Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbour asked to share WIFI

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 8,738 ✭✭✭degsie

Can you offer to take your neighbour in for a few weeks? That way you can keep an eye on his activities.

OP. To let the neighbour down gently, you can tell him that you checked with your ISP provider (in all innocence) and THEY said it was prohibited under THEIR terms and conditions.

So, you can blame a 3rd party and still be on good terms with your neighbour. It doesn't sound like he's a good friend or likely to be in the future either, so I don't see you losing out anything here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Fabio wrote: »
    He said he would pay for the couple of weeks [I declined cos the guy is out of work but if he wanted to make it a long term arrangement then he'd have to pay...but it won't be long term because I want my own connection to be mine and his Eir one should be sorted by then].

Ahhh...he's out of work !!! I'd find a polite way to say no. I was alarmed when you said it would take "2 weeks to sort the problem". That's very odd in itself. I suggest he might not have paid his bill. 2 weeks to fix an internet connection. That's ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

It's not really about being cynical and refusing him or generous and allowing him. It should be based on your knowledge of him. You say you hardly know him. How hardly like? How long? And if he thinks likewise of you he really has some neck on him asking you the question in the first place.

Like someone else said .... if certain neighbours asked id say yes happily cause I know them. If certain others asked i'd baulk at the idea cause I don't know them.

Only you know what your opinion of him / gut instinct is.

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭9726_9726

Lend him your WiFi but first change the SSID to:

PropertyOfNedFlanders

and the WPA2 key to:

tvstand123

• Registered Users Posts: 13,092 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Yep, and the free guest access is sandboxed.
    So not a silly thing to do.

I still wouldn't be assed setting up an open network for people.
    Anytime I setup guest network it always has some form of password.
    Also it is time limited.

Are you running a coffee shop or something.
    I presume your are filtering and throttling the traffic so one of your guests aren't going to hog the bandwidth ?
    jca wrote: »
    Why does everyone say "keep an eye on usage"? All BB plans are unlimited as far as I know,

Nothing is ever really unlimited.
    Likewise with phone plans.
    Check with provider and they will admit that unlimited might mean 50GB, 100 GB or some such.
    The limits are set high because providers assume the vast majority of people will never reach them.
    If you go over those limits, providers will start checking up.
    jca wrote: »
    obviously if the Op's isn't it would be a serious consideration, but, assuming it is, if the neighbour is downloading torrents(as we all do) or watching a bit of porn(as some do) I can't see the Garda bashing down his door any time soon, and as someone posted earlier, child porn or other extreme stuff has to be stored in a computer etc to convict someone. All isp's allow you to see how much has been downloaded via their website so obviously if your usage took a huge jump you could have a word with the neighbour.

Yes maybe to convict, but what about to investigate and question ?
    If a flag is raised somewhere because of the users activities then authorities start monitoring and checking.
    Would you like your name to appear on a monitored list somewhere because of the activities of someone you allowed use your network ?

Will the police believe you when claim it was a neighbour that once used your network ?
    It would probably be viewed in much the same light as the old chestnut claimed by those investigated for the likes of child porn that they were just doing research.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Fabio

I severely doubt the guy is going to abuse it to a point where the Guards come knocking at the door. While I wouldn't really be equating broadband with sharing milk or sugar with your neighbour, it's a hand up to the guy for a couple of weeks.

As I have said before, I appreciate people taking the time to explain how I can make the whole process safer and easier.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭BnB

Mother of sweet divine....

Laptops, Mobile Devices etc being confiscated by the Guards for 3 years.... the OP's name being added to the sex offenders register.... all because he gave his neighbour access to WiFi...

FFS... Get a grip

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭ItHurtsWhenIP

BnB wrote: »

Laptops, Mobile Devices etc being confiscated by the Guards for 3 years.... the OP's name being added to the sex offenders register.... all because he gave his neighbour access to WiFi...

FFS... Get a grip

In regards to the confiscation ... So this didn't happen? :rolleyes:

And while this is hearsay, it still sounds plausible to me.

I never intended this thread to spiral as far as it did. It's gone a bit far at this stage.

But, once again, the practical advice given has been useful and thanks for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,407 ✭✭✭Nollog

learn_more wrote: »
    Ahhh...he's out of work !!! I'd find a polite way to say no. I was alarmed when you said it would take "2 weeks to sort the problem". That's very odd in itself. I suggest he might not have paid his bill. 2 weeks to fix an internet connection. That's ridiculous.

I've been waiting longer than that before. 2 months back in August last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

OP, what did you decide on in the end?

