Newstalk Megathread 22/08/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭ceegee

Augeo wrote: »
    Insults are never ok in the workplace or anywhere else IMO ....... oh I was only joking doesn't cut the mustard IMO.

It was clearly a prank referencing Piers Morgan, down to the language used by both presenters.

I find it baffling that anyone listening wouldn't immediately cop on that it was a (badly acted) wind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,942 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Insults are never ok in the workplace or anywhere else IMO ....... oh I was only joking doesn't cut the mustard IMO.

The whole thing is a staged joke. 'I was only joking' does cut the mustard when both parties are performing a skit.

You must be great criac to watch a tv show with.

I can't believe that actor has pretended to murder that other actor, its just not on.

Fair play to Ciara for taking a leaf out of Joanna Lumley's book.... rip up the fashion rule book. Brilliant.

ceegee wrote: »
    It was clearly a prank referencing Piers Morgan, down to the language used by both presenters.

I find it baffling that anyone listening wouldn't immediately cop on that it was a (badly acted) wind up.

Especially when the last line is

See You Next Tuesday.

I'm surprised they allowed themselves that punchline though, to be fair.

ceegee wrote: »
    ............(badly acted) wind up.

I suppose this is key, it was so sh1t it was credible to be true.

I don't think referring to co workers as pathetic is ever ok though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Fair play to Ciara for taking a leaf out of Joanna Lumley's book.... rip up the fashion rule book. Brilliant.

Yes this is sooo last years...

I have similar blouse in my wardrobe. High neck line and puffy sleeves are very much in fashion currently. I think animal prints are on the way out but unless you think anything that's a year old should be dumped I don't think there is a major issue.

So tell me what fashion rule book was torn? Is this a criticism by someone who thinks Liverpool jersey is the height of sophistication?

meeeeh wrote: »

So tell me what fashion rule book was torn? Is this a criticism by someone who thinks Liverpool jersey is the height of sophistication?

Literally zero criticism....... nothing but praise. Google should help you with the Joanna Lumley's rip up the fashion rule book reference, I'm a huge fan of JL tbh, great actor.
    I can't fathom how you are misconstruing tbh.

I also don't understand your liverpool jersey comment. I'm more of an investment piece person than a football jersey person fyi.

You seem to respond to all of my posts in here today :confused:

Literally zero criticism....... nothing but praise. Google should help you with the Joanna Lumley's rip up the fashion rule book reference, I'm a huge fan of JL tbh, great actor.
    I can't fathom how you are misconstruing tbh.

I also don't understand your liverpool jersey comment. I'm more of an investment piece person than a football jersey person fyi.

You seem to respond to all of my posts in here today :confused:

Actually I respond only to the one that unrelated personal remarks on appearance (insta hun or clothing choices).

Actually I respond only to the one that unrelated personal remarks on appearance (............ clothing choices).

And yet you make some comment about a football jersey that I can't fathom the relevance of?

.............. someone who thinks Liverpool jersey is the height of sophistication?

Ciara regularly refers to her instagram page, her 100 days of walking hashtag and recently mentioned she had an Insta poll.......... hence I think she aspires to be an InstaHun, what's your problem with that viewpoint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,174 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ciara regularly refers to her instagram page, her 100 days of walking hashtag and recently mentioned she had an Insta poll.......... hence I think she aspires to be an InstaHun, what's your problem with that viewpoint?

100 days of self indulgent ****.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Mod Note

Stop the bickering on thread, if you have issues take it to pm or ideally put each other on block. Its Easter, lets not go down the usual rabbit hole (pun intended).

It will be bans from here on out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

Ah lads what is going on here? Lighten up will yas! They always have this sort of banter. They're not afraid to disagree on topics. This was light hearted compared to many days. Clearly a joke and clearly done in reference to Piers Morgan.

