Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Santa/santy?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Sandy Claws

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

Santy when I was a kid, then Santa when I grew up and realised his name was actually Santa...the clue is in the name...Santa Claus.

But sometimes I say Santy. And other times I say Santa.

Santy.

Santa.

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Saint Knickers-less

• Registered Users Posts: 33,172 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

fineso.mom wrote: »
    Daidí na Nollaig
    Athair na Nollag.

He's a priest?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

He's a priest?

Well he's not daddy Christmas he's Father Christmas. And the myth was originally spun from St. Nicholas who was a bishop who handed out presents to poor children so technically he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭_Jamie_

Culchie here. Santy is my default. Though I feel self-conscious saying it at times as apparently people can be secretly (or not so secretly) snooty about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭_Jamie_

Goodshape wrote: »
    Mum, dad, Santa.

There rest of yous are all mad.

You almost convinced us you are posh. Almost. So close. :P:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,768 ✭✭✭DopeTech

deco nate wrote: »
    Someone was listening to dermot and Dave today.. .

Or Adrian and Jeremy

• Registered Users Posts: 12,018 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

_Jamie_ wrote: »
    Culchie here. Santy is my default. Though I feel self-conscious saying it at times as apparently people can be secretly (or not so secretly) sooty about it.

FYP...I'll get my coat!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,689 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

So has someone built the camps we're sending the santy people to yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

The Mother. Can't remember what I refer to her directly as?
    The Father. Dad if referred to directly.
    sinterklaas. Just joking he's different. Some heathen dutch impersonator running around with a load of lads in black face. Funniest **** you'll ever see. Santy. Must be said in a most childish way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Santy (Dub).

Father Christmas if you were posh.

Santy if you're from the council estate, and Santa if you're from the better part of town.
    Father Christmas if you're from one of the big houses. That's the impression I get.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,297 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Zombienosh wrote: »
    Which one do you say? 

Santy for me.

both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Mr. Claus.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

LordSutch wrote: »
    Santy if you're from the council estate, and Santa if you're from the better part of town.
    Father Christmas if you're from one of the big houses. That's the impression I get.

I am, or corpo as we called them.

Well he's not daddy Christmas he's Father Christmas. And the myth was originally spun from St. Nicholas who was a bishop who handed out presents to poor children so technically he is.

Fair point.

I want to meet a priest now with the surname Christmas, just so I can call him Father Christmas...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,499 ✭✭✭✭Caoimhgh1n

I'd say Santa whilst speaking English, and San Nioclás whilst speaking in Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

Caoimhgh1n wrote: »
    I'd say Santa whilst speaking English, and San Nioclás whilst speaking in Irish.

Thinly veiled I speak Irish comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,499 ✭✭✭✭Caoimhgh1n

Thinly veiled I speak Irish comment.

Thinly veiled Irish has nothing to do with my heritage and I'm desperate for likes comment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭Train Dragon

Santa = middle and upper class Dublin.

Santy = working class Dublin and rest of the Republic.

Shanty = working class Dublin and rest of the Republic.

Think it was a pub in Mulhuddart too. Or what Sean Connery called him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭Train Dragon

Think it was a pub in Mulhuddart too. Or what Sean Connery called him.

Fixed ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

Fair point.

I want to meet a priest now with the surname Christmas, just so I can call him Father Christmas...

There was a Church of England priest in I think Cornwall a few years ago with the surname Christmas, as he was high Anglican he was titled Father rather than Reverend. So, Father Christmas. I must dig out an old Crockford's directory & scan his entry!

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭Spook80

Santa usually or Santy to a toddler or Nick to his face

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Santa if you're normal.

Santy if you're common.

Father Christmas if you're an English Protestant.

Saint Nicholas if you're a pious religibot.

Saint Nick if you're a hip cool religibot.

Babbo Natale if you likea spaghetti.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I call him a feckin' nuisance. Bah Humbug.

Speedsie wrote: »
    There was a Church of England priest in I think Cornwall a few years ago with the surname Christmas, as he was high Anglican he was titled Father rather than Reverend. So, Father Christmas. I must dig out an old Crockford's directory & scan his entry!

Or Mary Christmas :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Fr Xmas obvs.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Santy = working class Dublin and rest of the Republic.

No he's Santa in upper middle class homes in the country also.

Speedsie wrote: »

Oooh, Matron!