Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is the world spiraling out of control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

No its not. Just thanks to technology we are all more interconnected and we hear about horrors and atrocities a lot more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

*looks out window*

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Just the news today.

Counter-terror cops arrest 20 in raid of mosque and Islamic bookstore
    ANTI-terror cops have swooped on two properties just outside Paris – and found explosives and weapons thought to be prepared for an attack – just days after events in Nice.
    http://www.dailystar.co.uk/news/latest-news/531760/Paris-terror-ISIS-property-weapons-explosives

Brazilian police arrest 10 suspected of planning terrorist acts during Olympics
    http://edition.cnn.com/2016/07/21/americas/brazil-olympics-terror-arrests/index.html

Isis ideology is spreading to other countries.

Florida police shoot black man lying down with arms in air
    https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/jul/21/florida-police-shoot-black-man-lying-down-with-arms-in-air

Its less then a week and this stuff seems like a daily event now?

thats the whole point...
    its to destabilize the western world.
    more is coming.
    lefties get your excuses ready.
    youre going to need a lot of them by the years end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Yes. World needs a war sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

No its not. Just thanks to technology we are all more interconnected and we hear about horrors and atrocities a lot more.

We have been connected to the internet since the late 80s and late 90s it got worse if anything.

Think about all the stuff thats has just happened in last two weeks, its nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

We have been connected to the internet since the late 80s and late 90s it got worse if anything.

This has always been happening. Just thanks to the interweb we talk and see about it a lot more.

You forgetting the massive wars and terrors in the 80s,90s, the hijackings, slaughters, famines, genocides, etc. Its just more published today. Groups like CNN were only making there name in the late 80s. Compare that to the Vietnam war which became really the first 'TV war' with Walter Kronkite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Its dead Jim

Despite what people think, things arent getting worse. Any news spreads a lot quicker and the current flavour of the month terrorist group isn't as local as the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Yeah this is all new, the world used to be a calm an peaceful place.

Snapshot from 1999

NATO launches air strikes on Serbia to end attacks against ethnic Albanians in Kosovo (March 24)
    Two Colo. students go on shooting spree in Columbine High School, killing 15, including themselves (April 20).
    NATO bombs mistakenly hit Chinese embassy in Belgrade (May 7)
    White supremacist goes on shooting spree in Midwest, killing three including self and wounding eight (July 2–5)
    Day-trader kills 9 and wounds 13 in two Atlanta brokerage offices before committing suicide (July 29)
    Islamic militants declare independence for Dagestan and announce holy war against Russia (Aug. 10)
    White supremacist opens fire at Jewish community center in LA, wounding five and killing one as he flees (Aug. 10)
    Larry Gene Ashbrook goes on rampage in Tex. church, killing seven and himself (Sept. 15)
    Russia sends ground troops to Chechnya as conflict with Islamic militants intensifies (Oct. 1)
    World Trade Organization conference disrupted by violent protests in Seattle (Nov. 29 et seq.)
    Muslim terrorists hijack Indian Airlines jet with 189 on board (Dec. 24)

Worth noting there were in excess of a billion fewer people around to do all this shite back then too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

No. This is the safest time in human history. Even in the 90s we had wars in Yugoslavia, the first Iraq war and genocide going on in Rawanda. On your own doorstep we had paramilitaries murdering people in N.Ireland every day.

This has always been happening. Just thanks to the interweb we talk and see about it a lot more.
    That's an often-quoted cognitive bias in relation to child abductions and air accidents, but the statistics don't support its application to terrorism

Since the beginning of the 21st century, there has been over a nine-fold increase in the number of deaths from terrorism, rising from 3,329 in 2000 to 32,685 in 2014. (see link below)

The threat posed by terrorism has also changed in its character, particularly in relation to suicide bombing, which has become more widespread, as well as the globalised nature of terrorism (cross-border flows of people and international networks). In the same vein, we are also seeing transnational 'sectoral' ideologies, such as violent extremists uniting across jurisdictions, and even across continents.

This report outlines the increased intensity, scale and spread of global terrorism

http://economicsandpeace.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/Global-Terrorism-Index-2015.pdf

Politically, I think the western world is more polarised than it has been for many years, too. I don't believe this is all in our imagination.

You forgetting the massive wars and terrors in the 80s,90s, the hijackings, slaughters, famines, genocides, etc. Its just more published today. Groups like CNN were only making there name in the late 80s. Compare that to the Vietnam war which became really the first 'TV war' with Walter Kronkite.

