family in Romania, which if your born there, god help you. We take from them in other ways, cheap labour etc. Judge clearly hated Romanians. Despite what everybody thinks, is a slavic country (blonde blue eyes) not gypsy/jew origin.

Then that Lithuanian who drowned her baby got no custodial sentence?? She should of been hung. World is gone mad.

Luck of the draw and what side of the bed the judges get out if in the morning these days. Who would ever want to be a judge, sending people to prison, pure evil. No judge can be a nice person fact

I would never stand for a judge, all rise, eh no.
    Payed a fortune to make people suffer. I know there has to be judges but they shouldn't be payed more than plumbers, its not a hard job, they cant EVER be punished for a wrong sentence.
    They love the sound of there own voices and ofcourse theyv had a handy life born into wealth payed for college by Daddy and don't understand what makes people HAVE to commit crimes, to most of the time survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

I would never stand for a judge, all rise, eh no.
    Payed a fortune to make people suffer. I know there has to be judges but they shouldn't be payed more than plumbers, its not a hard job, they cant EVER be punished for a wrong sentence.
    They love the sound of there own voices and ofcourse theyv had a handy life born into wealth payed for college by Daddy and don't understand what makes people HAVE to commit crimes, to most of the time survive.

Fail to rise in front of a judge in Ireland and you'll be found in contempt of court and thrown in jail. Your case will be adjourned costing you more money, and the judge will take a dim view of you when it comes to sentencing if you are found guilty.

Alright Gard

I meant if I'm watching court, I never stood up. Instead of going to the cinema
    somedays I'l watch court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

Steal from a movie studio and it's all "Kodi this, and Kodi that"

Fleece the welfare system and it's all "hang him, build a wall"