Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

24 hours from nowhere

• 10-10-2016 7:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭

A long, long time hurling from ditch so now is the time to get the old finger out and start a training log.
    Running about 4 years.
    Don't race but this will change. Not sure what form this will take but it's a toss up between the 110 hurdles or a 72 hr ultra, we'll see.
    No idea how fast I am and don't really care, yet.
    Run most days, sometimes 30mins sometimes 3 hrs. Sometimes on the road sometimes in a field sometimes up a mountain sometimes on a beach sometimes on a cinder track, anywhere really.
    Let the games begin.

Rested today......

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

Intresting targets. Good luck with them.
    If u run in races your times will be in the results once u finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Got out this morning for a quickie. About 30 minutes talking pace. Kept to the leafy trails with about ten minutes on grass. I'm guessing about 5k.
    Must get me some technology.

Also need to start thinking about a goal. I like jumping over those barriers at wood/forest entry points so the steeple chase might be an option.....

A very pleasant trot around a city centre park today. Loads knocking around chomping on their sushi and stuff. Might try it out some day. Looked nice.
    Anyway had a very slight twinge in the knee. Thought it was an old cricket injury flaring up at first, just think it was the body waking up. Got in about 40 mins.

I've decided to give the long stuff a go. I'll probably make an arse of it but sure if you're not in.......

Seen as I'm going to be doing the long stuff I might as well do it right.
    Going to give that old intermittent fasting a go. Going with the 16/8 version as it suits my hectic lifestyle. Got up this morning and binned the sugar puffs and frosties, they really are grrrrrrrreeeat!
    Just back from another 40 minute trot and I'm about to tuck into a chicken, lettuce, olive and Semi-dried tomato fruit sambo. Pesto in lieu of butter.
    Jaysus I'm starvin'

I am human,
    I am a product of millions
    and millions of development and
    research to determine what
    abilities and functions are needed
    to be the strongest of the fittest
    I breath
    I eat
    I think
    I feel
    I dream that there is more to life
    than what I know
    I hope
    I am human
    I am born with nothing but
    develop a cocktail of love
    and hate and grudges and
    desire with the power to
    destroy life itself
    I am human
    Made to be broken, made to
    last.

This old fasting lark is cracking me up.

Another 40 minutes fooling around today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Loads knocking around chomping on their sushi and stuff. Might try it out some day. Looked nice.

Working class heroes do not eat sushi. They detest bourgeois decadence.

@TBF. You see that's what they want you too think. Why can't we eat sushi? Let's break free from these culinary shackles!

What if
    Three working men from a far away land
    Brought gifts for The babies hand
    Ketchup, mayonnaise and salad cream all bland
    The new holy trinity?
    No, just dips for the damned.

An hour on the trails this morning along the river big.

felt good after this mornings trot so headed out this evening for a sneaky 35 min jog.

I met a girl called Tiara Venial Dun she was a mixed up hypochondriac.

6.2329791 miles @ 7:59 1/2

Lovey little trail run this morning

About 30 miles for the week. I'll aim for about 40 next week.

A glorious 45 minutes around sushi park today. I feel drawn to this place, almost like I've been there before.

Said hello to Oscar. He's like a big turd with all the flies snap snapping away.

Covered about 5 1/2 miles, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

felt good after this mornings trot so headed out this evening for a sneaky 35 min jog.

I met a girl called Tiara Venial Dun she was a mixed up hypochondriac.

Surely Tara Valid Ennui would be a much more convincing anagram, in the 'all actual words' stakes.

Yes it surely would Dave.

But a lass named Tara broke my heart once
    Never found out why
    I kept digging and digging and digging and digging
    But it only made me cry.

So I'll go with mine if you don't mined humouring me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭UM1

Yes it surely would Dave.

But a lass named Tara broke my heart once
    Never found out why
    I kept digging and digging and digging and digging
    But it only made me cry.

So I'll go with mine if you don't mined humouring me.
    Burd named tara keegan broke my heart aswell ,first kiss etc..started goin out with Dotsi Reilly,.more heartbreak

Say tara to all the Taras.

New watch today, fits snugly on the wrist. Not used to wearing a timepiece on the wrist as I'm more a pocket watch kinda chap, old boy...

Wasn't going to head out but was eager to try out the watch so went out for a quickie.

3.2 miles @ 8:10 pace. Around the dark woods. May buy a head torch now. Fcuk sake, who said running was a cheap pastime.

Happy birthday Oscar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

Happy birthday Oscar.

Might need to return that watch...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

this log is quite entertaining yet vaguely familiar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

this log is quite entertaining yet vaguely familiar.

Are we talking hello pinky kinda kinky posts here?

A wonderful 6.3 miles today. Felt alive, unlike Bob. Happy birthday duuuuuuuude.

The old 16/8 diet is going well, don't think I'll have any bother mastering it.
    Anyway breakfast is for whimps:cool:.

Decided to try out the new head torch so hit the Mountains.

Came face to face with a deer, I said "you talkin' to me?"
    He told me to fcuk off back to Nam and find Christopher Walkin

Didn't have that second mushroom.

About 5.3 tough miles.

Walken.

Cheers dude. It's the mushroom I had earlier, has the old head fried.

In south-west Dublin near the mountains/hills they're never far away.

davedanon wrote: »
    In south-west Dublin near the mountains/hills they're never far away.

Mushrooms?
    Ah that's good. This Brexit lark has the mushroom industry in tatters.

Mushrooms?
    Ah that's good. This Brexit lark has the mushroom industry in tatters.

