Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else fed up of the Gardai whinging about pay?

• 13-12-2016 12:41am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭

If they were doing a decent job I would probably have some sympathy for them. But the fact they just seem more interested in doing low-hanging fruit police work means I just don’t have any pity for them. For example, setting up speed traps at the bottom of hills and going undercover at rock concerts to catch teenagers with spliffs just to get the conviction rates up is not proper policing. It's just shooting fish in a barrel.

Then I hear plenty of stories where offices and houses have been burgled and the caller was simply told they don’t have enough “resources” to send someone out. I mean WTF? That is what they are paid to do. And then there is the problem with violent gun crime in the country - a battle which our force seems to have given up on. I guess catching an 18-year old with a bit of dope at a rock concert and clocking up a conviction is a lot less hassle.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

No , never. The local Garda has to follow orders- if you don't break the law then it's not an issue .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Ah now c'mon they have to devote resources to persecuting whistle blowers 24 hours a day...I mean jeez you can't expect them to have time to chase criminals as well!!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,522 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

They do a good square job round here, like any profession there is the odd flute but that's human nature.

I think the current starting salary is a joke and will only attract the worst candidates to the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,311 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I'm fed up reading threads about people whinging about other people whinging. Is that close enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Would you also be complaining if people were speeding all over the place due to no speed traps? Or what about if some young thug robbed you to fund their drug addiction? Low level offending leads to more violent crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Hundreds of millions on tribunals into their corruption and promises of new beginnings and new oversight bodies.

All a load sh1t.

Still covering up. Still corrupt management answerable to no one.

Latest Cover Up

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

Boaty wrote: »
    Would you also be complaining if people were speeding all over the place due to no speed traps? Or what about if some young thug robbed you to fund their drug addiction? Low level offending leads to more violent crime.

I bet you don't know what it smells like in the sistine chapel

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i'm fed up with everyone whinging about pay

we need a Thatcher in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

fryup wrote: »

Yeah!

My roof is fcuked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

They were walking around the carpark today in blanch shopping centre checking windows, now - I've no issue with them having checkpoints or catching people on the road that shouldn't be on the roads, but you'd think they'd have more to be worrying about than walking around a carpark collecting revenue given the state of the country at the minute with people being shot at, mugged, and burgled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

No, we really do not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Would you rather do their job OP? I certainly wouldn't and I think they should be well paid for the **** and scum they have to deal with every day.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Not really...

****ing rents these days are mad. Average rent in Dublin is almost a grand a month.

What do Gardai earn startin?
    http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=12252

Let's skip to the year 1: €25,727
    after basic tax..
    http://taxcalc.ie/
    that's €21,618

So like.. what's that less a grand a month. It's 21,618-12000 = 9,618

so each week that's: 184

Right dole is what?
    http://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/Jobseekers-supports.aspx
    Dole is 188

Right, so less than the Dole For a starting Garda...

Homeless rates up at record levels...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101770543#post101770543

Feckin price of houses and renting. Nothing being built. Homelessness rising. Government reports saying we're breaching the rights of Children:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=101707037&postcount=58

I can see why the Gardai want more money...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

No, we really do not.

really? name me one Taoiseach that has stood down the unions ??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

jetsonx wrote: »
    ....going undercover at rock concerts to catch teenagers with spliffs just to get the conviction rates up is not proper policing. It's just shooting fish in a barrel.

It also furthers anti-garda sentiment amongst young cannabis users.

Maybe some high ranking gardai should come out in support of full legalisation. Perhaps with the suggestion of a special tax rate that could go towards their pay increase. Or maybe do like some areas of the UK police and let it be known they are going to de-prioritise it.

It'd make them less odious in the eyes of those young people, and maybe change the focus in dealing with young cannabis users towards assisting and getting to interact with them on a human level, as opposed to destroying their futures by treating them as mere criminals.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭jetsonx

They were walking around the carpark today in blanch shopping centre checking windows, now - I've no issue with them having checkpoints or catching people on the road that shouldn't be on the roads, but you'd think they'd have more to be worrying about than walking around a carpark collecting revenue given the state of the country at the minute with people being shot at, mugged, and burgled

Exactly. But this is the nice easy kind of work they like doing. In this very area (West Dublin) just up the road there are gangs blowing each others brains out but our force is swanning around the safe environs of a shopping centre car park. It's a disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Skommando

That sounds exactly like another whinge.
    And you'd also be the first one whinging if your pay was cut.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭jetsonx

It'd make them less odious in the eyes of those young people, and maybe change the focus in dealing with young cannabis users towards assisting and getting to interact with them on a human level, as opposed to destroying their futures by treating them as mere criminals.

And when these teenagers get older and they come across criminal activity do think they will really feel comfortable reporting incidents to them? Probably not.
    I don't think the Gardai even know when community policing means.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,440 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Slydice wrote: »
    Not really...

****ing rents these days are mad. Average rent in Dublin is almost a grand a month.

after basic tax..
    that's €21,618

Right dole is what?
    Dole is 188

Why subtract rent before comparing to the dole? Seems a bit arbitrary. Lots of people on welfare pay rent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

If they were doing a decent job I would probably have some sympathy for them. But the fact they just seem more interested in doing low-hanging fruit police work means I just don’t have any pity for them. For example, setting up speed traps at the bottom of hills and going undercover at rock concerts to catch teenagers with spliffs just to get the conviction rates up is not proper policing. It's just shooting fish in a barrel.

