Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you not a proper man if...

• 01-10-2016 5:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭

Are you not a proper man if you don't have a wife and kids by your 40's, or even have had a couple of long-term relationships or one kid behind you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Jinonatron

It would be highly unusual for a man in his forties to never have had a serious relationship I would say. Especially considering how easy women are if they are still single in the thirties. The clock ticks and makes them much more aggressive when attracting men and generally their standards will drop so even men who wouldn't get a look in before would be considered by Women approaching the time where she can no longer get pregnant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

dd972 wrote: »
    Are you not a proper man if you....?

Have a vagina?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Is this your big coming out announcement OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

There is no such thing as a proper man, we are all individuals and not all individuals will conform to whatever stereotype someone has of what makes a person whatever.

I never look at a man and think 'oh he is a proper man, that guy over there is not a proper man'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Jinonatron wrote: »
    It would be highly unusual for a man in his forties to never have had a serious relationship I would say. Especially considering how easy women are if they are still single in the thirties. The clock ticks and makes them much more aggressive when attracting men and generally their standards will drop so even men who wouldn't get a look in before would be considered by Women approaching the time where she can no longer get pregnant

Are you not a proper man if you don't have a wife and kids by your 40's, or even have had a couple of long-term relationships or one kid behind you?

Plenty of men in their 40s with kids they never see, ex partners and kids they don't support....... are they proper?

Plenty of openly gay lads out there who are proper men too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

We used to just call them bachelors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

So long as you're happy what does it matter what others think? The that is the real mark of a "proper man".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Jinonatron wrote: »

Do you live in the real world buddy? I've never met any of these crazed women in their 30s and pretty much every female I know these days is in their 30s.

RE the OP. Perhaps years ago people would have looked down upon people who haven't got kids or a wife. I'm not too far off 40 and I have plenty of friends, mostly male but a few female, who are single with no babies etc.
    It's fine now, the society has changed. If you are single in your 40s embrace it and do what you wouldn't be able to do if you were tied down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

OP, have a yorkie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

We used to just call them bachelors

'Confirmed bachelor' was what they were called round our way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭GeneralVanilla

... if you havent left a two flusher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

... if you havent left a two flusher.

Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

..... You beat a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

I met my husband when he was 44, and he'd never been married or fathered children before, and his mother tells me he really never had a proper long-term relationship before me, either. Well, we've been married four years now, and he certainly seems like a proper man to me, especially when compared to the two worthless bellends I cluelessly married before him. No experience sometimes > bad experience :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

You didn't jump for joy realising that Raiders of the lost ark was on straight after the all Ireland foot ball final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Expect this one to be hijacked by the Irish times brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

You're not a proper man until you've footed turf in the bog and slapped some midges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Haven't cried uncontrollably in public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭slapper999

Your not a proper man if you have to start a thread to make yourself feel like a proper man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Lots those ' proper men' you describe are a'holes aswell op. It's what's inside that counts...

Although.. Hitler wasnt married (in the long term commitment sense!) and he didn't have kids... So maybe decide which you wanna be..

Hitler?
    Joseph Fritzel?

Clock is ticking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

I'm nowhere near my 40's... but I have zero intentions of ever getting married or starting a family.

Does that make me a less "proper" man?

Should I bite the bullet and conform, so as to save face and not emasculate myself? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

You're not a proper man if... you don't have a collection of sticks in the shed for stirring paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

You're a proper man if you can do that loud whistle where you put your fingers in your mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

You're not a proper man if... you don't have a collection of sticks in the shed for stirring paint.

I've welding rods for that job

:smug:

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    Lots those ' proper men' you describe are a'holes aswell op. It's what's inside that counts...

Although.. Hitler wasnt married (in the long term commitment sense!) and he didn't have kids... So maybe decide which you wanna be..

Hitler?
    Joseph Fritzel?

Clock is ticking.

Didn't Hitler marry Eva as a final gesture to her before they both departed life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

ligerdub wrote: »
    Didn't Hitler marry Eva as a final gesture to her before they both departed life?

departed Berlin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭slapper999

Your not a proper man if you piss sitting down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

You're a proper man if you can do that loud whistle where you put your fingers in your mouth.

