Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman attacked clondalkin...

• 28-07-2016 9:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭

Anyone see the horrendous news today about the female cyclist viciously attacked in clondalkin??? It came to my mind while reading through the article that a notorious criminal from that area was released from prison recently... I know he has a history of attacks on women maybe there could be a connection there...

However the media are saying their is sensitivities around the suspects descriptions, whatever thats supposed to mean...:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Dublin forum >>>>>>>>>>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Specialun wrote: »

In fairness I think it is important to the whole country. Maybe it will spur someone with some information to go to the gaurds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

steddyeddy wrote: »

In fairness I think it is important to the whole country. Maybe it will spur someone with some information to go to the gaurds.

I seen the police are asking for any dash cam footage from the area (not sure of the times) but if anyone has any please submit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

failinis wrote: »
    I seen the police are asking for any dash cam footage from the area (not sure of the times) but if anyone has any please submit it.

Strange thing to ask for in a case like this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

tomofson wrote: »

Why? It was just off the road. Someone may have captured them going there or leaving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

You wouldn't know who'd be traveling around there.

mhge wrote: »
    Why? It was just off the road. Someone may have captured them going there or leaving.

I don't know it just seemed a little strange... If anyone caught it on their dash cam they must have seen it so why didn't they stop and help?
    Someone being in the area is not enough for a charge there must be more to it than that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

dna sample will get the charge.
    camera footage will get the sample donar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I don't know it just seemed a little strange... If anyone caught it on their dash cam they must have seen it so why didn't they stop and help?
    Someone being in the area is not enough for a charge there must be more to it than that...

It's not enough for a conviction of course but it's enough to try identify people who were in the area and then look at eliminating them as suspects.

God help this poor woman, I can't imagine the terror. I'll certainly be very cautious for the time being. Very scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

All I can see there is my fireplace? :confused:

It's not enough for a conviction of course but it's enough to try identify people who were in the area and then look at eliminating them as suspects.

God help this poor woman, I can imagine the terror. I'll certainly be very cautious for the time being. Very scary.

The thing I find most bizarre is the "sensitivities" around the description...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

What pathetic creatures do this to someone. Hope justice is done and the woman in question is getting the best help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

steddyeddy wrote: »

Hardly, it's just so people can have a good gossip about it

Even if they didn't see the attack they may have seen a gang of scrotes disappearing there 15 minutes prior, this type of thing. And even if the driver cannot see anything in the footage themselves they can still bring it for the guards to review, compare etc. It's potentially useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

The thing I find most bizarre is the "sensitivities" around the description...

Probably for the protection of certain local residents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Anyone see the horrendous news today about the female cyclist viciously attacked in clondalkin??? It came to my mind while reading through the article that a notorious criminal from that area was released from prison recently... I know he has a history of attacks on women maybe there could be a connection there...

However the media are saying their is sensitivities around the suspects descriptions, whatever thats supposed to mean...:confused:

I read earlier she was raped by a number of people while out cycling. Absolute scum of the earth.

eviltwin wrote: »
    Probably for the protection of certain local residents

Or maybe a description would give away who the particular individual is.

One little detail about a certain persons features and the whole country will know its him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

couple hundred metres from Garda Station. Scary stuff.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    I read earlier she was raped by a number of people while out cycling. Absolute scum of the earth.

Accosted by three, raped by one, not that it makes it much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

That is horrible and sick. These guys should be shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Ah seriously, use your brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Ah seriously, use your brain.

Enlighten us all

TheDarter wrote: »
    Probably a Muslim

(not racist)

You wouldn't tell if the individual was muslim or not based on appearance... Muslims come from all races and ethnicities... I would say a good description could very well point in an individuals direction and that is where the sensitivities come into play... Never got a fair trial and all that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Mod: Tomofson - Knock it off with the disingenuous hinting about the potential identity of (one of) the attackers. I'm sure more information will come out in the coming days.

TheDarter - Don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

According to reports I've read the lady was either pushing the bike or cycling at around 3am.

I wouldn't even drive that road at that hour. Sorry if I offended anyone by saying that, but it's the truth.

Just realised the thread title makes it look like a woman tried to attack Clondalkin.

According to reports I've read the lady was either pushing the bike or cycling at around 3am.

I wouldn't even drive that road at that hour. Sorry if I offended anyone by saying that, but it's the truth.

Ahh more of the victim blaming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It's not because they think someone drove by while it happened, it's that it may help identify vehicles, people etc around the area at the time and rule them in or out as suspects.

