Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General sheep thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Dickie10

anybody know of a good experienced person that wants to lamb sheep this late february to early march? all daytime 7-4:30pm. indoor. my vetinary students college timetable dosent suit this year. East Midlands (to use an English term)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭joe35

Looking for a digital clock for my weighing scales. Anyone recommendations, something cheap and cheerful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭orm0nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭roosky

rams went out late this year due to unforeseen circumstances so lambing starting on April 1st….i usually lambed around March 15th or 20th

Id say with late springs and marginal land I might be as far on but I’m wondering how do lads lambing this late manage grass…..if you follow the guidelines with paddocks rested for 100 days it means I should start closing up to Christmas Day but that would mean grazing good grass in January and February that I should be saving for spring ….maybe it’s just this winter with good growing back end but I still have enough grass to carry me to lambing without housing the ewes but I’m would be mad to graze it a month before lambing ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Sami23

Sheep were scanned since and thankfully she scanned for a single.

While scanning we noticed that her wool is a bit loose and would come out if pulled.

She's still in great form and I gave her a dose of Flukiver and Stockline with Cooper yesterday to see if that helps.

Eating E&L nuts daily now also.

Think I might give her Zerofen worm dose over the weekend along with the Ketovit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,405 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

She should be alright so, the loose wool could be a sign of fluke but you have that covered.

Adult sheep can succumb to worms if their immunity goes down as this one is and you'll have that covered too,

Be aware that too much feeding can cause an oversized lamb too, now that you know she only has a single.

She should be alright now, hopefully she'll make it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Jonnyc135

last 5 pet lambs sent to Kildare yesterday. Most of them pets and some that were left on as triplets, thought they’d never grow. Average weight 47 kg, killed into 22.8kg at 8.70. It’s amazing how the worst lambs have made the most money for me this last 2 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Young95

hi,

We lamb April 1st onwards every year and it works out fine if your not to highly stocked, started closing fields up last week, so we will take all sheep off field 1st of February, we get away with this , and little fertiliser in April and it works out fine

Ya I’d say I’ll do something similar, so you don’t graze in the month of February and March?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Young95

we might have one field left with sheep locked into it but at a low density and a bit of silage in a feeder, the key for that field is it might be grazed bare but it’s not wrecked from to much sheep on it , fertiliser in April give it a rest then and it’ll come back fine .

ya it’s just funny how it worked out for me this year with loads of grass, there are some fields I won’t get grazed over the winter and it’s a pity to graze them in late feb/early March and then leave yourself tight in first weeks of April

Anyone an idea how much an advantage feeder would be. I'm short grass this year and thinking of getting one to feed oats to the sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Cran

have 800s here and think saw somewhere they’re €1800 now

I looked up the 800 there. It's fairly small.

How many sheep would you have with this. How much feed will it hold

up to 100 sheep depending on how much your feeding. I feed grains in them, think holds around 400kg

Thanks for that Cran. One last question. How much per day per head can you set it too.

It says from 1kg to add lib on done deal

I've the 500, It can feed down to .5kg/day or less of pellets, they were invented to work with grain so I'd guess there's no problem going lower than .5 /day with grain.

The 500 would hold 400kg, the 800 would hold a good bit more.

lot less than that, I’ve two batches of lambs on them at the moment at around 500gms a day & that’s not fully shut down.
    one on combi other on oats

Thanks Wrangler and Cran. Food for thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭White Clover

Any February/early March lads scan yet? Hopefully get it done in next 2 weeks here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Mad about baa baas

Hi all. I hope santy came and treated ye well..

I had a ewe lamb here yesterday..2nd crop ewe

she was full term but had twins that look like quads..they are tiny..they are up.and sucking and bright enough but i was just wondering of possible causes? Had a few more lambs since and are all plenty big.

This ewe is also scarce enough in milk. Im hoping as small.as they are they wont need much to begin with and she might come on

Would she have been a poor/slow feeder? Other thing is some strain of abortion.

Had they plenty to eat, they'd need to be getting 2lbs meal for a month before lambing. Was she eating silage, could be listeria

Thanks for the replies

they Were well fed i think..had several sets of twins since and all plenty big..no silage ..had them out during the day and in at night till they started..had decent grass and hay outside and fed twice a day..they are still lively anyway but just teeny..the ewe is a great grubber ..