Wait...I can do that! Does that mean, I'm not a proper woman? :/:)

I'm nowhere near my 40's... but I have zero intentions of ever getting married or starting a family.

Does that make me a less "proper" man?

Should I bite the bullet and conform, so as to save face and not emasculate myself? :P

No its too late. Sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Olishi4 wrote: »
    Wait...I can do that! Does that mean, I'm not a proper woman? :/:)

You're a ladette! Tonight you'll be heading out with Denise Van Outen, Chris Evans, Jamie Theakston, and Gazza. You'll drink pints (!) of lager, then be photographed having curry chips, all before getting up in the morning for an interview/photoshoot with Loaded magazine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

It's the actions that make the man, not some forced standard from society.

ligerdub wrote: »

Ya, that's why I said 'in the long term commitment sense '.
    I wonder was Eva looking forward to a honeymoon and Hitler has to break it to her... "you see Eva, the thing is, I got this issue at work..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

What about the married lads with a few kids. Wives are a total c**ts though. Poor feckers can hardly get out for a beer with their mates. Hen pecked to within an inch of the law. Are they proper men ?

I know a few of that type. Poor bastards !

You're a ladette! Tonight you'll be heading out with Denise Van Outen, Chris Evans, Jamie Theakston, and Gazza. You'll drink pints (!) of lager, then be photographed having curry chips, all before getting up in the morning for an interview/photoshoot with Loaded magazine.

Haha ye and we won't even have to dial for a cab home. Ill just whistle one down :)

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    Ya, that's why I said 'in the long term commitment sense '.
    I wonder was Eva looking forward to a honeymoon and Hitler has to break it to her... "you see Eva, the thing is, I got this issue at work..."

haha it broke him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Real men see the "friend zone" like a grizzled WW2 soldier sees the maginot line! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

RobertKK wrote: »
    we are all individuals'.

I'm not....... :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

RobertKK wrote: »
    I never look at a man and think 'oh he is a proper man, that guy over there is not a proper man'.

That's 'cause you haven't met me yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

ligerdub wrote:
    There are plenty of them.

Are you blaming women for this type of man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Effectively you have failed in your function as a human being. Not necessarily the married part but in failing to reproduce.

Realistically, you have only failed if you actually wanted to get married or have children.

Personally, I have absolutely zilch intention to have a relationship or have children. Scientifically I have failed, but personally I am achieving what I have aimed for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Why are so many men worried about whether they are real men or not
    It comes across as highly insecure and less than properly manly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Not many men rear goats.

Effectively you have failed in your function as a human being. Not necessarily the married part but in failing to reproduce.

Realistically, you have only failed if you actually wanted to get married or have children.

Personally, I have absolutely zilch intention to have a relationship or have zero. Scientifically I have failed, but personally I am achieving what I have aimed for.

I think this is quite interesting. In that people aim to achieve things in life , and the only reason they are doing so is that they feel society is telling them they must do this or that, rather than it's what they really want for themselves, or that they have even though about it.

learn_more wrote: »
    I think this is quite interesting. In that people aim to achieve things in life , and the only reason they are doing so is that they feel society is telling them they must do this or that, rather than it's what they really want for themselves, or that they have even though about it.

I thought that what Richard was saying was, that primarily our bodies do want to reproduce, nothing to do with pressure from society but now society and our own beliefs and desires for life and ourself give us a choice in that and as long as we are happy with that choice, it doesn't matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I'm just asking how a man can blame a woman for him not going out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

sullivlo wrote:
    Ooooh. Why does the bull wear a nose ring?

To put a chain on him if he is dangerous, if he runs he trips over the chain

Olishi4 wrote: »
    I thought that what Richard was saying was, that primarily our bodies do want to reproduce, nothing to do with pressure from society but now society and our own beliefs and desires for life and ourself give us a choice in that and as long as we are happy with that choice, it doesn't matter.

Yes sure, I was just extrapolating on what he was saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

sullivlo wrote:
    For the dairy farmers, do you make your own butter? And do you drink the milk straight from the cow (after cooling), or wait for the pasteurised and homogenised milk?

Used to drink it straight, but lately drink milk from the supermarket.

Colser wrote:
    Are you blaming women for this type of man?

Emmmmmm....no!