Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Pointable fines' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

beertons wrote: »
    Sell car. Buy comfy shoes. Start walking.

Sell laptop too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Kings Inns or bust

Mccabe96 wrote: »
    I was told I was pulled for 'breaking a right light' and not having an fully qualified driver with me. Which one was true and the other isn't.

Ah my mistake apologies. Well the other thing to learn is the guard is always going to be believed. I'd guess at 4 points so don't drive unaccompanied again, get two more and see the comfy shoes comment above (depending on when you got the learner permit.)

BTW wanna know who's more of a prick than a jumped up guard? Pop along to your District Court and plead not guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Someone just posted on the thread saying I won't get points for both of them, ill only get points for one offence?

Correct but if you bring to court more will be added.

I would also suggest lose the attitude on here and name calling as you will get banned

Someone just posted on the thread saying I won't get points for both of them, ill only get points for one offence?

That was my understanding but I'll defer to others on that. Or is it just at court they'll only do you for one?

I would also suggest lose the attitude on here and name calling as you will get banned

The mods will make that guard sound like a saint :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Mccabe96

So it's okay for people to joke about me then? I didn't ask people to comment stuff like that, I know I was in the wrong for driving unaccompanied but that still doesn't give these the right to comment dumb stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

Mccabe96 wrote:

I wouldn't ( no offense to who posted it) place a bet on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Mccabe96

Ah my mistake apologies. Well the other thing to learn is the guard is always going to be believed. I'd guess at 4 points so don't drive unaccompanied again, get two more and see the comfy shoes comment above (depending on when you got the learner permit.)

BTW wanna know who's more of a prick than a jumped up guard? Pop along to your District Court and plead not guilty.

I've got the learner permit about 5 months now, and I agree with that but there's still no need for the guard to be a pri*k to me either, after he dealt with me he then went along and pulled another driver in up the road, he was alone in the van. Then I pulled into a parking spot up the road to make a call and he pulled up behind me and sat there for a few minutes then decided to just drive off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,321 ✭✭✭Allinall

and why was this guard such a prick, using foul language for no reason.

I f**ing love the irony.

Mccabe96 wrote:
    I've got the learner permit about 5 months now, and I agree with that but there's still no need for the guard to be a pri*k to me either, after he dealt with me he then went along and pulled another driver in up the road, he was alone in the van. Then I pulled into a parking spot up the road to make a call and he pulled up behind me and sat there for a few minutes then decided to just drive off.

Again only your word that the Guard was being a pr***, but I assume since you have the learner permit 5 months the theory test should be fresh in your mind. Was there a question on it about driving unaccompanied? Even if there wasn't there has been an increase in advertising the fact that it's illegal to drive unaccompanied. You were in the wrong end of story whether the Guard has an attitude or not is irrelevant. Learn your lesson and move on.

OP while I'll continue to monitor this thread of comedy gold, and thanks for that, I'd be very surprised if most of the posters didn't drive on their provisionals (as they were) or break red lights occasionally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

looozzzhhh the ha-he-chude
    :pac::pac::pac:

OP while I'll continue to monitor this thread of comedy gold, and thanks for that, I'd be very surprised if most of the posters didn't drive on their provisionals (as they were) or break red lights occasionally.

More than likely they did, but they choose not to go on the Internet and rant about getting caught. :-)

nhunter100 wrote: »
    More than likely they did, but they choose not to go on the Internet and rant about getting caught. :-)

Was legal when I did it (2nd provisional)

Same for a lot here I'd say

I went through the lights while they were on Amber and they didn't even turn red till after I passed but he thought I passed through a red and I thought the opposite so it's both our words against each other but obviously he'll have the power here.

Hmm..
    1. You went through the lights while they were both green then they turned amber
    or
    2. You went through the lights "while they were amber"

Which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,453 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Was waiting on an idiot like you to comment . If you don't have the answer to my question then leave :-)

If you only want responses you agree with maybe you should leave?