The amount of people taking April Fools gaggs seriously today is embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Shenanigans and high jinx :rolleyes: aside, it would have been interesting to see the comments were the roles reversed and Shane had said something to Ciara that made her walk out.

.............. it would have been interesting to see the comments were the roles reversed and Shane had said something to Ciara that made her walk out.

And if he referred to her as pathetic and then threw the see you next Tuesday jibe at her "if she was listening". Oh my. It'd be a different story in here.

And yet you make some comment about a football jersey that I can't fathom the relevance of?
    He has mixed you up with a poster called Aguero, I think.

Shenanigans and high jinx :rolleyes: aside, it would have been interesting to see the comments were the roles reversed and Shane had said something to Ciara that made her walk out.

It would have been seen more as punching down. Context, even in comedy, should always be a consideration.

He has mixed you up with a poster called Aguero, I think.

No. I tend to take a few risks in how I dress. You always get some stupid comnents about what you are wearing by someone who goes out in jeans and football/gaa/rugby jersey.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

mod note

Just incase anyone didn't see my post a few posts up a 1 day ban has been given for ignoring mod instructions. You are all here long enough to know the score, again change the subject, stop the sniping and digs or bans will continue to be dished out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭rino87

100 days of self indulgent ****.

haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

the only decent show for april fools is moncrieff. he had a show a few years ago where there was 10 completely insane stories that were all true, and one that was an april fool that was normalish enough.
    the rest doing them are just try hards.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I remember Sean doing an April's fool about Sean Lemass having a cross dressing cousin in America called Gigi Lemass, a piece of Irish ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,258 ✭✭✭RangeR

Apparently, it was staged.

https://fb.watch/4BJlSmcEA6/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,799 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

RangeR wrote: »
    Apparently, it was staged.

https://fb.watch/4BJlSmcEA6/

Well they had me, at least for a while. Gave me a giggle!

Great show this morning, couldn't quite put my finger on it but found it really easy going. Nevin telling us about what fish species are sustainable etc. Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

I see Newstalk had another follow up of Coleman and Ciara yesterday where they were apparantly told by management to cool it etc. Then they finished with the April Fools thing...

Anyone who actually fell for it is an actual fool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Shane Coleman promising that his objection to the new development at the Phisboro Shopping Centre is not nimbyism, but based on the fact that the housing is inappropriate for the area. So, when Pat Kenny or Shane Coleman object to housing beside them it's because it is in "inappropriate", but when a small town objects to hundreds of unvetted foreigners being dumped in the local hotel, that IS considered appropriate by the same Newstalk presenters (and the station portrays the objectors as racists)? Newstalk really need to be challenged on this hypocrisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Shane Coleman promising that his objection to the new development at the Phisboro Shopping Centre is not nimbyism, but based on the fact that the housing is inappropriate for the area. So, when Pat Kenny or Shane Coleman object to housing beside them it's because it is in "inappropriate", but when a small town objects to hundreds of unvetted foreigners being dumped in the local hotel, that IS considered appropriate by the same Newstalk presenters (and the station portrays the objectors as racists)? Newstalk really need to be challenged on this hypocrisy.

That’d is exact it. No way they would want any development of this sort near where they live. The essence of Phibbsboro will be destroyed by this development, as would be the same for any area. Quite glad Shane’s past judgements on others are coming back to his own doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭VonLuck

The essence of Phibbsboro will be destroyed by this development, as would be the same for any area.

How exactly?

I've found Shane Coleman very anti-development lately. He was against Johnny Ronan's Waterfront too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

he is really really emphasising that it's not nimbyism thou.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,665 ✭✭✭Allinall

That’d is exact it. No way they would want any development of this sort near where they live. The essence of Phibbsboro will be destroyed by this development, as would be the same for any area. Quite glad Shane’s past judgements on others are coming back to his own doorstep.

How do you figure this?

it's a co-living development, which will be mainly students and young single workers, which I would say make up the majority of Phisboro's population already.