If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Grand Tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,953 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Oh great, here's the amphibious car episode. People thought amphibious cars were the future back in the 80s. These lads are still as obsessed with the idea somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Just watched the last 2 episodes back to back.
    Great fun and the Toyota scene was some epic fail for the couple :D
    This week I believe is the first part of the Mozambique episode, can't wait.
    Still fast forward the celeb part but really into the conversation street part.
    Wasn't a huge fan of it at the start but great craic now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,524 ✭✭✭harr

Really enjoyed the last couple of episodes..never did like the celebrity section and still forward that on. Conversation Street is ok getting into it more the last few episodes.
    Definitely this series is a lot more like the old top gear and that’s not a bad thing and I am now actually looking forward to each episode where as last series I couldn’t be arsed if I missed it or not.

Is Conversation street not basically "The News"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭MuddyDog

Rory McIlroy and Paris Hilton are the guests this week. Should be interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

MuddyDog wrote: »
    Rory McIlroy and Paris Hilton are the guests this week. Should be interesting.

The only interesting thing about that is seeing which flag the put in front of Rory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭.red.

Quazzie wrote: »
    The only interesting thing about that is seeing which flag the put in front of Rory

Did he win or loose his last tournament?

.red. wrote: »
    Did he win or loose his last tournament?

Don't think he won. He was leading for a while but the wheels came off for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭.red.

Don't think he won. He was leading for a while but the wheels came off for him.

Then he might be "Irish"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Larbre34 wrote: »
    She's a hugely regarded racer and instructor, its a pity we dont get to hear more from her than "ok lets see what you got"..Vroom.....

Celebrity face-off is rubbish and likewise i skip it. I caught up on a few episodes the other night and my missus starting paying attention when Kiefer and Luke were on, then when Kiefer put in a storming lap she was giving out that we didnt get to see his time compared to previous episodes, which is a very good point!

I do like the idea of the "silent" driver, whose job is to drive - end of the story. Otherwise, chances are we'd end up with something like "The American".

And the driving part, she does very well - I don't pretend to be a race driver, but I've been an avid motorsport fan for three decades; Watching the first F1 races of a season, for example, I can tell you straight away who the rookies are from the way their car moves on the track (which tends to smooth out after 4/5 races). The cleanliness and precision of TGT's "The Driver"'s lines are top notch, Ben Collins-Stig level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Still would like to know how her times compare to last season's fat ****'s.
    More for the comparison of the cars than the drivers

She looks slower but more than once it has been looking "slow" = going fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭ironclaw

H3llR4iser wrote: »

And the driving part, she does very well .

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abbie_Eaton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,359 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Is Conversation street not basically "The News"?
    I think that's the point. :D

I was watching the last tqo (8 & 9) last night and at one point I thought Jeremy were going to say "and that's the end of the news"... but he replaced "news" with "conversation street"

What would people rate this season with?
    Myself, I'd give it an 8/8.5 merely cause the celeb parts are just boring.
    Apart from that I think they've done a cracking job.
    Incidentally I watched the premier trailer for the next TG and it just left me a bit.. well meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Part of me, no matter how impractical it would actually be in this country, would love a Ford Raptor. :o

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Part of me, no matter how impractical it would actually be in this country, would love a Ford Raptor. :o
    Even watching that had wondering how much shipping would be 😬😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

i was actually pleasantly surprised with Paris Hilton, she wasn't the total vacuous waste of space i anticipated

Remember the Canada episode from TG? The Yellow Raptor was some serious machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

i was actually pleasantly surprised with Paris Hilton, she wasn't the total vacuous waste of space i anticipated

She is aging well if found myself, to my own embarrassment, thinking.

Tried too hard with the golf car incident story though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

harr wrote: »
    Even watching that had wondering how much shipping would be ����
    bear1 wrote: »
    Remember the Canada episode from TG? The Yellow Raptor was some serious machine.

I went onto the Ford USA site and had a look at specing one up for the craic, came in at about $66k or €54k.

It would be totally pointless and impractial in the Irish or even the European market but the Raptor does look appealing to the kid inside.

I went onto the Ford USA site and had a look at specing one up for the craic, came in at about $66k or €54k.

It would be totally pointless and impractial in the Irish or even the European market but the Raptor does look appealing to the kid inside.

Imagine importing one from the US -

Purchase Price - €54,000.00
    Shipping - €3,000.00
    Registration etc. - €50,000 :pac:

Imagine importing one from the US -

Purchase Price - €54,000.00
    Shipping - €3,000.00
    Registration etc. - €50,000 :pac:

And if you waited 6 months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,359 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

If you bought a 6 month old one you'd still have the same costs, but type approval wouldnt be needed.

purchase price +Shipping, VAT, Customs, then VRT on the OMSP which could be anything. Once you got it as an N1 not M1 you should be good for 13% not the top rate. Essentially if you buy it for $50k you could double it as a landed cost for a nearly new US car.

While we are it we might as well go the whole hog and get the Shelby Baja raptor

http://www.shelby.com/?topic=vehicles&art=raptor

Well that was a load of shít!! Very disappointing end when it seemed they might have turned a corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Quazzie wrote: »
    Well that was a load of shít!! Very disappointing end when it seemed they might have turned a corner

Agreed. I am looking forward to Top Gear. For me I can't believe I am saying it, but I actually think it's better now that TGT. Matt, Chris and Rory work as a team and the content is less forced.

Tzardine wrote: »
    Agreed. I am looking forward to Top Gear. For me I can't believe I am saying it, but I actually think it's better now that TGT. Matt, Chris and Rory work as a team and the content is less forced.

They are seriously wooden in their ways.
    Not funny and they just don't seem to gel well with each other and tbh the content is pretty forced.