Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 7,564 ✭✭✭patmac

That David Coulthard ad for insurance , where he dresses up and drives a couple of very bad actors who pretend very badly to be really scared, and then get out of the car as the camera crew are running toward them and the guy says 'oh look it's David Coulthard' as if he has a clue who he is and they have a selfie together.
    Terribly contrived Shoite.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭dresden8

I miss Rachel and Steve. Or is it Steve and Rachel?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

That First Dates Ireland one at the moment with the girl who can't pronounce Ireland properly is pretty annoying.

Eyerliiind...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,691 ✭✭✭✭blueser

I'm pretty certain it's been mentioned on here before, but it bears another mention. That Tesco Mobile ad; "friend re-queeeest". If I was her boss, I'd be telling her to type up her CV. That screechy voice; it must drive all the dogs in her neighbourhood mental.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,034 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

1. That AIB ad where the fella "films" surprising his partner with a new car ("Serious brownie points") He surely done the dirt or something and is making up for it with gifts.

2. SKODA is a Czech brand. I'm fairly sure being suitable for Irish roads never came into consideration when they were first produced.

3. Without coming across as un-PC, but I am surely not the only one slightly disturbed by the Malteasers "disabled people having mad craic and getting promiscuous" campaign?

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

dresden8 wrote: »
    I don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,239 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

dresden8 wrote: »

I miss them too

And their neighbor 😉

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Is it the one for Virgin TV's new box? "We are the masters of entertainment because we are seven." Hideous ad

Oh sweet Jesus, that ad is the f*cking pits!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Is it the one for Virgin TV's new box? "We are the masters of entertainment because we are seven." Hideous ad

Where's this lad when you need him?

whenever%2Bsomeone%2Bpromises%2Bme%2Bsomething%2Bfor%2Bfree%252C%2Bi%2Bpretty%2Bmuch%2Bthink%2Bof%2Bthis%2Bguy.png

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭Auld Jim Halpin

Its early days in 2017 for thinking worst advert of the year but I think we have a contender in all of those "Sing-The Movie" ads. The one that starts with the pig dressed in yellow doing Lady Gaga-Bad Romance is driving me up the feckin wall. Whoever started the Glee/High School Musical/Frozen genre (and X-Factor)needs a good belt of a shovel for crimes against humanity.

Rah rah ah-ah-ah!
    Ro mah ro-mah-mah
    Gaga oh-la-la!
    Want your bad romance

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

3. Without coming across as un-PC, but I am surely not the only one slightly disturbed by the Malteasers "disabled people having mad craic and getting promiscuous" campaign?

Fair play, agreed. I personally hate Maltesers, or more specifically I hate what has become of their marketing campaigns.

A few years back they played up to the "Lighter way to enjoy chocolate". I figure fair enough to advertise that as a low calorie treat, it's odd to sell a treat based on that but I can see how that would create a niche.

It then moved on to those office girls and their "naughty" antics at work, which I thought was a load of ****e, and clearly aimed at a female demographic.

They've completely outdone themselves in the last year though, and I can only assume they've been hijacked by some sort of do-gooder, probably a male feminist.

a) That "all men are bastards" ad where Annie dumps Neil (along with a needless, go live with "your Mum" female empowerment coup de grace). She flicks a Malteser off the table, girl power.

b) The ad with the lady in the wheelchair with I assume is a growth defect, who talks about how she pulled at a wedding (and then crushed a Malteser)

c) The ad with the lady with the deformed face and the "I didn't get any complaints" sexually suggestive motion while about 20 Maltesers fall out of the bag.

All absolute bollox and loaded with feminist and SJW type rubbish....it's galling. I'd feel pretty bad if I had similar problems and my condition was being used to prop up a chocolate company as some sort of virtuous entity. Worst of all within that marketing campaign is that the message seems to be that if you drop a malteser it's no big deal, probably not worth eating. Maltesers can piss off!

• Registered Users Posts: 11 Pablo7285

"SKOIY FFOIBRE UNLIMI-SHED"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,235 ✭✭✭Oneiric 3

1. That AIB ad where the fella "films" surprising his partner with a new car ("Serious brownie points") He surely done the dirt or something and is making up for it with gifts.

AIB should be sued for the advertising campaign they have embarked on over the last couple of years. They really are dire and are really insulting to the viewer's intelligence.

