Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

25k for 4 minutes in a lift!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

s15r330 wrote: »
    http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woman-trapped-in-shopping-centre-lift-for-just-over-four-minutes-awarded-25000-35112582.html

Absolute joke, may some act of God cause her exactly 25k worth of damage to her house that insurance won't cover!

Time to try every lift in the country!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

It's a day for it alright

http://bit.ly/2dFExZY

A Dublin Airport ambulance driver who thought her vehicle was going to be struck by a Ryanair plane as it was taking off is suing the Irish Aviation Authority

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

People watching too much Judge Judy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

I have been trap in a lift a lot longer then that , i remember getting out the lift the engineer and company owner outside said "sorry about that", i just carried on walking and got on with my day like a bloody fool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Imagine how much she would have getting if it was an elevator...This thread will just go up and down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Dammit myself and a few friends got stuck in a lift for over an hour as the fire brigade had a more urgent call to deal with. I'm a tool for fobbing it off and getting on with life. Must be more dramatic in the future.

Dramatic = Profit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Hang on a chronic claustrophobia sufferer gets into lift... Something is not right.

Sound like a joke

There's one rule for eggshells, and another for the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭dinorebel

It elevated her symptoms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

dinorebel wrote: »
    It elevated her symptoms.

I feel shafted by the amount awarded.

I bet it lifted her mood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,523 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

She will spend the rest of her life looking behind her back for someone photographing her getting in to a lift.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woman-trapped-in-shopping-centre-lift-for-just-over-four-minutes-awarded-25000-35112582.html

Absolute joke, may some act of God cause her exactly 25k worth of damage to her house that insurance won't cover!

Its always some working class chancer who claims for these things. Or non working class indeed. A neighbor of my parents had several claims against Dublin corpo for tripping etc, and got enough for a hefty deposit on her house.

Its ridiculous, nothing seems to be just a life event any more, it has to be someone's fault and you have to be monetarilycompensated for it. What a greedy grubby society we have become.

She will spend the rest of her life looking behind her back for someone photographing her getting in to a lift.

I'm sure she is taking steps to avoid that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Got2TurnAround

It's a sign of how bad things are when I read this and was surprised it was only 25k. I've seen much larger amounts of money being awarded in the courts for less "traumatic" injuries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Its always some working class chancer who claims for these things. Or non working class indeed. A neighbor of my parents had several claims against Dublin corpo for tripping etc, and got enough for a hefty deposit on her house.

Its ridiculous, nothing seems to be just a life event any more, it has to be someone's fault and you have to be monetarilycompensated for it. What a greedy grubby society we have become.

Legal profession whilst does some good comes across as one huge scam in this country. No doubt be they get their share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Donutz

s15r330 wrote:

Bad enough we have chancers looking for compensation for incidents like this, but I think the judges giving the awards are just as bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,823 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Donutz wrote: »
    Bad enough we have chancers looking for compensation for incidents like this, but I think the judges giving the awards are just as bad.

Well, that escalated quickly.

• Site Banned Posts: 19 Bigby

"Subsequently, she was not able to go into rooms without leaving the door open. She could not go into fitting rooms in shops as she could not bear to have the door closed.

In public toilets, she had to prop her handbag against the door rather than lock it for fear if she did it would not open again."

LOL

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Legal profession whilst does some good comes across as one huge scam in this country. No doubt be they get their share.
    It's entirely possible that the legal fees are equal to, or in excess of, the award.

Nothing unusual about 10k awards with 20k+ legal fees in total. That's why it often pays to settle, even when there is no liability.

I don't think a lawyer should be paid a pittance, by any means. But currently, legal fees are a pisstake, and seem to result in the kind of unjust side-effects like people feeling forced to settle unnecessarily, or people with genuine cases not having access to representation at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

If you suffer from claustrophobia, why would you get into a lift?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

I'm sitting in the car waiting on my gf to finish work. I bought a cup of coffee and a Danish from Centra to snack on whilst I'm on boards.

I spilt it on my lap (my fault :p ) Clumsy me !!
    How much compo do you think I can get for my car smelling like Starbucks for a week?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

The Raptor wrote: »
    If you suffer from claustrophobia, why would you get into a lift?

It was childhood claustrophobia, that she had gotten over until this incident brought it back. Rather conveniently.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i used to be claustrophobic and id always use the styairs,i still use the stairs a lot of the time but if i have kid with me i use the lift

however it seems a lot of money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

I ****ing despise those people that get these kinds of payouts, been through plenty of **** in my life without looking for sympathy never mind a payout and to see chancers getting a years pay for a minor inconvenience is an insult to common decency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

PARlance wrote: »
    Donutz wrote: »

Well, that escalated quickly.

No it was a lift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

Why are judges so careless with money. That 25k had to come from somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

Meanwhile :

http://bit.ly/2dACcQF

One of the State’s s most prolific armed robbers has been arrested during the course of an attempted robbery on a cash-in-transit van in Co Meath.

