Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you LOVE going to weddings?

• 28-10-2016 3:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,062 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I do and I don't.

Three day events NO.

Wedding and overnight OK.

But the cost of it all... my God. Outfit, shoes, bag (and that's only for the girls lol).

Wedding pressie, overnight, drinks and all the rest of it.

You'd get a holiday abroad for sure.

Still it's a nice day for meeting people. Then what? Hang around all day until yer fed. Then the band and the dancing, and the obligatory sing song in the early hours. And hangover heads the next day!

Is it a boring formula or what now?

Ah here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Love them.

Love love love love love them.

Love everything about them.

The dressing up, the wine, the eating, the dancing, the laughing with friends, the romance of it all when it's two of your favourite people getting hitched.

Love.

I've been to I'd say 40 weddings and I still look forward to the next one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Weddings me arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,350 ✭✭✭munster87

They are good for catching up with friends or family. An excuse for a bit of a piss up usually. But they can be expensive. So I'll say no, I don't love them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,062 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Love them.

Love love love love love them.

Love everything about them.

The dressing up, the wine, the eating, the dancing, the laughing with friends, the romance of it all when it's two of your favourite people getting hitched.

Love.

I've been to I'd say 40 weddings and I still look forward to the next one!

OKKKKK

Does the formula not bore you to oblivion though?

You know, the hiatus between church/civil ceremony/photos and FOOD!

You can only talk for so long...

I find it is a long day TBH. And formulaic. But it is what it is I suppose.

Not my favourite way of spending hundreds has to be said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Nope.

Fcuking drama Llama's most of them.

I have another one on Dec 15th to go to. 10 days before Christmas like, cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

At this stage it's probably the only time that all the lads are out together so I suppose, yeah, I have a fondness for weddings.

As for the expense, it's only as pocket lightening as you want it to be. We've stayed in nearby B+Bs as opposed to the main hotel. We've made extended holidays out of the few foreign weddings we've been at to help absorb the expense - it can be an expensive weekend or a bargain of a week away. We've got enough suits/dresses to open a 2nd hand shop so there's no need to add to the pile.

OKKKKK

Does the formula not bore you to oblivion though?

You know, the hiatus between church/civil ceremony/photos and FOOD!

You can only talk for so long...

I find it is a long day TBH. And formulaic. But it is what it is I suppose.

Not my favourite way of spending hundreds has to be said.

Not really tbh.

I think the photos thing is mostly over with nowadays. There's generally no big group photo I don't think, and instead the photographer just takes non posing pics throughout the day.

I really like all of it, I've four next year in the diary already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Riazor

December 31st, a good friend's wedding so I may bloody show up. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

theteal wrote: »
    At this stage it's probably the only time that all the lads are out together so I suppose, yeah, I have a fondness for weddings.

This.

And once the weddings are done, the next time you'll all be together is for one of yer parents funeral.

Life is short.

Riazor wrote: »
    December 31st, a good friend's wedding so I may bloody show up. :rolleyes:

Now there's a date for a wedding that I would enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Hate them, didn't even enjoy my own. If I could do it over I'd marry abroad and then have a massive party at home. You get to have the fun without all the fuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

No. Not a fan. 4 next year. Ugh. Dread.
    They're more or less all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

One day wedding on a Saturday yes, anything else is a pain in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Yeah they're basically all the same. Having said that, I've only been to maybe 6 weddings in my 42 years. So I've never experienced the wedding in a barn, or one where there was a chip van/ice cream van/dance-off/flash mob :D Maybe they'd be a bit more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Have one tomorrow for 2 days. Cost me an arm and a leg as well

tupenny wrote: »
    No. Not a fan. 4 next year. Ugh. Dread.
    They're more or less all the same.

That's what I mean most of the time.

Same formula, different people.

Have one tomorrow for 2 days. Cost me an arm and a leg as well

you'll be shyte when it comes to the hokey cokey so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,860 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Feckin' hate going to weddings.

That's why I gave those 2 young ones the elbow down the years.

.........Back of the net.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

I loved mine. Myself and my partner had a humanist signing, it was done in ten minutes. The witnesses were my brother and his wife. The four of us went into the dance hall in the gorgeous hotel in Clonakilty and had a laugh dancing around the place. Then we had an unreal dinner and afterwards we went to a gig for the end of the guitar festival. It cost us €1500 total.

We might have a party at some stage but we haven't told anyone else we're married because people have this idea that it's supposed to be this big stupid event and we just couldn't abide that crap. We're together over a decade so being each others' legal spouse was something that we regarded as important. We're delighted with the craic we had on the day though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

They're great craic but expensive as ****, especially when you have to travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I'm easily bait-able with food. Can't say no to anything involving food.

