Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Encouraging rural people to the cities

• 09-08-2016 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,823 ✭✭✭✭

Isn't it about time we have a strategy to depopulate rural areas and villages and "encourage" the locals to move to Dublin?

We are wasting vast sums of money trying to bring infrastructure to these desolate areas like broadband, roads, rail and stuff. This makes no economic or practical sense.

In return we get the country parochialism and gombeen politics foisted on us in Leinster House.

The theory is if they move to the Dublin area there is the critical mass of infrastructure and supports there. It could make people more sophisticated and open up new opportunities for their children (instead of emigration) and help nurture more progressive, liberal attitudes among them.

We should stop trying to bring Dublin standards of living to farms and one off housing in Mayo and Donegal. Instead lets encourage the locals to leave these areas and save a sh!t load of time and money.

They should move to Dublin. (Don't bother with Cork)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Deos dublin not have a massive housing crisis??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

2/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

The bait will get took, that's the most irritating thing about these wind-up threads, I find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Fcuking no!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

If I move to the big smoke do I get to stab smug, condescending townies with my pitchfork?

That's the kind of incentive I'd need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Isn't it about time we have a strategy to depopulate rural areas and villages and "encourage" the locals to move to Dublin?

We are wasting vast sums of money trying to bring infrastructure to these desolate areas like broadband, roads, rail and stuff. This makes no economic or practical sense.

In return we get the country parochialism and gombeen politics foisted on us in Leinster House.

The theory is if they move to the Dublin area there is the critical mass of infrastructure and supports there. It could make people more sophisticated and open up new opportunities for their children (instead of emigration) and help nurture more progressive, liberal attitudes among them.

We should stop trying to bring Dublin standards of living to farms and one off housing in Mayo and Donegal. Instead lets encourage the locals to leave these areas and save a sh!t load of time and money.

Only someone with a hand stuck up their arse could come up with such drivel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's my right as an Irish citizen to milk you big city fatcats for every cent I get off ye, and by the hokey I'll exercise that right until my dying breath. Just think about this Mr Frog, I'm sitting in my recliner at the fireside in a crime free, pollution free, open sky mortgageless utopia, and you're paying for my roads and my 50mb wireless internet, and life is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

2/10

Jeez you're in a generous mood tonight Tom! Two out of ten?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,823 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The country people are out in force tonight! A nerve has been hit because the truth has been spoken. We can't afford rural Ireland as it is. We can't afford the facilities they constantly demand, a hospital in every village, broadband to every home, flood protection for houses built on flood plains on the Shannon, 24 hr pizza delivery etc. Everything should be centralised in urban areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

The country people are out in force tonight! A nerve has been hit because the truth has been spoken. We can't afford rural Ireland as it is. We can't afford the facilities they constantly demand, a hospital in every village, broadband to every home, flood protection for houses built on flood plains on the Shannon, 24 hr pizza delivery etc. Everything should be centralised in urban areas.

I don't any of those...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

Dubs and sophistication? LMAO. Best laugh of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Here's a deal.
    Over the last 10 years or so we're seeing a lot of the "howya" types, you know them the females can be seen wandering round half the day in pyjamas and the males wear dirty trackies with their hands surgically attached to their mickeys.

Let's move these cnuts back first. Then the rest of us can just not bother and leave ye to it in yer built up areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,146 ✭✭✭Allinall

Where's your evidence that we can't afford rural Ireland?

We're a wealthy country, and can well afford to subsidize ruralisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Only because of all the rural people coming here and taking our housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

It's bad enough having them here on match days, imagine having them here all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

I'm all for depopulating rural Ireland because it's becoming too expensive to subsidize, but Dublin is large enough as it is. We don't want to end up with London and its massive urban sprawl. Better off invest in another city in the west to balance things out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

A hospital in every village, did you ever venture outside the pale?

No nerves are hit here, you're the one getting all excited. Why would we lower our standard of living to a Dublin level? Have to walk to a bus stop rather than get in the car at the front door and drive to the door of wherever we're going? Have to visit relations we don't like in hospital because we haven't the excuse that it's too far away and the dog will eat the sofa if we leave her alone too long? Have to order all our shopping online because we're too scared to go down the town amidst the hordes of junkies, chuggers, and Sky salespeople?

You're having a laugh Kermie

eviltwin wrote: »
    It's bad enough having them here on match days, imagine having them here all the time.

Yes, but only for a while. Soon enough they will all be speaking with thick Dublin accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Why would I want to live in Dublin? Its full of Dubs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

So would rural Ireland if they didnt build so much ****ty housing in the boom. A growing population without a growing in housing will create a housing shortage anywhere

It is far cheaper to provide services to tightly knit areas than vast one off housing which is the norm in rural Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

Allinall wrote: »
    Where's your evidence that we can't afford rural Ireland?

We're a wealthy country, and can well afford to subsidize ruralisation.

Would the words of the former Department of Finance secretary general do?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/election-2016/news/state-cant-afford-rural-ireland-moran-34694927.html

Subsidizing rural Ireland is getting more and more expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Kermit de frog, sheriff street news, Dublin.
    Back to you in the studio flat.

newacc2015 wrote: »
    So would rural Ireland if they didnt build so much ****ty housing in the boom. A growing population without a growing in housing will create a housing shortage anywhere

It is far cheaper to provide services to tightly knit areas than vast one off housing which is the norm in rural Ireland
    It's far cheaper to fcuk a couple of hundred hens in a cage than let them run about as nature intended, but their eggs will taste like shit:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

newacc2015 wrote: »

Which explains why Dublin local property tax, for local services is vastly more expensive than someone living in rural county Laois.