There are people saying that someone has "some neck" for asking their neighbour for a favour... Would they get a grip. The neighbour hardly asked to bury a corpse in the garden!

I gave him the password and asked him to keep it to himself, his wife, and daughter. And I am keeping an eye on the usage on OpenDNS. Since giving him the password, according to OpenDNS, it has barely been used [and I've the filters for adult content etc all on through OpenDNS...I'm sure if he wanted to he could get around them but it's a precaution].

• Registered Users Posts: 13,990 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

I gave him the password and asked him to keep it to himself, his wife, and daughter. And I am keeping an eye on the usage on OpenDNS. Since giving him the password, according to OpenDNS, it has barely been used [and I've the filters for adult content etc all on through OpenDNS...I'm sure if he wanted to he could get around them but it's a precaution].

Well done.
    I hope (expect) it will not be abused.

Your small gesture might make a huge difference to that family which they will not easily forget.

I would hope so alright. What if it happens that I need a favour in time? Maybe he'd be more predisposed to help a neighbour out after this gesture.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,092 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I severely doubt the guy is going to abuse it to a point where the Guards come knocking at the door. While I wouldn't really be equating broadband with sharing milk or sugar with your neighbour, it's a hand up to the guy for a couple of weeks.

As I have said before, I appreciate people taking the time to explain how I can make the whole process safer and easier.

Maybe I am coming at this from point of view where it is my job to lock down access because I know some people will tear the ass out of something and abuse stuff if they think they can get away with it.

And I have worked in a company where an IT colleague was questioned, or as the police would put it he was aiding their enquiries, into child pornography allegations against a former employee of the company.
    The major issue they had was that he had wiped the former employees laptop and desktop and when they found that out they wanted to know why he did so.
    OP, what did you decide on in the end?

There are people saying that someone has "some neck" for asking their neighbour for a favour... Would they get a grip. The neighbour hardly asked to bury a corpse in the garden!

I would have no problem helping out a neighbour if they need a hand doing something.
    I do however have an issue giving someone unmonitored access to stuff I am responsible for or lending tools to people I don't really know.
    And I would not lend tools to some of the people I do know precisely because I know how badly they treat stuff that doesn't belong to them.
    Once bitten and twice shy so to speak.

Hopefully it turns out ok for OP and he has made a firm friend.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭pah

FFS... Get a grip

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/judge-criticises-inexcusable-five-year-delays-in-child-porn-cases-1.2848344

And again yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Strange nobody else asked, but are you the only neighbour this guy has?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭BnB

In regards to the confiscation ... So this didn't happen? :rolleyes:

And while this is hearsay, it still sounds plausible to me.
    pah wrote: »

Mother of God... I ignored the first reply because.... I felt it was just going around in circles.... but then I saw the second one.... and I just couldn't leave it....

Are you lads for freggin real...

You honestly thing that the links that you have posted, in some way justify not giving your neightbour Wifi....

As I said before.... how you can jump from, giving your neighbour access to your Wifi for a few weeks, to him accessing child porn => getting caught => and you having your laptop taken by the Guards for a few years..... is simply astounding.

It is a genuinely sad insight into the thinking into some of the cynical selfish people in the next generation we are rearing in this country that when they are asked for a simple favour, they could go to such great lengths in their minds to see that there is an utterly miniscule chance that it could bite you in the ass or cause you some hassle. So rather than giving the benifit of the doubt they will take the selfish option and say No.

I genuinly hope you never have to look for any help yourselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

.... It is a genuinely sad insight into the thinking into some of the cynical selfish people in the next generation we are rearing in this country that when they are asked for a simple favour, they could go to such great lengths in their minds to see that there is an utterly miniscule chance that it could bite you in the ass or cause you some hassle. So rather than giving the benifit of the doubt they will take the selfish option and say No. .... I genuinly hope you never have to look for any help yourselves.

Why should anyone give out modem access?
    Hey look, it's nice to be nice and you should help out people. But not to a stranger and even if that stranger is living next door.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,990 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

Strange nobody else asked, but are you the only neighbour this guy has?

What difference would that make to a decision to help out or not?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭ItHurtsWhenIP

Why should anyone give out modem access?
    Hey look, it's nice to be nice and you should help out people. But not to a stranger and even if that stranger is living next door.

This is why I said what I said. Maybe I wasn't clear on that, which is an oversight.

I help out plenty of people every day, and these are generally people I know in my community. I do also help out strangers, most of whom use boards.ie - such as the OP, but also newly arrived in my area.

However unless I know somebody well enough, I would not give them unfettered access to a medium that can be used for evil and potentially associated back to me. It's simply not worth the risk.