Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

can anyone tell me, the guys in the comic in the dairy section,they put up their results and yields,is this yield per cow what is up on the milk docket divided by cows milked or milk docket plus milk to calves as well, 50 calves at 6 litres =300 litres plus milk doc. i always add milk to calves as its a true reflection at what the cow is at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

leg wax wrote: »
    can anyone tell me, the guys in the comic in the dairy section,they put up their results and yields,is this yield per cow what is up on the milk docket divided by cows milked or milk docket plus milk to calves as well, 50 calves at 6 litres =300 litres plus milk doc. i always add milk to calves as its a true reflection at what the cow is at.

They add on a bit for calves and then a bit for luck .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,125 ✭✭✭jaymla627

mf240 wrote: »
    They add on a bit for calves and then a bit for luck .

And it still amounts to f all, good ole aidan was on the high horse again this week re meal and how its the work of the devil, all I can say to that if the 20-22 litres that the lads are at per cow is what fresh calved cows should be at I give up, cows have nudged past the 30 litre mark here today with 50% of the herd 1st lactation and they're only getting warmed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

jaymla627 wrote: »
    And it still amounts to f all, good ole aidan was on the high horse again this week re meal and how its the work of the devil, all I can say to that if the 20-22 litres that the lads are at per cow is what fresh calved cows should be at I give up, cows have nudged past the 30 litre mark here today with 50% of the herd 1st lactation and they're only getting warmed up

Fully agree tipping 31.5 now. 6 kg meal grazed grass and z grazed grass no silage .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

30 litres per cow average yeah?
    Fair play.
    What's your diet atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Fully agree tipping 31.5 now. 6 kg meal grazed grass and z grazed grass no silage .

Thats great going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

well this is why i asked, my own yokes are at 28.2 on 6 kgs of meal on grass,all calves are kept.

30 litres per cow average yeah?
    Fair play.
    What's your diet atm.

6kgs of 16% nut 3 kgs dm of leafy wraps and in our around 8-10kgs dm grazed grass, solids are holding up well to averaging 4%bf and 3.44pr for march so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭minktrapper

What does a litre of milk replacer cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

All depends on mix rate some feed 600 gramms more feed 900

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

My bigger yielders doing 26 litres and calved about two weeks.

Milking once a day still.

Or to put it another way . Which is cheaper milk replacer or whole milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Or to put it another way . Which is cheaper milk replacer or whole milk.

Milk replacer depending on your solids. Top milk replacers are 27-30 c a litre.

Would that include the cost of heating water if it is being heated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

6kgs of 16% nut 3 kgs dm of leafy wraps and in our around 8-10kgs dm grazed grass, solids are holding up well to averaging 4%bf and 3.44pr for march so far

You must be underestimating the grass intakes? 19kgs dmi would be leaving them.short quite a bit. 6kg meal plus around 2kg of 2015 first cut. Going into 1600+ covers. Pushing on for 30l. Still over 10% of herd not going into the tank so situation 're milk yield is hard to judge exactly.

How long would ye intend to keep meal at this level? Would I be wrong to say that day to day it's hard to get much more than 16kg dm of grass into cows unless all ducks are in a row incl weather? I think our girls are capable of more than we got last year but at the same time I don't want to waste money chasing yields that aren't there. From past experience there's more money and a lot less hassle in good cows delivering 90% of their potential than pushing for that last 10% and having everything on a knife edge all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

You must be underestimating the grass intakes? 19kgs dmi would be leaving them.short quite a bit. 6kg meal plus around 2kg of 2015 first cut. Going into 1600+ covers. Pushing on for 30l. Still over 10% of herd not going into the tank so situation 're milk yield is hard to judge exactly.

How long would ye intend to keep meal at this level? Would I be wrong to say that day to day it's hard to get much more than 16kg dm of grass into cows unless all ducks are in a row incl weather? I think our girls are capable of more than we got last year but at the same time I don't want to waste money chasing yields that aren't there. From past experience there's more money and a lot less hassle in good cows delivering 90% of their potential than pushing for that last 10% and having everything on a knife edge all the time.

Hard to know where we stand litres wise, in around 23l at at very rough calculation, 40% heifers and afew stale cows still in there. But in regards feeding, the cows are getting 4kg of a nut and barley mix in the parlour, and nothing else other than grass. I'm nearly on purpose milking them on 9 and 15 hr splits (8.30am and 5pm), helps hold back the yields and keep condition on their backs. OAD would be the ideal option for everything until end of March, but with a Scc of 400 right at the sec that is definitely not an option...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

I'm one of the lads a phuck all, cows doing 22.5 litres at 5.04 fat and 3.95 protein. 4 Kgs of 12% nut bought on price and full time at grass

In other news, had an horrific morning. The one thing keeps me awake at night is dry cows mixing with milkers, well it happened this morning. It was human error and took 2 hours to sort. Nearly the most difficult part was trying to get dry cows to leave the paddock.

Back to the yard now for milking, cannot wait till jobs are done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I'm one of the lads a phuck all, cows doing 22.5 litres at 5.04 fat and 3.95 protein. 4 Kgs of 12% nut bought on price and full time at grass

In other news, had an horrific morning. The one thing keeps me awake at night is dry cows mixing with milkers, well it happened this morning. It was human error and took 2 hours to sort. Nearly the most difficult part was trying to get dry cows to leave the paddock.

