Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever done a runner?

• 13-09-2016 12:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭

Just reading there where a couple in the UK treated themselves to a slap up meal of T-bone steaks, chocolate pudding and Bailey's in a country pub, but afterwards jumped over a hedge and pegged it.
    Couple ran up a £150 bill dining on steak, wine and spirits at a country pub – before jumping over a hedge

A young couple ran up a £150 bill feasting on steak, fine wine and spirits before jumping over a hedge and into the night in a brazen dine-and-dash scam.

Police are hunting for the thieves after they left without paying at the Unruly Pig, in Bromeswell, near Woodbridge, Suffolk, last Friday night.

The suspects, both in their twenties, enjoyed a cold meat platter, chilled soup, T-bone and rump steak and chocolate pudding as well two bottles of Italian white wine, four liqueurs, three cognacs and sparkling water.

Reminds me of when I was 17 and about eight of us arrived back in Dublin from Féile, most of us not having eaten in 48 hours or so (spent all our cash on the old drink of course) and having just watched everyone on the train back up tucking into all sorts of grub. Sure we were fit to ate the hand of someone and so we all bailed into a chippers in the city centre, tucked into some fish and chips, beans and the like.... then legged it. Ran all the way to Fairview if I remember right. I did pay my own share back though many years later when I left them a €12.75 tip after a fry up.

How about yourselves, ever done a runner to avoid paying for a mean or cab fare etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,754 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

No, I'm not a thief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Never

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

No. I'm not a c*nt (contrary to popular opinion!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

no, im not a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

Yes - from an Asian restaurant at the top of South Great Georges Street. With a friend and my now wife. We asked for the bill on a thursday evening - no sign of it after 10 minutes. Asked again (and also could they throw us down some sakes) - the sakes arrived, but no bill. tried to make eye contact with the waitress a thrid time a few mins after asking for the second time - steadfastly ignored. So we walked out one by one, with the agreement that if any of us were stopped, we'd pay.

Never got stopped. Delicious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Dardania wrote: »
    Yes - from an Asian restaurant at the top of South Great Georges Street. With a friend and my now wife. We asked for the bill on a thursday evening - no sign of it after 10 minutes. Asked again (and also could they throw us down some sakes) - the sakes arrived, but no bill. tried to make eye contact with the waitress a thrid time a few mins after asking for the second time - steadfastly ignored. So we walked out one by one, with the agreement that if any of us were stopped, we'd pay.

Never got stopped. Delicious

You obviously had wanton disregard to their business...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

On my 21st birthday I legged it with a kebab from some place. I was out of my bin at the time and have no idea why I did it. Genuinely out of character.
    I did anonymously pay for that kebab the next time I visited that city....18 years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

My wife knew a few people that did, years ago, but one of them fell during the escape, broke his ankle and got caught. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

whiskeyman wrote: »
    They obviously had wanton disregard to their own business.

Wouldn't do it myself, though.

He didn't specifically say they had wontons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

They restaurant obviously had wanton disregard for customer service and being paid, lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

Did it once in Eddie Rockets after a rake of pints. One of the lads ate the bill and we all walked out.

Obviously it's not a great thing to do. I certainly wouldn't do it now, but someone saying they went back and paid 18 years later is a liar, or a liar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

eoghan104 wrote: »
    Someone saying they went back and paid 18 years later is a liar, or a liar.

Why do you think I am a liar? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Diddakoi

I know I couldn't jump over a hedge after a share of 2 bottles of Italian wine, 4 liqueurs and 3 cognacs !!

eoghan104 wrote: »
    but someone saying they went back and paid 18 years later is a liar, or a liar.
    Winterlong wrote: »
    Why do you think I am a liar? :confused:

To be fair, he gave you a choice between being a liar or a liar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Nope! But when my boyfriend lived in Toronto, I was over there for a few days and we went for dinner in this pub that had seats outside near the waterfront. He had to leave to take a work call and was gone for ages, and I really needed to pee so I got up and went inside to find a bathroom.

