Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

madmaggie wrote: »
    The portrayal of men as useless eejits in ads. The latest Prepay Power one is a prime example. Wifey is on her smartphone, while eejit husband can't even turn on the TV. It might have been funny at one time, but it's old, stale and insulting now.

It was never funny. If it was the other way around we'd never hear the end of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

hmmm not sure that would have got off the ground :D

Using Jackie Stewart is a bit silly anyway. With all due respect to him, he wouldnt be widely known amongst the u30s in spite of his unbelievable sporting achievements. I suppose though they couldnt exactly use Rooney :pac:

Are all ads aimed at under 30's now?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I don't have a TV in my house and i use adblockers.

Haven't seen an ad in ages, so can't offer any i hate.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,192 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

The portrayal of men as useless eejits in ads. The latest Prepay Power one is a prime example. Wifey is on her smartphone, while eejit husband can't even turn on the TV. It might have been funny at one time, but it's old, stale and insulting now.

There was an ad for a phone company last christmas where the man had written what he wanted for Christmas (a phone) on his eyelids, but he had written it backwards. I thought the way the woman spoke to him and looked at him when she figured it out was appalling. And if that was the other way around, that ad would not see the light of day.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

It doesn't say much for the wife characters either if they were stupid enough to marry someone with the mental age of a 6 year old.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,140 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

It doesn't say much for the wife characters either if they were stupid enough to marry someone with the mental age of a 6 year old.

Ah yes, it's much more insulting to women than men.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

I actually can't handle hearing 'she's a supermarket woman' anymore

darkdubh wrote: »
    Are all ads aimed at under 30's now?

Well id imagine in Heinekens case they would be aiming it at that age group..ok perhaps 20-40 or thereabouts. Lads that are out at the weekend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Fookin Eir ad is extremely annoying and it's on constantly

• Registered Users Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭lertsnim

CruelCoin wrote: »
    I don't have a TV in my house and i use adblockers.

Haven't seen an ad in ages, so can't offer any i hate.

What an inspiration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

lertsnim wrote: »
    What an inspiration.

Yes, it's almost lile the post didn't add anything to the thread at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

The Three (or is Eir?) ad with the voiceover that goes "this is a baby, puking a rainbow". The girl doing the voiceover has the most irritating mid Atlantic accent I've ever heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

Patww79 wrote: »

I think he is trying to go VIRAL!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Yes the eir ad is up there with the most annoying. That geeky girl with the guitar CAN'T SING and her tone annoys me.

The HungryHouse ads on UK telly; in particular the fella in the satin robe and the quiff singing about "pork balls".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭De Bhál

"I didn't even know Oral B made a toothpaste!"

nhWsGsg.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

As I think to myself when I see the acting of the models in the Oral B ads......"yes I bet you are an Oral B pro expert"

Diggity

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Dee Aldee Fammeelee.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭optogirl

Tin Maratins in tin days - and TRUE TO DERE WORD, ALLIANZ WAS THERE. Oh wow, I wonder why Allianz selflessly and with such big hearts sponsor things? Just good people I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

optogirl wrote: »
    Tin Maratins in tin days - and TRUE TO DERE WORD, ALLIANZ WAS THERE. Oh wow, I wonder why Allianz selflessly and with such big hearts sponsor things? Just good people I guess.

The wailing/choir music in that advert drives me ****ing mental, the whole advert is a cringefest.

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭LithiumKid1976

that airwaves add, where your man is stuck in traffic,
    gets the chewing gum out, pops a few, and his car changes into this souped up car.... THAT IS STILL STUCK IN TRAFFIC..... ??
    (shouldn't the car have changed, and the road cleared??)

what is the point of it? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

that airwaves add, where your man is stuck in traffic,
    gets the chewing gum out, pops a few, and his car changes into this souped up car.... THAT IS STILL STUCK IN TRAFFIC..... ??
    (shouldn't the car have changed, and the road cleared??)

what is the point of it? :)

'Airwaves, now in a bottle so you can keep it handy'.
    The bottle is about 12 times the size of the packet ! That's pretty handy alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

Can anyone tell me how a burger can give you the taste of anything other than a burger?

Its not a taste of a fcuking country its just a fancy burger with a fancy name !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭TheDavester

The slo mo Vogue Williams ads for her show are painful, it looks like her modelling rather than whatever topic she has no clue about

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Ellie Goulding and her hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Sweet Baby Jane, the Warburton's bread ad with Peter Kay. Straight from the Krusty the Clown "they drove a dump truck full of money up to my house" school of comedy dignity.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Radio5

The Irish Rail ad with your man not getting off the train cos it's so fab..........

Clearly an idea from someone who has never travelled by train in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

The current Permanent TSB ad with the idyllic couple and subsequent family. She looks like she is going to jump his bones in the bank when they get mortgage approval. The father seems to shoot home movies of the family on a grainy 60's 8 mm camera instead of a smartphone too, taking hipsterdom to a new extreme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

The current Permanent TSB ad with the idyllic couple and subsequent family. She looks like she is going to jump his bones in the bank when they get mortgage approval. The father seems to shoot home movies of the family on a grainy 60's 8 mm camera instead of a smartphone too, taking hipsterdom to a new extreme.

Did ya see the camera? Mother of jaysus give me strength.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

jca wrote:
    Did ya see the camera? Mother of jaysus give me strength.

Its like what the Zapruder film was shot on.