Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Always a good day wont make it this year, a bit of a spin for me and a few things on.
    IGA does great work, nice to see it be drivem by farmers rather than just industry or teagasc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

An article from the NZ Herald questioning the dairy industry's future direction.

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=11891843

And now a link from the Soccer forum on extremely rare and expensive butter.

http://www.saveur.com/worlds-best-fancy-butter

A bit off topic for most threads but probably right on the money for that particular thread:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

The man who suffered the heart attack is going to be ok but won't be able to work again....

So, due to unforeseen circumstances an exciting opportunity has arisen for an enthusiastic...blah blah...

We're hiring milker/yardperson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

The man who suffered the heart attack is going to be ok but won't be able to work again....

So, due to unforeseen circumstances an exciting opportunity has arisen for an enthusiastic...blah blah...

Ohhhh. Its sooo tempting. Bit I'm lazy and i don't think it'd work out.

I'll send my son out in a few years......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I'm glad he'll be alright.

I just happen to know a fella with a big hardy buck of a 16 year old with good conversational French and a tractor license. This lad is certain he's ready for the big bad world. Everyone could get well out of this yet. Might take the pressure off you to get a man for a few weeks. There's another young lad up louth direction who has the same opinion of himself but probably lacking some if the language skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I just happen to know a fella with a big hardy buck of a 16 year old with good conversational French and a tractor license. This lad is certain he's ready for the big bad world. Everyone could get well out of this yet. Might take the pressure off you to get a man for a few weeks. There's another young lad up louth direction who has the same opinion of himself but probably lacking some if the language skills.

If I could drag him away from second cut you could have him in a heart beat but at the moment he's booked solid. Am bargaining with him myself at the moment to get him to milk next Tuesday so I can go to Kilkenny.

Send 'em on. I didn't réalisé that you had a lad of that age.

Asked a lady worker to drop me to the tyre shop for my jeep this am...she couldn't find her way back so I suggested she follow me. She followed me back past the yard, and into the accountants offices 20km away...anyone with an iq better than their shoe size (not continental) will be considered...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Asked a lady worker to drop me to the tyre shop for my jeep this am...she couldn't find her way back so I suggested she follow me. She followed me back past the yard, and into the accountants offices 20km away...anyone with an iq better than their shoe size (not continental) will be considered...

Not me. Kt and whelan. If my eldest was a year older he'd be heading for the airport now. It'd be some month for him regardless of whether or not he ever made a career of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,813 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Bulls gone out from cows this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Ah Jaysus that's brutal

Not me. Kt and whelan. If my eldest was a year older he'd be heading for the airport now. It'd be some month for him regardless of whether or not he ever made a career of it.

I wouldn't know myself with lads/lassies of that caliber. Honestly!

I've been lumped with a 15yr old young lady, daughter of a friend, to be "given a dose of reality", for the next month...born and bred in Sandycove. Generally all she's doing is riding shotgun with me but the hours are killing her.
    I feel sorry for her as she is on a technology ban for her stay. Tough love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Why do you need people with small feet

Ah Jaysus that's brutal

Lovely, lovely girl, but sadly nothing upstairs. Can't see her staying as she's having boyfriend problems.

Wouldn't inject an animal until a few months ago...I filled a bottle of Marbocyl with water, came flying into the yard in a cloud of dust, handed her the bottle of water and a syringe and told her all the calves would be dead within 12hrs if the didn't get the 'magic' vaccine. She can inject now. Hard slog.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Was thinking of you today dawg at a farmwalk in west cork today.compact calving fr cows doing 24litres at 3.92 p and 3.97bf on 1.5 kilos.same cows last year were doing 1.5kilos solids last october

New sensors in milk tank again today, have lost count of how many have gone into it now

whelan2 wrote: »
    New sensors in milk tank again today, have lost count of how many have gone into it now

There's an app for that.

But you'll need a "sensor sensor"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Have the same tank as you here and had no issues with it. It blew a cable going from the screen to the wash centre a few months back but that's all. There must be some reason your sensors are blowing? I have RCBOs on the tank that trip if any extra electricity is going to the tank they trip. Would find them tripped the odd time

Local lady with Alzheimer's has gone missing. Her daughter was caring for her and is very distraught. Understandably.

Two police helicopters with thermal imaging, cops and locals out all night. My young girl spotted her whilst riding out yesterday evening but made the mistake of leaving her to go for help.

Back out to search now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,161 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

kowtow wrote: »

Yes - it's Bruce I had in mind if tutorial is the way forward.

He missed an Irish exemption by 6 days when he arrived here so whatever he does I suppose he would do 6+1... might have a look into coupling Ag Sc & Ag Economics..

We live in a world of qualification inflation

The job that you got with a leaving cert 20 years ago or a degree 10 years ago now needs a masters
    Weather that is "right" or "fair" is irrelevant. It's where we are

In 3rd level even if it's in a field he loves he is still going to have to study for subjects that he hates.
    He won't miraculously be able to start doing it then he needs to get into that habit now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Local lady with Alzheimer's has gone missing. Her daughter was caring for her and is very distraught. Understandably.

Two police helicopters with thermal imaging, cops and locals out all night. My young girl spotted her whilst riding out yesterday evening but made the mistake of leaving her to go for help.

Back out to search now.

Very hard to see. Grandmother was staying with an aunt in bray one morning she decided she was heading home, out the door on to the road heading for the motorway, aunt had literally just gone into another room. Caught up with her in 2 minutes If she was on her own for any length of time god knows where she would have ended up

Intresting discussion going on here http://j.mp/2ukN4tm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭blackdog1

whelan2 wrote:
    Intresting discussion going on here

If I was going to switch to any breed it would be pure British Friesian or Normande cows. I have students who come here with Normande cows doing 7000-7500 litres of milk a year with great solids. Great calf prices and cull cow too. Wouldn't touch a jersey or kiwi cross in a fit.

blackdog1 wrote: »
    If I was going to switch to any breed it would be pure British Friesian or Normande cows. I have students who come here with Normande cows doing 7000-7500 litres of milk a year with great solids. Great calf prices and cull cow too. Wouldn't touch a jersey or kiwi cross in a fit.
    Normande are supposed to have very poor feet. I had 2 half breds back when they came out first and their feet were very prone to white line disease.

Intresting discussion going on here http://j.mp/2ukN4tm

Neighbour says good Jersey bulls are hard to find now already, doesn't seem like there is much investment in one of the parent breeds of that's the case

I went British friesian a few years ago. Big difference in herd health since.

They have a very high cheese yield too, like Montbeliardes (even on a solids for solids basis)

Have heard some who say they are bad tempered .

Why is the shorthorn not the archetypal Irish dual purpose breed? How do their solids hold up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

kowtow wrote: »
    They have a very high cheese yield too, like Montbeliardes (even on a solids for solids basis)

Have heard some who say they are bad tempered .

Why is the shorthorn not the archetypal Irish dual purpose breed? How do their solids hold up?

Some of the french breeds have poor solids % from herds i have seen, bad feet aswell for walking.
    Very few lads stuck with monty/normendy

She's looking for better terms before she'll follow cows on the road.