Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it that time of year already...

• 26-09-2016 10:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭

Up early tomorrow so I got myself to bed early. Lying in bed having a quick flick of boards before heading off to sleep.

I feel something on my neck, must be the duvet I says to myself. I move the duvet and have a scratch. Feel something on my wrist, turn the light from my phone screen towards it and there he is, little 8 legged bollox.

I've no petrol to burn the house down so I got a pint glass, trapped the little bugger and fired him out the window.

Is that it now, are our 8 legged friends about to invade? I don't mind them around the house but I prefer a nice blonde on the pillow beside me truth be told.

Anyway, no sleep for me -_-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

It's mating season.
    They are harmless.
    Put In a cup or pint glass and leave outside.
    Problem sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Go, buy some petrol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

It's mating season.
    They are harmless.
    Problem sorted.

My bed is strictly for me to mate in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

It's mating season.
    They are harmless.
    Problem sorted.

No....they must be crushed with newspaper

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

Haha yeah right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Just off to bed now. Sooooooo wishing I'd never opened this thread:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Thought this might be of interest:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0922/818448-spiders/

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

GIANT SEX SPIDERS ARE INVADING YOUR BED TONIGHT

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Knock on the door first. It's mating season apparently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Check for 8 socks on the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Yeah I'm in bed too and I'm blonde and have only two legs. Don't fancy some critter all over me when I'm asleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

On average, per year while asleep, 8 spiders will crawl on you and wave their willies in your face, that's a fact you can take to the bank

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Knock on the he door first. It's mating season apparently!

One of the local tomcats took up residence in my bed today :eek:

I like having spiders about, but not that bastard cat, he arrived in one morning I was having a lie in, jumped on the bed and nearly gave me heart failure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I was lying in front of the fire earlier and this massive clock the size of your fist waltzed across the living room floor like he owned the place.

Bastard.

I was lying in front of the fire earlier and this massive clock the size of your fist waltzed across the living room floor like he owned the place.

Bastard.

Make sure you get rent, he's there to stay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Once you've opened and read this thread...it starts..

As you sleep, the screen on your phone will activate. A dark grey shimmer. Slowly, and carefully, legs emerge from the screen, then a large hairy body. Then another set of legs and body, then another and another....
    Slowly they make their way to your bed, they crawl into your ears and lay eggs. Then leave the way they came. The eggs grow, then hatch, and the small hungry critters, eat you alive from the inside. All because you read this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I was full sure from the title and the first sentence of the OP, that this was going to be a thread about fireworks going off and Halloween... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Just before ye sleep...

I woke up one day and thought what if a spider burrowed up my nose and nested in my sinus passages?
    Freaked me out all day.

Make sure you get rent, he's there to stay!

He accidentally tripped and fell onto the shovel I was using to sweep up the dust in front of the stove, poor fcuker.

There's a sequel in this. Clocks 2: Time is ticking

Gimme 10 minutes, I can do better!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I was full sure from the title and the first sentence of the OP, that this was going to be a thread about fireworks going off and Halloween... :P

I was full sure it would be righteous indignation about some shop having Christmas sections open.

At least we don't have that parasite that slithers up your penis and does all sorts of damage here.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

RIP :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,051 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Bastard.

Clock :confused:

Typo? Autocorrect? My new word for the day (every day being a school day and all that)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

byte wrote: »

He's with the angles now

byte wrote: »

It was him or me.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Clock :confused:

Typo? Autocorrect? My new word for the day (every day being a school day and all that)?

Clock as in Ringo, Paul, John and George

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭ongarite

careful you don't swallow him in bed tonight or maybe your into that kind of thing..

Ah.

I think......

(That'll be the school day option then)

Euwwwww those feckers need squashing.

Now my spider in the downstairs lol who eats the random insects?

Most welcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

Apparently spiders don't like if you burn peppermint oil in a burner. So they don't go anywhere near a room with it burning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Funny you should say that. There was a massive one, a light brown one on my bedroom wall about an hour ago. I had to trap him with a glass and paper, and flush him down the toilet.

He was almost surfing the water flushing him away he was so big. I don't think there's any in my actual bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Don't! They'll kill you and start to eat you before you even get to the good bit!

The Raptor wrote: »
    Apparently spiders don't like if you burn peppermint oil in a burner. So they don't go anywhere near a room with it burning.

Oh :( that might be why one of my resident spiders is fascinating in one of the downstairs Loos :(

Ah.

I think......

(That'll be the school day option then)

http://www.naturespot.org.uk/species/black-clock-beetle

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

[CSI]His time... had ran out YEAAAAAAAAAAH!!! [/CSI]

*grabs geansai*

Stheno wrote: »
    That was in your bed???? :eek:

Jaysus no!

TBM had to fight one off, I was just linking the poster to it :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Bought one of these a couple of years ago. Best tenner I ever spent, although next door must have an awful problem with spiders considering the amount that get chucked over their wall. :pac:

Nope, not opening that, sorry!

Thanks and all......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

My wife is theoretically not afraid of spiders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Thanks and all......

I can promise it's safe enough, it's quite a nice beetle :D

I was dozily afraid it was going to be a huge spider and was ready to click out of it quickly though.

Although I was recently for reasons that make perfect sense in context, making a spider out of fimo clay for my partner, and was having trouble with the face. So I had multiple images of close-up spider heads on my screen, managing to mildly freak myself out every time I was looking for a reference point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Thanks and all......

It's just one typo away from divorce proceedings if it should be found in the wrong bed

We have a bearded dragon and my oh prefers to feed it live locusts rather than crickets.

Those fecker's regularly escape giving me the creeps

I have crickets come inside in the turf bucket sometimes, amazing that something so wee can make so much noise, they never have accidents though, always make it outside again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Mice are the worst. I lose my sh1t like a sh1t collector with amnesia this time of year with mice. Mice are the worst of all invaders.

I have crickets come inside in the turf bucket sometimes, amazing that something so wee can make so much noise, they never have accidents though, always make it outside again.

Noisey feckers cheep cheep all day long

Thankfully dragon eats them

Mice are the worst. I lose my sh1t like a sh1t collector with amnesia this time of year with mice. Mice are the worst of all invaders.

Had a wee harvest mouse in the house a few weeks ago, lovely wee things, he was luckier than Kylie Lucky missed him. Common mice are bastards though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I pick them up in tissue paper and throw them out the window. Just can't bring myself to flush them down the toilet anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

few of these to keep field mice away, be grand :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

hairyslug wrote: »
    On average, per year while asleep, 8 spiders will crawl on you and wave their willies in your face, that's a fact you can take to the bank

This happened me but I thought they were only trying to make me jealous of them :(