If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Lambing 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭DJ98

Have you taken its temperature?
    Have you tubed any electrolyte or milk into it to keep energy level up and prevent dehydration.
    Take to vet?

Have been with vet, gave me injections for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭White Clover

DJ98 wrote: »
    Have been with vet, gave me injections for it.

What was the vets prognosis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Had a ewe lamb twins there and she doesn't want one of them near her at all .Talk about a pain in the ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Bullocks wrote: »
    Had a ewe lamb twins there and she doesn't want one of them near her at all .Talk about a pain in the ass

Have you any ewes expecting single lamb?....might be able to do an adoption job if you were lucky.

I have nothing scanned so dont know but so far I've had all twins/triplets . Hopefully she will come around because she has a fine bag of milk .If push comes to shove I'll lock her up to let her suck . I have her tubed with colustrum now and she is mad to suck so maybe she will get the better of mom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭White Clover

Would u chance the deodorant trick? spray ewes nose and both lambs. I did this the other day with a ewe that had a hard Lambing, they're flying it now.

Went out after posting last and the pen smells great now (the brother is missing a can of lynx africa ) so fingers crossed it flummoxes her :D

I had a ewe lambing wed morning , the first lad dead with his front leg ate up to his shoulder and the ewe was shook , I pulled the other fella and himself and the ewe have been slow to get going since . I thought it was foxes and lamped the last couple of nights seeing two in the field but couldnt get a shot off .
    Just now found 5 ewes and their lambs cornered in the same corner by two bichon frisse :mad:
    One of them came up to me and I have him locked in the trailer
    Would ye just put him down or go looking for an owner ?
    This lambing season is not my best out of only 3 yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,026 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

One of them came up to me and I have him locked in the trailer
    Would ye just put him down or go looking for an owner ?
    This lambing season is not my best out of only 3 yet

I'd look for the owner and get compensation, seen as you got them in the act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Inchilad

Birdnuts wrote:

Id second that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭razor8

Birdnuts wrote: »

A lad up the road posted a missing dog on Facebook and when the owner came to collect they hit him for compensation for losses. He had him shot when they came

Well the owner collected him last night out of the trailer (I got the brother to put the word out in the pub and it worked )
    I havent spoke to him yet but he is a nice lad so wont bother with compensation but will make it clear that it will be dead doggies if seen again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Well the owner collected him last night out of the trailer (I got the brother to put the word out in the pub and it worked )
    I havent spoke to him yet but he is a nice lad so wont bother with compensation but will make it clear that it will be dead doggies if seen again

should be dead doggies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

ganmo wrote: »
    should be dead doggies

In the particular situation where the dog came up to him and he put him in the trailer a dead doggy solves nothing but might make you feel better.
    If the lad takes heed of the warning the dog won't be near the sheep again. It's the owners fault. The dog was doing what's in it's nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Minimum should be give the dog to the dog warden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Minimum should be give the dog to the dog warden

That would be a more reasonable approach. Nothing wrong with shooting a dog at sheep in the field but taking him out of the trailer to do it would be harsh.

should be dead doggies

I spoke to him this morning and if there is a next time they will be shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

I spoke to him this morning and if there is a next time they will be shot

Make it clear that if you find dead sheep, you will expect him to get rid of his dogs... even if he doesn't want to, his dogs are proven that they will go after sheep, so killing them won't be a step too far...
    You don't want a situation when you have a dead ewe from dogs, and the owner starts saying 'oh no, my dogs wouldn't do that'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

should be dead doggies

Unfortunately I think ganmo is right. Hopefully owner will see sense and keeps dog locked up or open their wallet to put an electric collar on dog to stop wondering. Also possible if happens again will say wasn't their dog unless the owner is very decent. We can live in hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭eorna

Hope he is on the ball and locks them up.. otherwise you'll regret giving him back when there is dead ewes about..
    Especially after they done it once and have the thrill of the chase..
    A visit from the boys in blue or dog warden would make him take it more seriously too..

Was going around this evening feeding the ewes their nuts,came across two dead lambs,one single and one twin,both were fine yday evening,about ten days of age,not swollen or anything,ewes done with Heptavac P Plus pre lambing.

Frustrating to lose them when you have got them this far ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

Was going around this evening feeding the ewes their nuts,came across two dead lambs,one single and one twin,both were fine yday evening,about ten days of age,not swollen or anything,ewes done with Heptavac P Plus pre lambing.

Had the same thing with one lamb. Dead in the field. Not even layed flat out. It was just like he sat for a snooze and died.

Had three pets die the last week aswell. One just wasn't right from the start. Arced and wobbly. An other was out in the field a week or so before I noticed anything wrong with him a brought him in. Wouldn't suck then went same arched bloated and wobbly. The the last fella died this morning. He was grand 3 days ago failed really quick.

Waiting on these last five ewes over a week now. Nothing happening! Can't understand how'd there be such a gap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

You should really bring them to the lab, I had to change from heptavac P plus to covexin 10 where I was getting a good few deaths from something not covered by Heptavac.....think it was called sardellii, supposed to be getting more common on farms now, it also means that I have to give a separate vaccine for Pneumonia now

rangler1 wrote: »
    You should really bring them to the lab, I had to change from heptavac P plus to covexin 10 where I was getting a good few deaths from something not covered by Heptavac.....think it was called sardellii, supposed to be getting more common on farms now, it also means that I have to give a separate vaccine for Pneumonia now

Only farm p/t...time could be an issue with that,do you have to put a tag in them before going to lab?

No. but you have to get your vet to notify the lab that you're bringing it and the bill is sent to him/her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Had a thinish Suffolk ewe present me with an oversize lamb coming backwards yesterday evening. 7.2 kg. got him alive but he died during the night. Ewe definately wasn't over fed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Found this hoggets good lamb 2week old dead this morning. Cause Unknown. He donated his skin to a little 2 day old hogget twin and mammy and babby wee instantly bonded! The auld ways is the best.. Scrap them foster crates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Closed up lambing sheds on Thursday evening. Just shy of 5 weeks lambing and I'd had enough. Put the last 25 into a paddock next to house. Down to 18 now. Their working away themselves. Disappointing season numbers wise. Small lamb crop. Putting it down to poor grass last year due to low ph, which had a knock on effect on everything. Time to switch attention to rounding up some hoggets ( that aren't quarantined ) and culls to get some badly needed sales back in. going to source some new Rams as well later in the summer and start planning for next year. Glorious weather here also.

Down to under fifty now, last batch of 130 hoggets were only due on the 1st april, so they've been busy,The flock has been lambing steady since the 26th feb, no big rush, about 12 -15 per day.
    Great grass every where, first nitrogen only out 10 days, going to try run 550 ewes on 35ha's after leasing the 15ha....it'll be an interesting experiment..there won't be much topping going on I'd imagine. I'm using electrified sheep wire at the moment to sub divide some paddocks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭sheepfarmer92

rangler1 wrote: »
    Down to under fifty now, last batch of 130 hoggets were only due on the 1st april, so they've been busy,The flock has been lambing steady since the 26th feb, no big rush, about 12 -15 per day.
    Great grass every where, first nitrogen only out 10 days, going to try run 550 ewes on 35ha's after leasing the 15ha....it'll be an interesting experiment..there won't be much topping going on I'd imagine. I'm using electrified sheep wire at the moment to sub divide some paddocks,

They will keep the grass under control for sure! Are you using the netting or the strands of polywire? Thinking getting the gallagher 4 strand system here for splitting up into smaller sections