Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Santa/santy?

• 14-12-2016 12:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭

Which one do you say? 

Santy for me.

Which one do you say? 253 votes

Santy
    0% 0 votes
    Santa
    44% 113 votes
    Father Christmas
    49% 125 votes
    Kris Kringle,
    5% 14 votes
    Other
    0% 1 vote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Someone was listening to dermot and Dave today.. .

• Registered Users Posts: 12,018 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Mam/Dad

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

In Dublin anyway...

Santy if you're not posh.
    Santa if you think you live in an American sitcom, or posh.

That was always my understanding.

Similar to the Great Mam V Mum (V Mom for the real freaks) war that's been raging on boards since its conception.
    I'm a Santy Mam knacker btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Santy (Dub).

Father Christmas if you were posh.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,693 ✭✭✭buried

The man from Del Monty

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 10,953 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Father Christmas for me, Santa or Santy interchangeablely for wife and kids.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Satan claws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

In Dublin anyway...

Similar to the Great Mam V Mum (V Mom for the real freaks) war that's been raging on boards since its conception.

Santy,Ma and Da ftw

gitzy16v wrote: »
    Santy,Ma and Da ftw

These are all totally acceptable too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

Daidí na Nollaig

• Registered Users Posts: 15,913 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Well here in Dublin it was always Santy, but then US and UK tv told all the kids to talk with a question at the end of their sentences, and to say Santa too. I am sad about that.

Anyway was great to see the clip of the little Cork lad on the radio and it was Santy all the way.

FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

In Dublin anyway...

Santy Mam knackers unite

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Mum, dad, Santa.

There rest of yous are all mad.

Goodshape wrote: »
    Mum, dad, Santa.

Mum and yous from the same person. Something isn't right here...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,913 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Mam.

Nothing else will ever do.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Goodshape wrote: »
    Mum, dad, Santa.

• Mum, dad, santa.
    • Ma, da, santy.
    • Mummy, daddy, father Christmas.

It's feckin Santy and it's mammy and daddy and would you like a drop of tae before I put the jar in the bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭JimmyTClarke

Father Christmas if you were posh.

Or English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Santa....
    People who say santy should be blasted with piss.

It's feckin Santy and it's mammy and daddy and would you like a drop of tae before I put the jar in the bed.

Oh I forgot about culchies

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How about just referring to him as Claus.

Oh I forgot about culchies

:p

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I heard they call him Santo on de Nort' Soyid.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

An File wrote: »
    I heard they call him Santo on de Nort' Soyid.

That's brilliant. :D

Us culchies love the way northside Dubliners speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,693 ✭✭✭buried

What I'd like to know is how did his costume end up in this red and white colour? You hear this story that it was a soft drink company what gave it to him, but did it though? That could well be a modern corporate company surplanting its own myth on a already established ancient one. I think the red and white colour comes from the 'Amanita muscaria' (The holy mushroom) This is a hallucinatory 'magic' mushroom, its tip is red with white dots, looks like the ones in the fairytales, cartoons and the Mario Brothers computer games. The reindeers in the artic circle gobble them when they see a patch of them growing underneath evergreen pine trees in the wild. Nordic Shaman tribesmen would eat them and describe the reindeers flying. Maybe thats what the reindeers see too. Even Insects will take bites off these mushrooms and collapse onto the ground in a semi comatose warped state for 15 minutes, get back up and take more bites, thats Christmas in a nutshell right there

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Well here in Dublin it was always Santy, but then US and UK tv told all the kids to talk with a question at the end of their sentences, and to say Santa too. I am sad about that.

T'was Santa to many Dublin folk a long time before TV was invented.

Maybe not down Coddle Terrace way.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

fineso.mom wrote: »
    Daidí na Nollaig
    Athair na Nollag.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Athair na Nollag.

Nah, Gaeilgeoirs are well in with him, no need for formality.

Little known fact, as well as getting extra points in the Leaving, they also get 10% more presents from Santy. Fact!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

lost near the airport OP?...

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

Santa. Or slanty jaws.

Another poll with that all important option missing. Tut.