If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leader Of The (Mid) Pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Tue 10/10 - Rest

Wed 11/10 - 1.2 [EMAIL="miles@8:58/mi"]miles@8:58/mi[/EMAIL] + 6.6 [EMAIL="mi@7:55/mi"]mi @ 7:55 /mi[/EMAIL]

I decided to give another of the Asics speed sessions a go, risky as that was considering I was now officially tapering. Arriving at Morton Stadium, there was nobody around except a coach (Raheny?) with three lads who were doing 400s with 100m jog recoveries, at a pace much faster than I would try.

There was another lad from the club who'd expressed an interest in joining me for this. Just as I was warming up thinking he wasn't going to show up, he appeared at Clonliffe corner, and mercifully I had a partner for what was ahead.

The session was 10 x 800m at "10k speed (approx. 3:30)" with 200m jog recoveries. Neither of us had done this type of session before, so if we hit 3:30 at all it would be a bonus. The first six were generally closer to 3:45. After a brief water stop, we picked up the pace from there to the end, and I was very happy with my last two reps in particular. Feeling a bit of tightness near the finish, but that passed later on. Another session complete, and I'm still on course.

Not sure when to do the 15M LSR. I keep changing my mind! Regardless of which day I choose, it'll probably be another canal run, if I can get out early enough. If it's Sunday, another parkrun tourism gig may be on the agenda for this Saturday, provided I can resist the temptation to go too fast :pac:

Thu 12/10 - 7.8 miles @ 8:54/mi

File under "junk miles", taper or not.

From the house to White's Gate and onto Chesterfield, before heading down the Odd Lamp Road and back around to Castleknock Gate. My route took me straight past Myo's and over the M50, before turning left through Laurel Lodge and the shortest way home through Carpenterstown.

I don't know if the 800s from the night before had a major impact, but I wasn't really enjoying this one at all. Times were ok for the first half (as far as the Hole In the Wall) but by the time I got to Laurel Lodge, I basically wasn't in the humour. Next.

Fri 13/10 - Rest

Sat 14/10 - Darndale parkrun

A parkrun was actually listed in the Asics plan, and I fancied a bit of parkrun tourism anyway. Darndale got the nod this time, and so it was after a 25/30 minute drive I got parked at the side of the community centre, and ran around to the start from there.

It was just their third event, so the organisers are very much finding their feet, but the welcome was very friendly. Waiting to get going, I see a crowd running down the path for a warmup. On closer inspection, this group turned out to be Murph_D, annapr (both in DCM taper mode), aquinn (fresh from her amazing Simon 5 Mile run) and Bungy Girl, on the comeback trail. Great to see some more friendly faces :)

It's a three lap course, so beforehand I had the intention of treating it as a progression run. Hmmm. Early on, the first and second placers got well clear of the rest of us and each other. On the windy back straight, I pushed ahead of D and A, and past two other lads, one in a 50 PR t-shirt, the other in a grey top. There was also a kid who charged ahead of us carrying a full 1.5 litre water bottle, but he ran out of puff fairly quickly, so once I passed him, I was basically on my own in third place. Having said that, every so often I'd look back, in case D was thinking of going after me :pac:

As it turned out, I had nothing to fear on that front. I didn't try to race through the twisty sections, although on another day these could be tough going. There's a short sharp hill at the end of the back straight, and overall it's a tougher course than it seems. The progression run turned out to be a regression run, as I slowed right down coming to the finish. 22:33 on a slightly long course - they told us this beforehand, and hoped to have it rectified soon.

I then waited for the others to come through - aquinn first lady and fourth overall, D with a nice steady MP workout in 5th, and then BG with a sprint finish to come in ahead of annapr. After a relaxing cooldown lap, it was time for me to head home. Nice parkrun, I'll make a return at some stage, when I can hopefully give it a bit more welly.

Sun 15/10 - 14.7 miles @ 8:42/mi

I was looking forward to a good crack at the canal run, although it would be tough to keep going in the second half. This morning's effort was broadly similar to the previous canal run at the start of August, although I didn't pass the Carpenterstown shops this time, and there were other slight changes.

The plan suggested 8:30 steady, but I decided that an LSR would be sufficient. Very quick on the way in towards the North Strand, but the real fun started when I turned around, to face the strong winds ahead of Hurricane Ophelia, as well as the climbs at the locks. I brought a couple of gels with me, and my first > 9:00 mile came when I was fumbling with this, as I passed Croke Park on the way back. Getting it back under 9 wasn't easy to say the least, although I did manage to get there and stay there, until I left the canal to head back through Laurel Lodge, and basically switched off from there to home.

I was feeling quite tired at the end. Although it was less than 15 miles, and in the tapering period, it felt more like a 20 miler! After a bath and a nap, I still feel like I could sleep for a month. 38.4 miles for the week.

