If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

how much is the most you have paid for an item of clothing?

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

I wouldn't be worried about a 2000 bag lasting but I'd be worried about it getting lost/robbed! Do you have insurance for it?

It's covered on my home insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,756 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Most expensive, probably €300 jacket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

The older I get the less I care about clothes. Now 35 and I'm buying the $20 jeans and $6 tshirts. In regards to the jeans some brands can be shabby but some are perfectly fine. I'm currently in a pair of jeans I bought for $20ish some 2 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

€350 jacket reduced to €120.. Most expensive I've paid for retail was €180 for a pair of runners. And yes, it does feel like I'm walking on clouds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

gramar wrote: »
    Can I ask you Andy if you give the money that you don't spend on clothes to people who are starving and homeless?

yes you may ask ...

No :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

£120 pair of strong leather boots (reduced to £80 in a sale!)

I normally buy cheap enough clothes but I do invest in 1 good coat and 1 good pair of boots which will last me several years with care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,343 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I very rarely pay full price for anything and rarely buy in Ireland. it tends to be part of what I do on holiday. the most expensive item of clothing I have is probably a panzer tank leather coat I bought for €80. When I was wearing in Boston in a vintage clothing shop the owner offered me $2.5k for it. have had it for about 20 years and still wear it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

About 140 for pair of boots years ago when on dole. That felt like way too much at time.

Now i never spend more that 60 or 70 for t-shirts, shirts and jumpers and not more than 100 for shoes, jeans and jackets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I tried a shirt on in a shop yeeeears ago.

One of those shop names ya cant pronounce without 2 or 3 goes.

It looked well, felt well, fit well and yer one in the shop said I looked great in it......she was well trained!

She said it was on sale and since I already had it on I thought, fcuk it. Sold.

She went behind the counter and hit a few buttons and said "€180 please, down from €250".

Stone faced with no flinching I just handed her my bank card.....all I could hear inside my head was "Ha, she got you good fcukface....fcccccuuuuukkkkk".

Was a lovely shirt though. Ah good times.

Senor Fancy Shirts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

800 on a good suit.
    A man needs a good suit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Karmella

Generally invest in good pair of boots every now and then for about 150 ...
    My wedding dress cost 650 and in hindsight I'm glad I didn't spend any more on it :rolleyes: :)

I bought a dress for one of my brothers' wedding back in 2004 and paid about 300 I think, but I wore it to a good few other events and weddings after so it was a relatively good investment.

Other than that I spend very little on clothes - tesco / h&m / dunnes would be my staples. Cheap & cheerful :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Probably about 150 euro for my suit. Only ever worn to weddings, interviews and a couple of functions.

Worst value is definitely my stupidly large football jersey collection :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I generally don't buy expensive fashion clothes but a whore for good quality boots and trainers

Earlier this year ...€165 goretex meindl shoes/trainer. Lovely shoes I wear every day .

Last year zamberlan boots €240 fab boots, last pair last me 7 years of wearing everyday walking dogs and mountains.

Would think nothing of paying 50 euros on a good base layer shirt .

Splashed the cash in penney's Friday last and got myself a black plain short sleeve T-Shirt for €3.50 and a pack of 3 Briefs for a fiver :D

Probably the suit for my first proper job interview after university. I was strapped for cash at the time, and my only suit was banjaxed. I was living in London, and went to Hackett's terrifyingly posh townhouse shop on Sloane Street, during the sales.

I found a pretty nice suit-jacket & trousers combo reduced to about £250, which was by-far the cheapest suit in the shop, and also my budget limit. I breezily handed my passcard to the slinky, attractive she-cashier before she even scanned the labels, and tried to look chilled in a way that said, "I don't even care about the price".

She said "£395 please". I gulped. I had assumed the cost of the trousers was included (isn't it always?). Apparently not. £145 (over €200) for a pair of fcuking trousers! I didn't have the heart to say 'I can't afford that', valuing my pride over my student loan, so I swallowed and (luckily), the transaction cleared (thank you Lloyds £20-per-day overdraft).

