Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UTD vs Tottenham 2:15pm Sunday - Sky Sports 1

• 09-12-2016 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,927 ✭✭✭

Was hoping it would take a bit longer before Mkhitaryan found his feet, destroyed us when he was at Dortmund. Zlatan is a heifer in the box, certainly playing a lot of games considering his age.

Utd's defence are full of mistakes though, they looked all over the place at defending corners last night. Dier no doubt will be dropped, handbags with Herrera.

I fancy us to win. If the Dane has a good game.

303969_500128453344908_1254857875_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭DubPerryman

I think United had a 3000 mile round trip to Ukraine for last night's match. We know all too well how that can impact performance.

Interestingly Ibrahimovic said in an interview that the Thursday nights are killing him and his team. So it's in their heads, his anyway. If a few more of them can think like that then we can beat them before we walk out onto the pitch on Sunday.

We're 5/2 in the betting - has to be value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

A win here could really kick our season in to the next gear, putting 9 points between us & united would be a tough deficit for them to overturn.
    Leicester could even do us a favour and we'd be on top of Man City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭slegs

A draw I think here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

slegs wrote: »
    A draw I think here

Yes, de big Mourinho bus! 1-1

Looks like a win tomorrow could put us 4th. Leicester hammering City!

Something to get the blood flowing

COYS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Coolaboy

Think we will score two or more but will concede as well. 3-1 win. COYS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,927 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Lloris, Walker, Alderweireld, Vertonghen, Rose. Wanyama, Dembele. Eriksen, Alli, Son. Kane.

Vorm, Wimmer, Davies, Dier, Winks, Sissoko, Nkoudou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Sugarlumps wrote: »
    Lloris, Walker, Alderweireld, Vertonghen, Rose. Wanyama, Dembele. Eriksen, Alli, Son. Kane.

Really love that starting 11 lets hope we fly and get a early lead
    Hoping 2-1 us
    Toby with a header from a corner
    And alli with a backheel nutmeg in the 89 min to win! Yids

davycc wrote: »
    Really love that starting 11

Can't fault the starting eleven. Bench isn't bad either. Still, I'd be weary of Utd. Martial will do all the running for Ibrahimovic, whose still devastating in the box.

Surprised Mata isn't starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

United targeting the space behind our full backs.

Walker will need to stay awake today

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Plucky Man Utd doing their best to stand up to the mighty Tottenham Hotspur.

Glazers Out!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

**** sake Kane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Toobz wrote: »
    lol

Great counter

It had been a bit like that especially in possession. Great goal.

Glazers Out!

What was Harry doing in that position in the first place.

United playing much better than us

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,517 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Micky is starting to turn into the player we all hoped he would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Toobz

nullzero wrote: »
    It had been a bit like that especially in possession. Great goal.

Sorry lads, deleted my post was in the wrong thread!

No disrespect to ye i'm not a poster who wonders in after a goal!

:o:o

We're playing really poorly at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,108 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Pogba winning his battle with Dembele

Watching on a stream so hard to tell but the atmosphere seems non existent

We are poor today. Harry n Ali are quite.

The Dane has retreated into his plain self once again. Still in with a shout at 1-0, if we go further behind, its lights out. Can't play as poorly as we did in the first half.

If we continue to create nowt, N'koudou has pace and will go at defenders. Winks can pick a pass.

It's not looking good. United look dangerous.

What a miss Wanyama :mad:

Why the hell is Sissoko coming on?

Game has opened up.

Herrera is a little cúnt.

What a save Llori :eek:

Cracking game

Decent attempt, been far and few between.

Sissoko has actually been good.

Alli has been píss poor.

Scrappy since Dembele was hooked.

Neither team is playing well, but we are worse. Untied deserve this. We've no creativity.

I love lloris but why can't he kick it up de fukn field when needs fukn be!

Pile of steaming horse shít, time of the month for too many players. Never turned up, pressing? Midfield was ****, Kane spent the majority of the time out on the wing.

United...deserving winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭golfball37

Same toothless sh1te, different day. What is it now since city game? 2 wins in 9 is it

Yep....United deserved it.

We had no penetration up front.

Sissy looked tired after 5 mins on the pitch :confused:

Yep....United deserved it.

We had no penetration up front.

Sissy looked tired after 5 mins on the pitch :confused:

Looked gassed alright, best game in a Spurs shirt. Don't remember anyone else willing to take on a defender.

I'll probably get slaughtered for this but,:(

I think we need Dier back in midfield protecting our center backs, so if our full backs get caught upfield, Dier can dove tail with Jan & Toby.