Splits: 8:55/8:34/8:14/8:19/8:38/8:21/8:38/9:01/8:51/8:25/8:44/8:41/8:51/9:20/9:08 (.6)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Well done J - the canal is a tough run in that direction alright, especially into the wind. Good week - that post-session deadness is perfectly normal in my experience. That's why they call it recovery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

So happy* to hear you felt tired at the end of your long run today ... I was exactly the same!!

*well, relieved... you know what I mean

PS, good to see you yesterday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Am planning to do Darndale this Saturday with the Hartstown crew before the conference.

PS not to block up ariana's log with our messin :D:D on Raheny, I'd forgotten that OOPS! Not so professional after all then :pac:

Murph_D wrote: »
    Well done J - the canal is a tough run in that direction alright, especially into the wind. Good week - that post-session deadness is perfectly normal in my experience. That's why they call it recovery!

Deceptive, a lot of people reckon it'll be easy as it's mostly flat. Nice prep for the stretches into the wind in DCM, of which there will be several, no doubt. Thanks, one rubbish run out of five, in the third last week, is far better than I managed last year!
    annapr wrote: »
    So happy* to hear you felt tired at the end of your long run today ... I was exactly the same!!

*well, relieved... you know what I mean

PS, good to see you yesterday!

Thanks, you too! Glad you cleared that one up :pac:
    Some LRs I've probably minded myself a bit too much. I enjoyed the rest yesterday anyway :D
    Am planning to do Darndale this Saturday with the Hartstown crew before the conference.

PS not to block up ariana's log with our messin :D:D on Raheny, I'd forgotten that OOPS! Not so professional after all then :pac:

Thanks AM, hope ye enjoy Darndale! Interesting that the Hartstowners came to my local for their recent night out :confused: unfortunately I couldn't drop in and say hello.

Reading this again reminded me of Clonskeagh last year, when Nop and yourself were out with the banners to cheer us on. A fine job all round :)

Immortality Beckons! Week 15 of 16

The penultimate week. Most of the hard work is done. What isn't, can't be recovered at this stage. Even so, only lately I'm remembering just how much of a struggle the last weeks leading up to DCM 2016 were, with ITB problems from the HM onwards, and then getting sick the weekend prior. Recent weeks have been far, far better! Not long left to "stay" fit and healthy. And (so far) (Ex)Hurricane/Storm Ophelia hasn't blown my marathon ambitions completely off course. Should I get my coat, or continue? :pac:

Mon 16/10 - 3.2 miles @ 8:58/mi

After a very brief stint in work, I was home early enough for a couple of spins around the Carpenterstown loop, before watching Ophelia wreak havoc around the country. No such drama to report in this little corner of D15 just yet, fingers crossed.

College tomorrow, and on Wednesday I'm going to do the club session instead of the 400s on the Asics plan. Saturday there's a lot going on, between a possible Novices meetup, Porterstown parkrun's 2nd birthday celebrations, and the next stage of our Leinster Junior Club hurling championship campaign (we won the first round last week). Which means the LSR will go to Sunday again.

Tue 17/10 - Rest

Wed 18/10 - 3.1 miles @8:01/mi, + 1.1 mi w/up + 0.9 mi c/d

As it turned out, I wasn't able to get out to Santry for the club session. The alternative was another trip to the grass track in Porterstown, to take on the latest speed session from the Asics sub-3:30 plan.

The plan was 1M "jog" warm up, plus 10 x 400m at mile/5k speed (95-100s) with 100m jog recoveries, followed by 1M cooldown.

For the 800 and mile reps the previous two weeks, I had partners to help me along. This time it would be a solo run. I was hoping I wouldn't have to do this session, due to the recoveries being so short. Off I went anyway, and even after the first one I was gasping and thinking "How am I going to do another nine of these??!!" To be fair, I did take my foot off the pedal a little bit, in an effort to find some consistency. I didn't walk at any stage in the recoveries, nor did I stop for a break, although I was sorely tempted during the fifth! Feeling wrecked tired at the end, but I did complete it. Best rep was 1:26, which was probably the last one. Overall I'd say I kept them all under 100, hard as that was. Box ticked, on we go!

Thu 19/10 - 5.9 miles @8:42/mi

Much, much happier with this run, compared to the previous Thursday. Strange considering it was very similar, apart from in the Phoenix Park; on this occasion I didn't go all the way down to OS Road, instead cutting back along the tarmac path which brings you directly over to Castleknock Gate. The splits were a lot more consistent too - 8:49/8:29/8:38/8:39/8:42/8:55 (for the .9)

Fri 20/10 - Rest

I've picked up a bug, which is really, really annoying me, especially as it's a case of history repeating itself. I was sick a week from DCM 2016 too, and that didn't clear up until Tuesday or Wednesday of race week.

