Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So...who are you watching and what are you hoping for?

• 04-08-2016 9:22pm

Any Irish or other athletes you'll be taking a particular interest in and why?

I'll be watching out for Michelle Finn, her sister Carol runs in Munster mountain races. Hope she gets a PB in Rio. Don't know enough about the steeplechase to know where that would place her, hope it might get her into the final. But always think all we can hope for any athlete is that they PB at the Olympics, and would be happy with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

For me I am hoping for good performances across the board and in an ideal world would hope for the following

Ciara Mageean - 1500m - Make the final
    I think she has a decent racing head on her so if she can manage to negotiate the heats well she has the possibility to make the final. I don't think will see a repeat of the pedestrian pace of the Euro's so realistically I don't envisage medal prospects especially with the likes Dibaba,Muir and Kipyegon driving pace.

Mark English - 800m - to make Semi Final
    I think his injuries this year really hampered his build up. Though his 1.45 in London was optimistic I think the fact that time trial nature of that race with him out the back for most of it shows he is still about 4-6 weeks his peak. I can see him breaking NR in Rieti or other late season meets but I think making the semi's here would be a very good performance for where he is given the depth of the event in the last few years.

Thomas Barr - 400m Hurdles - to make Semi Final
    Similar to English regarding injuries. I can't see him reaching his levels of fitness he showed last year and think he has missed to much this season. Having said that he is a top talent and I can see that being just enough to advance from the heats hopefully

Paul Pollock - Mens Marathon - top 20/PB
    I definitely think his selection was the right choice as he is our top marathoner at the moment in my opinion. Would love to see him justify his selection with a top 20 performance as I have no doubt in my mind he will be our top finisher by a considerable margin.

Sara Treacy - 3000m Steeplechase - to make final
    I think she has had a great season and would love to see her rewarded with a place in the final. If she can replicate her performances in Amsterdam there half chance she can advance (Would probably need a sub 9.30)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Mageean to make final and finish 7th or 8th. I don't fancy Muir to medal in a tactical race. Mageean could really get amongst these kind of runners I believe. Her 2:00 speed is similar to that of Rowbury and Simpson. She'll be competitive.

English to make semi finals and finish around 12th or 13th.

Barr to make semi finals but only finish around 20th.

Heffernan around 6th.

Boyce top 20.

Fionnuala to come around 12th to 15th in 10000m if she races it leaving everything on the track, not saving herself for marathon. Around 20th in marathon if she saves herself for that. Tough ask doing both well with only 48 hours recovery. Silly scheduling.

After that the rest are making up the numbers realistically. Sara Treacy will run well. Michelle Finn too. None of them have a hope in hell of making the final though. It's all about PBs for them.

Pollock top 40 but not much more. The other two 60th or so.

Pena to bomb out after clearing 4.20 or 4.30.

The other two female marathon runners to finish 60th to 80th.

Wright top 30 in 50k.

Ciara Everard to trail home towards the rear of her heat, if she makes Rio at all. Hasn't raced all year. Can't bluff it at this level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Fionnuala to come around 12th to 15th in 10000m if she races it leaving everything on the track, not saving herself for marathon. Around 20th in marathon if she saves herself for that. Tough ask doing both well with only 48 hours recovery. Silly scheduling.

Thought she has already said previously that she is only doing Marathon (might be mistaken on that one)

Agree regarding Muir however I think she will change the dynamics of the final so that it won't be left to the kickers as much and pace will be healthy.

Really slamming on the marathoners. Personally I think Lizzie Lee and Pollock will finish good bit higher than that IMO.

By all accounts Ciara has battled hard to recover from her injury. Realistically gonna be tough to expect alot from her given how her year has gone.

Thought she has already said previously that she is only doing Marathon (might be mistaken on that one)

Agree regarding Muir however I think she will change the dynamics of the final so that it won't be left to the kickers as much and pace will be healthy.

Really slamming on the marathoners. Personally I think Lizzie Lee and Pollock will finish good bit higher than that IMO.

