Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Danny Healy Rae - Noah's Ark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

And the Healy-Rae's went in two by two.

And measure their IQ's the same way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

It's the people that voted for two of them that need checking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Arghus wrote: »
    And the Healy-Rae's went in two by two.

And measure their IQ's the same way.

They'd buy and sell most of the people on boards with 2 hands tied behind their backs, a blindfold on and the local priest saying the last rights over their dying bodies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's a wise man that can make a pound playing the fool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

They'd buy and sell most of the people on boards with 2 hands tied behind their backs, a blindfold on and the local priest saying the last rights over their dying bodies!

My theory is that they are not that smart, but are very good at getting the people who are less smart than they are to go along with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

worth a look...... (Google 'Argha Noa')
    Every year the Nile floods, destroying anything in its path but then receding and leaving the land fertile and ready for planting. the ancient Egyptians held a festival at the time of the flooding (which was also when the moon was in its fourth quarter - i.e. looking a bit like a boat). Both the festival and the quarter moon were called 'Argha Noa'.

I dont know where the animals came into it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Not anymore they wouldn't. The trade mark of a real cute hoor, is that no one knows that they are a cute hoor, while they are actually cute hooring people. People are well wise to their antics now.

If "the good people of Kerry" (trademark MHR Industries Inc) keep on voting for them, its because they think they will look out for the interests of Kerry in Dail Eireann. It's hardly rocket science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

I heard Danny Healy Rae on Newstalk a few weeks ago on the day a new climate report was released spouting the same nonsense. This clown can't even understand the basic terminology used.

The media should stop being so lazy interviewing this fella about a subject he clearly knows nothing about just for comedic value. They could at least find a climate change sceptic with some actual training in or understanding of climatology.

I don't give a hoot that he is a TD or that he's representing the people of Kerry etc. etc. He is quite clearly as thick as pig sh1t.

Arghus wrote: »
    My theory is that they are not that smart, but are very good at getting the people who are less smart than they are to go along with them.

Mike is.

What is amusing is the number who treat them as one entity. They are very different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

They could at least find a climate change sceptic with some actual training in or understanding of climatology.
    t.

Not too many of those knocking about though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭Daisy78

I don't doubt that but he comes across as really intolerant and narrow minded in that article. Not somebody I would want representing me in government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Daisy78 wrote: »
    I don't doubt that but he comes across as really intolerant and narrow minded in that article. Not somebody I would want representing me in government.
    They topped the poll in Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

They are living proof of all that is wrong in Irish politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Who do we blame for the Healy Raes continued relevance?

The flat cap, parochial gombeen men "sticking it to dem lads up in Dublin" by repeatedly voting for them or the Healy Raes themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Man made climate change is a load of baloney but Healy Rae isn't a great ambassador for the opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Daisy78 wrote: »

What is he intolerant of in that article?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Safe edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭robbiezero

They topped the poll in Kerry.

Kerry voters are smart. Government was always going to be some combination of FF, FG and Labour and maybe a few Indo's with f all difference between them. So why not give a vote to the lads who will do the business for ya locally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Danny plays a good game (if it is a game hes playing), 2011 stats show Kerry has one of the oldest populations, with that comes certain values and beliefs that are held by the older generations, ones that D adhears to too. You need to play the game to get votes. (look at Corbyn in the UK, hes getting grief cause he didnt recognise Ant & Dec) You need to fit in with the greatest no. of people.

If a TD can get 1000 jobs in the country, thats all great but means sweet FA if its on the other side of the country. The Healy Rays, look after their nearest and dearest first and when they are slagging him off in the pub later, one lad will turn around and say something about him fixing a road and it will all be forgotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

I know folks love to point out "Ah but he'd buy and sell you" etc, but a cute hoor can still be thick as a plank sandwich in other ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Climate change is a bunch of tosh - complete phooey, now will someone please remove these idiots from politics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Jaysus, I'd say Michael is fair regretting getting his brother into the Dail now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭brevity

He'll tell ya next ya next that he's distant relative.

Climate change is well researched and documented. I'm just wondering what those in denial could offer to counter it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Suckler wrote: »

Are they now? They've never held ministerial office but somehow represent all the ills of Irish politics when showers of feckers have passed through the dail leaving this country in ruins and none of them were called Healy-Rae. At least there are some people in their constituency that can say the Healy-Rae did them some good and represented the people that elected them, the problem as I see it are the politicians that did the opposite and betrayed the people that elected them.

I'd take the Healy-Rae's in charge over Kenny and Martin any day of the week.

an undieing belief in a god that is infalible can make you believe anything. Also, a belief that all that happens in gods will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Yeah, we really should repalce them with guys in fancy suits and D4 accents, financial advisor types perhaps, or maybe we could persuade some retired banker to run for office.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

nc6000 wrote: »
    Ah come on, do we really have a TD who believes in Noah's Ark?