Sat 21/10 - 8.4 miles @9:51/mi

Thankfully, I felt healthy enough to make my way to the Hole In The Wall car park and surprise the DCM Novices with my appearance. Fair play to skyblue46 for the organising, all I did was turn up!

skyblue46 had concocted a nice little route, which thankfully we had mostly completed before the worst of the wind and rain set in. From the North Road eastwards, turning right onto the DCM course at the back of the azoo (Spa Road) and following the course from there until just before the Chapelizod Gate. Here, we turned along the back of the Cheshire Home and up Acres Road, straight through the Phoenix roundabout and across to where we started. A very enjoyable run, with the company to match :) Hard to believe that this day week, we'll be finishing up.

Afterwards, most of us headed around to the Phoenix Cafe for refreshments, where another of our Novices was waiting for us. She was also kind enough to have her hair in the same style as her photo on Strava :pac:

I just hope everything goes well for them next week. They've put in so much time and miles these last few months, and they're really enthusiastic and willing to listen and learn. Already, they're in position to make a far better job of their first marathon than I did mine.

Sun 22/10 - 5.0 miles @8:24/mi

A solo run around the regular club loop, down Chesterfield to Wellington Road and up the Khyber, before swinging back along Chesterfield to Castleknock Gate. I was pleasantly surprised with this run, considering the bug has got worse if anything, not helped by a few pints last night (although thankfully that mini hangover subsided hours ago) Last two miles were a lot slower, but you had part of the Khyber in there, and it was also very windy on the way back up Chesterfield.

Splits: 7:54/8:09/8:18/8:54/8:40

One more week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

Great stuff J. You've done a great job with the mentoring while staying focused on your own DCM goal.
    Take it easy, get rid of that bug, smash it next Sunday!. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Almost there J hopefully get that bug under control.....a good week ahead for you hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Thu 19/10 - 5.9 miles @8:42/mi

Much, much happier with this run, compared to the previous Thursday. Strange considering it was very similar, apart from in the Phoenix Park; on this occasion I didn't go all the way down to OS Road, instead cutting back along the tarmac path which brings you directly over to Castleknock Gate. The splits were a lot more consistent too - 8:49/8:29/8:38/8:39/8:42/8:55 (for the .9)

Fri 20/10 - Rest

I've picked up a bug, which is really, really annoying me, especially as it's a case of history repeating itself. I was sick a week from DCM 2016 too, and that didn't clear up until Tuesday or Wednesday of race week.

Sat 21/10 - 8.4 miles @9:51/mi

Thankfully, I felt healthy enough to make my way to the Hole In The Wall car park and surprise the DCM Novices with my appearance. Fair play to skyblue46 for the organising, all I did was turn up!

skyblue46 had concocted a nice little route, which thankfully we had mostly completed before the worst of the wind and rain set in. From the North Road eastwards, turning right onto the DCM course at the back of the azoo (Spa Road) and following the course from there until just before the Chapelizod Gate. Here, we turned along the back of the Cheshire Home and up Acres Road, straight through the Phoenix roundabout and across to where we started. A very enjoyable run, with the company to match :) Hard to believe that this day week, we'll be finishing up.

Afterwards, most of us headed around to the Phoenix Cafe for refreshments, where another of our Novices was waiting for us. She was also kind enough to have her hair in the same style as her photo on Strava :pac:

I just hope everything goes well for them next week. They've put in so much time and miles these last few months, and they're really enthusiastic and willing to listen and learn. Already, they're in position to make a far better job of their first marathon than I did mine.

One more week.
    They are a great bunch j , great support for each other in there , you've done a great job mentoring them with fantastic support from AMK . Any of them that make the start line injury free will get around . I would have loved to make the park yesterday but it was too early for me as I leave the missus into work at 9 on Saturdays.

The best of luck with you own race on Sunday , it looks like you've recovered from your few issues during training ' I hope the bug clears up and allows you run to plan next Sunday.

Immortality Beckons! Week 16 of 16 - Six Days To Hero

This is where the "Immortality Beckons" comes from :D Typical Sky Sports hype gone mad, especially as SO'B took a few potshots at the Lions coaching staff subsequently. It'll still be a big achievement for me to get the sub-3:30 however (among 2550-2600 others who will do the same thing on Sunday) :pac:

At this stage, there isn't really a lot more I can do except turn up and go for it. That and shake off this bug. It took me until Saturday morning (during my stint with the Novices) for me to clear 500 miles in this training cycle. Although the last five weeks have gone very well, there's still this nagging doubt that all the LSRs I missed in the middle may come back to bite me when the pressure comes on.