When I came back out, our table was taken and I went to find the lady to pay and she was very surprised to see me, she had assumed we left!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

White wine with steak:eek:
    That's a far worse crime in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

My old boss told me years ago he did some freelance computer work for a restaurant that signed off on the work as good and then refused to pay the invoice. After six months he went to dinner there, racked up a bill just below the invoice amount, and left his invoice with "paid in kind" written across it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

alf66 wrote: »
    I know I couldn't jump over a hedge after a share of 2 bottles of Italian wine, 4 liqueurs and 3 cognacs !!

probably fell over.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Once in Against the Grain

Was out with a couple of people from work, I went to the toilet and came back and the plates were gone, so i assumed one of my team paid, she assumed i paid.

The kitchen closed and no one gave us a bill.. discovered the mix up the next day and called them, dropped in a few days later to pay and credit to them, they only took 50%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Myself and a friend once stumbled into a fancy hotel in tenerife and piled our plates high with bacon,sausages,eggs,beans,the works from a breakfast buffet and we tucked in.We were expecting it to cost an arm and a leg but we were on our first day of holiday and were fairly flush.So there we were,with happy bellys waiting for a bill.Got the attention of the waiter,who strangely disappeared and returned with a jug of orange juice,and then proceeded to hover around us asking what part of Ireland were from and other small talk turned out he was a big hurling fan(despite him being of North African origin.It was at this point,exasperated,that we threw 30quid on the table and bid him farewell. The look on his face was priceless,he thanked us profusely,and said he would personally attend to us for the rest of our stay(we weren't even staying there but said nothing out of politeness).It was only as we were heading out through the dining room towards the front door that it dawned on us,everyone was wearing wristbands!We could have had the feast for free,unchallenged, had we not got the attention of the waiter.Neither of us felt guilty because whatevers left behind gets binned, and yer man got the equivalent of a days wages as a tip.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

An acquaintance of mine did it from an Eddie Rockets while very inebriated.

He legged it out the door and sprinted down the street, realising when he had gotten several hundred yards away that;
    A) nobody was chasing him.
    And
    B) He'd left his coat behind which was worth several times more than the bill he'd just dodged.

Served him right really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

In the late 80s, while at college, I did a few summers on the building sites in London. One year, I worked with 2 brothers from Devon (early 20s, 6' 2" approx.) who worked as scaffolders and were both built like brick sh!thouses. For those who don't know, scaffolding is a very physically demanding and well-paid job in the construction industry, where you tend to get some very well-built and rather unsavoury characters.

I didn't witness them do it but believed them when they told me that they went together for a meal almost every weekend in whatever part of London took their fancy. They had whatever they liked on the menu with beer/wine etc. and racked up a substantial bill. After the meal (and coffee), they would get up and walk together out of the restaurant. Often nobody said anything to them but, if anyone did, their stock reply was "we're not paying for that sh!t", even though the meal may have been delicious. Whatever happened, they didn't stop but continued walking calmly out the door without looking back.

Now, in fairness, it was a different world back then, with no internet or social media to "name and shame" people, and no smartphones to catch them on camera but they said they never got anything but minor hassle and abuse from staff/owners, which didn't bother them in the slightest. I can well understand why, as (even though I got on well with them) they were genuine hard men who would take some stopping - I certainly wouldn't have tried it had I been a restaurant owner!

On several occasions, they invited me to join them but I demurred - I couldn't have enjoyed the meal knowing what was coming at the end. Most Monday mornings, at tea break, they would regale me with the story of the "free" meal they had the previous weekend, with a critique of the restaurant. Quite the gourmands, they were!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

No, I happen to hold the archaically quaint view that one pays one's way in the world.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Fluffy Cat 88

I did but it was accidental :(

New cafe opened up in town, self service type place. Got a lovely lasagne with chips and a big salad, 2 coffees (shift workers like their coffee), and the nice lady said "ah you're grand, pay me when you're finished".