Invited to my partner's best friends wedding in December. I know food will be amazing.

Food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

I love weddings. Everyone is usually in a good mood and just there to have fun. I don't know what's not to like?

Sometimes they can cost you a bit with the gift and if you are staying over but it's just an effort you make for your friends or family members day.

Also if it's a friend's wedding and you don't know their family that well, you get to see that side to them too which is nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Hate them.

I don't feel like spending a bunch of money on someone's Special Princess Day only to spend it talking to a bunch of pissed up arseholes I don't know/care to get to know.

If I was ever to get married (ha, the ****ing thought of it), it would be in a registry office with the minimum possible amount attending because I don't like wasting people's time.

I'd be just as married as the clowns who spend thousands on twaddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

I like weddings if they are:

In Dublin or nearby
    On a Saturday
    With no arse boxing between ceremony and dinner /drinks.

I have kids, limited resources, a job and my own life so anything veering off the above formula gives me a pain in my hole.

But what about the formula for most of them?

Does anyone, I mean anyone ever think, OMG. Church/civil ceremony, hang around, ha ha with everyone just because you have to be nice lol.

And the talking to people can be tiring too. Then they and you move off and it is all so irrelevant.

And then you are sitting at a big table listening to speeches and oh holy moly, there is betting on the length of the speeches, how original is that!

Formula. And you cannot break out of that formula in general.

I intensely dislike weddings. The most predictable, creatively-challenged, boring event imaginable. Sameness, painful sameness. Isn't the bride looking absolutely gorgeous....And that roaring amplified rock band blowing the ears off people so you have to roar over at somebody to talk to them. Utter shíte quality of a day. Funerals are much better craic. More depth there.

Now, if anybody wants to do a medieval wedding where bride and groom arrive in autumn (when the harvest was in/there was enough food) on a white horse or some such thing, where the feast and clothes are medieval garb, where the crap loud band is replaced by either a quartet or a seisiún, where there are poets and harpists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Hate them. They're all the same, no matter how different they try to be. Nothing worse than going to a wedding of a neighbour or relative you barely know, or even worse again being a guest at one where you know nobody, and trying to stay awake during the speeches where Michael is talking about how him and Jimmy were wild young lads stealing cars and drinking in the park but all that changed when he met the gorgeous Maria (doesn't she look gorgeous ladies and gentleman)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Have to go to one tomorrow

Orders are to be at the church at one there is a two hour drinks reception while they do photos and the bell for dinner will ring at 530 so everyone will be half starved

Dinner is until 830 at which point I'm going home

There is then a bbq on sunday

I'm firmly convinced that those who love weddings are of the Extovert variety, whereas those who find them boring or whatever are Introverts.

I confess to be of the latter variety. lol.

Take note... introverts are sociable, but cannot do the hail fella/gal well met for too long either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

No I hate it

I do and I don't.

Three day events NO.

Wedding and overnight OK.

But the cost of it all... my God. Outfit, shoes, bag (and that's only for the girls lol).

You can't tell me you buy new outfit, shoes, and new bag for every single wedding. Or any more than one or two of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

On the whole I absolutely HATE them! I wouldn't be the biggest fan of social events in general, but I find the typical wedding format painful to get through. I avoid as much as possible.

I'm firmly convinced that those who love weddings are of the Extovert variety, whereas those who find them boring or whatever are Introverts.

I confess to be of the latter variety. lol.

Take note... introverts are sociable, but cannot do the hail fella/gal well met for too long either!

I'm quite extroverted, I love social events and get togethers but I really dislike weddings. Not sure why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Hate them.
    A court summons would be preferable.
    Meet more interesting people , and less expense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I've been to 1.25 weddings and 2 afters and that is more than enough. The day is such a bore to me that I think I should be given money for being invited.
    I've turned down invites from friends - and not lost them as friends - and extended family but have to go to close family ones. Getting dressed up to go for dinner and a session is not for me. It's a long, boring, expensive day.

bluewolf wrote: »
    You can't tell me you buy new outfit, shoes, and new bag for every single wedding. Or any more than one or two of them

Ahem... A new outfit is so necessary if going to another wedding where everyone else was at the previous one aswell.

One must preserve some standards!

Be the talk of the town if I turned up in the same dress as before! Honestly, it is just not worth the pain.

So yes, a new outfit is required for each wedding where the same guests will be there. Can get away with shoes, bag and so on depending on the colour of the DRESS!

It is just so easy for men. A different colour tie and they are grand.

But then men are not b"tches when it comes to commentary about dresses.

