Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You have 10 days to live..What do you do?

• 13-01-2017 12:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭

Your doc tells you that you will die in 10 days.
    It is absolute and irreversible, the death will be immediate & painless.
    What do you do with your last 10 days?

Let's assume we will all spend time with friends/family and make good on our affairs.

I would try a drug like heroin to see what it is like.
    Probably pay for some kind of depraved sexual fantasy.
    Skydive/Bunjee jump/Extreme thrill
    Try to do something that would result in a high speed police chase through a city (Always loved that thought)
    Punch a few people who deserve it in the face (Or tell them a few home truths)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Hookers and cocaine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,079 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Finally get around to watching Game of Thrones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

Book a flight to new york for the last time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

(Sensible answer alert)
    Record some video messages for the kids to watch when they are older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Test drive and then rob a fancy Mercedes sports car and speed around in it.
    Punch some people i dont like.
    Stop going to work (obviously).
    Tell my family/boyfriend how much they mean to me.
    Play with my dog a lot.

This is a great question - i cant think of much though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A depraved sexual skydive sounds good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭howiya

Let's assume we will all spend time with friends/family and make good on our affairs.

I would try a drug like heroin to see what it is like.
    Probably pay for some kind of depraved sexual fantasy.
    Skydive/Bunjee jump/Extreme thrill
    Try to do something that would result in a high speed police chase through a city (Always loved that thought)
    Punch a few people who deserve it in the face (Or tell them a few home truths)

What happens if you're like Dermot from Fair City and don't actually die?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd get me an Apache attack helicopter. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

howiya wrote: »
    What happens if you're like Dermot from Fair City and don't actually die?

Last night Fairly Sh!tty came on and my boyfriend said "that guy has been dying since before xmas". Dermot is immortal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,085 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Winterlong wrote: »
    (Sensible answer alert)
    Record some video messages for the kids to watch when they are older.

Make some kids (or at least try to) ... and then record the video message

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Dbu

Cancel Sky Sports

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Dbu wrote: »
    Cancel Sky Sports
    Not before Sunday, surely:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Beasty wrote: »
    Not before Sunday, surely:confused:
    Judging by Red Monday, he'll be better off served doing something else for 2 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Well I'd walk out of work right now, we'd contact the hospital and get them to bring my wife's C-section as immediately as possible, then I'd get my hands on some speed or anti-narcoleptic drugs and spend as much time as humanly possible with my wife & two daughters, taking as much video as possible and writing down as much as possible for them to read when they're older.

Thanks for the depressing thread OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Ensure I am in a suitable public place to roar "Freeeeeeeedddddddom" right before I die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,326 ✭✭✭munster87

Dbu wrote: »
    Cancel Sky Sports

But United Liverpool game is on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

I'd do a remake of "Leaving Las Vegas" in Cork... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭howiya

munster87 wrote: »
    But United Liverpool game is on Sunday

The last one was so great....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Get second opinion, I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Apply online for the largest personal loan my bank will give me. Once that's drawn down (usually takes a week), it's time to buy expensive gifts for family and friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I'd get a second opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

Get second opinion, I reckon.

And what do you if the appointment is 2 weeks away!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

micar wrote: »
    And what do you if the appointment is 2 weeks away!!

If it's the HSE it'll be in 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭jacool

mrcheez wrote: »
    Make some kids (or at least try to) ... and then record the video message
    fixed that for you
    Make some kids (or at least record video of same)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

I might try and do a kerouac on it lock myself in a room with a pile of amphetamines and try and churn out a book. Aside from that I'd eat everything I wanted. Drink everything I wanted. Use every drug I wanted. Listen to music all the time. Talk with all my loved ones as much as I could. Go to mass and confession then just chill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Get up to watch the sunrise
    Record a video message for my youngest daughter
    Listen to my oldest daughter play her saxophone one more time
    Teach my son how to shave and pass on my wisdom to him
    Go for one more drink with my pals
    Spend time with my father
    Make sure I let my boss know what I really think of him
    Be intimate with my wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭donegal.

give work 2 weeks notice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Ah Homer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭kellsred

Homer? Is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭dinorebel

donegal. wrote: »
    give work 2 weeks notice

You're from Donegal and have a job?

thats racist :)
    ye dirty jackeen skanger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭gravityisalie

Steal a hearse and go joy riding

sure you'll be in a hearse in 10 days, why steal one?

mrcheez wrote: »
    sure you'll be in a hearse in 10 days, why steal one?

the joyriding might be trickier than normal if he waits though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Try and rob a bank.
    If successfully go to las vegas and go mental and die.
    If unsuccessful at least i get to experience what being arrested is like.
    Ill probably be released because the police dont want someone dying while in their custody.
    Go back to step 1. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Aside from all the usual stuff like time with family and friends. I'd make a quick trip to the states and ride a proper rodeo bull. I always wanted to do that.

the joyriding might be trickier than normal if he waits though.

sure you might as well go have a huge party while you're at it... in a morgue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I'd probably try to kill someone, with an arrow.

An arrow of love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Id tell your one that lives across the road of my diagnosis. Then I'd negotiate the ride with her. If she agrees, I'd die a happy man.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Probably kill myself, I'll die on my own terms yo. Do everything I was too scared to do when you've to live with yourself for the foreseeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Attempt to have as much sex as possible. Then go see Angkor Wat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Nothing stopping you doing the depraved sex bit and bungee jump now?

I'd just try and see everybody face to face that are important, or that were important, in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Hookers and cocaine.

jeez man it's coke and hookers..coke and hookers...get with the lingo

mickstupp wrote: »
    Attempt to have as much sex as possible. Then go see Angkor Wat.

Sounds like the average trip to Cambodia tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

cena wrote: »
    Book a flight to new york for the last time

I don't know, I'd probably go to NYC rather than just booking a flight there???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭dinorebel

thats racist :)
    ye dirty jackeen skanger.

From Letterkenny

and have a job;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I would get a second opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

Id ride a traveller beaur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

mackeire wrote: »
    Id ride a traveller beaur

Best wait until day nine to do that in case Martin and Charlie heard you rode Winnie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I'd hire two hookers and get them to clean my house. I don't want people to remember me as a dirty fecker.