By all accounts Ciara has battled hard to recover from her injury. Realistically gonna be tough to expect alot from her given how her year has gone.

I don't have any great expectations on our marathon runners on the men's side. They are operating at the women's WR in terms of standard. That won't cut the mustard in Rio. Yeh Lizzie Lee prediction a bit low perhaps though I agree.

I find it hard to imagine Muir teeing it up for others like that. She even said after her NR that she expects Rio to be tactical and not like that race in DL. I dont think she plans to make it fast. I think Ciara would have run 4:02 in that race had she run it, so it's not like she'll be fearing a quick pace either.

Seems really unclear what events Fionnuala is doing. Haven't heard any statement one way or another. She'd place higher in 10000m I feel.

Just thought I would add that I really hope all our marathon runners perform well. The selection issue is done and dusted now. Would love to see Pollock nail a top 20. I just don't see it happening personally. Top 30 the max I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Given the heat, I think a top 25 for Pollock would be a really solid result. Yes, way off medal contention but would be a good result all the same. I hope Fionnuala has learned from her Chicago marathon experience, and will aim for more even splits in the marathon, which could see her nab a top 20 spot. The claw - 35th-45th, similar for Lizzie. Seaward and Connolly in the 60s. Really looking forward to all the Irish T&F performances and would agree with Myles' predictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Why bother going to olympics when you haven't a hope of coming anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Tuesday or maybe bananas,I can't decide but it's one of the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

I'll be watching Katie Taylor, living legend that she is. Her fights are being shown on a giant screen on Bray seafront and I will be there, cheering her on.

As an aside, I saw her going through her paces on a track session recently. Gorgeous clean, smooth and strong running style.

Why bother going to school when you are never going to get 600 points in your leaving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

Why bother get out of bed, your only going to end back in it a few hours later

ultrapercy wrote: »
    Tuesday or maybe bananas,I can't decide but it's one of the two.
    Why bother going to school when you are never going to get 600 points in your leaving!
    jamule wrote: »
    Why bother get out of bed, your only going to end back in it a few hours later

I'm serious

I'm serious

Talk to Joe.

I'm serious
    So was wyatt earp

Ye have no answer

What's the point going out to Coppers if you have no chance of pulling the perfect 10?

Ye have no answer

Correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭vanderlyle

Would you have said the same about Leicester City this time last year?

---

Couldn't find a decent spreadsheet of the track and field events anywhere online, so I made my own (attached). I hope there's no mistakes... Might be useful in filtering events/planning for the late nights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

vanderlyle wrote: »
    Couldn't find a decent spreadsheet of the track and field events anywhere online, so I made my own (attached). I hope there's no mistakes... Might be useful in filtering events/planning for the late nights.

Thanks! Really useful!

What's the point going out to Coppers if you have no chance of pulling the perfect 10?

Do you know the answer to that one yourself? Because Im stumped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭water-man

@ Tombstone - you're probably nothing but a troll but this is a comment I hear lots of people who've never done anything in their life say.

Why should they go? How about they've earned it. They achieved a standard set out by their peers.

Most of the athletes on the team, I guess, are amateur.

And that means they get out of bed at stupid o'clock in the morning (hail, rain or snow). Put in a training session that people like you would never be able to do. After that they go to work (probably some of the best workers where they do work). Next they'll finish work but unlike you they're out for another training session. Then they'll go home and spend time with their families.

Tomorrow = Repeat the above.

Very few if any of these guys will make any money. They do it for the love of the sport. To see how far they can reach and then try to reach further.

When they reach the Olympic A standard. Believe you me they deserve it.

I for one am proud of them. Proud that they are there putting their toe on the line.

When my kids are old enough I'll be pointing out to them that these people are the people you want to be.

Mark English - just a kid from Donegal
    Fionnuala - A girl from Wicklow
    etc etc etc

If they can achieve it. So can any kid. Don't ever let the begrudgery Irish attitude drag you down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

^^^^^^ THANK YOU!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Ye have no answer

Do you run? Do you run in races? If so why? Your not going to win an olympic medal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Grueller

Why bother trolling when you are sh1t at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Draws for Friday are up, including women's 1500m heats:

https://www.rio2016.com/en/athletics-womens-1500m-round-1-heat-1

Ciara Mageean in with Dibaba and Brenda Martinez.