Then I hear plenty of stories where offices and houses have been burgled and the caller was simply told they don’t have enough “resources” to send someone out. I mean WTF? That is what they are paid to do. And then there is the problem with violent gun crime in the country - a battle which our force seems to have given up on. I guess catching an 18-year old with a bit of dope at a rock concert and clocking up a conviction is a lot less hassle.

Well the guys doing speed traps will be Traffic.. The clue is in the name.

My own home was being broken into while we watched TV. Garda there in minutes and caught them.

Work along side the Garda in one job and 99% are sound.

Take it you are 18 and got caught speeding and carrying dope..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Fluffy Cat 88

Would you rather do their job OP? I certainly wouldn't and I think they should be well paid for the **** and scum they have to deal with every day.

This!

Two of my extended family are Gardai. The pay is ****e, the work is dangerous, they're handcuffed to the scum of the country (leading them in and out of court etc) spat at, have to wear anti stab vests and risk assault and death every day. Not to mention having to knock on a door and break the worst news to families after accidents.

They both love their jobs and are proud to serve and protect our citizens. But they deserve a lot more for the work they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

It's not the fault of the guards themselves if some bureaucrat allocates more resources to the low hanging fruit stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭doc11

This!

Two of my extended family are Gardai. The pay is ****e, the work is dangerous, they're handcuffed to the scum of the country (leading them in and out of court etc) spat at, have to wear anti stab vests and risk assault and death every day. Not to mention having to knock on a door and break the worst news to families after accidents.

They both love their jobs and are proud to serve and protect our citizens. But they deserve a lot more for the work they do.

yeah yeah yeah, what about the gardai who sit safely in their stations all day doing crosswords. The majority are desk based. Risk of Death? you do like the drama. 63k for an average guard plus pension after 30 years is amazing. How much do you think a guard should be paid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Slydice wrote: »
    Not really...

after basic tax..
    that's €21,618

Right dole is what?
    Dole is 188

Homeless rates up at record levels...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101770543#post101770543

Feckin price of houses and renting. Nothing being built. Homelessness rising. Government reports saying we're breaching the rights of Children:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=101707037&postcount=58

I can see why the Gardai want more money...
    Don't forget

Overtime allowance
    Rent allowance
    Sunday allowance
    Night duty allowance
    Public holiday allowance
    Saturday allowance
    Detective allowance
    Uniform allowance
    Boot allowance
    Non public duty allowance
    Plain clothes allowance
    Clerical allowance
    Availability allowance
    Gaeltacht allowance
    Minsterial pool
    Instructor allowance
    Radio allowance
    Acting up allowance :pac:
    Juvenile Liasion Officer and Community Relations/Crime Prevention allowance :)
    Immigration allowance
    Qualifying bonus allowance
    Court presenter allowance
    Transport allowance
    Air support unit allowance
    PSV allowance
    Locomotion allowance :confused:
    Delegates allowance
    Change management allowance
    Collator allowance
    Welfare office allowance
    Substitution allowance
    Safety advisor allowance
    Analyst allowance
    Dog handler allowance
    Reward allowance
    Local post allowance (abroad)
    Child allowance (abroad)
    Private secretary allowance
    Cost of living allowance (abroad)
    Bicycle allowance :rolleyes:
    Interpol allowance
    Supplementary overtime allowance
    Living allowance
    EU Police Mission
    Cost of living allowance

diomed wrote: »
    Don't forget

Overtime allowance
    Rent allowance
    Sunday allowance
    Night duty allowance
    Public holiday allowance
    Saturday allowance
    Detective allowance
    Uniform allowance
    Boot allowance
    Non public duty allowance
    Plain clothes allowance
    Clerical allowance
    Availability allowance
    Gaeltacht allowance
    Minsterial pool
    Instructor allowance
    Radio allowance
    Acting up allowance :pac:
    Juvenile Liasion Officer and Community Relations/Crime Prevention allowance :)
    Immigration allowance
    Qualifying bonus allowance
    Court presenter allowance
    Transport allowance
    Air support unit allowance
    PSV allowance
    Locomotion allowance :confused:
    Delegates allowance
    Change management allowance
    Collator allowance
    Welfare office allowance
    Substitution allowance
    Safety advisor allowance
    Analyst allowance
    Dog handler allowance
    Reward allowance
    Local post allowance (abroad)
    Child allowance (abroad)
    Private secretary allowance
    Cost of living allowance (abroad)
    Bicycle allowance :rolleyes:
    Interpol allowance
    Supplementary overtime allowance
    Living allowance
    EU Police Mission
    Cost of living allowance

You hardly think a Garda gets all these allowances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

doc11 wrote: »
    yeah yeah yeah, what about the gardai who sit safely in their stations all day doing crosswords. The majority are desk based. Risk of Death? you do like the drama. 63k for an average guard plus pension after 30 years is amazing. How much do you think a guard should be paid?

But these desk guys are there, and responded to me when I called the station.

What do you want? Some low paid Irish version of the Statsi?

Bet you would be the first to complain if you got hit by a uninsured driver and say "why did the Garda not get them off the road"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭worded

A lot of police are landlords I hear ....

According to Macwilliams all these strikes are linked to house costs

• Registered Users Posts: 14,377 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I know nothing about being a Guard.

Therefore I don't know whether I'm sick of hearing about their grievances or not.

But I'm fairly sure a lot of people have made their mind up about being sick of it, without really thinking about it, because it doesn't appear to affect them directly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,241 ✭✭✭TheDavester

Im more sick of teachers whinging about pay

• Registered Users Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

No.
    They deal with the toughest people in society, and ensure our safety.
    They deserve good pay.

There may be many issues with high ranking decision makers, with policies, corruption...
    But I don't think this protest is about them.