Noah's Ark is fantastical story. But at least there's some elements that are grounded in reality. There are floods in real life. People do build boats. And at some point in history someone surely put animals on their boat to survive extremely bad weather, even if it was only a couple of dogs and a horse.

Personally, I'm more concerned about people that believe we're all going to a huge Electric Picnic in the sky when we're dead, or those that believe my chakras are emitting the wrong colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Climate change is well researched and documented. I'm just wondering what those in denial could offer to counter it.

Climate change existed
    before indeed there was ever a combustible engine working in this country or in any other country.
    If we go back to the 11th and the 12th centuries, this country was roasted out of it and in the 15th and 16th centuries we were drowned out of it. In the 1740s, we’d a famine that we lost over three million people because of two years of bad weather. Mankind, I don’t believe, had any hand, act or part in it

At the end of the day you can take all your "well researched" and "documented" "facts, but the bottom line is that
    God above is in charge of the weather and that we here can’t do anything about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

nc6000 wrote: »
    Ah come on, do we really have a TD who believes in Noah's Ark?

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/danny-healy-rae-noah-s-ark-supports-climate-theory-1.2759644

I know some very religious who don't even believe in that.

it seems that way

thankfully the idiot holds only one vote

Pickpocket wrote: »
    my chakras are emitting the wrong colour.

You had a dodgy takeaway too last night, my "chakra" is in bits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

Wrong.

The Healy-Rae's of Irish politics are few and far between. It might seem like the Dail is full of gombeens but the people in control are invariably highly-educated individuals.

To suggest that caricatures like Danny Healy-Rae are representative of the fundamental failures of Irish politics is pathological stupidity.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The man is a national embarrassment. How he got elected will forever be beyond me.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The media will keep this fool relevant because he'll bring in the clicks and people to see what other outrageous shíte he'll come out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Who's denying climate change? The climate is always changing and always will change.

seamus wrote: »
    Jaysus, I'd say Michael is fair regretting getting his brother into the Dail now.

I'd say Mike was not a fan of it from the off.

People outside South Kerry do not seem to understand that Mike and Danny are chalk and cheese, and people from Kilgarvan will say there is little love between them.

Wrong.

The Healy-Rae's of Irish politics are few and far between. It might seem like the Dail is full of gombeens but the people in control are invariably highly-educated individuals.

Enda?

Or are you referring to the puppet master, Phil Hogan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

The man is a national embarrassment. How he got elected will forever be beyond me.

What's all this latest notion that we should as a nation be 'embarressd'?
    They're banging on all week in the media about being embarressed about a boxer testing positive, some tout selling tickets, and Hickey being arrested.
    I'm not embarressed by it I'm glad they were caught. We are a small nation and other countries really could'nt care less. I'd don't hear the same feelings of embarressment when bankers are proven to have committed fraud and put many many people in misery. If anything we need more straight talkers like healy rae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Noah's Ark is fantastical story. But at least there's some elements that are grounded in reality. There are floods in real life. People do build boats. And at some point in history someone surely put animals on their boat to survive extremely bad weather, even if it was only a couple of dogs and a horse.

Personally, I'm more concerned about people that believe we're all going to a huge Electric Picnic in the sky when we're dead, or those that believe my chakras are emitting the wrong colour.

It's a highly embellished account of some localised event that may have happened in the remote past, but the Bible blows it out of all proportion to make a morality tale out of it. Problem is when people take what is essentially a fable quite literally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Scary thing is, his followers/voters probably believe that stuff as well! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

It's the people that voted for two of them that need checking.

This.

It's the quintessential basis for citizens having to earn the right to vote, rather then it being an entitlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

That is the problem all round. There simply is no basis to argue against the science on it.

However, there are many people, plenty of people, who simply don't give a ****, and don't believe it should be prioritised in a country like Ireland. I'm one of them. I don't need to get into scientific debates, because there is no arguement.

However there is tremendous debate to be had about the merits and social impacts of how we as a small nation manage our emissions, and more importantly, have citizens pay for it, when our footprint is entirely irrelevant in the global scheme of things.

Anyone that visits America, China or Russia, can only laugh when you hear of people who wash out food jars here for the green bin.

I'm totally against the consistent costs of managing climate change in our country, but the arguments I put forward are related to the costs and prioritisation of climate change, when simply there are much more immediate issues and concerns.

The reason I say this, is because when I come across people with the same view, they tend to easily slip into trying to debate the science which is nonsense. Needs more people to just be upfront saying they don't simply care.

