Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbour asked to share WIFI

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Checkmate19

Thats fair enough but personally i don't think its worth the hassle. If i was good friends with the person i'd do it but the op said he doesn't know him that well.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

And yet there are open wifi spots everywhere, cafes+bars etc. I have yet to read about any real court-cases arising from open wifi.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,553 ✭✭✭SteM

Thats a good point. But still i personally wouldn't do it. Just my view.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭BnB

Thats fair enough but personally i don't think its worth the hassle. If i was good friends with the person i'd do it but the op said he doesn't know him that well.

What hassle ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

There is no hassle.

Personally I would give the neighbour access, but make sure they understand that EVERYTHING they do on the connection is monitored. Of course I would not actually bother to check what they were doing (that would be hassle).

People should be more concerned with malicious strangers parking outside their homes and hacking the wifi for nefarious purposes. A neighbour asking politely for access doesn't even compare!

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭zzfh

I wouldn't nor would i ask someone that. Just say you are not unlimited and your monthly data gets used up each month from your own usage or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

God there's some stinge bags on this site. I wouldn't like to be asking for anything from any of ye. Obviously the guy is down on his luck at the moment being out of work etc. It would be a long day being out of work with no internet. My neighbour lost their VF router in the lightning I had a spare one so I gave it to them. The houses are too far apart to use my wireless, which I would have given to them in a flash. There really is no sense of community in Ireland anymore. Op, it's your call but if it were my call I'd give it to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,553 ✭✭✭SteM

jca wrote: »
    God there's some stinge bags on this site. I wouldn't like to be asking for anything from any of ye. Obviously the guy is down on his luck at the moment being out of work etc. It would be a long day being out of work with no internet. My neighbour lost their VF router in the lightning I had a spare one so I gave it to them. The houses are too far apart to use my wireless, which I would have given to them in a flash. There really is no sense of community in Ireland anymore. Op, it's your call but if it were my call I'd give it to him.

Surely it all depends on how well you know someone? I have neighbours on either side. I've known one for almost 10 years and would have no problem giving her my password. I wouldn't give the other one because my password because she hasn't lived there that long and I don't know her or her family that well yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,738 ✭✭✭degsie

Do some people on here think it's ok to share electricity/water/bins with their neighbour? Internet connectivity is just another utility and should be treated as such.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭davo2001

degsie wrote: »
    Do some people on here think it's ok to share electricity/water/bins with their neighbour? Internet connectivity is just another utility and should be treated as such.

Do some people here have no compassion for a fellow human being? Jesus lads, it's temporary WiFi access your giving him, not your 1st born f^&king son!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,990 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

SteM wrote: »
    Surely it all depends on how well you know someone? I have neighbours on either side. I've known one for almost 10 years and would have no problem giving her my password. I wouldn't give the other one because my password because she hasn't lived there that long and I don't know her or her family that well yet.

I have set up an open connection in my router for anyone who wishes to use. It is a password-less connection.

I have no problem providing water or electricity to my neighbours if they have a need that I can help with.

I would like to think they would do the same for me if I was stuck.

Like others posted, it is disheartening to read some of the responses on this thread. I hope that those people have an opportunity to appreciate being helped by a relative stranger.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Fabio

I think I will give him access, where we live, it's a very very long day if you have no job and no wifi.

Thanks to those of you who gave suggestions on how best to handle the sharing etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,163 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Do some people on here think it's ok to share electricity/water/bins with their neighbour?

Why would you not share your water with anyone? Jaysus

OP; as long as you're straight with him, he'll likely be straight with you. Anyone who needs internet for illegal stuff is already well ahead of "can i borrow your wifi"

I'd just give him the password under the stipulation that its temporary, two weeks or so till he gets his wifi sorted, and tell him I'll be changing password after that time is up.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

davo2001 wrote: »
    Do some people here have no compassion for a fellow human being?
    Oh for the love of God... People are entitled to say no if they don't feel happy about someone using their WiFi. End of. Don't you think you are over doing it a bit with this faux charity rubbish. If this fellow human being was short of any of life's necessities, such as food, heat or warmth there isn't a chance I'd turn him away.

There are other ways he can get himself internet access temporarily without embarrassing a neighbour he doesn't know into it. If the op doesn't mind doing it, that's his choice. Put away the tiny violin and stop the whingey finger-pointing at people who wouldn't feel comfortable with doing it. I hate these insufferable do-gooders that think that honesty and goodness should shine out if everyones holes. We live in a world where *some* people would take advantage of you at any given chance. Wake up sweetheart.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,092 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

It is not being a stinge bags, but fooking looking after your own interests.
    Times have changed from the days when being trusting and helpful meant you were rewarded and not taken for a ride or in some cases nowadays been open to legal action.

It is one thing knowing someone well and having an idea what they are like.
    The OP hardly knows the neighbour.
    They could be the soundest person under the sun or they could be a total leech who would screw over their own mother.

Anytime you give people access you need to monitor it.
    If anything ever happens the buck stops with the OP.
    99 times out of 100 nothing might ever happen, but that 1 time might land you in hot water.
    davo2001 wrote: »
    Do some people here have no compassion for a fellow human being? Jesus lads, it's temporary WiFi access your giving him, not your 1st born f^&king son!

So compassion nowadays means giving someone internet access ?
    I have set up an open connection in my router for anyone who wishes to use. It is a password-less connection.

Where do you live again ?
    That is a very silly thing to be doing.

Routers, firewalls, etc all have security setting for a reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭davo2001

I sincerly hope you never need anyones help Estrellita, it's a wifi connection he's given him, not a bar of gold!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,407 ✭✭✭Nollog

I'd do it too. If I notice my Internet going slow, block his mac then a minute later unblock it.

Doing that is fun when you have housemates in college. Hearing them run downstairs to the router always made me giggle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

If he's that stuck, maybe help him out to sort out some mobile broadband. Some people aren't very techie. It could be a matter of putting a cheap phone or a WiFi router in a higher location in the house / near a window etc on the correct side to get a good signal.

Usually the mobile signals are blocked by stone walls or heavy concrete being in the path at some point.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,990 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

jmayo wrote: »
    Where do you live again ?
    That is a very silly thing to be doing.

Routers, firewalls, etc all have security setting for a reason.

Yep, and the free guest access is sandboxed.
    So not a silly thing to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭pah

Dodge wrote: »
    Why would you not share your water with anyone? Jaysus

OP; as long as you're straight with him, he'll likely be straight with you. Anyone who needs internet for illegal stuff is already well ahead of "can i borrow your wifi"

Unless they know exactly what they're doing.

No way I would do this. Whatever about the neighbour - next thing his pal calls to the house and starts using it etc.

If something illegal was to happen it's your IP that will be identified and your service provider will provide the authorities with your address. The warrant that gets applied for in court will have your address on it and you can say goodbye to every digital device in your house for at least three years.

pah wrote: »
    Unless they know exactly what they're doing.

No way I would do this. Whatever about the neighbour - next thing his pal calls to the house and starts using it etc.

If something illegal was to happen it's your IP that will be identified and your service provider will provide the authorities with your address. The warrant that gets applied for in court will have your address on it and you can say goodbye to every digital device in your house for at least three years.

Not being a bit dramatic are we?? Digital devices gone for 3 years:D Will you get a grip ffs:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Fabio

Not being a bit dramatic are we?? Digital devices gone for 3 years:D Will you get a grip ffs:mad:

Yeah that's a bit over the top in fairness.

As I have said already, I wouldn't be all that worried about the person himself, I'd be more worried about visitors to him using it excessively but I'll set up OpenDNS and keep an eye on the usage.

Why does everyone say "keep an eye on usage"? All BB plans are unlimited as far as I know, obviously if the Op's isn't it would be a serious consideration, but, assuming it is, if the neighbour is downloading torrents(as we all do) or watching a bit of porn(as some do) I can't see the Garda bashing down his door any time soon, and as someone posted earlier, child porn or other extreme stuff has to be stored in a computer etc to convict someone. All isp's allow you to see how much has been downloaded via their website so obviously if your usage took a huge jump you could have a word with the neighbour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 250 ✭✭Clarebelly

Give him access OP, but change his password to PaulGadd4Ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭ItHurtsWhenIP

Fabio wrote: »
    Yeah that's a bit over the top in fairness.

As I have said already, I wouldn't be all that worried about the person himself, I'd be more worried about visitors to him using it excessively but I'll set up OpenDNS and keep an eye on the usage.

It might sound dramatic but according to this thread, it seems they can hold onto the devices until the case is heard in court, there is an article linked in the second last post, which shows a 4 year wait by one person.

Theres another story on reddit about a guy waiting nearly 11 months (and still no sign).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

Don't do it.
    But you are. You know him better then us.

My advise. Set a time frame. Don't let him abuse your generosity.
    5 weeks and your done.
    Other thing you can do. Is only allow one device in his house if you want.
    I'd also monitor usage everyday for the first week or 2.

Final say on this. You don't know him that well. I'd help anyone out most of the time if i can. But on this issue no. Not worth the hassle. Things more the likely will go fine but in the off the chance things could go wrong. It really is not worth the hassle. To be honest he should not have asked in the first place. It's not something i would do. Tell him you just don't like sharing your internet and if he's offended so be it.

Also what if he downloaded stuff. Allright long term you'd be ok but would you won't to be dragged through anything that you don't have to be. With sharing internet to is to much imo that can go wrong that if you don't know the person i wouldn't be willing to take a risk. Food, money etc is different.