You not wrong, but i do think we seeing lot more instability in our neck of the woods. Black men ambushing American cops is new and we seeing more terrorists attacks in Europe. Last then two weeks we have already seen three terrorists attacks in Europe and two other attacks that where planned where stopped. Hopefully all this just a rare occurrence and it be back to normal soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Definitely is to some degree. There is more frequency now in attacks than there was 2 years ago when we also had technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

First of all, the world was never "under control".

We no longer die by the millions from famine, typhoid, cholera or war. We haven't even had a six-figure genocide in the last decade. If you're alive today, there's an 85% chance you're literate, up from 55% in 1980. This is the best time in human history to be alive.

If your question is more local in scope, I'll remind you that the main street of an Irish town was blown up by terrorists 18 years ago. While it's far from settled, the landscape looks considerably better today.

As we eliminate the really big dangers, we don't get less fearful, we just fixate on smaller dangers. If anything, the world is spiraling into control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

That's an often-quoted cognitive bias in relation to child abductions and air accidents, but the statistics don't support its application to terrorism

Since the beginning of the 21st century, there has been over a nine-fold increase in the number of deaths from terrorism, rising from 3,329 in 2000 to 32,685 in 2014. (see link below)

The threat posed by terrorism has also changed in its character, particularly in relation to suicide bombing, which has become more widespread, as well as the globalised nature of terrorism (cross-border flows of people and international networks). In the same vein, we are also seeing transnational 'sectoral' ideologies, such as violent extremists uniting across jurisdictions, and even across continents.

This report outlines the increased intensity, scale and spread of global terrorism

http://economicsandpeace.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/Global-Terrorism-Index-2015.pdf

Politically, I think the western world is more polarised than it has been for many years, too. I don't believe this is all in our imagination.

Obviously I didn't live through it but isn't it likely that today is similar to the 1970's, economic stagnation, polarizing society, the "alternatives" have lost their halo.

First of all, the world was never "under control".

We no longer die by the millions from famine, typhoid, cholera or war. We haven't even had a six-figure genocide in the last decade. If you're alive today, there's an 85% chance you're literate, up from 55% in 1980. This is the best time in human history to be alive.

As we eliminate the really big dangers, we don't get less fearful, we just fixate on smaller dangers. If anything, the world is spiraling into control.

Not really i think the world is lot more dangerous today then it has been since the cold war

Russia and United States, they have a toxic relationship right now. Nato is surrounding the Russian border with troops. We have not seen relations this bad since the cold war.

Then you have Isis attacking the West and killing civilians inside France and elsewhere

Then you have China threatening war with the United States because of the china south seas.

Black men ambushing cops two weeks in a row.

Trump presidency is he the right person for the job?

If this is a stable world to some of you i want to go elsewhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

It's a finite planet and were consuming and multiplying more and more, it's only heading in one direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

If you compare Europe today to Europe a thousand years ago things are infinitely better. Back then the Vikings were terrorising Europe and there wasn't a damn thing anyone could do about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

The term 'terrorism' is problematic. The numbers used in that study have been taken from the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) which has received funding from the US Department of Homeland Security.

Would it include the terrorism 'we' engage in and fund?

Would it consider the terrorism that is a consequence of blow-back?

ScumLord wrote: »
    If you compare Europe today to Europe a thousand years ago things are infinitely better. Back then the Vikings were terrorising Europe and there wasn't a damn thing anyone could do about it.

Isis are doing similar and there is nothing we can do about it. Right now there are thousands of men across Europe planning attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

On the other hand, it's still a tiny proportion of accidental or violent deaths, and all the other ones are going down, as far as I know.

We could probably just ignore terrorism.
    For the same cost that's spent fighting terrorism, you'd probably get better health yields by throwing money at combating heart disease, diabetes, other weight-related diseases and cancer.

People's fear means that they cannot possibly ignore it though. Even if they intellectually know that they're probably safe, they're going to be warier of public gatherings, transport, muslims and anything else that reminds them of the attacks.

FortySeven wrote: »
    Isis are doing similar and there is nothing we can do about it. Right now there are thousands of men across Europe planning attacks.
    They're nowhere near as effective or dangerous as the Vikings where. Pretty much all of northern Europe was overrun by vikings. I don't think anyone actually mounted an effective retaliatory strike at the Viking homelands.