It worked well last season.

We also move the ball too slow, allowing teams to get back to defensive positions.

Too much tippy tappy :mad:

Need to see the Back of 'Arry a bit more, bend his runs between opposition C/Bs not out on the sidelines.

Badly miss Lamella's work rate protecting Rose.

Id be happy to see Dier back to DM against Hull, but thats nothing to do with Wanyama who has been our best signing this season, would just like to see us getting back to last seasons XI.
    But I think its time, especially with Hull at home, to give GKN a start and leave Alli to the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Charliebull

It's time to take the Europa league seriously, it's the only way we will make champions league because it won't happen via the PL

I don't agree. We're three points off 4th. Plus at some stage Liverpool and City were both considered league winners, now they're struggling to put two wins together. At another stage Chelsea were mid table and on the verge of sacking Conte, now we're ten points behind them.

Long long way to go... We have 4 winnable games coming up, we could be third by Jan easily enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭huddlejonny

We can't do both with the squad we have. At this point in time, we aren't anywhere near good enough to challenge for Europa, nevermind a 4th place finish in the Premiership.

Spurs badly badly need a world class striker, Kane is burnt out mentally and physically and needs to be minded back to his best.

Very few clubs have two world class strikers, though I do think we need an athletic alternative to Kane.

Odion Ighalo seems to have fallen out of favour at Watford. Not exactly world class but a proven PL striker who could bang in a few goals with decent service.

We can't do both with the squad we have. At this point in time, we aren't anywhere near good enough to challenge for Europa, nevermind a 4th place finish in the Premiership.

i dont know, 5 wins and 5 draws will win the europa (we are good at the drawing part)

the 4 teams teams above us in the PL are better than all of the teams left in the EL

the squad was supposed to be good enough for CL and PL never mind the EL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

If we beat Hull and Burnley at home we'll quite possibly be in the top 4. Will people still be saying we're nowhere near good enough to even challenge for top 4? The knee jerks in here are spectacular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭huddlejonny

Very few clubs have two world class stringers, though I do think we need an athletic alternative to Kane.

Odion Ighalo seems to have fallen out of favour at Watford. Not exactly world class but a proven PL striker who could bang in a few goals with decent service.

At the moment, the strikers aren't really getting decent service. We play very well in the first half of the pitch and then we get to the final third and have no width, no speed and no ideas of how to break down teams that sit back.

I reckon a decent world class striker could make the difference in these situations. I don't think Kane is world class yet! His decision making leaves alot to be desired in my opinion especially when it comes to passing to team-mates in a better goal-scoring position than him.

What we need is a tough goalscoring player like Aguero or Costa to give Harry a bit of competition and then we could look at seriously challenging in Europe & the league simultaneously. Also throw in a world class midfielder and we're minted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

At the moment, the strikers aren't really getting decent service. We play very well in the first half of the pitch and then we get to the final third and have no width, no speed and no ideas of how to break down teams that sit back.

I reckon a decent world class striker could make the difference in these situations. I don't think Kane is world class yet! His decision making leaves alot to be desired in my opinion especially when it comes to passing to team-mates in a better goal-scoring position than him.

What we need is a tough goalscoring player like Aguero or Costa to give Harry a bit of competition and then we could look at seriously challenging in Europe & the league simultaneously. Also throw in a world class midfielder and we're minted.

Grand so, we'll snap up Aguero in January, and a good midfielder like Busquets. Sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

i dont know, 5 wins and 5 draws will win the europa (we are good at the drawing part)

the 4 teams teams above us in the PL are better than all of the teams left in the EL

the squad was supposed to be good enough for CL and PL never mind the EL

By rights it should be between us (united) and yourself for the Europa league. On paper the two best teams in it but ko cup comps are hard to win. At least we both got a decent draw for the next round but id bet we'll be drawn against each other as soon as we can be.

Ormus wrote: »
    If we beat Hull and Burnley at home we'll quite possibly be in the top 4. Will people still be saying we're nowhere near good enough to even challenge for top 4? The knee jerks in here are spectacular.

ah ormus, we are good enough on paper to challenge alright, its our consistency this season, plus we have suffered a few injuries to be fair

i have always maintained that we are good enough and try to be as rational as i can, i just think we are stupid to dismiss the europa league

we at best can hope for 4th, i cant currently and i state currently (id like to think that could change)see us finishing above Chelsea or Arsenal, so that leaves city and pool above us, lets say we do scrape 4th, whats happens if utd win the europa and we get demoted
    you can bet jose will go for the europa, he needs a trophy, so I think we also need to go full tilt for it