But then even if I did clear all the LSRs and all the interval sessions, no doubt I'd still have to push through the pain barrier on Sunday, to get anything that I might consider worth the effort. No PB, let alone a sub 3:30 (which would be over 19 minutes of a PB) is going to be handed to me. I can't control the weather either, but I can control my pacing strategy. Keep well back from the balloons, but keeping them in sight - and hopefully I'll be in a position to push beyond them in the second half. This could be very late, mind you! More to follow, as we approach the grand finale :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Best of luck for Sunday J, hopefully see you at some stage on the day. You've done particularly well with the intervals and for me they're underrated as I find them as hard as the long runs albeit much shorter. Only suggestion if the pace is too hot don't overdo it as a really strong pb should be well there for you once you're running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭clickerquicklic

Good luck on Sunday WW , thanks for your support on novices thread . Just do it , believe in yourself you can do it 3.29 no bother to you.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,594 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Best of luck for Sunday J. I'll be up around Terenure College on Fortfield road just before 17 miles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Good luck on Sunday J....I will be in Chapelizod supporting so hopefully I will spot you and give you a shout out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Best of luck J! Likewise I'll be out on the course - on the bike so will be in a few locations - expect to hear Wubble Wubble :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

The very best of luck on Sunday!

Thanks all for the good wishes and kind words!

Mon 23/10 - Rest

This was a planned rest day. The bug hasn't cleared up yet, although I feel a lot better than I did at the weekend. Today or tomorrow I'll see the back of it, hopefully.

The Asics plan says 12 X 200 (200) for tonight. Even though I've no lecture this evening, I'm in no way tempted to go home early and try these while there's still a bit of daylight. My intention was, and still is, to go to Santry tomorrow for the club session. Instead, tonight I might try a shuffle around the Carpenterstown loop, no more than 2 laps (6k approximately) Best part of that is, it's easy to turn around and get home quickly if it's not working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Good luck with the target. Am likely to be supporting near the KCR but don't have a clue who anyone is (expect annapr). So it will be general cheers only!

Thanks HSR :) Sandy cap, shades, MSB singlet (light green, blue trim), black shorts and socks. The field should have separated out a fair bit at 16 miles or so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

Thanks HSR :) Sandy cap, shades, MSB singlet (light green, blue trim), black shorts and socks. The field should have separated out a fair bit at 16 miles or so :D

Should have really asked all the novices to source that exact outfit. It would have been great, 30+ WW's running the marathon :D

Tue 24/10 - Rest

Still coughing every so often, therefore I had to leave the 200s till another marathon cycle. Oh well. Sometimes certain things are for the best :D

Wed 25/10 - Club session, Morton Stadium

I was feeling a bit more like myself today, so I decided to head over to Santry and give the body a quick speed test on the track. The session was 3 x 800m with 2 min recoveries. The other two clubmates present were doing four reps, as they're not doing DCM.

The three of us are close in standard, so it worked quite well; certainly far better than solo 200s would have turned out. Alone, I would have ended up wrecked after three or four 200s, and gasping my way through the rest.

First 800 rep was 97/97; a consistency I rarely manage, even in these sessions. Pleasantly surprised :D

Second was a poor 93/96; I knew I'd gone out too quick on the first lap, and couldn't maintain it on the second. You may be thinking "it was five seconds quicker than the one before"; my point of view being that I ran at a pace which I couldn't hold.

My last rep was a much more pleasing 97/93, with a nice pickup over the final 200 metres to pull nicely clear of my colleagues. A little over three miles in total tonight, adding in warmup and cooldown laps.

I'm feeling much better now, and ready to give this one a shot. Certainly, if I follow half the advice I gave to the Novices across the way, I should be more than capable of getting the job done.

It's my third marathon, so that's something I should be able to use to my advantage (compared to first timers), to know the right spots to push, and know when to ease off if something isn't working. It's going to be sore, that I do know. If it's not, I'm not doing it right, with a fail being the likely outcome. A conservative strategy seems the best way to open proceedings, but I'm not going to just sit back for the duration either. I'll have to fight for my A goal, and be prepared to take myself out of my comfort zone, which I haven't really done in most of my races this year - the Docklands 5k being a notable exception. I'll leave you with a quote I love, which kind of sums up the fact that if I don't try, I'll get nothing (well, not my target!)

"You miss 100% of the shots you don't take"

- Wayne Gretzky
    - Michael Scott

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Best of Luck Sunday, have a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

The best of luck Sunday J, Enjoy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Hope you have a great race - enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭OOnegative

All the best WW, hope it goes well for you. Run well. Bravo on an excellent job with the Novices to, am sure they will all do you proud on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Have a good one! Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Love the quote, J... no doubt you will give it your all. Have a great day and hope to see you after!!!