ISIS are picking away at the fringes of society, they make pathetic attacks that do nothing more than sicken the general public and injure a few innocent people. They're doing more harm to their own people than they are to us in the west. Vikings didn't hide out in the shadows, if you saw a viking you knew you where ****ed, they had no ideals to spread, all they wanted was to take all your stuff and turn you into a slave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    No. This is the safest time in human history. Even in the 90s we had wars in Yugoslavia, the first Iraq war and genocide going on in Rawanda. On your own doorstep we had paramilitaries murdering people in N.Ireland every day.

What about when it was just your man Adam chilling there in that garden? That sounded pretty sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

They're nowhere near as effective or dangerous as the Vikings where. Pretty much all of northern Europe was overrun by vikings. I don't think anyone actually mounted an effective retaliatory strike at the Viking homelands.

ISIS are picking away at the fringes of society, they make pathetic attacks that do nothing more than sicken the general public and injure a few innocent people. They're doing more harm to their own people than they are to us in the west. Vikings didn't hide out in the shadows, if you saw a viking you knew you where ****ed, they had no ideals to spread, all they wanted was to take all your stuff and turn you into a slave.

So we basically need to resurrect some Vikings to fight ISIS is what you are saying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

You not wrong, but i do think we seeing lot more instability in our neck of the woods. Black men ambushing American cops is new and we seeing more terrorists attacks in Europe. Last then two weeks we have already seen three terrorists attacks in Europe and two other attacks that where planned where stopped. Hopefully all this just a rare occurrence and it be back to normal soon.

I think you are probably at a stage in your life when you are more conscious of such things. Believe me, in my 70+ years, I've seen phases like this regularly.

24 hour news and speedy communications bring it all to us so much quicker and in greater detail than before. Vreater press freedom combined with 'citizen' reporting on social media publicises more of it too.

Nothing new in the episodes themselves though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Omackeral wrote: »
    What about when it was just your man Adam chilling there in that garden? That sounded pretty sweet.

Lasted no length though only days until mayhem, evil tempter angry overseer, exile followed by hardship, fratricide that killed 20% of the world's population...

lawlolawl wrote: »
    So we basically need to resurrect some Vikings to fight ISIS is what you are saying?
    Yeah, I wouldn't send the modern Dutch, Swedes, Fins, or Norwegians, they've gone soft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I'm not even joking, I'm infinitely more worried about the creaking in my suspension than I am about black people shooting police in America (not unprecedented btw. Google Black Panthers) or whether ISIS are as big a threat as the Vikings were. (They're not. They can't even adequately secure their territory in 2 war torn **** holes let alone rampage through Europe.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Yes. World needs a war sadly.

A billion extra people in little over the last decade, probably a billion and a half in the next.

As it stands, after death around 9 million join our ranks every month.

But it's ok, we can save the environment by taxing about 2 million of them in the hopes they use a little less......

Sad reality is, there are going to be some sad answers to some sad questions very soon.
    "Western" way of life is completely unsustainable - government funded green tax breaks are never going to change that. We're going to lose quite a few privileges in favour of sustainability.
    Veggies are going to have to re-tip the scales on meat consumption and that dissapoints me..
    Equally unsustainable is eastern and southern population growth.

People say the world is good for 10 billion people. They're wrong. It's good for 10 billion mud-hut dwellers.

It's barely good for two billion electricity intensive, thrice-daily+ car driving, Netflix binge watching, obesity courting, convenience store using, monthly clothes buying, nutrient-intensive-land-production people.

http://www.worldpopulationbalance.org/3_times_sustainable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    I'm not even joking, I'm infinitely more worried about the creaking in my suspension than I am about black people shooting police in America (not unprecedented btw. Google Black Panthers) or whether ISIS are as big a threat as the Vikings were. (They're not. They can't even adequately secure their territory in 2 war torn **** holes let alone rampage through Europe.)

I would be too. You lose a steering joint or something along those lines and you'll join them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I would be too. You lose a steering joint or something along those lines and you'll join them.

It's booked in for the morning across the road. Lucky really because I wouldn't be able to afford a ticket to the US just to shoot some pohleese officers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

pragmatic1 wrote: »

'We've never had it so good', and 'we have seen the end to boom and bust', 'peace in our time', these tend to be the (in hindsight) hubristic statements we make just before partying right off a cliff. Isn't a little caution prudent?

Yeah we've had it pretty good, but as a pessimist I can't help but get the creeping feeling that the party is getting messy and it's going to come to screeching halt in the coming decade or so, there's a patch fraying on the financial crisis, civil war could return to Europe and the barbarians at the gate have nukes. Throw in coming resource wars and population explosion and I can't help but hope our new Ape overlords might be in the market for a compliant human butler...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

There's a lot of political instability in the West right now which is worth worrying about in my opinion. Britain leaving the EU, an increase in the frequency and variety of terrorist attacks in Europe and Donald Trump lining up for the presidential election against a very unconvincing candidate in the form of Hillary Clinton.

The world economy is still struggling to recover from the banking crisis which is almost a decade old at this stage. Our leaders have been far too slow to act on issues like the environment and we are still far too reliant on traditional energy resources as a result.

A lot of people are saying "we live in the safest time in human history" which is something Stephen Pinker popularised in his book The Better Angels Of Our Nature. But he also said there was nothing inevitable about this progress. We should be grateful to be alive now but we shouldn't take this peace for granted.

If Trump gets in I expect a lot of sabre rattling from him which will only increase tensions between the West and Russia. Either way I think there's a strong chance we'll see another World War break out in the next twenty years.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,601 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Millions died in the Second Congo War.

But it didn't make the news. Compared to it, Iraq and Afghanistan are a picnic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Imagine if there'd been d'internetz in the the 12th century. Crusades in the Middle East. Ghengiz Khan rampaging from Mongolia to Poland. Aztecs in Central America, ripping the still-beating hearts out of slaves. The Black Death decimating the populations of European cities.

I'd say we're doing ok...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

It's a finite planet and were consuming and multiplying more and more, it's only heading in one direction

Eating crayfish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Hologram

The "we've never been safer" argument was true up to even only two years ago, but a lot of serious stuff is happening since last year - more than average; it's not just an illusion due to the internet amplifying things.

Indeed, here, we are living comfortably, and obviously the west is a lot better to live in in terms of health, comfort, income etc than it was even only 80 years ago - but there is still a definite increase in geopolitical conflict.

endacl wrote: »
    Imagine if there'd been d'internetz in the the 12th century. Crusades in the Middle East. Ghengiz Khan rampaging from Mongolia to Poland. Aztecs in Central America, ripping the still-beating hearts out of slaves. The Black Death decimating the populations of European cities.

I'd say we're doing ok...

Posturing Putin, death throes super power in america. Rising, expansionist China. Crusades in the middle east. Terrorism in Europe, Islamic caliphates, civil war in Ukraine, Syria, Iraq, Sudan. Religious conflict in Nigeria, Indonesia in various sect wars. South amercan drug deaths in the hundreds of thousands. Severe issues of asylum due to war. Population cleansing around the controversial state of isreal. North Korean military posturing.

Now, a dissafected youth sick of globalisation. An information revolution we have no idea of the consequences of, akin to the industrial fallout. Rampant corruption. Failed institutions like the UN. A financial crisis yet to hit home properly and a thousand other factors.

The one thing that hits home about other world wars, the preemptive arguments that it couldn't happen now. We are too well educated. Our technology is too great. We are too well integrated.

We are 10 years from ripping the throats of each other. This war will be global but not nation on nation. It will be individual group v individual group. Nasty. Nobody avoids it.

We are already polarizing. Strong leaders will soon emerge. History.

Repeating.
    Repeating.
    Repeating.

You'd be foolish to ignore it.

Civilisation comes and goes. Ours is no different.

Income inequality and currency debasement have always caused national strife. Quantative easing has debased our currency massively. Income equality is higher than ever in history.

It's not if. It's when.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

conorhal wrote: »
    'We've never had it so good', and 'we have seen the end to boom and bust', 'peace in our time', these tend to be the (in hindsight) hubristic statements we make just before partying right off a cliff. Isn't a little caution prudent?

Yeah we've had it pretty good, but as a pessimist I can't help but get the creeping feeling that the party is getting messy and it's going to come to screeching halt in the coming decade or so, there's a patch fraying on the financial crisis, civil war could return to Europe and the barbarians at the gate have nukes. Throw in coming resource wars and population explosion and I can't help but hope our new Ape overlords might be in the market for a compliant human butler...
    Well that's just predictions that you're making.

Also, we're talking about the world at present, not in some undetermined time in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Its a bit of a common misconception that Vikings were huge armies that conquered all.
    For the most part they were bands of about 50 or so lads. They landed in places like Britain and Ireland that had no coastal defences and no armies lying around. When the Vikings landed they pillaged all around them and hopped back on their ships and rowed away. By the time a force was mobilised to repel them, they were back in Scandinavia smelting chalices.

To go back on topic I don't believe the world is "out of control" or anything like it.
    We are undoubtedly living in the safest times ever, particularly in the western world.
    Our chances of living into our 100th year are the highest they've ever been.
    Modern science/medicine/technology are making seemingly daily leaps forward.

There has always been terrorism from the Sicarii zealots in the 1st century through to ETA, The IRA and ISIS today.
    I truly believe we are as safe as we've ever been today, just a quick glimpse back into history proves it.

Any world wars going on with millions of people dying for shag all? Nope.
    Threat of nuclear war imminent like in '62 with the Cuban missile crisis, when people in major American cities stood still in the streets? Nope.
    Anyone's town/Village/city being attacked and burnt to the ground by marauding hordes? Nope.

The majority of people in the world live in peace and go about their normal lives. I've even seen recent pictures of men in a war torn place like Baghdad playing chess outside and sipping coffee.

The truth is when we talk about Islamic extremists, Christian extremists or some nutcase with a gun we are talking about a minority that isn't representative of the majority.

Its a bit of a common misconception that Vikings were huge armies that conquered all.
    For the most part they were bands of about 50 or so lads. They landed in places like Britain and Ireland that had no coastal defences and no armies lying around. When the Vikings landed they pillaged all around them and hopped back on their ships and rowed away. By the time a force was mobilised to repel them, they were back in Scandinavia smelting chalices.

To go back on topic I don't believe the world is "out of control" or anything like it.
    We are undoubtedly living in the safest times ever, particularly in the western world.
    Our chances of living into our 100th year are the highest they've ever been.
    Modern science/medicine/technology are making seemingly daily leaps forward.

There has always been terrorism from the Sicarii zealots in the 1st century through to ETA, The IRA and ISIS today.
    I truly believe we are as safe as we've ever been today, just a quick glimpse back into history proves it.

Any world wars going on with millions of people dying for shag all? Nope.
    Threat of nuclear war imminent like in '62 with the Cuban missile crisis, when people in major American cities stood still in the streets? Nope.
    Anyone's town/Village/city being attacked and burnt to the ground by men on horse back? Nope.

The majority of people in the world live in peace and go about their normal lives. I've even seen recent pictures of men in a war torn place like Baghdad playing chess outside and sipping coffee.

I disagree wholeheartedly. There has never been a time in mankind's history that we have been closer to war on a global scale.

Whos going to fight this war?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

Agree entirely. We were just as interconnected to the world six to eight years ago (Twitter and Facebook were in existence then, internet as popular) and things feel much more unstable now than then. It's not as simple as technology bringing us closer to everything now, IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Everything is fine.

Yay! The dread has dissipated.

Whos going to fight this war?

Everbody.

Pick your corner. Individualism is coming home to roost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Everbody.

Don't count your chickens...

Your Face wrote: »
    Don't count your chickens...

Don't disregard fair warning. I predicted the financial crisis in 2007. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The term 'terrorism' is problematic. The numbers used in that study have been taken from the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) which has received funding from the US Department of Homeland Security.

START to some of us was the Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty. I think thiings are still, on average, headed in the right direction.

Everbody.

Nonsense.
    The entire West is tied into NATO.
    Russia & USA are failed or failing former super powers.
    So that rules out the usual suspects i.e Britain, France, Germany, USA, Russia.

Australia? New Guinea? San Marino?

I fail to see where this spark for global conflict is.

Nonsense.
    The entire West is tied into NATO.
    Russia & USA are failed or failing former super powers.
    So that rules out the usual suspects i.e Britain, France, Germany, USA, Russia.

Australia? New Guinea? San Marino?

I fail to see where this spark for global conflict is.

Male v female

Black v white

Muslim v christian

Pick your battle

Countries will be the last consideration in the fight.

Just like empire was left for dead in the national war of ww2.

Now nationalism will be left for individual causes.

We segregate. It's personal.