Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are American voters really stupid?

• 04-11-2016 6:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭

With a few days to go in the presidential race for the USA, I'm thinking to myself are yankee's really that thick to be cattle herded into a 2 vote system (I know theres more canditates,but!), a country with 300+ million people, and they get to choose between donald and hillary, 2 azzholes.

I don't know if it's intentional or not but US politics has turned upside down, it was always corrupt, but now it's taken a stranger twist, CNN V's Fox, all establishment establishment's but are they doing a Freud on the dumb people of America, which is a good proportion of the non natives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

The Irish electorate came within a fake tweet of electing Sean Gallagher as president, so let's not get too cocky.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Its the damn Yankees you need to watch like Hillary Clinton and her cronies.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

Danny Healy-Rae

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

VladamirP wrote: »
    I'm thinking to myself

One does live in hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Now that the outrage has slightly died down about her emails the next thing is her affiliation with the devil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

hairyslug wrote: »
    Now that the outrage has slightly died down about her emails the next thing is her affiliation with the devil

She knows Gerry Adams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

At least it's better than the Russian half baked presidential election system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭jackwigan

Does any country get it right though?

It's the same thing everywhere as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Yes, a large proportion of them are deeply stupid people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭VladamirP

It's a farce, if anybody need's glasses I have lens from 0.005 to 3.30, that's a lot of range.

Danny healy rae is actually a better president to the 2 nominees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I thought this would be the election where a third party candidate could enter the ring as a legitimate contender.

There is so much division and strife in the two establishment parties, it's obvious that sizeable sections of each dislike their nominated candidate.

Didn't happen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Don't blame me.

I voted for Kodos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

I thought this would be the election where a third party candidate could enter the ring as a legitimate contender

That did happen.

The GOP hates Trump & he hates the GOP.

He's a 3rd candidate who just happened to hijack the GOPs nomination race.... And after Tuesday there won't be hide nor hair of him around anything to do with the Republicans ever again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

That did happen.

He's a 3rd candidate who just happened to hijack the GOPs nomination race.... And after Tuesday there won't be hide nor hair of him around anything to do with the Republicans ever again.

Tbf..... It would be hilarious and if he pulls it off

*nuclear war aside :pac:

I thought this would be the election where a third party candidate could enter the ring as a legitimate contender.

There is so much division and strife in the two establishment parties, it's obvious that sizeable sections of each dislike their nominated candidate.

Didn't happen though.

I think there's 4, 2 women, 2 men

Edit: All *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

signs of a failing political system!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

We had Bertie Ahern for 10 years

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

I could answer "yes" to the question but that wouldn't mean they were special in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

and don't forget Charlie

We still welcome him with open arms across the country and on TV!

errr emm, i dont

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    errr emm, i dont
    Yeah, but that's like saying "we" didn't vote Bertie in because "I" didn't vote Bertie in.

errr emm i didnt, ff have never made it on my ballot paper, but obviously he made it onto many others

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    errr emm i didnt, ff have never made it on my ballot paper, but obviously he made it onto many others
    No idea if you're deliberately missing the point at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

RayM wrote: »
    The Irish electorate came within a fake tweet of electing Sean Gallagher as president, so let's not get too cocky.

That dribbling galoot "Oim an Ontrapanoor", thank god for shinner ambushes.

We've also managed to have Inda as Teeshock for the last millionty years or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Ah here, there's absolutely no comparison.

Dodgy politicians are one thing - they're as old as time itself.

Knowingly electing a guy who's an outright predator, both in business terms and as far as we can tell, in sexual assault terms as well, a guy who's never held any elected office, who preaches absolute ****ing madness at his rallies and very obviously doesn't give a **** about anyone - there's not even a veneer of it - is quite another matter.

The only thing his supporters can point to as a positive for him are his business achievements, but his results are scarcely better than chance and include multiple bankruptcies
    Also, they seem to like how much of an asshole he is, which is apparently a good thing now.

Say what you want about our politicians, but they tend to fall within a fairly small range and tend towards blandness and ineffectiveness rather than anything else.
    You'd never have a loola like Trump or an arsehole of the scale of Clinton eleceted here. Our politics is too safe and too neutral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Tbf..... It would be hilarious and if he pulls it off

*nuclear war aside :pac:

More likely to see war quicker, and a more dangerous one, were Clinton to win, a singular point completely ignored by 95% of people (percentage estimated and exaggerated for emphasis).

Danny healy rae is actually a better president to the 2 nominees

Ah, no. He's really not.
    For all her flaws Clinton is at least not a climate-change denier. That alone makes her a much better politician and smarter human being than that gombeen Healy-Rae.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

With a few days to go in the presidential race for the USA, I'm thinking to myself are yankee's really that thick to be cattle herded into a 2 vote system (I know theres more canditates,but!), a country with 300+ million people, and they get to choose between donald and hillary, 2 azzholes.

I don't know if it's intentional or not but US politics has turned upside down, it was always corrupt, but now it's taken a stranger twist, CNN V's Fox, all establishment establishment's but are they doing a Freud on the dumb people of America, which is a good proportion of the non natives.

The Irish elected Ahern as Taoiseach 3 times in a row.

We have no right to judge anyone elses stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Denmark gets it right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

The Irish elected Ahern as Taoiseach 3 times in a row.

We have no right to judge anyone elses stupidity.

Ahern is just a corrupt/****e politician.They get elected all the time across the world.

He's miles ahead of the 2 gob****es in the American presidential race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

Since it's Hillarys turn in the "Big Chair" for services rendered the real challenge was finding someone more obnoxious than her to guarantee her victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

That did happen.

