Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Question. What are lad using to mark cows for OAD milking. I have been using ankle bands but inevitably some of them always manage to loose them.

I tie Ai gloves on the feet and red spray them. Best red spray is tail marker as it stays on longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

blackdog1 wrote: »
    I tie Ai gloves on the feet and red spray them. Best red spray is tail marker as it stays on longer

I use yellow tape on the tail. Usually 2 or 3 separate bands up along the tail, that way if she looses one you can still see it, with only one they can get hidden behind the bar either. Obviously isn't the end of the world if she gets milked the evening by accident. With cows to be kept, especially antibiotic milk I'll tape up the 2 legs also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

Timmaay wrote: »
    I use yellow tape on the tail. Usually 2 or 3 separate bands up along the tail, that way if she looses one you can still see it, with only one they can get hidden behind the bar either. Obviously isn't the end of the world if she gets milked the evening by accident. With cows to be kept, especially antibiotic milk I'll tape up the 2 legs also.

Days like this I really appreciate the dairymaster parlour- 18 on divert this morning and no vacuum when I swing over arm- loudspeakers warn about colostrum mastitis antibiotics etc

I still put red tape on cows tails to be sure to be sure

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

A neighbouring dairy farmer who has the app on his phone text me to say it beeped to say he had his daily activity qouta done at 920 this morn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

K.G. wrote: »
    A neighbouring dairy farmer who has the app on his phone text me to say it beeped to say he had his daily activity qouta done at 920 this morn.

Job done, in to put his legs up for rest of the day I assume!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A bit from LIC on breeding from your best cows rather than just the early ons.

http://lic.co.nz/lic_Articles1.cfm?nid=645

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

And a bit on crypto

Not a bad video but I'd say instead of moving 1 calf who test positive into a hospital area I'd move all the calves in the pen. When 1 gets it the rest go down like domino's even when infected one is removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

K.G. wrote: »
    Ah the calving diet, 1 stone gone here so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Anyone got calves on OAD yet? Have a nice batch here now. Might start them next week or 10 days time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Anyone got calves on OAD yet? Have a nice batch here now. Might start them next week or 10 days time

All bar 10 calves in oad ,put em on it beteween 7/10 days old .all done with bovipast earlier in week ,starting to consume more straw /meal daily too .all positives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Not yet. Got them on 800gm of powder and meal though not eating a lot. Bovipast and dehorn this week, leave on adlib feeder till weather settles then out on OAD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Switching from milk to replacer for slightly older calves say 2 weeks plus, would ye just change on next feed or would ye give lectade or anything in between?. Have had plenty milk recently so now I have a group of heifers may switch.
    Noticed the speedy feeders come in 4L bottles now handy for the biestings.

Not yet. Got them on 800gm of powder and meal though not eating a lot. Bovipast and dehorn this week, leave on adlib feeder till weather settles then out on OAD

Feeding 750 grams here ATM. TAD.
    Sold nearly all the bull calves this morning. 95e for everything.
    2 pb je bulls and a JEX being kept for home made teasers.

Mooooo wrote: »
    Switching from milk to replacer for slightly older calves say 2 weeks plus, would ye just change on next feed or would ye give lectade or anything in between?. Have had plenty milk recently so now I have a group of heifers may switch.
    Noticed the speedy feeders come in 4L bottles now handy for the biestings.

Straight in, no foreplay would be our motto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

"Brace yourself Nora" ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

I mix some shine oad with cows milk for a couple of days at a low rate and feed it twice a day then on to proper oad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Milk replacer?

Four cnuts of cows going to pass a very unpleasant evening this evening. A group I've been avoiding mixing with other cows all winter, all big, hardy, heavy bitches with a bullying streak in a lot of them. But with the number of drys falling there was no option. They started hammering all round them and on one second calves in particular to the point she'd rather face me than them. Their cough is softened now. They're penned into six cubicles between a couple of gates and they'll be there until the rest of the group have had a good feed in the morning. They're that pissed off and cute that they're trying to stop the scraper when it passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Had a fooker here like that was scanned not in calf on monday sold on Wednesday. She'd give you a dig too

Four cnuts of cows going to pass a very unpleasant evening this evening. A group I've been avoiding mixing with other cows all winter, all big, hardy, heavy bitches with a bullying streak in a lot of them. But with the number of drys falling there was no option. They started hammering all round them and on one second calves in particular to the point she'd rather have me than them. Their cough is softened now. They're penned into six cubicles between a couple of gates and they'll be there until the rest of the group have had a good feed in the morning. They're that pissed off and cute that they're trying to stop the scraper when it passes.

Haven't had as much of that carry on this year thankfully, have a few that can be the same. Sometimes just watching the cows and the carry on they get up to is unreal. Had two small tough whore's here before who'd be vicious especially at the barrier. They took on each other one day and one would give a cheeky puck at the barrier and by **** the other spent the next half hour chasing her around the shed. Like kids they are

I had one that took great pleasure in giving me a kick as I'd walk behind her liming the cubicles.

It's very calm liming the cubicles now once she went to say hello to Ronald McDonald:)

Mooooo wrote: »
    Haven't had as much of that carry on this year thankfully, have a few that can be the same. Sometimes just watching the cows and the carry on they get up to is unreal. Had two small tough whore's here before who'd be vicious especially at the barrier. They took on each other one day and one would give a cheeky puck at the barrier and by **** the other spent the next half hour chasing her around the shed. Like kids they are

The first cow to do 9000l in 305 days here was only a slip of a thing but late in the night when the pressure was off she'd keep a span of the feeding barrier to herself. Not one other animal would dare to stick their head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Quick question -I know it's a bit away yet 😆 - but what sort of conception/incalf rate do lads get with maidens (holxje) after say 8 weeks of AI - if erything is done right and everything goes well?? And no estrumate or the likes used??

ellewood wrote: »
    Quick question -I know it's a bit away yet 😆 - but what sort of conception/incalf rate do lads get with maidens (holxje) after say 8 weeks of AI - if erything is done right and everything goes well?? And no estrumate or the likes used??

Doreen Corriden says 90% should be achievable for heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

After 8 weeks? Surely you would expect 100% in calf in 8 weeks. No reason not to have them all calved in 4/5 weeks if everything is done right.

I can't answer for full AI but I can give you our experience

All maidens housed for mating on straw bed. Fed straw, concentrate and a little silage. All on target weight with good bcs.

We AI for 7 days all natural heats
    Est remainder on day 7-9
    AI all heats

Return heifers to grass one day after AI to run with He bull.

Result last year was 70% conception to AI

Getting a lot of calves sucking other calves navels this year. Never used to be an issue before. One calf particularly bad at it. Had her separated for 2 week on her own and after chancing her again a few days ago and she's still at it.
    Gets a smack on the nose when ever we see them at it but it's not deterring them.
    Anything ye could do with her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Result last year was 70% conception to AI
    What % did you est on day 7 & 9? Or another way of asking the same, how many of the 30% not to keep to AI were not on a natural cycle?

Getting a lot of calves sucking other calves navels this year. Never used to be an issue before. One calf particularly bad at it. Had her separated for 2 week on her own and after chancing her again a few days ago and she's still at it.
    Gets a smack on the nose when ever we see them at it but it's not deterring them.
    Anything ye could do with her?

You could clean a gallon drum or something and hang it down in the pen and see if it distracts them? Or maybe leave the feeder in the pen a bit longer?