The only other thing is the placenta looked a little unusual..little nodules like strawberries.

She is the only one out of the bunch so far so hopefully a one off and not a strain of abortion

Next group due in a couple of weeks so fingers crossed

The placenta you describe is definitely pointing at some form of abortion/interference imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,215 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I had one like that a few yrs ago. He was 600g at birth out of a massive Suffolk x ewe and Dorset ram. I fed him by turning ewe up 3 times a day for 3 weeks til he could reach the tents himself.

He came into Savage money in the end as lambs were very scarce when he was finally fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭jfh

Feeding ewes outside on silage, have one with twin lamb disease, was going to bring them all in for a few days as weather is promised bad for next two days, would it upset them too much? lambing in Feb, not sure about changing sheep diet too much, I'd be giving them hay inside

Are they getting meal outside? If they are, they'll be no fear of them inside. Maybe give 2 feeds/day when inside until they're settled. It'll prevent twin lamb disease too if they're properly fed. The hay wouldn't be adding much nutrition, only a Fibre source really to keep stomach right. Ewes coming close to lambing need energy dense feedstuffs.

Thanks white clover, appreciate the advice, we're in sheep all my life but I left it to the father. Yes they were in ewe and lamb nuts so not too much of a disturbance. Regards the hay, it's over two years old now so intend to give them silage in future, the hay keeps them nice and dry but doubt there's much feeding value in it. Not lambing until 1 st week of Feb so intend to let them out again for 10 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭DJ98

What type of feeding barrier do people find best?

the only feed barrier to buy is the one from O’Donovans, that design anyway. They are the one with the access gate that opens all the way to the ground. I have half the shed with them and the other half done with the standard gate that they have to jump over and the ewes don’t like crossing it, even with lambs they prefer to run straight into the pen

Is there a tams grant available for sheep feeding barriers?

When does the census need to be filled in by??

Any tips or advice for controlling footrot in housed lambs? 50 lambs in and approx 15 with rotten feet. They have been paired back, treated with alymicyin spray, injections got from vet and footbathed weekly in formalin but still can't get on top of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,846 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

What kind of bed are they on and are they eating Silage or hay?

,Its not good to footbath too often in formalin, the hoof gets too hard and cracks off. you'll need to be treating them intensively now. ie use lime every time you bed them, maybe use zinc sulphate in the footbath for a while and then formalin once.

Give them 5 mins in the footbath if using zinc sulphate and then on to a fresh bed with lots of lime, If you had an infection in your foot you'd be bathing it more than once a week.

There's no miracle cures but foot vax is working very well here. I don't know how it'd work in the face of an outbreak though.

Last year I put lime directly on to the infected foot. Seemed to dry them up quickly

no Heptavac P to be got as we know, so im vaccinatiing with Covexin or Tribavex the vet has both, i vaccinated my lambs in october with covexin to prevent braxy, struck, blackleg, pulpy kidney etc and thought it worked well. what would you people go for on here covexin or tribavex. this is fro in lamb ewes 6 weeks from lambing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Jimbo789

I bought some Heptavac P today to use in a few weeks when heard people talking about there being a shortage.

where did u get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭foxirl

Covexin 10 and tribavex 10 are the exact same thing in a different bottle as far as I know.

Post edited by foxirl on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Jimbo789

Usually would buy it in Midlands veterinary in Tullamore but had to go to Grennans Rath today so just got it there. 2 X 250ml bottles

How many mule ewes averaging 70kgs would a 16x16 straw bedded pen hold roughly? 16 ft feeding space too.

You have lying space for 14 but only feeding space for 9.

Will depocillin work on joint ill? 5 or 7 days?

I have lost a few lambs due to the ewe lying on them, both sheep have foot problems, even though they regularly go through footbath with formulin, anyone else have the same issues

Have you lifted their feet? It may be something like a small stone or piece of dried dirt between the digits. Post a picture here if you're not sure after giving them a good examination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,215 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Cull the lame ones if its recurring. best thing i ever did was load up anything with an issue one day. i dont think my sheep have had a hoof pared in 3/4 years and are all fine.

We inject for ten days, any less it just comes back

Thanks for that..how quickly should they come sound..im on day 4 here and no real improvement..the lamb is bright and nursing just o. 3 legs..knee is swollen