And there is nothing stupid or idiotic about it. The stupidity is us, the taxpayer, paying for various climate change measures, that is totally irrelevant in the grand scheme of things. It's one of the main reasons I was delighted the Green Party got smashed and I hope to never see them again. Their outragous policy relating to car tax, has created a ridiculous situation in the Motor industry here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

The election of DHR really doesn't reflect well on the people of Kerry.

Just Saying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

FalconGirl wrote: »
    The election of DHR really doesn't reflect well on the people of Kerry.

Just Saying...

I somehow doubt the HR fanbase cares very much what the rest of the country thinks about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Yeah, we really should repalce them with guys in fancy suits and D4 accents, financial advisor types perhaps, or maybe we could persuade some retired banker to run for office.
    You've drawn a lovely false dichotomy there, but as long as you're sticking it to them lot in Dublin who cares? It's us against them right?

What I find curious about the whole thing is that from what I remember in school, catholic teaching of the ark story wasn't literal. Which would lead me to believe that Dinny might be some sort of born again evangelical. Not really sure how good that would be for re-election in Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

conorhal wrote: »
    Are they now? They've never held ministerial office but somehow represent all the ills of Irish politics when showers of feckers have passed through the dail leaving this country in ruins and none of them were called Healy-Rae. At least there are some people in their constituency that can say the Healy-Rae did them some good and represented the people that elected them, the problem as I see it are the politicians that did the opposite and betrayed the people that elected them.

I'd take the Healy-Rae's in charge over Kenny and Martin any day of the week.

This is exactly what's wrong with Irish politics. When your elected to the Dail you represent the national interests and not just the local interests. The Healy Reas have always been about squeezing a few bob for Kerry. They couldn't give a fiddlers about the national interest. Didn't hear JHR screaming when the economy was going down the ****ter.

FalconGirl wrote: »
    This is exactly what's wrong with Irish politics. When your elected to the Dail you represent the national interests and not just the local interests. The Healy Reas have always been about squeezing a few bob for Kerry. They couldn't give a fiddlers about the national interest. Didn't hear JHR screaming when the economy was going down the ****ter.

The Irish times editorial line again which only publishes stories that follow that narrative. Which simply isn't true. Danny Healy Rae cares more about Ireland then Enda does that's for sure. If you didn't hear him say anything about the state of the national economy it's becaue the IT won't publish it and you won't listen to it.

conorhal wrote: »
    The Irish times editorial line again which only publishes stories that follow that narrative. Which simply isn't true. Danny Healy Rae cares more about Ireland then Enda does that's for sure. If you didn't hear him say anything about the state of the national economy it's becaue the IT won't publish it and you won't listen to it.
    I can't see how only a local focus is in the national interest though? It's not just the Healy Raes of course. Pee Flynn and Lowry et al too.

You refer to the Irish Times narrative, but equally, Enda doesn't care much about the country - that's the journal.ie narrative.

I can't see how only a local focus is in the national interest though? It's not just the Healy Raes of course. Pee Flynn and Lowry et al too.

I'd imagine the Healy Raes have plenty of opinions about national issues, sure doesn't everybody? I've come around to 'parochialism' though. All politics is local at the end of the day, you represent your local nationally, ,that's their job and the only politicians doing anything for people seem to be independents. A lot of politicians pretend to have a 'national focus' but used that to do serious harm to ordinary people in the guise of what is 'good for the nation', when they really mean good for Merkel or the tiny unelected cadre of special interests that they really represent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

TheDoc wrote: »
    That is the problem all round. There simply is no basis to argue against the science on it.

However, there are many people, plenty of people, who simply don't give a ****, and don't believe it should be prioritised in a country like Ireland. I'm one of them. I don't need to get into scientific debates, because there is no arguement.

However there is tremendous debate to be had about the merits and social impacts of how we as a small nation manage our emissions, and more importantly, have citizens pay for it, when our footprint is entirely irrelevant in the global scheme of things.

Anyone that visits America, China or Russia, can only laugh when you hear of people who wash out food jars here for the green bin.

I'm totally against the consistent costs of managing climate change in our country, but the arguments I put forward are related to the costs and prioritisation of climate change, when simply there are much more immediate issues and concerns.

The reason I say this, is because when I come across people with the same view, they tend to easily slip into trying to debate the science which is nonsense. Needs more people to just be upfront saying they don't simply care.

And there is nothing stupid or idiotic about it. The stupidity is us, the taxpayer, paying for various climate change measures, that is totally irrelevant in the grand scheme of things. It's one of the main reasons I was delighted the Green Party got smashed and I hope to never see them again. Their outragous policy relating to car tax, has created a ridiculous situation in the Motor industry here.

So you know that climate change is real yet you don't think we should try to do anything about it?

If anything that's worse than Danny Healy Rae.