Even now, I'd find that kind of spending excessive. Most of my clothes are from Gap or similar, and it's very rare spend over €50 on anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

You don't have to spend a fortune to look nice. Today I had a dress from Asos that was about 16 euro. Boots from pennies that cost 23 euro, a blazer on sale from new look that was 12 euro and tights from pennies that was about 4 euro,

Everyone told me i looked good and it cost less than 55 euro head to toe. I think the most expensive item on me was my underwear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

€360 on a Judo suit :)

Otherwise I'm a Dunnes Stores, Pennys guy. And the few suits I have were bought from Burtons for less than €200.

I've never owned the pair of 501's etc.

I don't mind buying secondhand clothes either.

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

380 dollars for my leather jacket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭jackinthemix94

€400 on a RL coat. Avoid the tat from Penneys and Dunnes like plague. Uniqlo is good for well priced basics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,803 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

€850 for a suit couple months ago. Suit 8 years before that was €600, thought I was mental but worth it.

Spend maybe €500 a year on clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭black & white

350 on a North Face coat is the most expensive item but it's well worth it to me. On shirts, I wear expensive brands but only bought on a sale, usually a half price one, so have a lot of Penguin, Lacoste and Tommy in the wardrobe. Work chinos are mostly from Debenhams at 30 a pop and jeans are Tommy also usually bought on sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭AppleBottle

I paid €40 for a winter coat last year, probably the most on one item of clothing.

350 on a North Face coat is the most expensive item but it's well worth it to me. On shirts, I wear expensive brands but only bought on a sale, usually a half price one, so have a lot of Penguin, Lacoste and Tommy in the wardrobe. Work chinos are mostly from Debenhams at 30 a pop and jeans are Tommy also usually bought on sale.

I want to be able to afford a North Face coat one day - the Sky reporters wear them when they do outside broadcasts in the winter and they look so comfortable and warm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

Had a penchant/addiction for Cp Company goggle jackets/cardigans and well cut jeans and indeed nice clothes in general, lots of people would think i was a bit mad but lots wouldn't, i had a great 20's - mid 30's and felt great because i dressed great (in my eyes). As i got/get older i find i don't buy much clothes and make sure my family/kids are happy. How times change but the odd time i buy something it is quality. Some of my jackets are actually worth more than i paid for them, i look after them well and even have the tags (all uniques serial numbers). Another reason i don't need to buy much clothes is because the ones i bought last, with the exception of a few that just fell to pieces, particularly expensive designer trainers, which i would no longer buy. Anyway, Fcuk penneys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

€100 for a pair jeans.

About €130 on a coat. That I lost 2 weeks later. I have spent about €120 on jeans and boots...but don't think I've ever gone over €130. Not a huge spender when it comes to clothes. Get lots in sales.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

I want to be able to afford a North Face coat one day - the Sky reporters wear them when they do outside broadcasts in the winter and they look so comfortable and warm

http://www.adverts.ie/11203573

http://www.adverts.ie/10971017

http://www.adverts.ie/11201680

http://www.adverts.ie/11035633

D0NNELLY wrote: »

Thanks, would never have thought of looking on adverts for clothing... but ah sure why not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,210 ✭✭✭dee_mc

I cleaned most of my shoes and boots this morning (checking them over to see what needs reheeling for winter) and realised again that I waste a lot more money on cheap stuff than I do on expensive stuff - two pairs of boots that cost around €150 each are entering their fifth and sixth winters, while the pair I spent €20 or less on last November are in the charity shop bag now because they were so, so uncomfortable that I only wore them twice. Apart from a couple of splurges for family weddings etc, I tend to spend more on shoes I'll wear 'every day' and buy cheap ones for occasions. I've got 2 pairs of €200+ dressy shoes now, a navy pair and a black pair, and they'll work with most outfits and last for years.
    A wool Sandwich dress that cost €120 was a fantastic bargain, still looked perfect after 3 years of weekly wear and only got donated because I lost weight so it didn't fit anymore.
    I'd rather spend €10 on a pair of jeans in Penneys than €75 on a pair in Debenhams or similar though, because I just can't see the difference in quality when it comes to the type of jeans I like to wear.
    I don't pay as much attention to the price tag as I do to the fabric composition label - wool, cotton and viscose will wash and age better than polyester and acrylic, regardless of the designer or price.