I'll hazzard a guess that most of us would have at least followed the basic strategy of... don't drive up a cops jacksie whilst breaking the law.. Indicate ta fe*k and avoid avoid avoid.

nhunter100 wrote: »

I was in the pub one night with a rather well know (in my circles) young junior barrister with a few pints on him. Cue some young bright thing recounting the story of getting pulled and now having to go to court. Her attitude, he felt, needed some adjustment and my God he let rip in his charming and to the point mockery.

Frankly I think the OP is getting off rather lightly.

This useless and undesired anecdote was brought to you by way of saying I take your point! :pac:

As the officer told me , an amber means 'prepare to stop' which I drove through the lights before the amber even came on.

No. What he told you was Amber means stop if safe to do so. I'm going to go ahead and presume you filtered that to mean what you think it should mean.

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    I'll hazzard a guess that most of us would have at least followed the basic strategy of... don't drive up a cops jacksie whilst breaking the law.. Indicate ta fe*k and avoid avoid avoid.

I ended up face to face with one on an junction driving to my first test. The resulting brown trousers did not improve my driving during said test!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Stoogie

Was legal when I did it (2nd provisional)

Sane for a lot here I'd say

i passed my test before i could afford a car 17
    no way my parents would give me a car when I wasn't legal.

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    Hmm..
    1. You went through the lights while they were both green then they turned amber
    or
    2. You went through the lights "while they were amber"

Which is it?

Perfectly consistent story to be fair, I'm not saying I believe it. But you can start through a junction on Green Green and the light on the far side of the junction can change to amber, the OP would have no reason to stop or to have considered stopping.

I once got pulled for doing 180 - now I know what the guard meant - he had to do 180 to catch up to me. I managed to bite my tongue and not say are you on drugs guard? I'm a fat man in a Fiat 500 driving into the wind - 180 me arse, but I've been around a bit longer than the OP!

To be fair though the only way the guard is going to know if the OP went through amber though is if he'd just gone through, I suspect an element of spin from the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Yeah, I admit right up front I drove alone on L plates. I also was using a full American license within its period of validity to drive in Ireland, just like I would if I was here on holiday in a rented car. I asked the village garda and he said, sure, if anyone stops you for driving alone on an L plate, show your American license and the letter from your Irish insurance company showing ten years no claims bonus and you'll be grand.

Part of the reason I have twenty years straight of clean driving record (out of thirty years driving experience) is because I know enough to shut up and fight the ticket in court, not on the side of the road with a jittery cop having a bad day.

Speedwell wrote: »
    Yeah, I admit right up front I drove alone on L plates. I also was using a full American license within its period of validity to drive in Ireland, just like I would if I was here on holiday in a rented car. I asked the village garda and he said, sure, if anyone stops you for driving alone on an L plate, show your American license and the letter from your Irish insurance company showing ten years no claims bonus and you'll be grand.

Part of the reason I have twenty years straight of clean driving record (out of thirty years driving experience) is because I know enough to shut up and fight the ticket in court, not on the side of the road with a jittery cop having a bad day.

We don't have jittery cops here. We have grumpy guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

The guard was in front of you. If the lights were green when you went through, then turned amber, how would the guard know this?

Sounds like they were amber when the guard was going through and you were up his hole. Why would you draw attention to yourself like this when you are driving unaccompanied?

The guard was in front of you. If the lights were green when you went through, then turned amber, how would the guard know this?

Sounds like they were amber when the guard was going through and you were up his hole. Why would you draw attention to yourself like this when you are driving unaccompanied?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Harry Bosch.

If the Guard issues fines for both offences it will be 2 points and an 80 Euro fine for driving unaccompanied and then 3 points and 80 Euros for breaking the light. An amber light can be treated as running a red.He might show discretion when sending these in after the fact but i doubt it, time will tell. You might want to change you driving habits quick, if you get those points you could be banned fairly quick, i think the threshold is 7 for drivers with learner permits but it depends. You will need to wait until the postman arrives!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,867 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Closing in 3 2 1
    ...closed, and infractions issued for personal abuse.

OP - Please do not post in this forum again until you have read, are familiar with, and agree to abide by the forum Charter.

-Shield.