Guzzled the lot and forgot to pay. Driving back to work when I realised. I went back straight away, ran in, paid and apologised profusely . She said "ah sure I never even noticed, you're very honest thanks very much".

About 2 weeks later it closed down. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Once in Against the Grain

Was out with a couple of people from work, I went to the toilet and came back and the plates were gone, so i assumed one of my team paid, she assumed i paid.

The kitchen closed and no one gave us a bill.. discovered the mix up the next day and called them, dropped in a few days later to pay and credit to them, they only took 50%

You know what, on two occasions now their sister pub The Brew Dock have done similar with me, and one of their Galway pubs have done the same with my brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

You know what, on two occasions now their sister pub The Brew Dock have done similar with me, and one of their Galway pubs have done the same with my brother.

Probably not accidental at all,maybe they just rightly assumed you were a lovely bloke ;)

A few times in hotels where breakfast wasn't included in the room price but I had it anyway and said nothing. They charge enough for the room anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

A few times in hotels where breakfast wasn't included in the room price but I had it anyway and said nothing. They charge enough for the room anyway.

Anywhere I've been, they ask for your room number. How would you get away with that?

When I was a student, I was asked out to a dinner at a nice local restaurant by a couple who had asked a good few out to celebrate their engagement. They made a big thing out of taking everyone out for a meal, and while I didn't know them all that well, a free meal to a student is a free meal you don't refuse.

They took us out and we all ordered, and being a nice guest I made sure I didn't order anything particularly expensive, unlike some others who boozed up and ordered steaks bigger than an average dog. At the end of the meal, after every thanked the couple for their generosity, and toasted them happiness in their future life, I went off to the loo to get ready for the walk home and like has happened a few people, when I came out, nearly everyone had left apart from some people I didn't really know, so off I went.

Turned out the couple 'hosting' this dinner party expected everyone to pay for themselves and I'd skipped out without paying. They'd repeatedly said I was their guest and to order whatever I want, it was their party, etc., etc. I went back and paid the £50 for the meal I had - it would have been much more if I was a drinker, but I never spoke to the happy couple again as it was £50 I simply couldn't afford. A decision reinforced by the wedding invitation asking for 'at least' £200 in cash or vouchers. From a student.

The moral of the story is there's no such thing as a free lunch. Or dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I've had meals I paid for and didn't eat but I never stole food, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Candie wrote: »
    When I was a student, I was asked out to a dinner at a nice local restaurant by a couple who had asked a good few out to celebrate their engagement. They made a big thing out of taking everyone out for a meal, and while I didn't know them all that well, a free meal to a student is a free meal you don't refuse.

They took us out and we all ordered, and being a nice guest I made sure I didn't order anything particularly expensive, unlike some others who boozed up and ordered steaks bigger than an average dog. At the end of the meal, after every thanked the couple for their generosity, and toasted them happiness in their future life, I went off to the loo to get ready for the walk home and like has happened a few people, when I came out, nearly everyone had left apart from some people I didn't really know, so off I went.

Turned out the couple 'hosting' this dinner party expected everyone to pay for themselves and I'd skipped out without paying. They'd repeatedly said I was their guest and to order whatever I want, it was their party, etc., etc. I went back and paid the £50 for the meal I had - it would have been much more if I was a drinker, but I never spoke to the happy couple again as it was £50 I simply couldn't afford. A decision reinforced by the wedding invitation asking for 'at least' £200 in cash or vouchers. From a student.

Jesus, if you were relying on assurances from the couple that you were their guest, that is legally actionable. Of course, a student too poor to drop 50 on a dinner is not going to be in a position to hire a solicitor, I understand that. But how scummy of the couple.

Speedwell wrote: »
    Jesus, if you were relying on assurances from the couple that you were their guest, that is legally actionable. Of course, a student too poor to drop 50 on a dinner is not going to be in a position to hire a solicitor, I understand that. But how scummy of the couple.

I know, it still grates when I think of it. I think the misleading was deliberate, they wanted a nice party but didn't want to pay for it and relied on peoples manners to get away with it. All they did was make themselves unpopular.