Gardaí recovered a firearm while they were arresting the three men in their 30s outside a bank in Dunboyne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Not defending the person in the article - but I am not claustrophobic but I have a fear of lifts (and flying) but I sometimes am forced to use a lift.
    A few times while in hospital and in a wheelchair for short periods of time and I near have a panic attack and need calming down, its just a stupid phobia but I can't shake it, I think I am going to die, even if the logical part of my head says "no but lifts have brakes that go if it falls down" etc.

The article person may be a while chancer to be fair.
    But its not implausible that a person with a claustrophobia (or fear of lifts) is forced into one. Not what happened in the article etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,188 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

People really will lie and say anything to get money.

The legal profession, judges included, are equally as bad. Its all one big self-feeding industry. If people weren't applying for claims like this, we'd need less solicitors, barristers and judges....its in their interest to keep all this going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,310 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

:o

Many years ago, I tripped on a pavement that had been repaired (badly) by Dublin Corpo and tore ankle ligaments. Was kept overnight in the Mater and was due to be operated on for it the next morning, but they decided to put it in a cast instead. They still knocked me out for surgery though.

Anyhoo, I got £2,000 from the Corpo about two years later. I was six weeks in a cast and couldn't drive, so it was a real pain. Took almost a year for the ankle to return to full strength again.

I don't feel bad about it, they made a bollox of the footpath and the pain was appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I have chronic claustrophobia since my mid teens and I occasionally get in lifts. Posted about it years back and the reasons are usually the same: I'm late for something and I just grit my teeth, clench my fists and say fcuk it to myself. It's hell and every second the fear builds and builds until the doors open. I honestly think I would have a nervous breakdown if I ever got stuck in a lift.

It's why I hate flying also. Enclosed spaces in general panic me. I think with me it's linked to two things. One, I seen an uncle of mine drown some unwanted kittens in a bag when I was young and I had some sort of panic attack seeing it and worrying for them being trapped and two the 'Pile Ons!' lads used to do at school where one chap would end up face down in the grass while forty other 13-year-olds jumped on top of him (I was face down in that grass once and I could barely breathe).

So leave that woman alone, ya pack of bullies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,602 ✭✭✭Stigura

And Valeyard wins the internet, for best come back Ever! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Maybe it's because we associate the state with the Brits, but the Irish must have the most arseways relationship with their state in Europe.

We completely dissassociate the state from the thing we chuck neverending amounts of money at and the thing that's supposed to provide all our power, roads, saniatation and all that.
    It's just the enemy, so the Irish attitude seems to be that's it's fine to scam your way through life at its expense, somehow missing the fact that it's really just an extension of all the other poor ****ers living next to you that are getting punished.

There was never any class in school for weasling your way through life like this woman or the countless other chancers we hear about and they only ever seem to get slaughtered in the media and around the watercooler, so I can only assume that it's an unconscious thing rooted deep in our psyche that goes hand in hand with our general peasantry and underdogship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,875 ✭✭✭Feisar

Excellent Sir.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

I'm absolutely delighted for her. Wish it happened to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,875 ✭✭✭Feisar

Gbear wrote: »
    Maybe it's because we associate the state with the Brits, but the Irish must have the most arseways relationship with their state in Europe.

We completely dissassociate the state from the thing we chuck neverending amounts of money at and the thing that's supposed to provide all our power, roads, saniatation and all that.
    It's just the enemy, so the Irish attitude seems to be that's it's fine to scam your way through life at its expense, somehow missing the fact that it's really just an extension of all the other poor ****ers living next to you that are getting punished.

There was never any class in school for weasling your way through life like this woman or the countless other chancers we hear about and they only ever seem to get slaughtered in the media and around the watercooler, so I can only assume that it's an unconscious thing rooted deep in our psyche that goes hand in hand with our general peasantry and underdogship.

There's a decent discussion to be had here. I've a good job, nice four bed semi D, nothing to get excited bout but its grand, company car, other benefits etc. however I don't look at my payslip as it annoys me to no end the amount of money I pay Them in taxes every month. Yet I use the roads, drink water from the tap, work for a company that due to our economy is able to provide me with a decent wage.
    Yet I personally don't feel I'm part of anything bigger than my family. There's no sense of greater good outside of me and mine. Sure I'll do anyone a decent turn but the tax I pay goes to a wasteful bunch or to welfare scroungers, which is money we must pay to keep them where they are, without it crime would sky rocket. I have to state here I've absolutely no issue with someone out of work claiming welfare, I'm referring to career wasters.
    I've rambled but to get back to the point I don't identify with the state.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Rezident

This is why I don't buy insurance in Ireland, premiums are insane because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Needles73

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    I have been trap in a lift a lot longer then that , i remember getting out the lift the engineer and company owner outside said "sorry about that", i just carried on walking and got on with my day like a bloody fool!