Ah, they just need to inject them with more steroids or heroin or whatever, so they'll last longer, and then they can export them to Europe.

davedanon wrote: »
    Ah, they just need to inject them with more steroids or heroin or whatever, so they'll last longer, and then they can export them to Europe.

Ah god be with the days I used to be up at the crack of dawn with me M&S plastic bag picking me own. Happy days!

Bonus run today. 6.3 miles on the river big.

Sad day today. We say goodbye to a sporting legend. Many a time I watched him grace the sod and many a time, during his retirement, I had the pleasure of his company.

Bye bye my old friend, bye bye Moscow Flyer.

7.1 miles in the muck this morning. Bit of a slog but very enjoyable. Might get back out this evening, don't worry I'll let yis all know if I do.

10.2 miles river/forest/mountain trails.
    Things starting to fall nicely into place. Beware all I'm coming to get yis!

A pleasant 6.1 miles around a park. Not sushi park but dog s1hite park.

The old 16/8 is ticking along nicely.

Had the usual sambo today. Chicken,lettuce, black olives, semi-dried tomato fruit with pesto in lieu of butter all between two slices of the finest brown.
    I've christened it the "Hero Sambo".
    Also had a banana. It was long and straight, like a cowardly cucumber.

Just back from a six miler in the dark. Spooooky.
    Just had me diner. Chicken lasagne I think she calls it wasn't too bad, not a patch on bacon cabbage but not bad. Sitting back now with a glass of Merlot watching "Landscape Artist Of The Year" on Sky Arts. Spiffing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Ah bacon & cabbage the meal of a real Irish man, never mind this kale nonense in replacement of cabbage. New fangled modern ideas!!

tang1 wrote: »
    Ah bacon & cabbage the meal of a real Irish man, never mind this kale nonense in replacement of cabbage. New fangled modern ideas!!

Yep. I likes me bacon hairy and me cabbage stringy.

Just backy from a 6.4 mile run at dog sh1te park.
    Tucking into a Hero Samba and was thinking of school and how I long for the pre-Internet days:rolleyes:

I return to you years later, my dear old refill pad,
    To most a scribbled mess,
    not worth 20 cent,
    To me, quill in hand, it still makes perfect sense.

Put the technology on this run. 6.10 miles @ 7:44 pace on a bumpy enough trail.

The things you have to do;
    Got an invite today for a bit of an "event" Wednesday next, in the American Ambassador's residence in Phoenix Park or as its called round these parts "the park".
    Sara Watkins is providing the entertainment before she embarks on her tour.
    I'll be putting Pimms to the clouds.

Went on the grass today. Good and soft underfoot. 6.1 miles @ 8:23 pace. Felt like going further but I need to be very very careful baby.

Collected a race number at the RDS today for a friend. Felt weird there without the horses.

On the old trails again today. 7.2 miles @ 8:20 pace all good.

Near the end of the run as i could see a woman with a couple of dogs.
    She looked like she was bending down trying to talk to the dogs. As I got nearer she started shouting "look right, look right" I was at a loss what the hell she was on about until I got closer. I wished I had looked right as she was squeezing out a couple of brown bananas. Not a bother on her smiling away she was!
    Has to be done says I.

Long one planned for tomorrow. Meeting a few mountain goats.
    Going to get extremely drunk after it.

A great old trot this morning. About 14.5 miles very hilly run on the trails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

A great old trot this morning. About 14.5 miles very hilly run on the trails.

with the mountain goats :)

Nothing yesterday. Dying.
    Decided to head up to the park today for a recce on that O'Maley dudes' gaff.
    He better have that pile of Ferero Roche' ready for tomorrow.
    8.2 miles @ 7:42 pace.

Actually, for anyone who's interested here is what I'm at with the daughter tomorrow.
    https://ie.usembassy.gov/featured-event/

5.8 miles @8:28 pace on the trails, bright and early.

4 miles yesterday and snap today. Playing chicken with a sore throat, don't want it to develops into something nasty.
    Sitting in the car now outside lidls waiting for the Mother to finish buying the place, could be here a while.
    They are selling a Giant Ginger Bread House for 5 notes. Think I'll go back in for that. Ooh ooh wait, there is an offer on pyjamas and screw drivers and dog biscuits and elephants and ski goggles and soft soft bog roll, ooooohh niiiicccce.

6 miles on the hills.

Got out this morning for the first run since the 4th.
    The cause a combination of a chest infection and a week of excess in the sun.
    Put Cocktails to the heavens!

I've picked out a few trots for the medium term, goes something like this;

Staplestown marathon
    Dungarvan 10(not ideal but I've entered now and like an old spin to the sunny south east)
    Wicklow Way Ultra
    Lap of the gap marathon
    Connemara ultra

Might add a few more need to see what else is out there. Open to suggestions!

Did a little double yesterday, 6+3.
    Just the one today , 8 miler.
    Still tired after the old Vitamim D gathering expedition. Booked the same place again for the 4th of July next year, 10 days this time. Something tells me I'm going to need it.
    Heading up to the Aviva tomorrow for the ruger! My kind of game, my kind of people.

About 9 and a half miles this morning. Around the pass, down to the tap, up to the hive and back to the pass. Lovely run indeed.

10 miles today. Had more planned but had to bring the little hero to see "Trolls".
    Not good, too much singing.
    The trolls around here are far more entertaining.

A nice pleasant 7 and a half miles today. A tad cold but I had my fingerless cloves on so all was good.

9 snotty miles today.
    That's all I have to say about that.