That one with that constant, creepy, painted on smile who goes on to granting her partner some 'serious brownie points' has plumped to new depths of awfulness. If it comes on again tonight, I'm afraid I'll have to resort to doing an Elvis.

New Moon

Whatever about the bank it's bad driving as she doesn't check her mirrors before driving off. Accidents do happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Lisha wrote: »
    That ad with the Nana and granddaughter watching the tv is truly horrible.

Horrible!
    Was just about to post about it, and I figured it was probably already mentioned.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

The promo for Dermot Bannon's programme. How the hell does it keep being made?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

The kbc bank ad what a load of ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

madmaggie wrote: »
    The promo for Dermot Bannon's programme. How the hell does it keep being made?

Could never understand the appeal of it.

At least with Grand Designs on channel 4 there is real ambition to what is done and most of the projects have a degree of insanity to them which makes the programme interesting.

It's amazing people want to look at a show where they are just adding simple extensions on to bog standard houses.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭gnarbarian

ligerdub wrote: »

b) The ad with the lady in the wheelchair with I assume is a growth defect, who talks about how she pulled at a wedding (and then crushed a Malteser)

That ad really grinds my gears... She goes on about how she was at a wedding and she CRUSHES THE BRIDES FOOT!!!!!!! WTH?! She just ruined the brides big day, something that will never be forgotten! and she just goes "it wasnt all bad, I got the best mans number!" What a B*tch!

Those VHI ads, annoying voices

• Registered Users Posts: 32,373 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

1. That AIB ad where the fella "films" surprising his partner with a new car ("Serious brownie points")
    the ad makes no real sense, she leaves the house and sees a random car outside her house and goes "what's that?!?:eek:" if it was in the driveway then OK, or if it had a huge bow on it or something.

But they presumably are a single or no car household, just as I am. Every second or third morning I come out to a different car outside my house, in a similar looking estate, and never once have thought "WTF is that!!?!" -ehhhh, it's a fcuking car...

Even if told in advance "come out and see the surprise" she would likely cop it, and not be saying "whats dat?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

I said wrote: »
    The kbc bank ad what a load of ****e.

I despise the music in those ads, makes me nauseous.

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭joejoe87

The Malteasers ad where the girl in the wheelchair says she left with the best mans number , she does the finger thing and says "guilty".... She's lying! Why would you do the finger quotation marks and say "Guilty"? Don't know why it irritates me so much lol

• Registered Users Posts: 81,263 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

rubadub wrote: »
    the ad makes no real sense, she leaves the house and sees a random car outside her house and goes "what's that?!?:eek:" if it was in the driveway then OK, or if it had a huge bow on it or something.

But they presumably are a single or no car household, just as I am. Every second or third morning I come out to a different car outside my house, in a similar looking estate, and never once have thought "WTF is that!!?!" -ehhhh, it's a fcuking car...

Even if told in advance "come out and see the surprise" she would likely cop it, and not be saying "whats dat?"

Yes and also how is she insured in it or does she have insurance at all. Brownie points me hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

The AIG ad with Mr and Mrs Professional pointing over at the "tradesman". Easy to see who AIG think is their demographic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Those Domino's pizza ads are painful. I thought they couldn't get any badder than the last one with the famous art pieces but they did with the new winter deal one.

That actress from the Maltesers ad is online saying she's been victim of online bullying because of her exposure. I hate that she's been made fun of for her disability but did she not realise that starring in an advert would lead to this?

Those ads are very cringey indeed. I have my own disabilities, so do a lot of my friends, and we go and get on with life without having to make out like "Look at us! Having the craic! We're disabled too!"

That actress from the Maltesers ad is online saying she's been victim of online bullying because of her exposure. I hate that she's been made fun of for her disability but did she not realise that starring in an advert would lead to this?

Those ads are very cringey indeed. I have my own disabilities, so do a lot of my friends, and we go and get on with life without having to make out like "Look at us! Having the craic! We're disabled too!"

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

madmaggie wrote: »
    The AIG ad with Mr and Mrs Professional pointing over at the "tradesman". Easy to see who AIG think is their demographic.

He's not a tradesman, he's just the man with the perfect job. All he does is stand there and TOUCH THE WALL. He gets to be on TV too! For touching the wall! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Autosport wrote: »
    Those VHI ads, annoying voices

Yes, that plus the fact that I am getting more convinced by the day that if you don't talk in a certain way 'I was in my own ba--ad' etc, then vhi will find some ****ing excuse somewhere not to pay you a red cent. :mad: