Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell your crooked Irish people story

• 28-08-2016 10:45pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭

It appears we can't help ourselves, we will do over all and anyone to line our pockets.... rumours about Nama, OCI, Politicians and expenses, people claiming welfare, lying about insurance claims, finance Ministers without bank accounts, transport ministers with no licence's, tribunal's without charges, regularly elected dodgy public representatives, shell companies, offshore accounts, dodgy Garda in Donegal...confess all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Speak for yourself, I'm pure sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Yep, I'll paint your house but watch out cause I might steal your ladder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

OP.... Would you ever fcuk off.
    I'll take the card thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

"We", "our" - thanks for the inclusion but I'm afraid I can't claim to belong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭Ericdravancrow

I know a major insurance company that does not carry out work it's paid to do on purpose...It was in the news this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Sorry, haven't time, too many, 2 too many, two too many many

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

So; Ye want us to grass ....? Fcuk off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

This is a little self-loathing, isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

It appears we can't help ourselves, we will do over all and anyone to line our pockets.... rumours about Nama, OCI, Politicians and expenses, people claiming welfare, lying about insurance claims, finance Ministers without bank accounts, transport ministers with no licence's, tribunal's without charges, regularly elected dodgy public representatives, shell companies, offshore accounts, dodgy Garda in Donegal...confess all.

How is this different from any other country in the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

How is this different from any other country in the world?

Well actually it is there are countries in the world where honesty is the cultural norm.
    In Ireland its impossible now to trust or take anything at face value.

archer22 wrote: »
    Well actually it is there are countries in the world where honesty is the cultural norm.
    In Ireland its impossible now to trust or take anything at face value.

Which countries are these?

Places like New Zealand, Canada, Germany, Denmark, Finland,Singapore, just to name a few

Canada gave us the crack smoking mayor and is has the whole Senate expenses scnadal

Singapore has issues with politicians and banks involved with money laundering.

Germany has the whole Volkswagen emissions.

Denmark has the media scandal with a celebrity magazine in the firing line stealing celebs details and credit card transactions. It also turns out they were selling fake honey.

Finland is still getting over the campaign finance scandal and the electric distribution scandal.

New Zealand is dealing with a national company involved with corruption overseas. They also have the 'Roast Busters' scandal involving gangs intoxicating underage girls.

Every country has some levels of corruption. We are no different.

Canada gave us the crack smoking mayor and is has the whole Senate expenses scnadal

Singapore has issues with politicians and banks involved with money laundering.

Germany has the whole Volkswagen emissions.

Denmark has the media scandal with a celebrity magazine in the firing line stealing celebs details and credit card transactions. It also turns out they were selling fake honey.

Finland is still getting over the campaign finance scandal and the electric distribution scandal.

New Zealand is dealing with a national company involved with corruption overseas. They also have the 'Roast Busters' scandal involving gangs intoxicating underage girls.

Every country has some levels of corruption. We are no different.

I said where HONESTY IS THE CULTURAL NORM i didn't say crime free:rolleyes:

Hardly cultural norm by the sounds of it now.

Lets put it this way...in everyday life in those countries you are far less likely to find Shysters trying to rip you off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Crooked don't have no nationality, mmmm hmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Lets put it this way...in everyday life in those countries you are far less likely to find Shysters trying to rip you off.

I'd say that a bit naive tbf, shysters are everywhere

Crooked don't have no nationality, mmmm hmm.

sing it child!

Balls. Big hairy sweaty balls.

Shysters are a universal human trait. They are everywhere. Whether it be big city bankers, or the Del boys selling knockoff goods. Could be Dublin, could be Dubai, could be Dessie, could be Dewas. Every country has them, every country is a little bit corrupt.

I honestly think we are no worse than many, many, many others. In fact we are probably a lot better than a great number of the countries out there.

Shysters are a universal human trait. They are everywhere. Whether it be big city bankers, or the Del boys selling knockoff goods. Could be Dublin, could be Dubai, could be Dessie, could be Dewas. Every country has them, every country is a little bit corrupt.

I honestly think we are no worse than many, many, many others. In fact we are probably a lot better than a great number of the countries out there.

Its actually one of the most corrupt most rotten countries on earth and has been since its creation...but if you want to believe otherwise thats your right.I won't bother with arguing with you over it.

Where?

Fine then. Any proof we are the worst?

We're so bad at being corrupt we get caught!

Not when it comes to 'expenses'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Gurl, acks the native Americans and Maoris how damn honest the populations of Canada and NZ are and you'll hear a different damn tune. Can I get a 'HELL YEAH'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Well that's a complete load of b0llocks. We are ranked in the top 20 for least corrupt country as measured by Transparency International.

http://www.transparency.org/cpi2015

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corruption_Perceptions_Index

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I was hoping to get some juicy stories of dodgy dealings on this thread. Disappointing so far.

I did have a guy tell me about some deal done around the crash where a developer (up to his tits in debt) knew he was going into nama, so did some deal to buy worthless property off a property owner, thus saddling himself with extra debt which he new would never be paid off anyway. Property owners got rid of the land, developer got a kickback in cash, bank manager got a kickback for facilitating the deal. Literally heard it down the pub, may have been bull**** but the guy seemed to have intimate knowledge of it. Prob happened all over the country.

Gurl, acks the native Americans and Maoris how damn honest the populations of Canada and NZ are and you'll hear a different damn tune. Can I get a 'HELL YEAH'?

That's too much cultural appropriation for one night...

Someone hold ma errungs...

It is? I'd be thinking more along the lines of south American and African countries for most corrupt on earth.

Although I would agree there are likely to be less corrupt countries than Ireland too. I do think how corrupt Ireland is can be overstated though.

An apartment block was built with scaffolding bar used instead if a concrete piller...just one but it was up through all the floors, builder tools me to 'F' off when I spotted them.

Are we more corrupt that Russua...

Eh, no.

We're in the baby infants of corrupt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

It is? I'd be thinking more along the lines of south American and African countries for most corrupt on earth.

Once someone gets above a certain level in Irish politics and/or business they are basically untouchable. If the truth does slip out somewhere they will be protected and in the incredibly rare situations when they do see the inside of a court room they will receive the softest sentences imaginable if convicted. A couple of years at the very most in some holiday camp like Loughan House or Shelton Abbey. This country is marinaded in corruption, it would give a lot of African and South American countries a run for their money.

But for 4.5million soul's we are bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

According to boards we're among the dysfunctional, corrupt, dishonest, closed minded, lazy, stupid people on earth. Yet despite it all have one of the safest countries on earth with a standard of living billions of people can only dream of.

If anything, all these self loathing threads are complimenting Irish people, since without even putting our minds to it we've managed to rise above our (many, many) supposed faults to become one of the best places on earth to live.

Look at how certain counties elect Politicians, because they claim their 'up' against Dublin for the local man... people are sheep and cheer them on... crooked stories follow these guys every year.
    Kerry, Tipperary, Dublin, Galway, Limerick, Wexford to name a few recent local representatives for the people.

Once someone gets above a certain level in Irish politics and/or business they are basically untouchable. If the truth does slip out somewhere they will be protected and in the incredibly rare situations when they do see the inside of a court room they will receive the softest sentences imaginable if convicted. A couple of years at the very most in some holiday camp like Loughan House or Shelton Abbey. This country is marinaded in corruption, it would give a lot of African and South American countries a run for their money.
    The last sentence - bless. :D

According to boards we're among the dysfunctional, corrupt, dishonest, closed minded, lazy, stupid people on earth. Yet despite it all have one of the safest countries on earth with a standard of living billions of people can only dream of.

If anything, all these self loathing threads are complimenting Irish people, since without even putting our minds to it we've managed to rise above our (many, many) supposed faults to become one of the best places on earth to live.

Really...best for who?..our government says no to tax billions from Apple, but yes to water charges...
    That's all you can offer in response to the statement that Ireland is one of the best places in the world to live? How about... no war, food being plentiful, clean and easily accessible water, sanitation, education being easily accessible - mandatory up to a certain stage, we can criticise the government all we want, a very supportive social welfare system, safety - you generally don't have to worry about gangs in your day to day life, a reasonable minimum wage, houses and flats instead of shanty towns...

There can be remarkable lack of perspective at times. Ireland isn't perfect of course but to doubt how good a place it is to live when we hear daily about the horror of e.g. Aleppo... is quite incredible.

That's all you can offer in response to the statement that Ireland is one of the best places in the world to live? How about... no war, food being plentiful, clean and easily accessible water, sanitation, education being easily accessible - mandatory up to a certain stage, we can criticise the government all we want, a very supportive social welfare system, safety - you generally don't have to worry about gangs in your day to day life, a reasonable minimum wage, houses and flats instead of shanty towns...

There can be remarkable lack of perspective at times. Ireland isn't perfect of course but to doubt how good a place it is to live when we hear daily about the horror of e.g. Aleppo... is quite incredible.

Ireland is been economically attacked for the last 10 years..where have you been, this is the 'real' modern war.... Economics.

You know what? You are 100% right!

First thing tomorrow I'm going to pack up my stuff and move to Syria, and while I'm there I'm going to tell the locals how lucky they are that they don't have to experience a proper war or corruption like Ireland.

You know what? You are 100% right!

First thing tomorrow I'm going to pack up my stuff and move to Syria, and while I'm there I'm going to tell the locals how lucky they are that they don't have to experience a proper war or corruption like Ireland.

Good man, because you can't see that it's America Vs Russia on a local level... that's been going on in small countries since WWII...

Stop drinking and go to bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

You forgot to tell him to "wake up"

Stop drinking and go to bed

smoking more like...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

The reason corruption works so well in Ireland is because of our culture of silence. The reason we had such clerical abuse was because people didn't want to talk about it and didn't want to challenge the status quo. The whole notion of the "fighing Irish" is bogus unless it refers an American College football team, and doesn't represent our true, quiescent nature.

The reason corruption works so well in Ireland is because of our culture of silence. The reason we had such clerical abuse was because people didn't want to talk about it and didn't want to challenge the status quo. The whole notion of the "fighing Irish" is bogus unless it refers an American College football team, and doesn't represent are true, quiescent nature.

Well in fairness they do turn into the" fighting Irish" when someone tells them truths that they don't like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Is that you Mick Wallace?

I know the Dail summer recess can be a bit quiet, but sit tight. The politicians will be back very soon. Then you can whinge and moan to your heart's content.

None of this changes what I said. More that can be added to the list: no sweat-shops/child labour, electricity infrastructure, unusual for a household not to have at least one car...
    Well in fairness they do turn into the" fighting Irish" when someone tells them truths that they don't like.
    What truths and who's "they" though?

There's no denying that there has been corruption but it's still doesn't compare to countries that are actually cesspits of corruption and rotten to the core.

I know some folk like to pretend this country is a third world mess, but they're wrong - and it's so easy to prove them wrong.