One friend of my went to town on the menu, wine for each course and a couple of brandies with coffee afterwards as well, the works. His bill came to £127. He was starving for weeks afterwards.

I kind of felt he deserved it for taking advantage though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

That reminds me of something similar that happened with my mothers family.
    My mom passed away when I was 18, and the day she was buried was the last time I spoke to them. They're not particularly nice people and the least we had to do with them, the better.
    They're mostly very false, appearances is very important to them but at everyone else's expense.

Anyway, my moms aunt came home from California a few years ago, and I would be quite close to them, but she wanted to meet all the Irish relations. She asked me if I would ask them if they were interested in catching up, she was in her 80s and it was her last trip to Ireland so wanted to see as many people as she could.

Begrudgingly I called the least septic cousin and asked her to ask around if anyone was interested, we were going for dinner that sat night and call me back with numbers. We had booked one restaurant at X time.
    Cousin rang back with numbers, I think about 16 of them were coming. (I was expecting 5, the others wouldn't have known the Americans) she told me to book another restaurant as the menu was better and was only a little bit more expensive... Alright, I booked the suggested one and Saturday night rolled on around.

We had the place booked for about 30, and this particular family started to arrive. There was all the original cousins (my moms first cousins) their husbands and wives, their kids and in two cases, their grandkids.
    The restaurant was really annoyed as a lot more came than we had booked for and we couldn't all sit together. They made sure they got in sitting with the aunt/cousins from America anyway.

The family alcoholic, the last time I saw her she was buying tesco value vodka and the cheap lemonade, was ordering cocktails to beat the band. They got the bar tab going, settling in for a right session. They were sucking up to the Americans so much they might as well have been rimming them.

I had taken time off work to bring them around and we had done so much while they were in Ireland. Of course they had to tell me where I should have taken them and what we should have done and where would have been better but didn't see them doing much.

Anyway, the restaurant was trying to get us to move on, it was so late and they wanted to close. My mothers cousins husband tapped me on the shoulder and said "Lexie, who's settling this?" And I said well Aidan, it's pay for yourself. I was 22, I don't know where he thought I was getting the cash to pay for it. And id actually rather take my money and set it alight before I'd pay for so much as a glass of water for any of them.

The alcoholic started crying about having no money. My mothers oldest cousin -- who had previously walked out of a line in the bank so as she wouldn't have to talk to me after my mother died -- said it to me that it was bad form to invite someone to something and expect them to pay for themselves, but I didn't think twice about telling me I normally wouldn't be in their company let alone invite them out for dinner, I merely passed on a message to one of them to put the word out if anyone would like to see the family that were home, to let us know for numbers.

It may be stingy but I regret naaaathing

Never.
    That's just an activity for low life's.

I really abhor the idea of dining and dashing. I was actually just thinkinh about this last night. It is so knackery and mean. A lot of restaurants don't make a big profit, there are a lot of costs involved in running one. And everyone involved in getting the meal to your table works hard. If I'm not pleased with a meal, I'll complain and hope for a discount of some kind. But not paying? No, just no.

Elliott S wrote: »
    I really abhor the idea of dining and dashing. I was actually just thinkinh about this last night. It is so knackery and mean. A lot of restaurants don't make a big profit, there are a lot of costs involved in running one. And everyone involved in getting the meal to your table works hard. If I'm not pleased with a meal, I'll complain and hope for a discount of some kind. But not paying? No, just no.

Yeah, its just thieving like any other kind of thieving. No excuse for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭gigantic09

Wouldn't be classed as 'doing a runner' as such but the following is in the same ballpark.Couple of mates of mine were on a night out in galway.They went back to a hotel at the end of the night with a couple of girls they met.It didn't work out with the chicks,but instead of going home they spotted a vacant room nearby and promptly went inside and had a nights kip.Before going to sleep they had the foresight to put out the request for breakfast in bed on the door.So not only had they a free nights kip,they also had a complementary full irish the nect morning.

Anywhere I've been, they ask for your room number. How would you get away with that?