Back to the yard now for milking, cannot wait till jobs are done

Serious solids for fresh cows, what's your yearly average for solids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Cows doing 26 litres, 3.5 meal and grass at the moment. Weather looks broken so might introduce a bit of silage. I leave the 3.5 kg of meal in for 1st rotation if grass gets tight put in high DMD silage. The sky never seems to fall in.
    I cant see any relationship between chasing yield and increasing the amount of free cash generated, there is a point when you are just buying the additonal milk.

Probably eating 10 plus kgs the past few days alright, re silage going in some days they could be getting 5kgs plus on a day like today where they're after been brought in early due to weather, re meal levels will be upping from 6kgs to 8 plus depending on yield when silage gets pulled from diet, on a side note their will be a base diet of 6 kgs of a 16% nut and 2 kgs of nis going in to make up the 8kgs
    Sent 7400 litres/567kgs of milk solids on 2016 co-report and given where I'm going with breeding theirs easily the potential for 8000 litres/630 kgs in the cows here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Mooooo wrote: »
    Serious solids for fresh cows, what's your yearly average for solids?

Should contain health warning. Those cows are all march calved so realistically that'll drop in the next few collections though calving still going strong so may stay high for a week or two more till they hit 5-6 week calved point.

Cows in group calved in Feb are doing 24 litres at 4.89 f and 3.97 p getting 4 kg of 12^ nut and full time at grass.

4.50 fat and 3.75 p was what we did last year, nothing to write home about. Herd sold 485kg Ms last year. If I could only sell heifers rather than milk then I'd be passing 500 kg with 700kg nuts. I just can't bring myself to sell at cost of rearing.

More He used in last 2 years is reducing heifers weaned but not massively. 35% of herd will be heifers this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Timmaay wrote: »
    Hard to know where we stand litres wise, in around 23l at at very rough calculation, 40% heifers and afew stale cows still in there. But in regards feeding, the cows are getting 4kg of a nut and barley mix in the parlour, and nothing else other than grass. I'm nearly on purpose milking them on 9 and 15 hr splits (8.30am and 5pm), helps hold back the yields and keep condition on their backs. OAD would be the ideal option for everything until end of March, but with a Scc of 400 right at the sec that is definitely not an option...
    My scc is yo-yo ing at the minute, milk recorded yesterday evening and this morning. Sent a few samples with milk man too, then got a thermo text today too :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Should contain health warning. Those cows are all march calved so realistically that'll drop in the next few collections though calving still going strong so may stay high for a week or two more till they hit 5-6 week calved point.

Cows in group calved in Feb are doing 24 litres at 4.89 f and 3.97 p getting 4 kg of 12^ nut and full time at grass.

4.50 fat and 3.75 p was what we did last year, nothing to write home about. Herd sold 485kg Ms last year. If I could only sell heifers rather than milk then I'd be passing 500 kg with 700kg nuts. I just can't bring myself to sell at cost of rearing.

More He used in last 2 years is reducing heifers weaned but not massively. 35% of herd will be heifers this year

Sold about 505 last year, solids only 3.49 p and 4bf. I'd say I'm gonna exit winter milk. Was fed up this year at it tbh. Once I get a few roadways down and more ground up to speed this year it'll be gone. Will be costly to switch as I'd expect a rel high culling rate initially till I pull things in, too many rollovers held over the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

19litres, 3,92 fat, 3.23 prot. 50% calved before Christmas. Cows out by day. There is another thread about part time dairying, my cows would traditionally not been forced/trained to clean out paddocks. Again very hard when you can't move a wire in the middle of the day, or change paddock.

4kg of 20% ration aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    My scc is yo-yo ing at the minute, milk recorded yesterday evening and this morning. Sent a few samples with milk man too, then got a thermo text today too :mad:
    I got a TBC of 48 last week, reckoned it was because I forgot to heat the water before the milk was collected so I decided to do a few washes each collectio until the TBC came down again.

Switched on the tank yesterday and as I was passing it, I got a shot of water into the ear. Rang the service man and turns out the agitator motor had seized and a ceramic seal around the motor opening had cracked and no repairs till monday.

I could be fined for my TBC for the first time ever:eek::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

visatorro wrote: »
    19litres, 3,92 fat, 3.23 prot. 50% calved before Christmas. Cows out by day. There is another thread about part time dairying, my cows would traditionally not been forced/trained to clean out paddocks. Again very hard when you can't move a wire in the middle of the day, or change paddock.

4kg of 20% ration aswell.

Would a batt latch help much? Boot the cows out to grass the morning, have the silage in the passage ready to be eaten and the batt latch set to open once they have grazed out their patch. Or is it a case of its not worth the extra time and effort when your working full time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Switched on the tank yesterday and as I was passing it, I got a shot of water into the ear. Rang the service man and turns out the agitator motor had seized and a ceramic seal around the motor opening had cracked and no repairs till monday.

I could be fined for my TBC for the first time ever:eek::(
    I'd be asking him do you need to go looking for someone who will or is he happy to have the amount of the fine knocked off the bill...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I'd be asking him do you need to go looking for someone who will or is he happy to have the amount of the fine knocked off the bill...

Labour isn't the issue, the ceramic piece wouldn't normally be kept as a spare. Mine will be the second one he has done in the last 5 or more years he was saying.

I'll get a refund at the end of the year, probably, as long as I don't fail any more tests.

Just fecking annoying though to go on a long weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Friend was telling me about an injection for heifers incalf that increases blood cells so quicker recovery from calving, better fertility scc. 25 euro a heifer sounded dodgy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

25l here 3.2p 4.08 bf on grass last few days only and 4kg meal