511 wrote: »

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/election-2016/news/state-cant-afford-rural-ireland-moran-34694927.html

the country can no longer afford to subsidise the personal choices that people make, when they elect to live in the countryside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭madmac187

511 wrote: »

the country can no longer afford to subsidise the personal choices that people make, when they elect to live in the countryside.

No one wants to live in Dublin because it's ****e! As an educated culchie why would you want to be near the scum and filth of Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

Why not just depopulate the entire country and move the culchies to the colonies and the "sophisticated" Dubs can go back to the mainland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,146 ✭✭✭Allinall

Just because a failed civil servant says it doesn't make it true.

I repeat- we can, and are affording ruralisation.

Where's the evidence that we can't afford it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

511 wrote:

Ah the dept of finance, a shining beacon of foretelling. They got the soft landing right....oh wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

Islamic state logic this is. Make everybody live in certain areas where the law can be ordered to the entire population by loudspeaker. Fascism can't afford broadband

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭fox0512

hahaha....no thanks, I like my rural setting,it allowed me to be semi retired at 40 because I didnt have to pay .5mill for a shoe box!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

No nerves are hit here, you're the one getting all excited. Why would we lower our standard of living to a Dublin level? Have to walk to a bus stop rather than get in the car at the front door and drive to the door of wherever we're going? Have to visit relations we don't like in hospital because we haven't the excuse that it's too far away and the dog will eat the sofa if we leave her alone too long? Have to order all our shopping online because we're too scared to go down the town amidst the hordes of junkies, chuggers, and Sky salespeople?

Is this post supposed to match the OP for bizarreness but on the other side of the argument? That appears to be the aim. Hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

fox0512 wrote: »
    hahaha....no thanks, I like my rural setting,it allowed me to be semi retired at 40 because I didnt have to pay .5mill for a shoe box!

Drops Mic.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

madmac187 wrote: »
    No one wants to live in Dublin because it's ****e! As an educated culchie why would you want to be near the scum and filth of Dublin!

I'd rather relocate to Kabul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Can't we all just get along?

Jeez where to even start! :mad::confused:

Is there even a point explaining to you how utterly stupid your post is? Please leave boards and leave debating to more analytically minded people please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,495 ✭✭✭✭flazio

And tell me this Kermit, where do you think the food on your table, the milk in your fridge, the very air you breathe came from?

This too shall pass.

flazio wrote: »
    And tell me this Kermit, where do you think the food on your table, the milk in your fridge, the very air you breathe came from?

a) probably thinks the packet
    b) Probably thinks the carton/bottle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

a) probably thinks the packet
    b) Probably thinks the carton/bottle

Well food comes from the countryside, but it is paid for by CAP, which in turn is funded by urban areas, which pretty much agrees with the point made in the OP in that rural life is indeed subsidised. :)

Well food comes from the countryside, but it is paid for by CAP, which in turn is funded by urban areas, which does pretty much agrees with the point made in the OP in that rural life is indeed subsidised. :)

And if everyone lives in Dublin/larger urban areas then who is going to milk the cows or cut the silage or harvest the corn and wheat? Where are they going to come out of? thin air?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

Well food comes from the countryside, but it is paid for by CAP, which in turn is funded by urban areas, which pretty much agrees with the point made in the OP in that rural life is indeed subsidised. :)

So whats the alternative? As you said "food comes from the countryside", but the likes of you and Kermit want to eradicate the countryside population, so where do we get the food after the countryside population is eradicated?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I don't want to live in a shoe box.

buried wrote: »
    So whats the alternative? As you said "food comes from the countryside", but the likes of you and Kermit want to eradicate the countryside population, so where do we get the food after the countryside population is eradicated?

And this 'urban areas pay for it' attitude too. The farmers work long and hard hours and at one stage were producing milk at a loss (may even still be).

Well, on your first points we don't even need to produce food in Ireland, we can import. Producing food in Ireland is expensive and as pointed out subsidised. On your last point regarding oxygen we could go in to the start of the solar system etc but it's not relevant. Ireland is not responsible for the global supply of hydrogen and CO2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I don't like the look of those city folk. Besides it smells like wee in big cities not to mention the streets littered with syringes and drunks. I'll sit in my country house thanks very much.

Well, on your first points we don't even need to produce food in Ireland, we can import. Producing food in Ireland is expensive and as pointed out subsidised. On your last point regarding oxygen we could go in to the start of the solar system etc but it's not relevant. Ireland is not responsible for the global supply of hydrogen and CO2.

Yeah, we "DONT NEED TO":rolleyes: but its probably more advisable that we do because it probably would be more a cost effective solution. Something which you bizarrely claimed that your 'idea' claims to be advocating.

Look at Sugar production. After closing down sugar factories in Carlow (2k jobs lost) and other parts of the country it turns out that sugar production was cheaper in ireland after all.

So how do you propose to handle the extra traffic on the m50 kermit? or to squash another 3m people or so people within Dublin County??? Havent really thought this through have you?! ah bless the standard of education in Dublin :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

I'm sure that importing most of our food, including perishables, would be cheaper than producing it here.

Let's just cut down every tree and plant in the country and turn it all into urban sprawl and Dublin GAA jerseys as far as the eye can see.

We can add a bunch of lead to the water supply at the same time so that everyone will end up as braindead as your average Dublin native.