Men's 800m

Heat 1 is tasty too!

https://www.rio2016.com/en/athletics-mens-800m-round-1-heat-1

Mark English is in Lane 1 of heat 6:

https://www.rio2016.com/en/athletics-mens-800m-round-1-heat-6

Can't wait for any of the middle distance events! There'll be some very good runners not making the semis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Sacksian wrote: »
    Draws for Friday are up, including women's 1500m heats:

https://www.rio2016.com/en/athletics-womens-1500m-round-1-heat-1

Ciara Mageean in with Dibaba and Brenda Martinez.

Men's 800m

Heat 1 is tasty too!

https://www.rio2016.com/en/athletics-mens-800m-round-1-heat-1

Mark English is in Lane 1 of heat 6:

https://www.rio2016.com/en/athletics-mens-800m-round-1-heat-6

Can't wait for any of the middle distance events! There'll be some very good runners not making the semis.

With 1st six Q in W1500, it should be doable for Ciara. There will be a burn-up on the last lap she she will need to be sharp.

English can also progress with 1st three Q.

The real Olympics start this weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

I'm not sure if Ciara's in the top 6 in terms of 1500 pbs in that heat, but she's such a great racer that I'd be confident of her making the right decisions to get through (as well as the fact that it's 1st 6!). But it really is a deep heat.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Is there only a morning session of athletics today? Not seeing anything listed in the schedule for the middle of the night.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

robinph wrote: »
    Is there only a morning session of athletics today? Not seeing anything listed in the schedule for the middle of the night.

Grrr. Found the schedule under Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

^ Today's morning session will be this afternoon our time

The 2 events I'm looking forward to most are the two 400m's

Shaunae Miller vs. Felix in the womens and Van Niekerk vs Kirani James in the mens

Flying out on Monday, should be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Is Fionnuala running the 10,000m today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

tang1 wrote: »
    Can't see it happening with the marathon on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,912 ✭✭✭✭28064212

tang1 wrote: »
    Not on the startlist: https://www.rio2016.com/en/athletics-womens-10-000m

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

No, link to timetable and startlists.

Evening session starts after midnight, our time.

Interesting that the women's 10000m is at 11.10 local time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Can't see it happening with the marathon on Sunday.

It's a shame her plan didn't have something like "10k easy with strides" for today, given that she had already paid to enter the race etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

Singer wrote: »
    It's a shame her plan didn't have something like "10k easy with strides" for today, given that she had already paid to enter the race etc.

Could've ran it as a tempo, or paced a friend.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Do RTE really need a second rate golf tournament on two separate channels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭wgtomblin

28064212 wrote: »

Interesting to see three "switchers" in the start-list... Can (Kenya/Turkey), Gebre (Ethiopia/Spain), Pappas (USA/Greece). Pappas only switched in January, but is the most legit case, qualifying through her Greek-American father.

The early time for the 10,000m and some other T&F finals was apparently done to suit viewing across as many time-zones as possible, meaning it being broadcast in Japan before midnight. TV coverage comes first these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Disappointing for the Heptathlete who pulled up injured after the second hurdle there, cruel to have your Olympics ended so soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭aero2k

Singer wrote: »

Do the organisers allow number swaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

aero2k wrote: »

Nah. Urine swaps are fine however.

aero2k wrote: »

3 medals if you run both races ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Ayana smashing the Chinese world record. Don't know what to say.

Wasn't even out of breath crossing the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭wgtomblin

corny wrote: »

Four of them under 30 mins.
    Unbelievable. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

Wow, eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

wgtomblin wrote:
    Four of them under 30 mins. Unbelievable.

Unbelievable is right!

corny wrote: »

14 seconds better. The less said the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Extraordinary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

You'd have to feel for the girls being lapped by these athletes. Can't be easy watching them stride passed you with seemingly little effort.