I doubt you would offend anyone by saying that, its a dangerous area thats well known, a lot of bogey characters entering and leaving at all times.

Saying that though I wouldn't say its the most dangerous in the Dublin region.

I wouldn't even drive that road at that hour.

You must find driving anywhere nearly impossible presumably.

Gatling wrote: »
    Enlighten us all

Someone posted a good explanation which seems to have been deleted. It's possible the group were hanging around the area and they might have been picked up on the dashcam of a passing motorist.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Ahh more of the victim blaming

Did I blame the victim here? I just gave my own opinion of that stretch of road, for good or bad.

And to be fair, 3am is not a good time to be out alone either. No matter what sex, gender, age you are.

There is freedom, and there is common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

Sensitivities...that happened before (I think in Tallaght) when the suspects were black to avoid local hard shaws taking it out on anybody fitting that rather loose description.

Why are you so confused by the sensitivity if you know it all?

I dont know it all it was just an assumption on my part I am aware I could very well be wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

She might have been on her way home from work.

For some reason I always felt cycling home would be safer than walking as you think you can just cycle away from any potential trouble. This is just chilling

Did I blame the victim here? I just gave my own opinion of that stretch of road, for good or bad.

And to be fair, 3am is not a good time to be out alone either. No matter what sex, gender, age you are.

Why mention it then?

You'd have to ban shift work.

Hrududu wrote: »
    She might have been on her way home from work.

For some reason I always felt cycling home would be safer than walking as you think you can just cycle away from any potential trouble. This is just chilling

I know some people will take my posts and fillet them. That's fine, open forum, obeying the charter and all that.

But yes, it is awful. However, if she was working say in a bar/restaurant or that, I always thought the employer would make sure the employees got home safely if they didn't have their own four wheeled (safer) transport. But maybe that's all gone now.

Maybe the victim was on her way from work?
    Maybe she doesn't earn much?
    Maybe she doesn't have/ can't afford a car?
    Maybe she was in a friends house who needed her?

The point is, it doesn't matter whether you would travel this road, the victim did, for whatever reasons & she should be entitled to use whatever road she needed to, to get home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Gatling wrote: »
    Enlighten us all

As quite a few cars travel that road at all hours a dash cam might have captured footage of pedestrians in the general area at 3am which in itself would be unusual on a Thursday morning. They can use it in conjunction with surveillance footage of nearby premises to trace movements.

Why the hell haven't the guards released a description of the attackers? Are we heading towards continental style censorship on these matters?

Because of nonspecific "sensitivities"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I don't think people are victim blaming here. You should be able to go where you like without any bother.

I have family living VERY near and if I'm visiting, car door is locked, and I always say if anyone comes near car if I'm stopped at lights, then it's them or me and I'm just not stopping.

My first thoughts this morning when I heard was God love her, she must have not known the area.

Oh if they were local white lads they'd be named and shamed withing minutes. We can't be upsetting those poor Muslims through.

You do realize Muslims can be white dont you??? Take your xenophobic agenda elsewhere we all know quite well these where not Muslims... We have our own home grown rapists here to ye know...

Why the hell haven't the guards released a description of the attackers? Are we heading towards continental style censorship on these matters?

Guards don't usually release descriptions of attackers straight after incidents.

For a start, it stops people coming forward with information that they think is not relevant

Oh if they were local white lads they'd be named and shamed withing minutes. We can't be upsetting those poor Muslims through.

I reckon the attacker's were travellers. There's a halting site not far from there that could and probably would be targeted.

eviltwin wrote: »
    I reckon the attacker's were travellers. There's a halting site not far from there that could and probably would be targeted.

Now that did come to my mind to, and that particular halting site is known for that kind of thing if you get my drift... The halting site would never be targeted though. Worse than this incident has happened in them halting sites and the residents are to cowardly to stand up to travellers.

**** that. Get a description out there.

I agree, its in the public's best interest.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I cannot fathom the horror this woman has gone through. I can only hope she receives the love and support to get through this ordeal.

The "men" responsible are subhuman scum.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I can't imagine what this poor woman is going through right now. Horrific.

I really hope the scum who did this are found and face the full extent of the law. Given the conviction rates for rape in this country however, I don't hold out too much hope of a sturdy sentence. It wouldn't surprise me if those responsible have done something like this before and yet are still out walking the streets.

Tell me how do you know they were not Muslims since they "can be any colour" ect ect

Its just sort of obvious they weren't, tell me how your so cocksure that they are???