Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bottled Guinness: The Great Lie.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭2forjoy

could never get a kick out of the bottle of stout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Walter2016

Canning and bottling takes place in East Belfast.

"Brewing" sort of takes place. In reality you would probably call it "finishing" as its sent in concentrate form from Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Walter2016 wrote: »
    Canning and bottling takes place in East Belfast.

"Brewing" sort of takes place. In reality you would probably call it "finishing" as its sent in concentrate form from Dublin.
    East Belfast...?

Em...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I had bottles of Guinness Foreign Extra and O'Haras Leann Folláin recently and found both were pretty decent.

At the taps Murphy's is ahead of Guinness, imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Not sure what the OP was on about though - Guinness was Protestant Black Porter

And the Guinness family started the Orange Order in Dublin

might upset a few into that craic

The Guinness family were always very strong unionists and had a strong association with Dublin since Arthur Guinness started his 9000 year lease at St James Gate in 1759. The money from the Guinness family supported many buildings around Dublin, in particular, the Church of Ireland. Though the Guinness family would keep a low key profile in recent times, this wasn’t always the case.

Arthur was strongly against the 1798 rebellion, so much so, that his renamed his drink ‘Protestant Porter’.

The Guinness family also played a crucial role in the forming of the Orange Order in Dublin.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,010 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

ArtSmart wrote: »
    This says " Boucher Rd, Belfast. ". I dont knoe who brewed it, but it's vile.

Arlene Foster brewed it herself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

The divils buttermilk, according to Ian "dry sh1te" Paisley.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭kyote00

that explains Guinness farts :D
    James's Gate is just a front it's actually a nuclear power station

• Registered Users Posts: 22,007 ✭✭✭✭Esel

The pint bottle is grand.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

gctest50 wrote: »
    Not sure what the OP was on about though - Guinness was Protestant Black Porter

And the Guinness family started the Orange Order in Dublin

Amazing what a strong marketing campaign can make the armchair republicans ignore... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Noveight wrote: »
    Amazing what a strong marketing campaign can make the armchair republicans ignore... :pac:

Ah but there is no accounting for genetics ...

Or who Your actual da is ; )

The Guinness family have a little known secret- it would appear that they are descended for the very native (ie Irish) McCartan family originating from the Mourne area of Ulster

See:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/7145951.stm
    The book explains that where Arthur's genuine ancestors, the McCartans, once lived is a small village called Guiness or Ginnies.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/guinness-familys-origins-smaller-beer-than-thought-26339150.html

gozunda wrote: »

The Guinness family have a little known secret- it would appear that they are descended for the very native (ie Irish) McCartan family originating from the Mourne area of Ulster

Turncoat beer then

Can't help where you're born like, but then to go off supporting the other side :p

The Guinness family also played a crucial role in the forming of the Orange Order in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭OnDraught

Turncoat beer then

Can't help where you're born like, but then to go off supporting the other side :p

They historically treated their staff extremely well. Something a lot of Irish employer s these days could take example from.

Turncoat beer then. Can't help where you're born like, but then to go off supporting the other side :p

Ah selective nationalism - love it ... ;)

If you read between the lines that the Guinnesses could well be actual McCartans of the other side of the blanket type ... perhaps

Of note Arthur Guinnesses family were originally tenant farmers. Arthur inherited £100 pound from a relative and invested it in a brewery lease. He was also a supporter of Henry Gratten (another Protestant!) who advocated for Ireland as an independent nation and who actively campaigned for legislative freedom for the Irish Parliament.

I think you will find that many non Catholics and even some 'turncoats'were heavily involved in 1798 rebellion and also helped pave the way for later Irish Independence.

OnDraught wrote: »
    They historically treated their staff extremely well. Something a lot of Irish employer s these days could take example from.

The company was alleged to have lent men and equipment to the British army to help crush Irish rebels during the Easter Rising of 1916, afterwards firing members of staff whom it believed to have Irish-nationalist sympathies.

Chrxst on a bike you really have the knife out for the entire Guinness family there :rolleyes:

Who is this 'alledgedly' bloke of whom you speak? Whilst we are speaking of urban legends - I hear they used to also use roast babies as part of the brewing process :eek:

Anyway back to the OPs post. A pint of plain is your only man ... :D
    The Workman's Friend"

When things go wrong and will not come right,
    Though you do the best you can,
    When life looks black as the hour of night -
    A pint of plain is your only man.

When money's tight and hard to get
    And your horse has also ran,
    When all you have is a heap of debt -

When health is bad and your heart feels strange,
    And your face is pale and wan,
    When doctors say you need a change,

When food is scarce and your larder bare
    And no rashers grease your pan,
    When hunger grows as your meals are rare -

In time of trouble and lousey strife,
    You have still got a darlint plan
    You still can turn to a brighter life -

Flann O'Brien

ArtSmart wrote: »
    Had to check the label after two. Brewed in Northern Ireland. Bitter sweet? Nope. Just bitter. Sad, sad day and days to come.

Nothing new or a strange there tbh ..

Guinness has and continues to be brewed and produced in more places than just Dublin
    Three of the five Guinness breweries are in Africa
    Although Guinness is brewed in 49 countries and sold in 150, Guinness itself owns five breweries worldwide, including St. James Gate in Dublin. One is in Malaysia, and the rest are in Africa, specifically in Nigeria, Ghana and Cameroon. In fact, Nigeria and Cameroon are among the top five markets for Guinness in the world.

However, the Guinness variant popular in Ireland, the UK and the U.S. is not the popular one in Africa, where they prefer the Guinness Extra Foreign Stout, a variant with a much higher alcohol content (7.5%) than the draft (around 4.0%).

https://uk.askmen.com/entertainment/special_feature_300/336_guinness-5-things-you-didnt-know.html

• Registered Users Posts: 15,767 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Who cares?

Opps...

Ok, No more Black Proddie Porter jokes from me.

Bought the Guinness XX six pk today. This time, it was fairly drinkable. Must've read this thread last year...

Still not quite up to the old small bottles, ie, the pint bottles you get in some pubs. Why not just sell that, Mr Arthur Mc Diageo or whatever you calll yerself these days?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Went on a session on the large bottles of G once, different alright.

I heaved my guts up at the urinals at the end of the night. Was just standing there taking a piss and the next thing vomit exploded out of my mouth.

Puked while in mid-piss? Did you not blow your arse out as well? Happened to me once after a heavy session. Standing pissing into the jacks when suddenly I wretched and projectile heaved onto the cistern and simultaneously filled my toggs at the back end as well.

Bad day.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I know its a zombie thread, but have a bottle of Foreign Extra in the fridge. Brewed in Dublin, but guessing it was bottled in GB/NI, due to some of the markings, ie, UK Medical Advisories, and Drinkaware.co.uk.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    I know its a zombie thread, but have a bottle of Foreign Extra in the fridge. Brewed in Dublin, but guessing it was bottled in GB/NI, due to some of the markings, ie, UK Medical Advisories, and Drinkaware.co.uk.
    Zombie thread? Soon as people stop drinking bottled Guinness it'll be a zombie thred.

Which will be NEVER!

Unless it does happen, of course.