Well the GOP deserve him, the Party of Lincoln and Reagan, two of the all time greats nominate a big loud mouth New York gobsh1te as their runner.

He didn't hijack anything, registered GOP members voted for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

No more than anywhere else. Its the inherent problem with democracy - even the stupid can vote. It would be better for them if they didnt, and the smarter in society made the political decisions, but a lot of people dont like that, particularly the stupid, who refer to have a badly run country than not have their say in running it badly.

Well the GOP deserve him, the Party of Lincoln and Reagan, two of the all time greats nominate a big loud mouth New York gobsh1te as their runner.

He didn't hijack anything, registered GOP members voted for him.

There is one of them on the other side, only she isn't actually from New York, unlike Donald.

Reagan? Not sure about that one Ted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

For over 20 years the us media has created a environment of fear and hate..one where even non political people are not thinking straight

In my lifetime I fully expect an extreme right candidate as president of the us, France and UK pm, for Putin to still to in charge in Russia 30 years from now and for china to be worlds biggest superpower/economy and moderate voice of reason through all of this

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Denmark gets it right.

That Birgitte Nyborg was a great PM.

Pugzilla wrote: »
    Danny Healy-Rae

there are a number of similarities actually:

Clarity of Purpose
    Looking after "your own"
    Reflecting the (often unspoken) views of his voters
    Direct but also Simple language

When you're not American, it's sometimes hard to understand what they're thinking electing such a person but really, all the common elements are in place there. Jeremy Corbyn while a totally different personality displays similar characteristics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Danny Healy-Rae

But he's not the Taoiseach. Yet. I'll be worried then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I have a friend in the USA: he's not American and isn't entitled to vote on Tuesday. He's not an idiot - highly intelligent and qualified, working in a very technical field. Yet he's told me that he would probably vote for Trump if he could.

The way I see it, there is a lot wrong with the USA, economically, and Clinton doesn't seem to get that - not really. She represents "business as usual" or "Washington politics", with all its corruption and money-grubbing. Trump has positioned himself as a "man of the people", despite being absolutely nothing of the sort. He was born in to money, remember - he is the polar opposite of the "self-made man" he claims to be.

Look at healthcare: prices are soaring while what you get for the money is getting worse e.g. high "deductibles" (excesses) can mean that an emergency can bankrupt you even if you apparently have insurance. Is "Obamacare" to blame? Possibly, but everyone forgets that the "Affordable Care Act" was not what Obama wanted. He wanted at least a "public option" (with the government as an insurer), or ideally a "single payer" system more like Germany's. But neither of those were going to get past a hostile Republican majority Congress, whose members are taking campaign contributions from health industry lobbyists.

I've heard it said that Obama didn't push the "public option" hard enough. The problem with that idea is that the White House knows, well in advance, exactly how each person in Congress will vote on any part of a bill. If there's any doubt, they can just ask - and they do. The President is not going to submit a bill to Congress if s/he knows in advance that it will fail. So the Affordable Care Act, as submitted to Congress, had been watered down to make it acceptable to Congress, which means keeping the insurance companies in the money.

Now use the same concept to examine other parts of the USA economy, and ask yourself: what do you imagine a President Trump could do about any of them? He's as sure as heck not going to fix healthcare. Yes, I've seen this, don't see any of that happening - because it's up to Congress, not him.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gw80

Am I being totally paranoid in thinking that this whole election has been staged from the beginning,
    Bare with me here,
    There are certain people who want Clinton in power, for whatever reasons, that got together at a table to discuss how to do it, knowing full well that she probably would not stand a chance against someone genuine with her shady background, so devised a plan to put up a candidate who would much worse and make her look like an angel compared to him, with thrump completely in the loop and on board
    But it has backfired with trumps ego and he started thinking he could actually be president.

Or am i reaching here,
    I can't be the only one thinking this

I look forward to next week. We will not have to hear media outlets ram down our throats what a bad man Donald Trump is. It has been a relentless juggernaut of heinous attacks towards one person.

It has been disgusting and ubiquitous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

degsie wrote: »

That's has to be the stupidest ****e ever....for a stupid muppet too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

ligerdub wrote: »
    I look forward to next week. We will not have to hear media outlets ram down our throats what a bad man Donald Trump is. It has been a relentless juggernaut of heinous attacks towards one person.

Many of his own remarks have been disgusting though, haven't they? He really hasn't done himself any favours during this campaign, so blaming the media is slightly too easy and disingenuous methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Danny Healy-Rae

Bertie Ahern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

If Trump wins then it will be the biggest fu to Washington politics ever. But then the ramifications of having voted for a narcissistic bluffer, a bull****ting used car salesman will hit home.

We will witness the opposite of the optimism that met Obama's election in 2008, the sheer dread many feel of having President Trump will be soothed by the fact that he will like Obama before him, get nothing done. Or to be more precise, nothing like they both want/wanted to get done. Congress rules the roost in America. And Trump will hit Brick wall after Brick wall for 4 years until the 'man on the street' he seduced might finally understand that and call him on his hot air. As if after 8 years of one of the most intelligent, assured Presidents getting frustrated and fed up didn't force that point home already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

ligerdub wrote: »

The media have given Trump endless hours of free advertising over the past two years. When Sanders and Clinton were giving speeches during the primaries the networks including the so called anti trump networks such as cnn would show a split screen with an empty podium with Trumps name on it..yeah really disgusting

Point out exactly the heinous attacks by the media. Reporting back what Trump said is not an example of being heinous