Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish movies/TV for a foreigner?

• 30-11-2016 5:16pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I need to come up with a few good examples of Irish movies/TV to show someone as part of a language exchange (Russian), but I'm struggling here. The problem is most of the Irish stuff I like is comedy, and comedy does not crossover well to non native speakers in my experience (everyone I've shown Father Ted to thinks it's ****e and I'm simple). To further complicate things I reckon they are a bit cultured shall we say so I'm wary of showing stuff with too much violence.. so any suggestions? So far I've ruled out the likes of Intermission, anything from Roddy Doyle, Love/Hate, Hunger, Paths to Freedom..

So far I've got 'The Field' -_-

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

The Field is violent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

You say that humour doesnt translate, so maybe Upwardly mobile will.be funny in Russian.

Lamb was a great film BTW

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The Commitments.

Edit: No Roddy Doyle? His books are some of the best portrayals of working class Dublin ever written.

My Left Foot is a good one

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭crossmolinalad

Bloody Sunday

Peig the Movie is a classic film noir

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

You say that humour doesnt translate, so maybe Upwardly mobile will.be funny in Russian.

Lamb was a great film BTW

Sure doesn't he drown the youngfella in it? Great show all the same. The Garage is also good for a bit of the old depression.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Into the West
    War of The Buttons
    Darby O'Gill and the Little People
    Aidan Walsh - Master of the Universe

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

snubbleste wrote: »
    The Field is violent

I suppose it is, it's plot serving violence at least though and iirc not gratuitous.. I haven't watched it in ages.

Looks like I'll have to go with Darby O'Gill

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭uch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I Went Down

Also a random unexpected one I've found is that while the likes of Fr. Ted hasn't fared well with non Irish people I've showed it to, The Rubberbandits seem to go over extremely well!

• Registered Users Posts: 73,383 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Soupy Norman

Billy86 wrote: »
    I Went Down
    Rated X

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭sillysmiles

Eat the Peach?
    I went down?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭Cordell

The Guard and Calvary?

I need to come up with a few good examples of Irish movies/TV to show someone as part of a language exchange (Russian), but I'm struggling here. The problem is most of the Irish stuff I like is comedy, and comedy does not crossover well to non native speakers in my experience (everyone I've shown Father Ted to thinks it's ****e and I'm simple). To further complicate things I reckon they are a bit cultured shall we say so I'm wary of showing stuff with too much violence.. so any suggestions? So far I've ruled out the likes of Intermission, anything from Roddy Doyle, Love/Hate, Hunger, Paths to Freedom..

So far I've got 'The Field' -_-

No comedy and no violence. You arent making things easy for yourself are you?

Red Rock - soap based around the Gardai in an urban community. Very good.
    Single-handed - Drama series about a guard in a rural community. Also very good.
    Ballykissangel - Drama series about a priest in a rural community.

Movies:
    War of the Buttons - Drama about kids in a rural community

Are you starting to see a pattern?

EDIT: Damnit, forgot Into the West.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Fatal Deviation, a must.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

There's What Richard Did. It's about a fight and the repercussions but not in the gangland, gratuitous violent way that a lot of Irish film and tv makers favour.

And there's mmm...
    I guess there's a good reason I watch very little Irish film or TV.

Falling for a Dancer was a popular Irish mini series. It was on tv recently but made in the late 1990s. It's a period piece though so doesn't really matter.

There's Dancing at Lughnasa
    Circle of Friends

They're all "old ireland" and more female interest though I'd say.

Few decent ones there lads, keep em coming

Calvary
    Bloody Sunday
    My Left Foot
    Garage
    Into the West

Yu Ming is also a classic :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Oh Brooklyn was a very good film too.

Amber a tv series about a missing child was good too. It's set in the present too and gives a more affluent-ish look at Ireland than the usual tv stuff.

There was The Clinic as well. A medical drama set in the 2000s.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,926 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

The Runway and Kisses are two great lesser known Irish films.

In America is a good one too.

Oh! Song of the Sea is a beautiful animated one with lots of Irish myths and legends thrown in for good measure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

De ne ne ne ne neh neh neh neh neh ne
    Ne ne ne ne ne ne-ne ne ne ne ne neh

Glenroe.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

The Angelus

No comedy and no violence. You arent making things easy for yourself are you?

Red Rock - soap based around the Gardai in an urban community. Very good.
    Single-handed - Drama series about a guard in a rural community. Also very good.
    Ballykissangel - Drama series about a priest in a rural community.

Movies:
    War of the Buttons - Drama about kids in a rural community

Are you starting to see a pattern?

EDIT: Damnit, forgot Into the West.
    Yeah well when I said all the Russian stuff I liked (comedy and violence mostly) the response was 'Sorry, never heard of them', only managed to save a bit of face thanks to knowing a few Tarkovsky movies.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Leap Year

No, no, I'm kidding!!

Though About Adam is sorta alright, and, like Amber shows a more affluent side to Ireland.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Actually just thought of another show, "Jack Taylor." Violence is moderate, as far as I recall.

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Strumpet City
    Young Cassidy
    Michael Collins

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Strumpet City would be worth adding to the list. I didn't think Rebellion was great, but it's worth a look.

But d'you know what? Feck the drama, just show them Reelin' in the Years and be done with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Or, for the more cerebral and cultured amongst them:
    "Leprechaun in the Hood"

Yeah Strumpet City maybe. Also anyone remember Hands?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

The film Haywire is partly set, and filmed, in Dublin, though very little else Irish about it.

Inside I'm Dancing was great.