Likewise in a lift for over 40mins in a Dublin City hotel....surely I should be entitled to at least 250k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I agree, it's a stupid amount of money but that's a sweeping generalisation about "working class' people. This woman indeed has a job and lives in Walkinstown, a middle class area.

Sure, what about that dope that got compensation because she fell while hiking in the Wicklow mountains? Well to do as far as I remember.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0415/782055-teresa-wall-wicklow-way-boardwalk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Indeed.

These people have never worked a day in their lives.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/30000-for-hanafin-mum-after-leinster-house-fall-26657826.html

You might want to moderate that briar you have stuck up your @rse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

That's a joke.

It's like an alcoholic suing a pub for serving them a pint when sober.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

I think some of these judges live in a parallel universe. This should have been thrown out of court and your woman fined for abuse of public services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Birneybau wrote: »
    I agree, it's a stupid amount of money but that's a sweeping generalisation about "working class' people. This woman indeed has a job and lives in Walkinstown, a middle class area.

Becoming a middle class area. Did not start there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I was trapped in a lift in central London for about 4 minutes once. It was horrific. The lift stopped, suddenly dropped, caught after a few feet, started moving up a few feet and dropped again. It happened over and over and over again. I was pressing the alarm and calling out fairly frantically on the intercom. Eventually the lift dropped, stopped and went down instead of up and stopped like normal at the next floor. I nearly fell out of the lift when the doors opened and had to sit on the ground for a few minutes as my legs were like jelly. The staff didn't seem to give a damn although I was insistent that they close that lift off until someone looked at it. I was shaking for the whole tube journey home and it definitely took me a while to not feel anxious in a lift.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Iguana is that a wind up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Its symptomatic of the attitude people have with respect of fraudulent claims, they still see insurance companies as banks with zero consequences for getting a nice cheque.

Now of course this Lady could have suffered genuine psychological trauma as a result of it but should she be compensated?

Personally I don't think so but then again I'm not in the legal profession.

As someone that works in the insurance industry, what I'd like to see happen is caps being put in place for the amount of legal fees available.

Say for whiplash cases, which make up something in the region of 80% of motor claims in this country, a flat legal fee of €2000, not the 30% to 40% fee that's currently the norm.

For more quantifiable injuries such as broken bones, severe ligament damage etc €4000.

Obviously for more the more complex or catastrophic injury claims then higher fees would be required due to the amount of work involved in them.

I GUARANTEE that the number of claims would decrease.

At the moment a simple whiplash case will be awarded on average €15000. Throw on the usual legal fee of even 30%, that's an additional €4500, nice bit of money for not a whole lot of work.

I see claims reports on a daily basis where people involved in low speed accidents (less than 10km ph) but they are saying as a result of the "accident" they have nightmares, when they can sleep that is, they are fearful of driving, afraid while driving in traffic and any other amount of trauma symptoms.

Its as clear as the nose on my face that most people are being fed what to say in order to bump up their compo. Now, other than the claimant, who I wonder would benefit from a higher claim award?

If nuisance claims have the amount of money available in fees capped, then the awards will reduce because it won't be worth the legal systems while to spend time coaching claimants.

People with genuine injuries and effects will get properly compensated because they will be describing genuine ailments rather than the script they have been given.

Of course there will always be chancers and cheats, its the nature of the beast, but if fees are capped it would go a long way to helping fix the issues facing the industry.

It will never happen though, the government and the legal system are intrinsically linked so there is no chance the Oireachtas will dare rock the boat with their cronies in the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Jesus. wrote: »
    Iguana is that a wind up?

Nope, it happened to me 10 years ago in a lift in a major department store on Oxford St. It only seemed to drop a few feet each time but it was enough to make me feel pretty scared each time it happened. And the alarm and intercom not working really added to how scary it was.

I didn't sue though it would have been nice to have had some sort of acknowledgment from the store that it shouldn't have happened and that they'd repaired whatever was wrong with the lift. But of course that would have left them wide open to being sued, so they probably have a policy that would prevent that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

iguana wrote: »
    Nope, it happened to me 10 years ago in a lift in a major department store on Oxford St. It only seemed to drop a few feet each time but it was enough to make me feel pretty scared each time it happened. And the alarm and intercom not working really added to how scary it was.

I didn't sue though it would have been nice to have had some sort of acknowledgment from the store that it shouldn't have happened and that they'd repaired whatever was wrong with the lift. But of course that would have left them wide open to being sued, so they probably have a policy that would prevent that.

You can't help getting scared by something. There's not really anything to be ashamed about. There's not really much you can do about it. It might be silly, but that doesn't necessarily help you much.

At the core of the issue is that you probably weren't actually in any danger, your issues with it were your own fault*, so the notion any lawsuit should follow from it is ludicrous.

If it was a watercooler conversation at work you'd have people rightly cooing messages of support, but getting a payout from it is an entirely different matter.

*I don't mean you're to blame as such, but your problem stems from within you and not directly from an outside force, like if someone dropped an anvil on your toe.