Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drug dealer gets just desserts or is that too harsh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

A dealer dead and a scumbag off the streets for a few years...It's not ideal, but I'll take that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Mmmmm. Dessert!!! Yummy!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Whenever I hear of deaths related to drugs or gangs I just think live by the sword, die by the sword.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Jesus, a somewhat excessive outcome over €100 worth of whatever type drugs.

Not a fan of dealers, but I initially thought it'd be over thousands worth of cocaine or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I can have only so much sympathy for these people to be honest.

If you get involved with criminal gangs and drugs you have to know it can only one of two ways; jail or a body bag.

It was his decision to get involved in the end and now he's paid the price.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I can have only so much sympathy for these people to be honest.

If you get involved with criminal gangs and drugs you have to know it can only one of two ways; jail or a body bag.

It was his decision to get involved in the end and now he's paid the price.

I would put the blame on our Government. Pointless prohibition. People like drugs, we need to accept that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,190 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I would put the blame on our Government. Pointless prohibition. People like drugs, we need to accept that.

Of course its the Governments fault:rolleyes:

Ever fear of personal responsibility?

You make your own decisions in life, you live by them. We don't all want drugs.

Legalise drugs to take this **** out of criminals hands altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

byte wrote: »
    Jesus, a somewhat excessive outcome over €100 worth of whatever type drugs.

Not a fan of dealers, but I initially thought it'd be over thousands worth of cocaine or something.

I seen a fella stabbed in the heart over a tenner, 2 fellas involved, they had stolen jewellery, one sold a ring for 20 quid (got this story from the guy who ended up dead) the other wanted his half, they had a row and one of them pulled out a big knife, slashed at yer man then chased him, swung the knife at him, yer man lifts his arm to protect himself and the knife went under the arm into the heart, dropped dead in front of me and my young children (at the time), also many other children out playing saw this happen.
    So many people have so little respect for life, or each other.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Redser(Eddie) wasn't the worst to be honest, nobody deseves that.He wasnt armed. After the initial altercation,yer man went off,got a blade and cut him up.Thats pre-meditation to me.
    What the papers didn't mention was that his grandmother also died that day upon hearing about the death of her grandson. A tragic day for the family, who are well respected and not involved in crime.

Not the worst?How?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Why just our government? Drugs are illegal in pretty much every country in the world. There's clearly a reason for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

What the papers didn't mention was that his grandmother also died that day upon hearing about the death of her grandson. A tragic day for the family, who are well respected and not involved in crime.

She was buried before the grandson had been killed.

I'm not trying to make out that's any better btw. Just pointing to the facts.
    Mr Fitzgerald's sister said in a victim impact statement that the family had just buried their grandmother that morning when they heard her brother had been stabbed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Zaph wrote: »
    Why just our government? Drugs are illegal in pretty much every country in the world. There's clearly a reason for that.

Well as long as they are illegal there's going to be crime and murder. I think at this stage they need to try something different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaSCaDe711

It's long overdue that our laws are changed, though after thinking/saying the exact same a few years ago I won't be holding my breath for that to happen.

Carrying a knife alone, is there not a mandatory sentence for that?

The Judges here seem to be akin to the referees in the Premier League, dishing out their own variety of punishment (if any) for identical crimes.

To leave somewhere to get a weapon, then come back to inflict injury, nothing more pre-meditated than that. Ridiculous sentences handed out in Ireland, which does nothing to curb crime :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,827 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

bigpink wrote: »
    Not the worst?How?

As in, there are probably worse people out there in the world....which is almost certainly the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I seen a fella stabbed in the heart over a tenner, 2 fellas involved, they had stolen jewellery, one sold a ring for 20 quid (got this story from the guy who ended up dead) the other wanted his half, they had a row and one of them pulled out a big knife, slashed at yer man then chased him, swung the knife at him, yer man lifts his arm to protect himself and the knife went under the arm into the heart, dropped dead in front of me and my young children (at the time), also many other children out playing saw this happen.
    So many people have so little respect for life, or each other.

:eek::eek::confused::confused::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Does personal responsibility not come into anything anymore?

The government have no more to do with this man's choice than you or I.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Play with fire and your'll get burned

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

PARlance wrote: »
    As in, there are probably worse people out there in the world....which is almost certainly the case.

Bad is bad.Doubt he was an upstanding citizen

I knew about the stolen jewellery and the story (the victim was told) about yer man ( his partner in crime) selling the stolen ring on the sly (who knows if that was even true), that's how I found out from the guy ( yes it was several days before this incident that he told me) I am not a medium :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Redser(Eddie) wasn't the worst to be honest, nobody deseves that.He wasnt armed.

He was a drug dealer and intimidating someone. He's a ****.
    After the initial altercation,yer man went off,got a blade and cut him up.Thats pre-meditation to me.

Reports indicate that the guy had the knife on him and pulled it out. Not that he went off to get one and came back.

Grandmother was buried that morning so would have died a few days previous. Terrible but she didn't die from learning the grandson was stabbed to death.

The rest of the family may very well have been respectable but the fella that died was a wanker and we're better off with him dead. I grew up in Tallaght and any time a wanekr drug dealer was killed, you had reports of neighbours are shocked / lovely young man / a gentleman. This was standard even if the toe rags robbed elderly and threatened anybody they felt like. The less of them the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

got this story from the guy who ended up dead

Séance.

Ted111 wrote: »
    Séance.
    post 21

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

People are becoming completely desensitised to all this.
    Everyone now accepts that if you choose to get involved in this criminality then you accept that you might get killed and your family will suffer in the process.
    It's a shame when it happens on the doorsteps of decent law abiding people, and my condolences to his family, but there's little else to say imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,827 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Bad is bad.Doubt he was an upstanding citizen

He quite clearly wasn't an upstanding citizen... however, most people can distinguish between varying degrees of "badness" though.

I won't shed a tear for him all the same.

Not the worst?How?

I know/knew several drug dealers. Nice chaps if you ignore their jobs. Some now deceased, some in jail and some still about.

You can do wrong, very wrong and still be not the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

If his grandmother being buried was such an important thing then why was he out dealing drugs hours later? If he wasn't too concerned about her then the court shouldn't consider it a big deal either.

Does personal responsibility not come into anything anymore?

The government have no more to do with this man's choice than you or I.

The Government are to blame for everything.
    If a slate falls of the roof it's the Governments fault
    Your being ridiculous suggesting that adults take responsibility for their desicions and actions.
    It's someone else's fault all the time.

If his grandmother being buried was such an important thing then why was he out dealing drugs hours later? If he wasn't too concerned about her then the court shouldn't consider it a big deal either.

I'd hope not
    Unless it's to say that that's the level of respect he had for his family and a reflection of his true character

I wouldn't believe everything you read.If that were the case Eddie would have been at his grandmothers funeral and not driving around Dublin chasing a hundred quid.They died on the same day.
    The sister told the Indo. She'd been buried earlier in the day. That's the respect he had for his family.

Augeo wrote: »
    I know/knew several drug dealers. Nice chaps if you ignore their jobs. Some now deceased, some in jail and some still about.

You can do wrong, very wrong and still be not the worst.

Selling addiction misery and possibly death to children? What's worse then that?
    I'll tell you what's worse
    Defending a drug dealer is worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

infogiver wrote: »
    Everyone now accepts that if you choose to get involved in this criminality then you accept that you might get killed and your family will suffer in the process.
    No they don't. This is only really happening in Dublin. We're probably talking about less than 200 people involved in these violent gangs. There isn't widespread murders happening around the country because of drug use. A few people in Dublin are getting away with murder so they keep murdering people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I've deleted a few posts,and ill bow out of the thread now out of respect for the family,whom ive known for decades.I won't see a young mans character torn apart like a pride of lions tearing into a fresh kill.

Selling addiction misery and possibly death to children? What's worse then that?

Paedophiles, rapists, serial killers, granny bashers etc etc etc

Not really bud but whatever you think yourself.

I don't recall defending them btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,667 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'll tell you what's worse

Most drugs aren't addictive and most users aren't addicts.
    For the few drugs that are addictive, most drug dealers are actually users themselves. they sell small amounts to make enough to keep themselves in drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

"Gilsenan pulled out a knife and Mr Fitzgerald died after he was stabbed in the leg and the heart."

"The judge said he accepted the jury's finding that the killing was not deliberate and sentenced Gilsenan to six years in prison with two suspended."

Can killing someone by stabbing them in the heart not be deliberate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

psinno wrote: »
    Can killing someone by stabbing them in the heart not be deliberate?

It was at that moment, your honour, that he lunged at my hand with his chest. The very hand that contained the hunting knife I'd been eating my dinner with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

Zaph wrote: »

Yes, but the reason may not be what you think.

Take a look at the article below. The main opponents to legalising marijuana in the US according to this Guardian article is big pharma and the drinks industry. They don't want to lose market share.

Nobody is in any doubt that taking marijuana eases the MS pain and suffering. Does big pharma want sufferers to be able to grow their own marijuana. or buy it from a co-op or whatever. Of course they do not. They want the sufferers or the State to continue to shell out a fortune on drugs that are not nearly as effective, often making criminals out of people with the condition.

https://www.theguardian.com/sustainable-business/2016/oct/22/recreational-marijuana-legalization-big-business

And another story. Big pharma is every bit as big a killer as the dealer on the street. The major drug companies knew fully well that they were selling far more painkillers than could possibly be needed in west Virginia. They kept on supplying the pharmacists, as they argued that it was not their job to notify the authorities as to what was going on.

As long as they were making more and more money from their deadly addictive drugs, they didn't give a rats ass. Just because they hide behind advertisements and lawyers doesn't make them any more respectable than a common or garden street junkie. Except that they will be hit with a relatively small fine and no one will go to prison.

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/probe-780-million-painkillers-in-6-years-west-virginia/

Rant over. It really makes my blood boil.

ScumLord wrote: »
    No they don't. This is only really happening in Dublin. We're probably talking about less than 200 people involved in these violent gangs. There isn't widespread murders happening around the country because of drug use. A few people in Dublin are getting away with murder so they keep murdering people.
    But except for 1 or 2 exceptions all of the murdered are involved in gangland activity.
    If you steer clear of that world you won't end up getting shot

Grayson wrote: »
    Most drugs aren't addictive and most users aren't addicts.
    For the few drugs that are addictive, most drug dealers are actually users themselves. they sell small amounts to make enough to keep themselves in drugs.

So do you think that excuses it? Tell that to the mother of the 16 year old she found dead in bed this week.

Augeo wrote: »
    Paedophiles, rapists, serial killers, granny bashers etc etc etc

Not really bud but whatever you think yourself.

I don't recall defending them btw

Whoever sold the poison to that young boy during the week is no better than any paedophile, sorry to burst your bubble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

A dealer dead and a scumbag off the streets for a few years...It's not ideal, but I'll take that

A small time dealer if anything.. That's a pretty heartless statement to make :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,124 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I'm shocked the stabby scumbag only got 4 years for what sounds to me like premeditated murder. Should be life a life sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭C. Montgomery Gurns

Even funnier is the reaction to the death of the guy in Lucan the other night. I've seen FB comments decrying the evil mentality, how a group of men could be so callous as to band together to chase take down and take a man's life, to repeatedly run him over, that not one of them stopped this.

FFS the dead man opened fire in the dead of night on what presumably was the home of at least one of his attackers. :pac::pac: I'm not saying the lads in the house were saints. They likely were not. But there are plenty of good, honest, decent, law abiding individuals in this country who would knife someone to death without remorse if they attacked their home or their family, and more power to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So do you think that excuses it? Tell that to the mother of the 16 year old she found dead in bed this week.

Well, when you open with "selling misery and death to children" you're going to get corrected.

I was curious when I read the article: what was he selling, how much of it and to whom. None of that is mentioned. I mean, to go to the oppsite end of the scale, you could argue that a publican selling a beer to a 17-year-old is technically selling an addictive drug to a child.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

Live by the sword die by the sword.

I would add that 4 years jailtime is a joke of a sentance for killing someone.

Well, when you open with "selling misery and death to children" you're going to get corrected.

I was curious when I read the article: what was he selling, how much of it and to whom. None of that is mentioned. I mean, to go to the oppsite end of the scale, you could argue that a publican selling a beer to a 17-year-old is technically selling an addictive drug to a child.

"Look over here at pubs selling drink!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Legalise drugs to take this **** out of criminals hands altogether

Cigarettes are legal. The Government puts the price up and criminal elements take over and peddle cheaper cigarettes. Bottom line here is that its in the states best interests to keep the drug show on the road. Lots of money for the legal system to keep them in business. A bit like crime in general. Crime pays...for the legal system.

Drugs and crime in general could be wiped out/seriously reduced, if we wanted to. But how many solicitors, barristers and judges would be out of work. No tinfoil hat on, but honestly, just think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Drugs and crime in general could be wiped out/seriously reduced, if we wanted to. But how many solicitors, barristers and judges would be out of work. No tinfoil hat on, but honestly, just think about it.

Looks like a tinfoil hat to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

"Look over here at pubs selling drink!"

Exactly! Never understood the "my drug should be legal, all the others should be banned, no matter how safe and/or additvie it is" ****ed up mentality.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.