OMG that's another negatory. Forgot that one! :eek:

Ahem... A new outfit is so necessary if going to another wedding where everyone else was at the previous one aswell.

Be the talk of the town if I turned up in the same dress as before! Honestly, it is just not worth the pain.

So yes, a new outfit is required for each wedding where the same guests will be there. Can get away with shoes, bag and so on depending on the colour of the DRESS!

It is just so easy for men. A different colour tie and they are grand.

But then men are not b"tches when it comes to commentary about dresses.

OMG that's another negatory. Forgot that one! :eek:

You're just making a rod for your own back there. The people who matter won't mind and the ones who mind don't matter.

Everyone's there to look at the bride, not at you
    It really isn't

Tan (25-35 euro depending what tan) nails (30 for hands, 35 for feet) hair (35-50 depending on what you're getting done) makeup artist (30 at Inglot, 40 at mac)
    Dress, bag, shoes. Maybe jewellery, not all the time. Say 200.
    Money for the card.
    Money for the bar.
    Money to stay over.

Might as well be a summons

That is purely your own choice. Nobody is asking you to do tan and nails for a wedding??
    Like you do it if you want but it's not like it's a requirement

That's true but I wouldn't go with no nails or no tan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Tan (25-35 euro depending what tan) nails (30 for hands, 35 for feet) hair (35-50 depending on what you're getting done) makeup artist (30 at Inglot, 40 at mac)
    Money for the card.
    Money for the bar.
    Money to stay over.

I was at a wedding last week. Wore a dress I had already along with shoes, bag and jewellery I already had. Did my own make up, hair and nails (didn't bother with the feet because closed toe shoes). No tan because I hate it.

It's only expensive if you make it expensive.

Everyone's there to look at the bride, not at you
    It really isn't

Are you joking me!

After seeing the Bride, all attention focuses on everyone else. Trust me.

But I am not so mad as to think everyone will be looking at me either, just a trend that goes on. And it does. It does.

Otherwise a boiler suit would be acceptable as an outfit.

That's life at weddings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,146 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

After reading the last few posts once again I'm glad I'm a man :p

But on the topic itself, not a big fan. Most of my friends were already settled/married when I met them so only been to a few but as a rule it's expensive, long and boring - especially if you're there as the "other half" of the person who was really invited as you know no-one and have to sit it out for the duration.

eviltwin wrote: »
    You're just making a rod for your own back there. The people who matter won't mind and the ones who mind don't matter.

If only all the guests were like you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Love them. It's not often you get all the family or all your friends together. Moaners will be moaners though and will complain the rest of us will have great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

The last wedding I was at did cost me a few quid, but admittedly my hair needed to be done (cut and coloured, styled) anyway, as I had deliberately left it a while so it would be newly done for the wedding. Ditto with the nails, I have no talent at all with painting or filing them from...well lack of interest really, so I paid to have that done too so my hands looked somewhat decent. My default setting is clumsily clipped nails, down to the quick. I didn't bother with a tan, my dress had sleeves so I just Sally Hansen'd my legs and wore a pair of shoes that I already had. I did have to buy a dress as I owned absolutely nothing suitable for a wedding, but it was a cheapy thing from Debenhams. Did my own makeup and thankfully live close enough to the wedding venue that the taxi fares there and back were very small. However all that, combined with the few quid in the card surely added up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Money for the card.
    Money for the bar.
    Money to stay over.

Why would you get fake tan (looks so stupid anyway), manicure and pedicure and professional makeup for a wedding unless you are the bride or in the wedding party? I would consider that high maintenance for a bridesmaid, let alone a guest. Surely you are capable of doing your own makeup? Or is it some kind of competition?

I hate them. Luckily nobody in my immediate circle are planning to get married and if they do it will be a very low key registry office affair. There absolutely is a strange competitiveness among certain women when it comes to the dress. Coast I believe is the uniform of choice so I can imagine the fear of turning up in the exact same outfit as Mary down the road.

In the unlikely event of my tying the knot it will be on top of a mountain just before a crazy ass party. Dress code - whatever the hell yee want.

Why would you get fake tan (looks so stupid anyway), manicure and pedicure and professional makeup for a wedding unless you are the bride or in the wedding party? I would consider that high maintenance for a bridesmaid, let alone a guest. Surely you are capable of doing your own makeup? Or is it some kind of competition?

It's not a competition, but if I'm after spending X amount of money on a dress, I'll make an effort with the rest of me. I would get my face and hair done for a night out, it's something I tend to do if I'm going somewhere. i don't usually wear fake tan but I'm the colour of gone off ham so depending on what I'm wearing I'll need it done