Usually just strolled in passed the people taking room numbers and sat down, they were busy when I walked in or I said I was joining others already seated. On another occasion I just went into the bar and started drinking after the breakfast (the breakfast room opened into the bar) and they never came over to me to ask to settle up nor added it to my bill when I was checking out, that was the only time I actually went out to avoid paying and I'd left a fortune behind the bar between the residents bar and the next day drinking so I wasn't too bothered. The other times I just said nothing but was intending to pay if asked.

Yeah, its just thieving like any other kind of thieving. No excuse for it.

Yes, I don't see how anyone can see it as any different to walking to a shop and shoplifting.

Your story is different though, as is the story of the guy upthread who wasnt paid by the restaurant for work done.

Once I inadvertently shoplifted. It was a total brain fart, accidental moment. But I was mortified and went back as soon as I realised, 30 minutes later or so, to pay and explain what happened. I could not have that on my conscience. It's just a magazine but profit margins are low on items like that so I couldn't just leave it, I had to go and back and pay.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

A couple of places I go out to regularly get the bill wrong as in its missing drinks or desserts etc.

Anytime I point it out they are gobsmacked

I did but it was accidental :(

New cafe opened up in town, self service type place. Got a lovely lasagne with chips and a big salad, 2 coffees (shift workers like their coffee), and the nice lady said "ah you're grand, pay me when you're finished".

Guzzled the lot and forgot to pay. Driving back to work when I realised. I went back straight away, ran in, paid and apologised profusely . She said "ah sure I never even noticed, you're very honest thanks very much".

About 2 weeks later it closed down. :(

I've actually done that too once by accident. In self-service places, it's so easy. But like you, I went back and paid.

The other times I just said nothing but was intending to pay if asked.

Why not just pay without being asked? It's fine to add breakfast on to a room you've booked. There's no issue with that. Would you steal crisps from a bar just because you'd spent a lot of money on booze there? Same thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Im too respectable to do a runner :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Im actually surprised by how rarely it occurs. Like generally it is so easy to get away with it mostly due to the fact that its so rare and workers will not expect it at all. But yeh, worked in several cafes and resturarants over the years and never happened once, was quite shocked tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Virtanen

Never did it myself, only ever seen it once, in an Eddie Rocket's

Guy in his mid-20s, well-dressed so could obviously afford whatever he had. Floor manager chased him out the door, and he must have given up pretty easy as a few seconds later she marches him in to pay, not a look of guilt on his face, like it was a game

Yes, I don't see how anyone can see it as any different to walking to a shop and shoplifting.

Your story is different though, as is the story of the guy upthread who wasnt paid by the restaurant for work done.

Once I inadvertently shoplifted. It was a total brain fart, accidental moment. But I was mortified and went back as soon as I realised, 30 minutes later or so, to pay and explain what happened. I could not have that on my conscience. It just a magazine but profit margins are low are items like that so I couldn't just leave it, I had to go and back and pay.

Well, I did go back and pay as soon as I realised, even knowing I'd be starving for the week.

I did the same thing as you, was clothes shopping and was looking at a belt and slung it over my shoulder so I could pick up something else, then walked out with the belt over my shoulder. As soon as I realised it I brought it back and explained, and they were gobsmacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

By accident. Having a quick bite to eat in Abrakebabra with a girl I was going out with at the time. Walked her back to her house when realised hadn't paid. Went back in later that day to pay, as would be known to some of the staff, who were quite surprised at my honesty.

*I have upgraded were I take a girl out these days ladies ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I accidentally did once. Went back and paid though, nice cafe it was didn't want to be blacklisted from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

My late father (God rest him), told me he once did a runner with a mate of his from The Green Rooster in O'Connell Street.
    Those of a certain age may have heard of the establishment, the place to eat in Dublin in the 40's.
    They realised after the meal that they didn't have the cash.
    He was still guilty about it 40 years later.
    He did say that it closed afterwards after a rat was seen in the window, but that might have been guilt transferrance.